New Residents must have their vehicles titled and registered within thirty (30) days of establishing residency.
The fees include a $10 title fee, a $5 lien fee if applicable, and a regular registration fee of $30. The titling sales 5% sales tax on a vehicles' value has been eliminated for new residents moving into West Virginia with a vehicle already title in their name in another state. The vehicle has to be in the name of the applicant when they apply for title and will be titled in the same name as the out-of-state title. In order to qualify for the exemption, the new resident must meet the standards listed below:
- The applicant was not a resident of
this state at the time of purchasing or otherwise acquiring ownership of the vehicle. The out-of-state title in their name with an out-of-state address would be the proof. There is no limit on how long the vehicle was titled in their name in another state.
- Presents evidence as the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may require of having titled the vehicle in the applicant's previous state of residence. The out-of-state title in the applicant's name with an out-of-state address would be the proof.
- Has relocated to this state and can present such evidence as the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles may require showing bona fide residency in this state. A new West Virginia driver's license or any other documents we would accept for proof of residency for a West Virginia driver's license.
- Makes application to the division and pays all the fees required by law within thirty (30) days of establishing residency in this state.
The exemption also applies to vehicles (i.e. motor boats, trailers, ATV's, etc) that are only registered and no title exists.
This exemption does not apply to leased vehicles, as the tax on them is different that the standard vehicles. To receive tax credit on a vehicle being traded for a new vehicle purchased in West Virginia the trade-in must be first titled in West Virginia.
If you are moving to West Virginia and the vehicle is titled in your name in another state and the title is not being held by a lien holder, you would need to submit your out-of-state title along with a West Virginia title application (DMV-1-TR). You would also need to complete an odometer disclosure, your insurance information can be listed on the title application, but must be insured by a company licensed to sell insurance in West Virginia.
If you are moving to West Virginia and the vehicle title is being held by a lien holder, you must submit the following:
- A completed form DMV-1-TR, Application for Certificate of Title
- Insurance information, can be listed on title application
- A completed odometer disclosure statement (DMV-TM-1)
- A copy of the title or a printout if an electronic lien of your out-of-state title or a letter from your lien holder stating they are holding your title, the letter should include the vehicle information along with their correct mailing address. Fees (see Title Fees section)