Rider Courses

West Virginia Department of Transportation offers two rider courses; The Basic Rider Course (BRC) and Experienced Rider Course (ERC). The tuition for both rider courses is $100 each. West Virginia law requires that all motorcycle operators obtain a motorcycle endorsement. Classes are offered through our vendor the Motorcycle Safety Foundation are the only approved Rider Training course available in this state.

Basic Rider Course (BRC)

Our basic course is designed for riders who have never operated a motorcycle, and we supply the bikes! The Motorcycle Safety Awareness Program through its vendor has an agreement that allows for the testing of riders for their endorsements, so you can learn to ride and get your license—all in one place. The BRC is about 15 hours long and combines practice riding on a closed-off parking lot and valuable classroom discussion. Please note that the WVMSP does not guarantee your instant success. While many students pass on their first try, it is not at all uncommon to have to take the class more than once.

General Information

  • Training motorcycles are provided and include: Honda CM250 Custom, CM200T, Nighthawk 250, CB125S, CB125TT, Rebel 250, NX125; Suzuki GN125, GN250, GZ250, DR125; Kawasaki KE100, Eliminator 125; and Yamaha Route 66 250.
  • The BRC offers complete, quality training. You'll get 15 hours of instruction: 5 hours classroom and 10 hours of practice riding! To enhance student learning, class sizes are small: 12 students and two rider coaches (instructors). The classroom and on-cycle instruction are integrated for maximum skill development.
  • Graduates may be eligible for insurance discounts as well as incentives from motorcycle manufacturers and dealerships.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Students must possess either a valid driver's license or motor vehicle instruction permit.
  • Students must furnish their own protective clothing (eye protection, long sleeves, long pants, full-fingered gloves, and over-the-ankle footwear) and DOT-approved helmet.
  • Students must be able to ride a bicycle, as the skill of balancing is not taught in this course.
  • Generally, courses will run rain or shine. However, the instructor may postpone the course because of weather conditions.
  • To successfully complete the course, 100 percent attendance is required. Participants must pass a written knowledge test and the on-cycle skill test.
  • All students who possess a valid motorcycle permit and successfully complete the course may take advantage of the State Skill Test Waiver and receive their motorcycle endorsement.
  • Participants must sign up in advance. The course tuition is $100.
  • Enrollment is limited and courses fill up fast, so register early.
  • Courses begin in mid-March and run through October. The schedule is updated frequently.

The Rider Coaches who will be working with you are well trained and want you to succeed. The BRC is designed to teach beginning riders the fundamentals of motorcycle operation. But, many factors may affect the ability of some students to be successful in the time allotted for the course. If, in the opinion of the Rider Coach, a student becomes a danger to him or herself or to others that student will be counseled to return at another time.

Experienced Rider Course (ERC)

If you are comfortable on your own motorcycle and ready to try something new, the five-hour Experienced Rider Course Skills Plus will build upon your existing skills and knowledge. Relatively new motorcyclists, returning riders, and experienced motorcyclists can all benefit from this course.
The ERC covers mental strategy, traction, risk management, braking, cornering and swerving techniques. The WVMSP recommends that you have at least one year or 1,000 miles of riding experience before enrolling in this course.

General Information

  • Participants provide their own motorcycle.
  • The motorcycle must be street legal and insured.
    Participants must be proficient in the basic skills of clutch control, straight-line riding, turning, shifting, and stopping.
  • This program is accredited by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation and licensed by the State of West Virginia.
  • POST credit is available for law enforcement personnel.
  • This course doesn't meet state licensing requirements for participants under age 18.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Participants must be at least 16 years of age. Participants who are under 18 years of age must have their parents sign a waiver form prior to on-cycle instruction.
  • Participants must possess a valid driver's license with motorcycle endorsement or a motorcycle instruction permit.
  • Participants ride their own motorcycle during the course. Your motorcycle must be street legal, licensed, insured and passes safety inspection. You must show proof of insurance to the instructor.
  • Participants furnish their own protective clothing (eye protection, long sleeves, long pants, full-fingered gloves and over-the-ankle footwear) and DOT-approved helmet. Rain gear is highly advisable.
  • Courses are conducted in all weather conditions, but may be postponed by the instructor in severe weather.

FAQ & Other Important Information

Q: How do I enroll?
A: The best way to enroll is using the WVMSP website's on-line enrollment system follow the links from this website's navigation bar "Find A Course" link at the top of the screen to begin the process. You will need a credit card (not a debit card) and an email address to enroll.

Q: What if I don't have a credit card or an email address?
A: You may call the WVMSP Call Center to enroll at 866-355-9399

Q: What else should I know?
A: In order to help keep cost down the program has established the following rules regarding fees:

  • Classes must by paid for by credit card at the time they are scheduled
  • Fees are non-refundable unless you cancel your registration at least 10 days before the class-start date. You may reschedule a class within 5-10 days of the start date.
  • Unscheduled students (walk-ins) may attend on a space available basis and must pay the appropriate fee with a money order.
  • If you are dismissed from class for cause you will not receive a refund. Dismissal for cause is defined below.
    • Not showing up for a scheduled classroom or riding session.
    • Arriving late for a classroom or riding session.
    • Showing up with out the above listed personal clothing/equipment
    • Leaving before a regular classroom or riding session
    • Committing an intentional unsafe act
    • Disrupting class or acting in any manner that prevents other students from receiving the training for which they have paid.
To speak with someone regarding questions about either Rider Course before enrollment, you can contact us.

If you need to reschedule have questions or AFTER you have already enrolled, contact the specific Site Manager:

 Site  Contact Phone Number   Hours
 Martinsburg  Bill Freeman  (304) 596-1499  8am - 6pm
 Glen Dale  Jennifer Foster  (304) 281-4689  8am - 6pm
 Parkersburg  Brian Bock  (304) 485-8793  8am - 6pm
 Morgantown  Rick Chapin  (304) 296-1954  8am - 6pm
 Shady Spring  Rebecca Thomas  (304) 732-6921  8am - 6pm
 Elkins  Mary Ann Heaster  (304) 269-0338  8am - 6pm
 Franklin  Donnie Hale  (304) 203-6784  8am - 6pm
 Romney  Donnie Hale  (304) 203-6784  8am - 6pm



  

WV DOT Privacy Notices | Contact Us | Site Map | Disclaimer
E.E.O./AFFIRMATIVE ACTION EMPLOYER

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2014 State of West Virginia