Other Points of Interest
See below for other points of interest.
Organ Donor Registry and "Donate Life" License Plate
All driver's license and identification card applicants are offered the opportunity to sign up to be an organ donor. We make it simple for you to both register and unregister yourself from our organ donor registry. You can sign up upon applying or renewing for your license or ID with the Driver's License/Photo ID Application form by simply checking "yes". You may also visit https://donatelife.wv.gov/ to sign up or take you name off of our registry anytime, day or night.
The DMV also offers a special license plate (as shown above) for those who want to support organ donation. To download the application for the Donate Life license plate click here.
It is a violation of West Virginia law to litter public or private roadways or public/private property.
Upon conviction, an individual can be fined not less than $50 nor more than $1,000, imprisoned in the county jail for not more than 60 days, or sentenced to remove litter from any public or private roadway for a total of not less than 30 hours. A driver may also have "points" assessed against his or her driving record.
The following waste products pose the biggest threats:
1.) Dirty Motor Oil - If dumped in a lake, the oil from a single oil change (about a gallon) can ruin a million gallons of water. Many auto part retailers and gas stations with service areas recycle used oil for free.
2.) Old Tires - When stockpiled illegally, used tires collect water, attract mosquitoes, and become a temptation for arsonists. Leaving used tires with a tire retailer will ensure proper disposal.
3.) Antifreeze - Antifreeze is listed as a hazardous waste by the Environmental Protection Agency. Some auto repair shops will recycle used antifreeze for a small fee
4.) Batteries - Old batteries and other hazardous wastes contain large amounts of lead and sulfuric acid. The good news is that all of these waste products can be recycled and reused. Battery
retailers are required by law to recycle old batteries upon request.
To learn more about vehicle and truck waste, call the West Virginia Office of Environmental Remediation at 1-(800)-322-5530.
Vehicle Pet Safety
Do not leave any animal in your car on a warm day. Animals regulate their temperatures differently from humans, and can succumb to heat stroke and die in the amount of time it takes you to run a simple errand. On a 78-degree day, the temperature inside a parked car can soar to between 100 and 120 degrees in just minutes, and on a 90-degree day, the interior temperature can reach as high as 160 degrees in less than 10 minutes.
Millions of Americans board motorcoach buses each day, and an average 700 million trips will be made on motorcoach buses this year. It is important to the WV DMV and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) that all passengers arrive at their destinations safely.
If you take a motorcoach bus trip and experience any incidents where the driver is exhibiting any unsafe behaviors such as speeding, distracted driving, aggressive driving, or impaired driving, please contact the FMCSA's hotline at 1-888-DOT-SAFT (1-888-368-7238).
For your convenience in planning for your next motorcoach bus trip, there is a SaferBus app available for iPhone/iPad and Android wireless by clicking here.