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West Virginia Department of Transportation J’

Division of Motor Vehicles -
Application for a Purple Heart License Plate wwrwdrrewv.gov

PART I - TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT (instructions on the back of form.)
PLATE SAMPLE

Use Name(s) of Owner(s) as shown exactly on current
registration card that you wish to register the license plate.

A) Owner(s) Information

Veteran’s Printed Name
*THE VETERAN’S NAME MUST APPEAR ON THE REGISTRATION OF THE VEHICLE LISTED UNDER SECTION B BELOW.

“Wost Virginia‘

85 0000

~ COMBAT WOUNDED

Name(s) on Registration

Street Address

ay STATE ZIP
Phone Number ( ) -

B) Vehicle Information

Make vear | L LIS mwen [ LI L
wo I I I I curentpateno. LI L LI

C) Insurance Information

Effective Dates of Policy From: [ To: [ Policy No.

Insurance Company

NAIC Number DDDDD Insurance Agent
D) Applicant Certification

| hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the
West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under
penalty of false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1-; Fraudulent Applications.

(X) [ [

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE

PART Il « T0 BE COMPLETED BY WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS ASSISTANCE

The West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance certifies that the above named applicant has been awarded the Military Order of
the Purple Heart and qualifies for the special Purple Heart license plate, authorized under West Virginia Code § 17A-3-14.

(X) [ ]

SIGNATURE OF Authorized Veteran Affairs Officer DATE

PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS



Instructions

1. To qualify for a Purple Heart license plate, an applicant must be a recipient of the Military order of the Purple Heart.

2. The applicant is not required to pay registration fees for one Purple Heart license plate; however, they must pay the .50¢
insurance enforcement fee and a $1.00 litter (fee for each year remaining in the 10 year cycle) fees via check or money order,
have a valid insurance policy in place, and provide a personal property tax receipt issued by their county assessor or an
Affidavit of Assessor (DMV-178-TR) from their county assessor if they have not been liable to pay personal property taxes

before a registration can be issued. Unless an applicant has been exempted by their county Assessor, they are required to pay
personal property taxes every year.

Purple Heart license plate fees are calculated on a ten year schedule. The fees are outlined below.

2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024

(7/1/15 - 6/30/16) | (7/1/16 - 6/30/17) | (7/1/17 - 6/30/18) | (7/1/18-6/30/19) | (7/1/19 - 6/30/20) | (7/1/20-6/30/21) | (7/1/21-6/30/22) | (7/1/22 - 6/30/23) | (7/1/23 - 6/30/24) | (7/1/24 - 6/30/25)

$15.00 | $13.50 | $12.00 | $10.50 | $9.00 | $7.50 | $6.00

Fiscal Year

Total Fee

$4.50

$3.00 | $1.50

*A $1.50 reduction takes place at the beginning of each fiscal year, on July 1st.

3. PartE of this application must be certified by the West Virginia Department of Veterans Assistance. After certification,
applicants may mail or turn-in the application to the nearest DMV regional office. Your application cannot be processed until

it has been certified by the Department of Veterans Assistance.

Charleston Office

Suite 101
Charleston, WV 25301

1321 Plaza East Shopping Center,

Huntington Office
640 Fourth Avenue, Room 142
Huntington, WV 25701

Moorefield Office

225 N Main Street
Moorefield, WV 26836

Spencer Office
811 Madison Avenue, Suite 29
Spencer, WV 25276

Beckley Office
407 Neville Street, Suite 113
Beckley, WV 25801

Ronceverte Office
330 Red Oaks Shopping Center
Ronceverte, WV 24970

Morgantown Office
90 Army Band Way
Morgantown, WV 26505

Summersville Office
715 Main Street, Suite 102
Summersville, WV 26651

Clarksburg Office

200 Route 98 West, Suite 304
Nutter Fort, WV 26301

Logan Office
21 Veterans Avenue
Henlawson, WV 25624

Parkersburg Office
Wood County Courthouse
1 Court Square, Room 402

Parkersburg, WV 26101

Welch Office
McDowell Public Library
90 Howard Street
Welch, WV 24801

Elkins Office
Elkins-Randolph County Airport
Route 4, Box 271
Elkins, WV 26241

Martinsburg Office
115 Aikens Center, Suite 17
Martinsburg, WV 25404

Princeton Office
Memorial Building
1500 West Main Street
Princeton, WV 24740

Wheeling Office
51 Eleventh Street, Room 300
Wheeling, WV 26003

4, Within 10 days after receipt of the Purple Heart license plate, the current plate and registration card must be returned to
the DMV or transferred to another vehicle titled in the applicant’s name.

5. Inthe event of the death of a Purple Heart license plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse
until remarriage, non-renewal, or death.

6. For afee of $40.00, and $30.00 per year thereafter, an additional Purple Heart license plate may be obtained by

completing Form DMV-48A.

PLEASE ALLOW (30 ) DAYS FOR DELIVERY
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