
DMV-48-SA
REV 8/13 

Special License Plates
PO Box 17120

Charleston, WV 25317

West Virginia Department of Transportation 

Division of Motor Vehicles
Application for a Special Military Service Award Plate

Phone Number

Name of Veteran (Name must be on title)

Make

VIN No. Current Plate No.

Address

Name(s) of Registered Owner(s)

A) Owner(s) Information • Use name(s) of the owner(s) exactly as they appear on the current motor vehicle title and registration.

Year Title No.

STREET ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

B) Vehicle Information 

C) Insurance Information 

D) Plate Selection •  Check the box next to the Plate you wish to purchase.

Insurance Company

E�ective Dates of Policy    From: To:

NAIC Number Insurance Agent

Policy No./ / / /

The information above is true and correct  to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I understand that any false statements may result in 
legal penalties pursuant to West Virginia Law §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 

The West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance certi�es that the above named person quali�es for the requested special military registration

plate _______________________________________________ authorized under West Virginia Code §17A-3-14.

SIGNATURE OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER PRINTED NAME OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE OFFICER

E) Applicant’s Statement

F) Certi�cation by the West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance

(X)

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE
/(X) /

DATE
/ /

PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

Air Force Cross The Bronze Star Combat Infantry Badge Combat Medic

Distinguished Flying Cross Distinguished Service Cross The Navy Cross The Silver Star



1

2
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 Application Requirements

 1) The applicant must complete SECTIONS A - E
     of this application.
 
 2) After completing SECTIONS A - E, the applicant 
     must submit this application to the Dept. of 
     Veterans Assistance.  Additional proof 
     documents may be required by the Dept. of 
     Veterans Assistance to deem your eligibility. 

 3) Once the Dept. of Veterans Assistance certi�es 
     the application, the applicant can then submit 
     the completed application and applicable 
     registration fees to the DMV at the address
     listed on the front of this application or to the
     nearest DMV regional o�ce.  A personal 
     property tax receipt, or an a�davit from the 
     assessor, is required if the current plate is 
     expiring within 60 days of application.

 Vehicle Requirements & Information 

 - The vehicle must be a CLASS A car or truck, under 10,001 pounds gross vehicle weight.
 
 - The vehicle must have a WV title and license plate registered in the owners name.
 
 - There is no restriction on the number of military plates one person can obtain. 

ALLOW FOR UP TO 30 DAYS FOR YOUR NEW PLATE TO ARRIVE.  
This allows time for the DMV and USPS to process and deliver the registration and license plate.

* There are no refunds, as once a plate number is registered, it cannot be used again by another registrant.

 What to do when you receive your NEW license plate

 - The old license plate must be returned to the DMV or transferred to another vehicle titled in the applicant’s name within
     10 business days after the new plate is received.

 - The owner must keep their address up to date with the DMV, not only is it law, but they will not receive renewal notices if 
     the address is not valid.  DMV does not honor USPS forwarding addresses.
 
 - Prior to July 1st, each year the registration expires, the owner will need to provide DMV with current and valid proof of 
     insurance, proof of personal property taxes paid, and pay the renewal fee of $30.00 for one year, or $60.00 for two years.

 - In the event of the death of a special military license plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse
     until remarriage, non-renewal, or death.  The surviving spouse’s name must be on the title if they wish to use the plate.

ORDERING INSTRUCTIONS & INFORMATION

Present Plate Detail 1 YEAR 2 YEAR
Plate Begins with 5, 6, or 7 of the Current Year 

Plate Begins with 8
Plate Begins with 9
Plate Begins with O
Plate Begins with N
Plate Begins with D

Plate Begins with 1 or is a Personalized Plate
Plate Begins with 2
Plate Begins with 3 
Plate Begins with 4
Plate Begins with 5
Plate Begins with 6

All Expirations beyond the 6th month of next year

$40.00
$43.12
$40.74
$38.36
$35.98
$33.60
$31.22
$28.84
$26.46
$24.08
$21.70
$19.32
$15.50

$70.00
$73.12
$70.74
$68.36
$65.98
$63.60
$61.22
$58.84
$56.46
$54.08
$51.70
$49.32
$45.50

This license plate can be registered for 1 or 2 years.  The fee for the new plate is 
based on the expiration of the current license plate .  Use the �rst letter or number of 
the current license plate, which signi�es the expiration month, to calculate the fee.  
The fees above include a one time $10.00 fee.
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