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MV-126-DS-LS Bond No. _______________ 
Rev. 1-2006 
 


SURETY BOND 
 


KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS: 
 
 That ________________________________________________________________________ of 


(Name of License Service as it appears on Dealer License) 
 
The City of _________________________, County of _______________, West Virginia, as PRINCIPAL 
 
and the ______________________________________________________________________________ 


(Name of Insurance / Bonding Company) 
a corporation, authorized to do business in the State of West Virginia, as SURETY, are held and firmly 
 
bound, effective the _________ day of _______________________, __________, unto the West Virginia 
Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in the penal sum of Twenty-Five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) for 
payment to the West Virginia DMV, we bind ourselves, our successors and assigns, jointly and severally, 
firmly by these presents. 
 
 THE CONDITION OF THIS BOND IS SUCH THAT, if the Principal practices any fraud or 
makes any fraudulent representation which causes a financial loss to a purchaser, seller, financial 
institutions or agency, or the State of West Virginia, then the Surety is obligated to pay the penalty sum of 
Twenty-Five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) to the West Virginia DMV. 
 
 The Surety shall notify the West Virginia DMV by certified mail, within thirty days of 
cancellation of the bond by the Surety or the Principal. If the Surety fails to notify the West Virginia 
DMV within the thirty days, then the bond will be deemed to be in full force and effect until such 
cancellation notice is received by the West Virginia DMV. This bond is required of all License Services 
licensed pursuant to Article 6B, Chapter 17A of the West Virginia Code. All pertinent sections of that 
statute and all pertinent rules and regulations of the West Virginia DMV are hereby expressly made part 
of this bond. 
 
 IN WITNESS WHEREOF the said Principal has hereunder set his or its hand, and the said Surety 
has caused its corporate name to be signed hereto by its duly authorized official or agent and executed this 
instrument the __________ day of ____________________________, ______________. 
 
 This bond covers acts and omissions by the Principal that occur during the license year July1, 
__________, to June 30, __________, as of the effective date the Principal is issued or renewed license 
by the West Virginia DMV. 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Name of License Service 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Signature of Individual, Partner, or Corporate Officer 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Name Surety / Bonding Company 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Address Surety / Bonding Company 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Authorized Company Representative 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Signature of Authorized Company Representative 





		Bond No: 

		City: 

		County: 

		Effective Day: 

		Effective Month: 

		Effective Year: 

		Instrument Day: 

		Instrument Month: 

		Instrument Year: 

		License Start Year: 

		License End Year: 

		License Service Name: 

		Bonding Company: 

		Company Representative: 








MV-126-DS-M 
Rev. 3/01 
 
 
 


SURETY  BOND 
 


 
 
KNOW ALL MEN BE THESE PRESENTS: 
 
 That we, _________________________________________________________________________________________ of 


_________________________________________________________________________________________, as principal, and 


______________________________________________________________________________, a corporation authorized to do 


business in the State of West Virginia, as surety are held and firmly bound unto the Commissioner of the Division of Motor 


Vehicles of the State of West Virginia, and the successors in office of said commissioner in the penal sum of twenty-five 


thousand dollars ($25,000.00), to the payment whereof well and truly to be made, we do hereby jointly and severally bind 


ourselves, our heirs, legal representatives successors and assigns, firmly by these presents: 


The condition of this obligation is such that: 


1. The aforementioned principal has made application to the oblige, Commissioner of the Division of Motor Vehicles of the 


State of West Virginia, for a certificate to engage in the Automobile Auction business in West Virginia, under the 


provisions of West Virginia Code 17A-6C—1, et seq. 


 


2. Pursuant to §17A-6C-2, a bond in the penal sum of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) is hereby 


executed by the Principal and a corporate surety licensed to do business in West Virginia, such bind 


being given to ensure that the Principal will not, in the conduct of their business, make any fraudulent 


representation which shall cause a financial loss to any purchaser, seller, financial institution, agency 


or the State of West Virginia. 
 


 NOW, THEREFORE, if the above-named Principal shall fully comply with the obligations and conditions set forth in West 


Virginia Code 17A-6C-1, et seq., and further refrains from injuring or damaging any person by any act in conduct of his or her 


business as set forth in said code section, then this obligation shall be null and void, other wise to remain in full force and effect. 


 


 The effective date of this bond shall be _____________________, 20____, in support of a license issued for the term 


ending June 30, 20____, and may be continued by certificate each year in support of any license issued for any subsequent year. 


 


 


 


 


wv1450 OVER 







 Provided, However, That the aggregate liability of the surety hereunder shall be no event, in any one (1) year exceed the 


sum of the bond. 


 Provided, Further, the surety shall have the right to terminate its liability hereunder by written notice of its election so to do, 


by United States registered mail upon the oblige, and thereupon the surety shall be discharged from any liability hereunder for 


any default of the Principal, after the expiration of thirty days from and after service of such notice. 


 Witness our hands and official seal this ______ day of _________________, 20_____. 


 


  _____________________________________________________ 


  Name of Automobile Auction 


 


  _____________________________________________________ 


  Signature of Principal 


 


  _____________________________________________________ 


  Name of Surety 


 


  _____________________________________________________ 


  Address of Surety 


 


  _____________________________________________________ 


  Name of Surety Agent 


 


  _____________________________________________________ 


  Signature of Surety Agent 


 


  _____________________________________________________ 


  Address of Surety Agent 


 


 


APPROVED 


 


____________________________, Commissioner 


Division of Motor Vehicles 


 


By ____________________________________ 





		We: 

		Principal: 

		Corp: 

		Mo / Day: 

		Year 1: 

		Year 2: 

		Day: 

		Month: 

		Year 3: 

		Auto Auction: 

		Surety Name: 

		Surety Address: 

		Surety Agent Name: 

		Surety Agent Address: 








MV-126-DS-J 
Rev 04-06 
 


West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles 
Dealer Vehicle Liability and Property Damage Certificate of Insurance 


 
 Trade Name of Dealership: ____________________________________ 
 
 Address of Dealership: ____________________________________ 
 
 Policy Number: ____________________________________ 
 
 Effective Dates – From: _________________ To: ________________ 
 
 Name of Insurer: ____________________________________ 
 
 Home Office of Address Insurer: ____________________________________ 
 
  ____________________________________ 
 
A policy of bodily injury liability and property damage liability insuring said dealership (or any 
other person, as insured, operating any vehicle owned by said dealership with the express or 
implied permission of said dealership) against loss from liability imposed by law damages 
arising from the ownership, operation, maintenance or use of such vehicle (subject to minimum 
limits, exclusive of interest and cost) with respect to such vehicle as follows: 
 
Twenty thousand dollars because of bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident 
(subject to said limit for one person), forty thousand dollars because of bodily injury to or death 
of two or more persons in any accident, and ten thousand dollars because of injury to or property 
damage sustained by others in any one accident. 
 
Note: Dealers not subject to liability policy requirements due to the terminology “vehicle” must 
have a general liability policy in the amount of fifty thousand dollars from damages arising from 
the ownership of the dealership named herein. 
 
If the policy described has been cancelled by either the insurer or the insured, the insurer shall 
immediately notify the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles of such cancellation in writing 
at its Charleston office. 
 
I hereby state, under penalty of false swearing and penalties outlined in the West Virginia Motor 
Vehicle Laws Chapter 17 that there is in effect a liability policy on the described business in 
accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws. 
 
  Signature of Authorized Company Representative 
 
 
 _________________________________________ 





		Name of Dealership: 

		Dealership Address: 

		Policy Number: 

		From: 

		To: 

		Name of Insurer: 

		Insurer's Address: 

		Insurer's Additional Address: 








MV-126-M-DS 
Rev. 7/01 STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 


 DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
 DEALER SERVICES SECTION 
 NOTICE OF CHANGE IN DEALERSHIP 
 
 
The Business Name and Address information requested below should be same as shown on 
your current Dealer License Certificate. 
 
NAME ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
MAILING ADDRESS _________________________________________________________ 
 
PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS OR LOCATION ________________________________ 
 
CITY ____________________________ COUNTY ______________ STATE ____________ 
 
ZIP CODE NUMBER ___________________________ TELEPHONE __________________ 
 
DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATION NUMBER ____________________________________ 
 


(The Section Below Outlining The Change In Dealership Must Be Completed) 
 


1. If business is moved to new location give complete new mailing address and new location 
of business. Attach to this notice photograph of new location. 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


2. If a change in trade name is made, give the complete new trade name that the business 
will operate under. 


 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


3. If change is due to death of licensee or any partner, give name of such licensee or partner 
and relationship to licensee. 


 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


4. A change in any partners, officers, or directors of the board. List names and titles below: 
 NAME TITLE 
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


5. If a change in ownership is made, give name and address of new owner. 
 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


6. Appointment of trustee in brankruptcy, trustee under assignment for benefit of creditors, 
master or receiver, give name and address of such trustee, master or receiver. 


 


__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________ 


 







Page 2 
 
 


7. If change in personnel authorized to make assignment of titles and to transact business 
with the Division of Motor Vehicles, list names of all personnel so authorized. 


 NAME SIGNATURES 
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________ 


 


8. If additional places of business have been established at other locations with the State 
since your original application was filed with the Division of Motor Vehicles, give name and 
address of each location. 


 NAME ADDRESS 
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 


 
STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
 
COUNTY OF ____________________________, to wit 
 
 Before the undersigned authority this day personally appeared 
 
____________________________________, who, after being first duly sworn deposes and says that he is the 
applicant (or if firm or corporation, that he is an authorized member of the firm or proper officer of said 
corporation): That the business herein named is a legitimate dealership at the address and location shown herein 
and applicant further states that the changes outlined in this Notice are true and correct statements. 
 
 
 _________________________________ (Seal) 
 (Sign here if applicant is an individual) 
 
 
 _________________________________ (Seal) 
 
  By _______________________ 
 
(CORPORATE SEAL)  Its ________________________ 
 (Sign here if the applicant is a corporation and affix corporate seal) 
 
 
 _________________________________ (Seal) 
  A partner 
  (Sign here if the applicant is copartnership) 
 
Taken, subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________ day of __________________________, 20____ 
 
My Commission expires ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 __________________________________________ 
  Notary Public 





		Name: 

		Address: 

		Location: 

		Center: 

		County: 

		State: 

		ZIP: 

		Phone: 

		Certification Number: 

		1: 

		2: 

		4a: 

		3: 

		4b: 

		5: 

		6: 

		7: 

		8a: 

		8b: 

		County 2: 








DMV-99-DS 
Rev. 8/92 


State of West Virginia 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


 
FORMULA FOR ISSUANCE OF DEALER PLATES 


 
 
Formula to determine the maximum number of Class D and DUC plates that can be issued to a new or used motor 
vehicle dealer for a fee of $5.00 per plate. 
 
Number of New and Used 
Vehicles Sold at Reatil and 
Wholesale Previous Year 


Plates That 
Can Be Issued  


Number of Used Vehicles 
Sold at Retail and Wholesale 


Previous Year 


Plates That 
Can Be Issued 


 
Exempt of Formula 


 
3 


  
Exempt of Formula 


 
3 


20 4  20 4 
40 5  40 5 
60 6  60 6 
80 7  80 7 
100 8  100 8 
120 9  120 9 
140 10  140 10 
160 11  160 11 
180 12  180 12 
200 13  200 13 
220 14  220 14 
240 15  240 15 
260 16  260 16 
280 17  280 17 
300 18  300 18 
320 19  320 19 
340 20  340 20 
360 21  360 21 
380 22  380 22 
400 23  400 23 
420 24  420 24 
440 25  440 25 
460 26  460 26 
480 27  480 27 
500 28  500 28 
520 29  520 29 
540 30  540 30 
560 31  560 31 
580 32  580 32 
600 33  600 33 
620 34  620 34 
640 35  640 35 
660 36  660 36 
680 37  680 37 
700 38  700 38 
720 39  720 39 
740 40  740 40 
760 41  760 41 
780 42  780 42 
800 43  800 43 
Etc.   Etc.  


     
 








MV-126-F-DS 
Rev 7/93 


STATE  OF  WEST   VIRGINIA 


 
DEPPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES 
DEALER  SERVICES\ 


 
APPLICATION  FOR  TEMPORARY  REGISTRATION  PLATES 


 


CHECK CLASS OF DEALER CLASS D  ∏ CLASS DUC  ∏ CLASS F  ∏ CLASS TR  ∏ 
 


AUTOMOBILE AUCTION  ∏ CLASS DRV  ∏ CLASS W/D/R  ∏ LICENSE SERVICE  ∏ 
 


LICENSE CERTIFICATION NUMBER _________________________ 
 


NAME ______________________________________________________________________ 
 
MAILING ADDRESS ___________________________________________________________ 
 
PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS OR LOCATION __________________________________ 
 
CITY ________________________________ COUNTY __________________ STATE ______ 
 
ZIP CODE NUMBER _______________________ TELEPHONE NUMBER ________________ 
 
 I (we) hereby make application for ______________ temporary registration plates and attach hereto 
 Number 
 


Check  ∏ Money Order  ∏ in the amount of ________________ in payment of the required fee of  
 Dollars 
$3.00 per temporary registration plate. 
 
 Chapter Seventeen A, article Six, Section Fifteen of the Code requires each dealer to fuly account for all 
temporary registration plates last delivered to such dealer. No application for temporary registration plates will be 
honored by the Department unless the applicant has submitted to the Department copies of the temporary 
registration certificates issued and a listing of all temporary plates on hand. 
 
 Total Number Temporary Registration Plates last ordered . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ______________ 
 
 Numbers of Temporary Plates received on last order 
 
 From ___________________________ To ___________________________ 
 
 Number of Temporary Registration Plates issued . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  _______________ 
 
 Number of Temporary Registration Plates on hand . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . _______________ 
 


BALANCE OF THIS APPLICATION ON REVERSE SIDE 
 


 


 
(This Space For Department Use Only) 


 
Checked and Approved By ____________________________________________ Date ___________________ 
 
Numbers of Temporary Plates issued on the application 
 
From ___________________________ To ___________________________ 
 
 







WV-1446 
 
 
 


LIST BELOW NUBERS OF ALL TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATES ON HAND 
 
_______________ _______________ _______________ _______________ 
 
_______________ _______________ _______________ _______________ 
 
_______________ _______________ _______________ _______________ 
 
_______________ _______________ _______________ _______________ 
 
_______________ _______________ _______________ _______________ 
 
_______________ _______________ _______________ _______________ 
 
 


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


___________________________________ (SEAL) 
   (Sign here if applicant is an individual) 
 
 
___________________________________ (SEAL) 
 
 
 
 
By _______________________________________ 
 
 
It’s _______________________________________ 
  (Sign here if the applicant is a corporation) 
    (Affix corporate seal) 
 
 
___________________________________ (SEAL) 
    A partner 
 (Sign here if the applicant is a copartnership) 
 
 
PICKED UP BY _____________________________ 
 
DATE _____________________________________ 



jgrate

Pencil





		Check Box1: Off

		Check Box2: Off

		Check Box3: Off

		Check Box4: Off

		Check Box5: Off

		Check Box6: Off

		Check Box7: Off

		Check Box8: Off

		License #: 

		Name: 

		Address: 

		Location: 

		City: 

		County: 

		State: 

		ZIP Code: 

		Phone #: 

		Application #: 

		Check Box19: Off

		Check Box20: Off

		Dollars: 

		Total # of Plates: 

		From 1: 

		To 1: 

		Total Issued: 

		Number on Hand: 

		On Hand 4: 

		On Hand 5: 

		On Hand 6: 

		On Hand 7: 

		On Hand 8: 

		On Hand 9: 

		On Hand 10: 

		On Hand 11: 

		On Hand 12: 

		On Hand 13: 

		On Hand 14: 

		On Hand 15: 

		On Hand 16: 

		On Hand 17: 

		On Hand 18: 

		On Hand 19: 

		On Hand 20: 

		On Hand 21: 

		On Hand 22: 

		On Hand 23: 

		On Hand 24: 

		On Hand 1: 

		On Hand 2: 

		On Hand 3: 








DMV-!-TR 
REV. 12/04 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 


 


FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 
CLASS ________________________ 
NUMBER ______________________ 
EXP. 
DATE _________________________ 


  


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
CHARLESTON 25317 


Application for a Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle 
 


TYPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK 
 


MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
 


The owner(s) of the following vehicle make application for a certificate of title for that vehicle and for that purpose statte the following: 
 
NAME ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 


(Name of purchaser to be written plainly and exactly as it is to appear on the Certificate of Title) 
 


ADDRESS __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Number Street City or Town County State Zip Code 


VEHICLE  DESCRIPTION 
 


MAKE ____________________________ YEAR _______________ V.I.N. _______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
STYLE OF BODY WEIGHT 
  
 Passenger vehicle only TRUCKS (Requested GVW) 
Odometer Reading Title Brands:  □ SALVAGE □ RECONSTRUCTED 
 (No Tenths)       □ OTHER: _______________________________________________________ 
    (EXPLAIN) 
 
Purchase Price $ _________________________ Trade-in $ _____________________________ Net Cost $ ____________________________ 5% Tax _________________________ 


(Credit allowed only on vehicles registered in West Virginia and the tax paid thereon by applicant) 
TRADE  IN  DESCRIPTION 


 


1) ____________________   _______________   ________________________________________   __________________________________________________________________ 
 MAKE  YEAR  SERIAL NO.  WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER 
 
2) ____________________   _______________   ________________________________________   __________________________________________________________________ 
 MAKE  YEAR  SERIAL NO.  WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER 
 


Registration Plate Transferred from: (Send copy of registration card both sides) 
 


___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Make of Vehicle Weight Serial Number Title Number License Number 


LIENS  AND  ENCUMBRANCES 
 


1 ________________________________________________________________________________________ Amount ______________________ 
 Name of Lienholder 


__________________________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien ________________ Date ___________ 
Street City State Zip Code C/S/C  D/T  S/A 


 
 
 
2 ________________________________________________________________________________________ Amount ______________________ 


 Name of Lienholder 
__________________________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien ________________ Date ___________ 


Street City State Zip Code C/S/C  D/T  S/A 
 
 
 
I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the 
statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 


Effective date of insurance Policy: From __________________ To __________________     TITLE APPLICATION MUST BE SIIGNED BY OWNER 
 


Name of Insurance Company ________________________________________________ If Title reads “AND” Both Signatures of Owners must appear 
 


Name of Insurance Agent ___________________________________________________ (x) ________________________________________________ 
      OWNER’S SIGNATURE 
 


Insurance Policy Number ____________________________________________________ (x) ________________________________________________ 
      OWNER’S SIGNATURE 


INSURANCE  MUST  BE  IN  EFFECT  WHEN  APPLICATION  IS  RECEIVED. 
DEALER  CERTIFICATION 


 


This is to certify that the above described vehicle was acquired from _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Month ______________ day ____ year _______ and sold to the above named purchaser on month ________________ day ____ year _______. The undersigned dealer further 
Certifies that the sale price, trade-in, and net cost are true and correct and that the Federeal Odometer Regulation has been satisfied. Federal Regulations Require You to State the 
Odometer Mileage Upon Transfer of Ownership. 
I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is___________________ and reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked: 


  □   1. The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits. 


  □   2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage – WARNING – ODOMETER DISCREPANCY. 
 


Dealer Name _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


Address _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


Signature (X) _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


Dealer Number ________________________________________________________________________________________ 







 
 
 


INFORMATION 
 
 


Print in ink or type. 
 
 
Mail check or money order. 
Make Payable to DMV. 
 
 
Any check which is not honored for payment will result in a $10.00 service charge. 
 
Be certain you have completed the application, including your signature. 
 
If the vehicle is titled in another state the title must accompany this application. 
 
All titles with liens are mailed directly to the lienholder. 
 
Be sure to include your Zip Code and Zip Code of lienholder. 
 
Statement of insurance must be submitted with each application for Motor Vehicle Registration. There is a $.50 insurance Recording Fee. 
 


FEES 
 
$10.00 for title $ ____________________ 
 
$5.00 for lien    _____________________ 
 
$5.50 transfer of license (includes insurance fees)    _____________________ 
5% Privilege Tax 
       New Vehicle Tax based on purchase price    _____________________ 
 
REGISTRATION FEES*    _____________________ 
 
Cars (Class A): ---------$30.00 (includes litter and insurance fees.)    _____________________ 
 
Trucks (Class A): 
Below 8001 lbs. Gross vehicle weight ------ $30.00 (includes litter and insurance fees.)    _____________________ 
 
All other registration fees must also include $1.00 litter fee and the $.50 insurance fee when applicable    ___________________________ 
 
TOTAL $ ______________________ 
 


• Credit on trade-in allowed only for vehicles registered in West Virginia and the taxes paid thereon by applicant. 
 
For additional information call 558-3900 or toll-free 1-800-642-9066 
 
 
 Mail to: 
 
 Department of Transportation 
 Diivision of Motor Vehicles 
 1800 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Building 3 
 Charleston, West Virginia 25317 





		Name: 

		Address: 

		City: 

		County: 

		State: 

		ZIP: 

		Make: 

		Year: 

		VIN: 

		Style: 

		Car Weight: 

		Truck GVW: 

		Odometer Reading: 

		Check Box14: Off

		Check Box15: Off

		Check Box16: Off

		Other: 

		Purchase $: 

		Trade-in $: 

		Net $: 

		Tax: 

		1 - Make: 

		1 - Year: 

		1 - Serial #: 

		1 - Title #: 

		2 - Make: 

		2 - Year: 

		2 - Serial #: 

		2 - Title #: 

		3 - Make: 

		3 - Weight: 

		3 - Serail Number: 

		3 - Title #: 

		3 - License #: 

		1 - Lienholder: 

		1 - Amount: 

		1 - Address: 

		1 - Kind: 

		1 - Date: 

		2 - Lienholder: 

		2 - Amount: 

		2 - Address: 

		2 - Kind: 

		2 - Date: 

		From: 

		To: 

		Insurance Co: 

		Insurance Agent: 

		Policy #: 

		Acquired from: 

		From Year: 

		From Month: 

		From Day: 

		To Month: 

		To Day: 

		To Year: 

		Mileage: 

		Check Box58: Off

		Check Box59: Off

		Dealer Name: 

		Dealer Address: 

		Dealer #: 

		$10: 

		$5: 

		$55: 

		5%: 

		Reg Fee: 

		Truck $30: 

		Car $30: 

		$1: 

		TOTAL: 








DMV-TM-5A 
5/92 


R E A S S I G N M E N T  S U P P L E M E N T  L O G  S H E E T  
 


DATE TM-5 No. NAME ADDRESS MODEL/YR SERIAL NUMBER 


      


      


      


      


      


      


      


      


      


      


      


      


      


 





		Date 1: 

		TM 1: 

		Name 1: 

		Year 1: 

		Date 2: 

		TM 2: 

		Name 2: 

		Address 2: 

		Year 2: 

		Date 3: 

		TM 3: 

		Name 3: 

		Address 3: 

		Year 3: 

		Date 4: 

		TM 4: 

		Name 4: 

		Address 4: 

		Year 4: 

		Date 5: 

		TM 5: 

		Name 5: 

		Address 5: 

		Year 5: 

		SN 5: 

		SN 4: 

		SN 3: 

		SN 1: 

		SN 2: 

		Date 6: 

		TM 6: 

		Name 6: 

		Address 6: 

		Year 6: 

		SN 6: 

		Date 7: 

		TM 7: 

		Name 7: 

		Address 7: 

		Year 7: 

		SN 7: 

		Date 8: 

		TM 8: 

		Name 8: 

		Address 8: 

		Year 8: 

		SN 8: 

		Date 9: 

		TM 9: 

		Name 9: 

		Address 9: 

		Year 9: 

		SN 9: 

		Date 10: 

		TM 10: 

		Name 10: 

		Address 10: 

		Year 10: 

		SN 10: 

		Date 11: 

		TM 11: 

		Name 11: 

		Address 1: 

		Year 11: 

		SN 11: 

		Address 11: 

		Date 12: 

		TM 12: 

		Name 12: 

		Address 12: 

		Year 12: 

		SN 12: 

		Date 13: 

		TM 13: 

		Name 13: 

		Address 13: 

		Year 13: 

		SN 13: 








________________________________     ______________ 
 CUSTOMER’S NAME STOCK NO. 
 
 
 


T


Federal law (and S
of ownership. Failu
imprisonment. 
 
 
I, ______________
state that the odom
knowledge that it r
the following statem
 


∏ (1) I hereby ce
amount of mileage 
 


∏ (2) I hereby cer


WARNING 
MAKE        


 


VEHICLE I


X______________
   TRANSFEROR’S
 
_______________
   PRINTED NAME
 
_______________
   TRANSFEROR’S
 
_______________
   CITY 
 
_______________
   DATE OF STATE
 
X______________
   TRANSFEREE’S
 
_______________
   PRINTED NAME
 
_______________
   TRANSFEREE’S
 
_______________
   TRANSFEREE’S
 
 
_______________
   CITY 
 
DMV-43 (rev. 1/91 

ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMEN

tate law, if applicable) requires that you state the mileage upon transfer 
re to complete or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or 


____________________________________ (Transferor’s name, print) 
eter now reads ___________ (no tenths) miles and to the best of my 


eflects the actual mileage of the vehicle described below, unless one of 
ents is checked. 


rtify that to the best of my knowledge the odometer reading reflects the 
in excess of its mechanical limits. 


tify that the odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage. 


ODOMETER DISCREPANCY. 


 


                              MODEL                              BODY TYPE 


DENTIFICATION NUMBER                           YEAR 


_________________________________________________________ 
 SIGNATURE 


_________________________________________________________ 
 


_________________________________________________________ 
 ADDRRESS (STREET) 


_________________________________________________________ 
STATE ZIP CODE 


_________________________________________________________ 
MENT 


_________________________________________________________ 
 SIGNATURE 


_________________________________________________________ 
 


_________________________________________________________ 
 NAME 


_________________________________________________________ 
 ADDRESS (STREET) 


_________________________________________________________ 
STATE ZIP CODE 





		Mileage: 

		Check Box3: Off

		Check Box4: Off

		Make: 

		Model: 

		Type: 

		VIN: 

		Year: 

		Transferor's Name: 

		Transferor's Address: 

		Transferor's City: 

		Tranferor's State: 

		ZIP Code: 

		Date: 

		Transferee's Address: 

		Transferee's City: 

		Transferee's State: 

		Transferee's ZIP: 

		Customer's Name: 

		Stock No: 

		Transferee's Name: 








NEW  ODOMETER  CERTIFICATION  LAW 
 
If you sell a vehicle to another individual, you will need to complete the odometer disclosure statement below. 
The statement certifies the odometer reading at the time of sale. The buyer will also be required to 
acknowledge the odometer reading you certified. An odometer disclosure statement is not required if the 
vehicle is: 
 


• A vehicle that is 10 years old or older 
• Non-motorized, or 
• More than 16,000 pounds (gross vehicle weight rating) 


 
If the West Virginia title was issued after January 1, 1991, the odometer disclosure is required to be 
completed on the back of the title rather than on a separate disclosure statement. However, the odometer 
disclosure is not required to be completed for the above mentioned vehicles. 
 
If you purchase a vehicle from another individual, be sure the seller provides you with a separate odometer 
disclosure statement. You will need to submit a copy of the statement to the Division of Motor Vehicles when 
applying for your title. 
 


ODOMETER  DISCLOOSURE  STATEMENT 
 


Federal and State law require that you state the odometer mileage upon transfer of ownership. 
Failure to complete or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment. 
 


I, _______________________________________________ , state that the odometer now reads 
 (Seller’s name – TYPE OR PRINT) 
 


_________________ (no tenths) miles and to the best of my knowledge reflects the actual 
mileage of the vehicle described below, unless one of the following statements is checked: 
 


∏  1. The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits. 
∏  2. The odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage. WARNING 
             – ODOMETER DISCREPANCY. 


 


Year 
 
 


Make Body Type Model 


Vehicle Identification Number 
 
 


Seller’s Signature (X) _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Printed Name ___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Seller’s Address _________________________________________________________________________ 
 Street 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________ 
 City State Zip code 
 
Seller’s Certification Date _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 


 
TO  BE  COMPLETED  BY  THE  BUYER 


 
Buyer’s Signature (X) _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Print Name ____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Buyer’s Address _______________________________________________________________________ 
 Street State Zip Code 
  
TM-1 





		Current Reading: 

		Check Box3: Off

		Check Box4: Off

		Year: 

		Body Type: 

		Make: 

		VIN Number: 

		Street: 

		Seller's Name: 

		Buyer's Name: 

		S - City: 

		S - State: 

		S - ZIP: 

		B - Street: 

		B - State: 

		B - ZIP: 








DMV-12-A-TR 
Rev. 6/00 


INSTRUCTIONS 
 Forward this Release, together with the Certificate of Title to which it refers, to the DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES, 
Charleston, West Virginia 25317, with fees as follows: 


 
Issuance of new certificate of title omitting the released lien . . . . $10.00 


STATE  OF  WEST  VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES 
1800 KANAWHA  BOULEVARD EAST, BUILDING 3 


CHARLESTON, WV 25317 
 


RELEASE  OF  LIEN 
 


(BY Corporation) 
 


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , a corporation, 
(Name of Corporation Holding Lien) 


 
Hereby releases a . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  


(Conditional Sale Contract, Reservation of Title, Chattel Mortgage, Deed of Trust, or other Character of Lien) 
 
to . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . to secure payment of the 


(Holder of Lien) 
 


sum of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Dollars ($. . . . . . . .), 
 
dated the . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . day of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ., 20 . . . . . . . . . .,recorded on  
 (Date) (Month) (Year) 
 
West Virginia Certificate of Title No. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 (Number of Vehicle Owner’s Certiificate of Title) 
 
issued by said Department under date of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 (Month) (Date) (Year) 
 
to . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  


(Name of Registered Owner) 
 


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
(Address of Registered Owner) 


 
as the registered owner of the motor vehicle in said Certificate of Title described, being one . . . . . .  
 (Make) 
 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 (Year) (Serial Number) 
 
     In Witness whereof said . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
  (Name of Corporation) 
 


has caused its corporate name to be signed hereto by its . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
  (Title of Officer) 


duly authorized this . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . day of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ., 20 . . . . . 
 
 
   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ., a corporation 
  (Type or Print Name of Corporation) 
 
  By . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
  (Signature of Officer) (Title of Officer) 
 
     Acknowledged before the subscriber, by . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
  (Name of Officer) 
 
who signed the name of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , a corporation, thereto 
 
this . . . . . . . . . . day of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , 20 . . . . . 
 
  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
  (Notary Public) 
 
My Commission expires: 
 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , 20 . . . . . 





		Corporation Holding Lien: 

		Type of Lien: 

		Holder of Lien: 

		Lien Amount: 

		Amount: 

		Month: 

		WV Certificate #: 

		Issued Month: 

		Date: 

		Year: 

		Registered Owner: 

		Address of Owner: 

		Make: 

		Vehicle Year: 

		Vehicke SN: 

		Name of Corporation: 

		Officer's Title: 

		Authorized Date: 

		Authorized Month: 

		Authorized Year: 

		Corporation: 

		Officaer's Title: 

		Name of Officer: 

		Corp Name: 

		Sub Date: 

		Sub Month: 

		Sub Year: 








 
DMV-129-TR 
REV. 1/00 State of West Virginia 
 Department of Transportation – Division of Motor Vehicles 
 AFFIDAVIT FOR REPOSSESSION OF A VEHICLE 
 
 
This affidavit to be used by repossessing lien holder for securing a repossessed title in the name of the lien holder if sold 
under the terms of a conditional sales contract; or a repossessed certificate of title in the name of the purchaser if sold at 
public or private auction under the terms of a deed of trust, chattel mortgage or security agreement. 
 
I/we, the undersigned certify that the motor vehicle described herein has been repossessed due to the failure of the reg-
istered owner, named herein, to meet his obligation in the settlement of the lien shown on the face of this affidavit. The 
lien contract covering this vehicle was executed in accordance with the applicable provisions of the laws of the state in 
which the lien originated. 
 
I/we further certify that the default terms of this lien contract have been complied with fully regarding the giving of due 
notice and authority to dispose of the vehicle at public or private sale. There are no recorded liens which are superior to 
the lien stated in this affidavit and no legal suit is now pending in any court concerning this repossession. 
 
I/we also warrant title to the described vehicle to be free from all indebtedness and agree to defend it against all claims. 
 


 
 


 


 Name of Defaulting Owner Address of Defaulting Owner 
 


Description of Repossessed Vehicle 
Year Model 


 
 


Mfgs. Make Serial Number Title Number State 


 
 


Lien Covering Repossessed Vehicle 
 


Amount of Lien 
 


Date of Lien 
 


Kind of Lien 
 
 


Lien in Favor of _______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Lien Holder _________________________________________________________________ 
 


 
 


 


 Name of Purchaser at Sale Purchase Price of Vehicle 
 
_________________________________________ By: _____________________________________ 
 Name of Lien Holder Authorized Official 
 
State of __________________________________   County ____________________________________ 
 
Taken, subscribed and sworn to before me this __________ day of _________________ 20_____ 
 
My commission expires this ______________ day of ________________________ 20_____ 
 
 


Notary Public ________________________________ 
 
 


(See instructions on Reverse Side) 
 







PROCEDURE TO SECURE A 
REPOSSESSION CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 


 
 
To secure a certificate of the title for a repossessed vehicle sold under the terms of a conditional sales contract. Form 
DMV-1-TR, application for a certificate of title must be executed and submitted with the Lien Holders Affidavit for 
Repossession of a Vehicle, Form DMV-129-TR. The certificate of title issued to the registered owner that the vehicle is 
repossessed from must also accompany the application for certificate of title. Title for a vehicle sold under the terms of a 
conditional sales contract can only be issued in the name of the lien holder. 
 
To secure a certificate of title for a repossessed vehicle sold under the terms of a chattel mortgage, deed of trust, or 
security agreement, it is necessary for the purchaser to execute Form DMV-1-TR, Application for Certificate of Title to a 
vehicle, and submit with the lien Holders Affidavit for Repossession of a Vehicle, Form DMV-129-TR, and the certificate of 
title that was issued to the owner of the vehicle that is being sold under the terms of the agreement, Certificate of title for a 
vehicle sold under the terms of a chattel mortgage, deed of trust, or security agreement can only be issued in the name of 
the purchaser. 
 
Form DMV-129-TR, Affidavit for Repossession of a vehicle, must be completed in every detail. An incomplete affidavit will 
be returned. 
 
In the event the lien holder does not have possession of the certificate of title, which should be in the custody of the lien 
holder, than an affidavit stating that the lien holder does not have custody of the certificate of title, that the lien holder did 
not receive a certificate of title from the Division of Motor Vehicles; or if the title was received, complete details as to the 
disposition of the title must be a part of the affidavit. The affidavit must show a complete description of the vehicle being 
repossessed including the manufacturer’s name, the year model and the serial number of the vehicle. The affidavit must 
be signed by the lien holder and acknowledged by a Notary Public. 
 
To secure a repossessed certificate of title for a vehicle titled in other states, the application must be accompanied by the 
out-of-state title; or if from a non-title state, the certificate of registration of the former owner must accompany the 
application. Verification by the out-of-state Department of Motor Vehicles will be acceptable. 
 
The required fees for the transaction must accompany the application for certificate of title. 





		Deafaulting Owner: 

		Address: 

		Year: 

		Make: 

		Serial Number: 

		Title Number: 

		State: 

		Amount: 

		Kind: 

		Lien in Favor of: 

		Lien Holder Address: 

		Purchaser: 

		Purchase Price: 

		Name of Lien Holder: 

		State of: 

		County: 

		Date: 

		Month: 

		Year 1: 

		Date 2: 

		Month 2: 

		Year 3: 








DMV-38-TR 
Rev. 120/03 


 
WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
1900 Kanawha Boulevard East • State Capitol Building Three 


Charleston, West Virginia 25317-0010 
 
 


C E R T I F I C A T I O N  O F  O N E - A N D - T H E  S A M E  P E R S O N  
 


  
 
STATE OF ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
COUNTY OF __________________________________________________________________ 
 
ADDRESS ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________ ZIP ____________________________ 
 
This is to certify that ____________________________________________________________ 


And __________________________________________________ are one and the same person. 


 


This certification is prepared for the use of the Division of Motor Vehicles. 


I (above named) certify, under penalty of false swearing, that the statements made herein are true 


and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 


 
 
 
 SIGNATURE __________________________________ 
 
 Dated this _________ day ________________, 20 _____ 
 
 


** This affidavit must be completed and signed by the individual asserting to be one- 
and-the same. 





		State: 

		County: 

		Street: 

		City & State: 

		ZIP: 

		Name 1: 

		Name 2: 

		Day: 

		Month: 

		Year: 








MV-154-TR 


 
STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Building 3, Capitol Complex 


Charleston, WV 25317 
 
 


A F F I D A V I T  
 


 DATE ________________________________ 
 
STATE OF _________________________ 
 
COUNTY OF _______________________ 
 
I, ________________________________________________, DO HEREBY CERTIFY THAT I 


(AM) (WAS) THE SOLE OWNER OF _____________________________________________, 


AND THE CHANGE OF NAME REQUESTED WILL REFLECT NO CHANGE IN 


OWNERSHIP. 


 


THIS AFFIDAVIT IS PREPARED FOR THE USE OF THE WEST VIRGINIA 


DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES. 


 
 
 
 SIGNATURE __________________________________ 
 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME _____________________________________ 
 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES ____________________________________________________ 
 
 ______________________________________ 
  NOTARY PUBLIC 





		Date: 

		State: 

		County: 

		Nmae: 

		Company: 








SV-5 
6/00 


 
WEST  VIRGINIA  DEPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES 
1800 Kanawha Boulevard East ● Building Three 


Charleston, West Virginia 25317-0010 
 


COSMETIC TOTAL LOSS CERTIFICATION 
(This application must be submitted with the owner’s title) 


Cosmetic Total Loss Title Fee $10.00 
 


NAME OF VEHICLE OWNER: _________________________________________________ 
 
ADDRESS: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 Street City State Zip County 
 


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION 
 


MAKE: __________ YEAR: ___________ V.I.N.: ___________________________________ 
 
STYLE OF BODY: _________________________ 
 
The above vehicle has been declared to be a total loss and the damage is exclusively 
cosmetic and no repair is necessary in order to legally and safely operate the motor vehicle 
on the roads and highways of this state. 
 
I hereby certify under penalty of fines and/or imprisonment, that the statements made 
herein are correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 
NAME OF INSURANCE COMPANY: ____________________________________________ 
 
SIGNATURE: _____________________________________ DATE: ____________________ 


This form must be signed (Original Signature) 
 


Indicate Damage: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


ANY ERASURES OR ALTERATIONS WILL VOID THIS DOCUMENT. 
 


304-558-3900 * TDD 1-800-742-6991 * 1-800-642-9066 
An Equal Opportunity Affirmative Action Employer 





		Owner: 

		Street: 

		City: 

		State: 

		ZIP: 

		County: 

		Make: 

		Year: 

		VIN #: 

		Style: 

		Insurance Co: 

		Date: 

		Damage: 








MV-52-TR 
1/06 NOTIFICATION OF TRANSFER OF LICENSE PLATES 


 


 Date of Transfer ___________________________________________      20___________ 
 


Class of License __________ License Plate Number ______________ Expiration Date _________ 
 


Issued to ________________________________________________________________________ 
Name 


 


Address _________________________________________________________________________ 
 


TRANSFERRED FROM 
________/_____________/_________________________/_____________/__________ 
Make Year Serial Number Weight Title No. 


TRANSFERRED TO 
________/_____________/_________________________/_____________/__________ 
Make Year Serial Number Weight Title No. 
 


Signature of Purchaser _____________________________________________________________ 
Trade or Corporate Name of Dealer or License Service ____________________________________ 
By ______________________________ License Certification Number ______________________ 
 Authorized Personnel Only 
   ⁪ Licensed West Virginia Dealer 


  Please Check One: ⁪ License Service 
 


THIS FORM CAN ONLY BE EXECUTED BY A LICENSED WEST VIRGINIA 
DEALER OR LICENSE SERVICE 





		Transfer Date: 

		Year: 

		License Class: 

		Plate #: 

		Exp Date: 

		Name: 

		Address: 

		From Make: 

		From Year: 

		From Serial #: 

		From Weight: 

		From Title #: 

		To Make: 

		To Year: 

		To Serial #: 

		To Weight: 

		To Title #: 

		Corp Name: 

		Certification #: 

		Check Box21: Off

		Check Box22: Off








DMV-86-TR 
 


 
STATE OF WEST VIRGNIA 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


 
BUY HERE – PAY HERE DEALER AFFIDAVIT 


 


 


 
PURCHASER’S INFORMATION 
 
____________________________________   _____________________________________   _________________ 
 (Purchaser’s Name) (Purchaser’s Address) (Phone #) 
 
____________________________________   _____________________________________   _________________ 
 (Co-Purchaser’s Name) (CO-Purchaser’s Address) (Phone #) 
 
VEHICLE DESCRIPTION: 
 


 
 


 
 


 
 


 
 


 Make Year Body Type Vehicle Identification Number 
 
LIEN INFORMATION: 
 
Name of Lienholder ____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Date of Sale _________________________ 
 


 
 


  


 Total Amount of Lien Kind of Lien Date 
 


 
 


  


 Total Amount of Payments Amount of Payment Payment Due Date 
 
DEALER INFORMATION: 
 
Name of Dealership _____________________________________ Dealer Number __________________________ 
 
Address ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
The Purchaser (s) do hereby acknowledge purchase of the vehicle described above and that the listed lienholder has 
a valid lien on the vehicle. 
 
X ____________________________   _____________       ________________________________   ____________ 
 Purchaser’s Signature Date C-Purchaser’s Signature Date 
 
 ___________________________________   __________ 
 Dealer Representative’s Signature Date 
 
White Copy – Submit with original title work 
Pink Copy – Dealer 
Yellow Copy - Customer 





		Purchaser's Name: 

		Purchaser's Address: 

		Purchaser's Phone: 

		Co Address: 

		Co Phone: 

		Make: 

		Year: 

		Body Type: 

		VIN Number: 

		Lienholder: 

		Liienjolder Address: 

		Date of Sale: 

		Amount of Lien: 

		Kind of Lien: 

		Date: 

		Total Payments: 

		Payment Amount: 

		Due Date: 

		Dealership: 

		Dealership Address: 

		Dealer Number: 








DMV-44 Rev. 10/99 
 


DEPARTMENT USE ONLY  
 
 
____________________________ 


current license number 


 
___________________________ 


class 


 
__________________________ 


expiration date 
V E H I C L E  D E S C R I P T I O N 


make 
 


year weight title number 


 


body style 
 


serial number (VIN) 


name(s) on title 
 


address (check box if address has changed)              ⁯ 
 
city                            county                           state                    zip code 
 
All vehicle insurance information must be completed. Your 
personal property tax receipt or exemption from your county 
courthouse must be enclosed. DRIVING WITHOUT AUTO 
INSURANCE IS AGAINST THE LAW 


 


CLASS A 
REGISTRATION FEES 
For cars and trucks below 8001llbs. GVW 


 


$30.00       $60.00 
1 year        2 years 


Includes standard license plate, 50 cent 
insurance fee, and $1.00 litter fee. 


ADD $10, CHECK BOX 
FOR SCENIC PLATE 


Mail to 
DMV 


Capitol Complex, Building 3 
Charleston, WV 25317 


OWNER”S STATEMENT OF INSURANCE 
I hereby state, under penalty of false swearing 
and penalties provided for in Chapters 17A and D 
of the West Virginia Code, that there is in effect a 
MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY POLICY upon the 
vehicle described herein, in accordance with 
provisions of the West Virginia Code. 
X_____________________________________ 


Owner’s Signature 
X_____________________________________ 


Owner’s Signature 
_______________________________________ 


NAME OFINSURANCE AGENCY 
_______________________________________ 


NAME OF AGENT 
_______________________________________ 


POLICY NUMBER 
From:________________to:________________ 


EFFECTIVE DATES 


 
 





		Text1: 

		Text2: 

		Text3: 

		Text4: 

		Text5: 

		Text6: 

		Text7: 

		Text8: 

		Check Box9: Off

		Text11: 

		Check Box12: Off

		Text13: 

		Text14: 

		Text15: 

		Text16: 

		Text17: 








   


Department Use Only 
 
 
 


DMV-32-TR 
Rev. 2/06 


STATE OF WEST VIRGIINIA 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
1800 KANAWHA BOULEVARD, EAST, BUILDING THREE 


CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317-0017 
 


APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF ADDRESS, 
DUPLICATE REGISTRATION CARD, DECAL OR PLATE 


Cash by mail is at sender’s risk. Any check tendered to this department which is not 
honored by any banking institution will result in a $10.00 service charge. 
 
 
_______________________________________________________________ 


Name 
 


_______________________________________________________________ 
Current Address 


 
_______________________________________________________________ 
    City   County  State        ZIP Code 
 


Make 
 
 


Year Weight/Length Plate/Reg Number Exp. Date 


Title Number 
 
 


VIN/Hull Number 


A REGISTRATION CARD, LICENSE PLATE OR DECAL, WILL BE ISSUED IF 
THE COMMISSIONER IS SATISFIED THE ORIGINAL IS LOST, STOLEN OR 


DESTROYED, AND UPON CERTIFICATION TO THAT EFFECT 
 


Give Reason for Requesting Replacement _____________________________________ 
 


Please Check Transaction(s) that apply: Application for: __________________________ 
 


(a) Change of Address only ___ $5.00 (b) Duplicate Registration Card ___$5.00 
 


*(c) Duplicate Decal ___ $5.00 *(d) Duplicate Plate ___$5.50 (*Reg Card Included) 
 


*A STATEMENT OF INSURANCE MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH 
APPLICATION FOR DUPLICATE PLATE 


I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the 
described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia 
Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the sttements made are true and 
correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false 
swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law 17A-9-1; Fraudulent 
Applications. 
 


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:  From ____________ To ___________ 
 


Name of Insurance ______________________________________________ 
 


Name of Agent _________________________________________________ 
 


Insurance Policy Number ________________________________________ 
 


If the title reads “AND,” signature of both owners must appear 
 
(X) ___________________________________________________________ 


Owner’s Signature 
 
(X) ___________________________________________________________ 


Owner’s Signature 
 





		Text1: 

		Text2: 

		Text3: 

		Text4: 

		Text5: 

		Text6: 

		Text7: 

		Text8: 

		Text10: 

		Text11: 

		Text12: 

		Text13: 

		Check Box14: Off

		Check Box15: Off

		Check Box16: Off

		Check Box17: Off

		Text19: 

		Text20: 

		Text21: 

		Text22: 

		Text23: 








DMV-SV-1 
(Rev. 11/01) 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317 


 
SALVAGE CERTIFICATE APPLICATION 


($15.00 FEE) 
 
 


NAME: ___________________________________________________________________________ 
Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 
 (Address) (City) (State) (Zap) 
 


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION 
 


Make: ________________ Year: _________________ V.I.N. ________________________________________________ 
Style of Body: _______________ Weight: __________________   _______________ Odometer ___________________ 
 (Passenger Vehicle) (Trucks GVW) 
 


COMPLETE IF APPLICABLE: 
Flood Damage: ______ Cosmetic Total Loss/Salvage: _____ _____ Requesting a Nonrepairable 
  Certificate. Over 75% 
Fire Damage: _____  damaged. Not to be 
  Reconstructed. 


INDICATED DAMAGE BY MARKING PART ON APPROPRIATE LINE OR LIST PART UNDER “OTHER” 
 


_____ Front Bumper _____ Roof Panel Other (Includes boats, campers, cycles, misc.) 
_____ Grill Assembly _____ Qtr. Panel – L 
_____ Hood _____ Qtr. Panel – R ________________________________________ 
_____ Fender – L _____ Deck Lid 
_____ Fender – R _____ Rear Door S/W ________________________________________ 
_____ Door Front – L _____ Rear Bumper 
_____ Door Front – R _____ Frame ________________________________________ 
_____ Door Rear – L _____ Suspension 
_____ Door Rear – R _____ Seats ________________________________________ 
_____ Windshield _____ Radio/Tape 
_____ Side Glass – L _____ Battery ________________________________________ 
_____ Side Glass – R _____ Dash Panel 
_____ Rear Glass _____ Engine ________________________________________ 
 
IF A LIEN IS TO BE RECORDED, COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING: 
 
Name: __________________________________________ Amount: ___________________ Date: _________________ 
 (Lienholder) 
Address: __________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien: ____________________ 
 
 
I hereby certify under penalty of fines and/or imprisonment, that the statements made herein are correct to the best 
of my knowledge and belief. 
 
Printed Name: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature: ____________________________________________________________ Date: ________________________ 
 (Original Signature of applicant required, no copies) 
 


ANY ERASURES OR ALTERATIONS WILL VOID THIS DOCUMENT 
 





		Name: 

		Address: 

		City: 

		State: 

		ZIP: 

		Make: 

		Year: 

		VIN: 

		Body: 

		Weight - Car: 

		Weight - Truck: 

		Odometer: 

		Check Box14: Off

		Check Box15: Off

		Check Box16: Off

		Check Box17: Off

		Check Box18: Off

		Check Box19: Off

		Check Box20: Off

		Check Box22: Off

		Check Box23: Off

		Check Box24: Off

		Check Box25: Off

		Check Box26: Off

		Check Box27: Off

		Check Box28: Off

		Check Box29: Off

		Check Box30: Off

		Check Box31: Off

		Check Box32: Off

		Check Box33: Off

		Check Box34: Off

		Check Box35: Off

		Check Box36: Off

		Check Box37: Off

		Check Box38: Off

		Check Box39: Off

		Check Box40: Off

		Check Box41: Off

		Check Box42: Off

		Check Box43: Off

		Check Box44: Off

		Other: 

		Lienholder: 

		Lien Amount: 

		Date: 

		Lienholder's Address: 

		Kind: 

		Applikcant: 








DMV-SV-3 
Rev. 07/05 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


RECONSTRUCTED VEHICLE EXAMINATION 


 


 
Company/Individual Name 
 


WD Certificate Number (if applicable) 


Address 
 


City/State/ZIP 


RE
BU


IL
DE


R’
S 


IN
FO


RM
AT


IO
N 


Address where vehicle is inspected (if other than above) 
 


Telephone Number 


 
Make Model Year Body Style 


     _____Auto  _____Truck 
 


Type 
 ___ 2 Door ___ 4 Door ___ Pickup ___ Other _____________ 
 ___ 3 Door ___ 5 Door ___ Tractor trailer 
 


Color Top/Bottom 
 


VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) 
 


Odometer Reading 


Previous Owner 
 


Address City/State/Zip 


VE
HI


CL
E 


IN
FO


RM
AT


IO
N 


Date Vehicle Purchased Amount Paid 
 


$ 
 


Safety Inspection Number Exp. Date 


 
MAJOR COMPONENT PARTS REPLACED: Check all applicable parts 
 and list original Vehicle 
 Identification Number (VIN) 
 
_____ Front Clip Assembly 
 
          VIN: 
_____ Engine 
 
          VIN: 
_____ Transmission 
 
          VIN: 
_____Rear Clip Assembly 
 
          VIN: 


ST
AT


EM
EN


T 
OF


 P
AR


TS
 R


EP
LA


CE
D 


_____ Doors (2 or more) 
 
          VIN: 


 
PARTS REPLACED OR REPAIRED: 
Check all applicable parts 
 
_____ Front Bumper _____ Roof Panel 
_____ Grill Assembly _____ Qtr. Panel-L 
_____ Hood _____ Qtr. Panel-R 
_____ Fender-L _____ Deck Lid 
_____ Fender-R _____ Rear Door S/W 
_____ Door Front-L _____ Rear Bumper 
_____ Door Front-R _____ Frame 
_____ Door Rear-L _____ Suspension 
_____ Door Rear-R _____ Seats 
_____ Windshield _____ Radio/Tape 
_____ Side Glass-L _____ Battery 
_____ Side Glass-R _____ Dash Panel 
_____ Rear Glass _____ Other __________________ 
_____ Air Bags 


 
I CERTIFY THAT THE FACTS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE TRUE, ACCURATE, & VALID; THAT I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE & POSSESS A 
PROPERLY ASSIGNED SALVAGE CERTIFICATE; THAT THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN REBUILT & REPAIRED USING THOSE PARTS 
INDICATED HEREIN; THAT I HAVE IN MY POSSESSION A TITLE, OR BILL OF SALE FOR THE PARTS USED; THAT NO OTHER 
REPLACEMENT OF COMPONENT PARTS WERE MADE; AND, THAT I HAVE NOT KNOWINGLY MADE A FALSE STATEMENT. 


ST
AT


EM
EN


T 
OF


 F
AC


T 


Print Name of Rebuilder 
 


 


Signature Date 


DMV USE ONLY 
THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT AS AN INSPECTOR FOR THE DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES, I HAVE PHYSICALLY EXAMINED THE ABOVE 
DESCRIBED VEHICLE AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND VERIFY THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION. 
 


The Public Vehicle Identification Number ____ Does _____ Does Not appear to be altered or changed 
 
Supporting documentation in Order _____ yes _____ No    Approved _____ yes _____ No    Type of Title     _____ Other _____ Reconstructed 
 


VE
RI


FI
CA


TI
ON


 B
Y 


DM
V 


IN
SP


EC
TO


R 


Print Name of Inspector 
 


Signature Date 


 
DISTRIBUTION:   Orig. (white) submitted with application     #2 (canary) retained by WD/Rebuilder     #3 (pink) Inspector 
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DMV-202-TR 
REV. 8/99  
 
 


STATE  OF  WEST  VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES 
 


CERTIFICATE  OF  INSPECTION 
 


(Please type or print in blue or black ink) 
 
 
 
 


The vehicle described below has been physically inspected and found to meet all requirements of the West Virginia 
Inspection Laws. It is certified by the undersigned as roadworthy on the date indicated: 
 
State of Title __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Title Number ____________________________________ 
 
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Odometer Reading _________________________________ 
 
Inspection Station _______________________________________________ Number ________________________ 
 
Address ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
  State or Route Number   City  County   ZIP 
 
New Sticker Number _______________________________  New Sticker Year _____________________ 
 
Printed Name of Inspector _______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature of Inspector ______________________________________________ Number _____________________ 
 
Date of Inspection _________________________________ 
 
 


N O T E 
 
 
This certificate must be completed in its entirety by the INSPECTOR. Any erasures or alterations will void this 
certificate. 
 
All vehicles must be completely inspected and a new West Virginia Inspection Sticker must be affixed even though 
a current West Virginia Inspection Sticker is on the vehicle. 
 
The inspector must write “RECONSTRUCTED” on the log sheet in the block marked “REPAIRS.” 
 





		State of Title: 

		Title #: 

		VIN #: 

		Odometer Reading: 

		Inspection Station: 

		Station #: 

		Address, City, Coutny ZIP: 

		New Sticker #: 

		New Sticker Year: 

		Inspector's Name: 

		Inspector's Number: 

		Inspection Date: 








MV-158-OB 
Rev. 02/96 
 


AFFIDAVIT 
 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
 
COUNTY OF __________________________ 
 
 The undersigned authorized church official hereby certifies that the vehicle 
described below is the property of the church trustees of the church, and such vehicle is 
used regularly for transporting parishioners to and from church services, as provided in 
Chapter 17A, Article Ten, Section Three of the West Virginia Code. 
 
VEHICLE INFORMATION 
 
Model Year 
 
 


Make Body Style Vehicle Identification Number Plate Number 


 
Number of Passenger Capabilities ________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Church _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Church _____________________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Official _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Official Capacity ______________________________________________________________ 
 
 I hereby state under penalty of false swearing that the above statement is true. 
 
 I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described 
vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify 
that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under 
penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 
INSURANCE INFORMATION 
 
Insurance Company __________________________ Policy Number ____________________ 
 
Effective Date: From __________________________ To ______________________________ 
 
 
Signature ________________________________________________ 
 
Date ____________________________________________________ 


 





		County: 

		Year: 

		Make: 

		Body Style: 

		VIN Number: 

		Plate #: 

		# of Passengers: 

		Church: 

		Address: 

		Official: 

		Capacity: 

		Insurance Co: 

		Policy #: 

		Date From: 

		Date To: 

		Signature Date: 








 
DMV-168-TR 
 
 


S T A T E  O F  W E S T  V I R G I N I A  
D I V I S I O N  O F  M O T O R  V E H I C L E S  


 
 


OWNER’S AFFIDAVIT AS TO THE OPERATION OF AN OFF-THE-HIGHWAY VEHICLE 
 
 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
 
COUNTY OF ___________________________ TO WIT:                             DATE ________________ 
 
 
 The undersigned hereby certifies that he is the owner of the off-the-highway vehicle described 
below: 
 
 
Manufacturer’s Make _____________ Style of Body ____________ Year Model __________
 
Vehicle Identification Number _____________________ Model Number ________________ 
 
Length of Body ____________ Width of Body ____________ Height of Body ____________ 
 
Body Serial Number Assigned by the Manufacturer _________________________________ 
 
 
 
 The undersigned further states the vehicle will only be incidentally operated on the highways of 
this state for the sole purpose of moving the vehicle to or from a place of repairs or moving the vehicle 
from one job site to another, without a load, between sunrise and sunset. Under no circumstances would 
the vehicle be moved on the highways on Saturday, Sunday or any legal holiday. The vehicle must be 
operated at all times with the required permit issued by the Department of Highways for over-sized 
vehicles. 
 
 


  
_________________________________________ 


 Corporate or Company Name 
  


_________________________________________ 
 President or Vice-President if a Corporation 
  


_________________________________________ 
 Partner if a Partnership 
  


_________________________________________ 
 Owner if an Individual 


 





		County: 

		To Wit: 

		Date: 

		Make: 

		Body Style: 

		Model Year: 

		ID Number: 

		Model Number: 

		Body Length: 

		Body Width: 

		Body Height: 

		Manufacturer Serial Number: 

		Corporate or Company Name: 








DMV-62-TR STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
Rev. 12/88 DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
 DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
 1800 KANAWHA BLVD., EAST 
 BUILDING 3 
 CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317 
 


AFFIDAVIT OF BUILDER 
 


The following information must be provided and attached to Application 
For Certificate of Title (DMV-1) for an Assembled Trailer 


 
Serial Number, if available _______________________________________________________ 
 
Empty Weight of Trailer ___________________________ 
 
Declared Gross Weight of Trailer including the Maximum Load to be Hauled at – 
  
 Any Time: _______________________ 
 
Number of Axles: __________________________ 
 
Length: _______________  Height: _______________  Width of Trailer: _______________ 
 
Check Type of Trailer: 
 
   _____ Boat Trailer 
   _____ Utility Trailer 
   _____ House Trailer 
   _____Camper Trailer 
   _____ Other (Specify) __________________________________________________________ 
 
Two photographs, a side view and a front view, of the trailer must be submitted with the 
application for a certificate of title. If the vehicle is a house trailer or camper, two photographs of 
the inside of the trailer, one from each end, must also be submitted with the application. 
 
List all parts used to build the trailer and where you acquired each part: 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
If the trailer was assembled by a person other than the applicant, give name and address of the 
builder: 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
   Name (Please Print) 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
   Street or Route Number    City   State  ZIP 
 
Was this person contracted to build the trailer for you?     _____ YES     _____ NO 
 
For what purpose is this trailer to be used? ___________________________________________ 
  
Has the trailer ever been registered in any other state?   _____ NO    _____ YES  (If Yes, what 
State? ______________________________ 
 
TOTAL COST OF MATERIALS USED:     $_________________ 





		Serial #: 

		Weight: 

		Time: 

		Axle #: 

		Length: 

		Height: 

		Width: 

		Check Box8: Off

		Check Box9: Off

		Check Box10: Off

		Check Box11: Off

		Check Box12: Off

		Other: 

		Parts: 

		Name: 

		Address: 

		Check Box17: Off

		Check Box18: Off

		Purpose: 

		Check Box20: Off

		Check Box21: Off

		Cost: 








DMV-66-TR 
Rev. 11/89 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


BUILDING 3, STATE CAPITOL COMPLEX 
CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317 


 
DISABLED VETERANS EXEMPTION STATEMENT 


 
I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that I am, t the best of my knowledge and belief, eligible for exemption from 
payment fo a vehicle registration fee under the provisions of Section 8, Article 8, Article 10, Chapter 10, Chapter 
17A, of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended by Acts of the Legislature, Regular Sessions 1955 and 1978. I 
meet the eligibility requirements by virtue of the following (check whichever is applicable): 
 
_____ I have received a grant from the Federal Government to be applied toward the purchase of a vehicle under the 


provisions of PL 663-79, PL 187-82, or PL 77-90, Congress of the United States. I certify that the vehicle for 
which I claim exemption from registration fees will not be used for hire. 


 
_____ I have a one hundred percent (100%) total and permanent service-connected disability as rated by the 


Veteran’s Administration. I certify that the vehicles for which I claim exemption from registration fees will 
not be used for commercial purposes. 


 
I understand that this claim for exemption from payment of registration fees does not entitle me to exemption from 
payment of the tax imposed upon the priviledge of effecting the certification of title of my vehicle, nor the payment 
of the five dollwr ($5.00) charge for the Certificate of Title evidencing ownership of the vehicle for which 
exemption from payment of registration fee is claimed. Only one disabled veteran plate issued per veteran. 
 
I hereby consent to have the pertinent information from my VA records released to the Department of Veterans’ 
Affairs and to the Department of Motor Vehicles. 
 
VA File Number: _______________    ____________________________________ 
 (Signature of Veteran) 
 
Date Signed: ___________________ ____________________________________ 
  (Street or Box Number) 
 
 ____________________________________ 
  (City) (County) (State) 
 
 
Records of the Veteran’s Administration show that the above-named veteran (check one): 
 
_____ Has received a vehicle grant under PL 663-79, PL 187-82, or PL 77-90 
 
_____ Has been determined to have a one hundred percent (100%) total and permanent service-connected disability. 
 
Date Signed: ____________________ ________________________________________ 
 (Signature of VA Regional Officer – Title) 
 
 ________________________________________ 
 (Address of VA Office having custody of records) 
 
 
TO: West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Date: _______________________________ 
 
 I certify that the above-named veteran is eligible for exemption from the payment of registration fees as 
authenticated by the VA Regional Officer, above. 
 
NOTE: PREPARE IN DUPLICATE!! ________________________________________ 
  Director, W. Va. Department of Veterans’ Affairs 
 
Insurance Certificate and Personal Property Tax Receipt Required.  Fee: $1.50 





		Check Box1: Off

		Check Box2: Off

		VA File #: 

		Date of Veteran's Signature: 

		Street Address: 

		City,County,State: 

		Check Box8: Off

		Check Box9: Off

		VA Officer Signature Date: 

		VA Office Adress: 

		DMV Date: 








DMV-130-TR 
04/04 
 


State of West Virginia 
Department of Transportation – Division of Motor Vehicles 


AFFIDAVIT FOR POSSESSESSION OF A JUNKED 
OR ABANDONED MOTOR VEHICLE 


(VEHICLE HAS A LOAN VALUE OF $2500 OR LESS) 
 


This affidavit to be used by a West Virginia motor vehicle dealer, a motor vehicle repair 
facility or a person or entity hired by a West Virginia Enforcement Agency for securing a 
West Virginia title for a junked or abandoned motor vehicle. 
 
I/we, the undersigned certify that the motor vehicle described herein will be sold due to 
failure of the registered owner, named herein, to meet his/her obligation of payment for 
towing, storage, repairs, etc., and that all West Virginia Motor Vehicle laws have been 
complied with fully regarding the giving of due notice and authority to dispose of the 
vehicle at a private sale or public auction. 
 


 
Name of Last Registered Owner (If known) 
 


 
 


Address 
 


 
Lienholder (If applicable) 
 
 
 


VEHCILE INFORMATION 
 


Year Make Serial Number Title Number State 
     


 
  


 Name of Applicant for Title Loan Value 
 


  
 Signature of Applicant Date 
 


This form must be executed with a typewriter or printed with ink. 
Any alterations or erasures will void this certification. 


(Forms required, certification and instructions on reverse side) 
 
 
 
 
 







TITLING INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 In 2001, the Legislature reenacted Chapter 17, Section 8, Article 24 of the West 
Virginia Code, to allow due process for a West Virginia motor vehicle dealer, a motor 
vehicle repair facility or a person or entity hired by a West Virginia enforcement agency to 
obtain title and sell at private sale or public auction any motor vehicle towed or abandoned 
on their property, and having loan value of twenty-five hundred dollars ($2500.00) or less. 
If the loan value is above $2500, the applicant for title must provide an insurance appraisal 
indicating a lesser value. If not, the applicant must go through a sheriff’s sale. 
 
 OPTION 1 Once the motor vehicle is in your possession you shall within thirty (30) 
days notify the last registered owner of record and all lienholders of record, if any, by 
registered mail return receipt requested, of the location of the facility where the motor 
vehicle is being stored and of the owner’s liability for towing and storage charges. Upon 
issuance of the notice, the owner is liable and responsible for all charges for towing and 
storage of the motor vehicle. However, failure to issue said notice within thirty (30) days 
after possession of the vehicle relieves the identified owner of any liability for towing or 
storage charges in excess of the sum of the first five (5) days of such charges. The owner 
must be given ten (10) days to respond from the date of receipt of notice. 
 
 OPTION 2 If the identity of the last registered owner, or lienholder cannot be 
determined, notice shall be published as a Class I newspaper advertisement. The 
publication area shall be the county where the vehicle was located at the time of possession. 
The notice shall be published within fifteen (15) days after possession of vehicle. The owner 
has ten (10) days to respond from date of publication. Before a title will be issued a 
nationwide serial number search must be completed by the division. If record of the serial 
number is found, the applicant for title must revert back to Option 1. The division will 
supply the state of record to the applicant; but it is the responsibility of the applicant to 
contact the state’s DMV for the owner and lienholder information. 
 


LAW  ENFORCEMENT  CERTIFICATION 
 


The following person or entity applying for title to this vehicle has been hired by this 
agency to tow the vehicle listed on the front of the application. 


 
 


 


 Persons or Entity Hired Address 
 
Law Enforcement Agency ________________________ Badge/Unit Number _____________ 
 
Signature of Officer _____________________________ Date __________________________ 
 
Check list of documents required for titling:\ 


 Application for West Virginia Title (DMV-1-TR) 
 Serial Number Certification (DMV-1B) 
 Vehicle Information Request (Copy) 
 Affidavit of Possession (DMV-130-TR) 
 Certified Mail Return Receipt Stub – (Option 1) 
 Copy of Class I (Newspaper) – Legal Advertisement (if applicable) - **Option 2 
 Odometer Disclosure (if applicable) 


 
**Identity of the last registered owner of the vehicle cannot be determined. 
Fees required:  $10.00 Title Fee, 5% Privilege Tax (if applicable). West Virginia dealer are exempt. 





		Last Owner: 

		Address: 

		Lienholder: 

		Year: 

		Make: 

		Serial #: 

		Title #: 

		State: 

		Applicant: 

		Loan Value: 

		Date: 

		Hired: 

		Hired Address: 

		LE Agency: 

		Badge #: 

		Signature Date: 

		Check Box17: Off

		Check Box18: Off

		Check Box19: Off

		Check Box20: Off

		Check Box21: Off

		Check Box22: Off

		Check Box23: Off








MV-126-TR-1 
REV. 11/20/03 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


TITLE AND REGISTRATION DIVISION 


 


 


APPLICATION FOR A HOUSE TRAILER ONE TRIP PERMIT 
 


1. In accordance with the provisions of Chapter Seventeen A, Article Seven, Section Two of the Motor Vehicle Code, the 
undersigned ______________________________________________________________ hereby makes application for a House 


Individual, Trade or Corporation Name 


Trailer One Trip Permit. Enclosed herewith is ⁯, money order ⁯, cash ⁯, in payment of the required statutory fee of $2.00. 
 


2. Has the house trailer described below been titled or registered in this or any other state? ________________________________ 
Yes or No 


 If so, give name of state _______________________________________________________________. 
 
3. Has a Permit of this type been issued to you on this house trailer prior to this application? _______________________________ 


Yes or No 
 
4. Check which of the documents outlined below you have as proof of ownership of the house trailer. Certificate of Title ⁯, 


Certificate of Registration ⁯, Manufacturers Certificate of Origin ⁯, Bill of Sale ⁯. The document checked must be presented 
for inspection with this application. 


 
DESCRIPTION OF HOUSE TRAILER FOR WHICH APPLICATION IS MADE 


 
Manufacturer’s Make __________________________________ Year Model __________ Serial Number _____________________ 
 


APPLICATION IS MADE FOR TRIP 
 


From _________________________________________________ To __________________________________________________ 
   City and State       City and State 
 
 The above statements have been made for the purpose of obtaining a House Trailer One Trip Permit. Fraudulent or 
misleading statements or improper use of said Permit will be considered cause for immediate revocation of Permit and privileges 
granted, 
 
 __________________________________________________ 
    Individual, Trade or Corporation Name 
 
 __________________________________________________ 
     Street Address 
 
 __________________________________________________ 
   City   State  Zip Code 
 
 __________________________________________________ 
    Signature and Title of Applicant 
 
State of West Virginia 
 
County of ____________________________________, to wit: 
 
 Subscribed and sworn to before me this ___________________ day of _________________________________ 20________ 
 
My commission expires _________________________________________ 
 
  __________________________________________________ 
      Notary Public 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 


(This Space Department Use Only) 
 


Application Approved By ________________________________________________ Permit Number Issued __________________ 
 


Date of Issuance _________________________________________________ 







DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


TITLE AND REGISTRATION DIVISION 
 


TRANSPORTERS APPLICATION FOR HOUSE TRAILER ONE TRIP PERMITS 
 


1. In accordance with the provisions of Chapter Seventeen A, Article Seven, Section Two of the Motor 
Vehicle Code, the undersigned ______________________________________________________ hereby 
makes application for _________ House Trailer One Trip Permits. 


  
 Enclosed herewith is check ⁯ money order ⁯ cash ⁯ in payment of the required statutory fee of $2.00 for  
 each permit. 
 
2. If applicant is licensed by the Division of Motor Vehicles as a dealer, insert your Dealer License Certificate 
 
  Number _____________________________________. 
 
3. Does applicant have Public Service Commission authority to engage in the business of moving 
 
 house trailers for hire? ____________________. If yes, Certificate No. ___________________________ 
  yes or no 
 
4. Insert Class K License Numbers currently displayed on the vehicles operating under the public Service 


Commission authority. 
 


 


 The above statements have been made for the purpose of obtaining House Trailer One Trip Permit privileges. 
Fraudulent or misleading statements or improper use of said permits will be considered cause for immediate revocation 
of the permits and the priviledges granted, without refund for permits when same are picked up after revocation. 
 


FIRM NAME _____________________________________________________________________________ 
  (Type or Print Plainly) 
 


MAILING ADDRESS ______________________________________________________________________ 
  Street or Post Office Box Number 
CITY _____________________ COUNTY ________________________ STATE ______________________ 
 
ZIP CODE _________________________________ 
 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT __________________________________ TITLE ______________________ 
 
 
State of West Virginia 
 
County of ______________________ to-wit: 
 
 Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________________ day of _____________________ 20______ 
 
My Commission expires _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
  __________________________________________ 
      Notary Public 
 


(This Space For Department Use Only) 
 


Application Approved By ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 







STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


TITLE AND REGISTRATION DIVISION 
 


APPLICATION FOR SPECIAL ONE TRIP STICKERS OR DECALS 
 


 Pursuant to Chapter Seventeen A, Article Seven, section One of the Motor Vehicle Code the undersigned: 
________________________________________________________________________________________________ 


Corporation, Firm or Individual 
Hereby makes application for _________________ One Trip Stickers or Decals. Enclosed herewith is check ⁯, 
money order ⁯, cash ⁯, in payment of the required statutory fee of $1.00 each. 
 
 Check in the proper space below the type of business the applicant is engaged in. 
⁯ Insurance Company ⁯ Finance Company or any type of Financing Agency 
⁯ Banking Institution ⁯ Wrecking and Dismantling Vehicles 
 
 If applicant is licensed by the Division of Motor Vehicles as a Wrecker and Dismantler insert your Dealer  
 


License Certification Number _______________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Give location of your principal place of business ________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Outline below why you have a need for one trip sticker or decals. __________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 The above statements have been made for the purpose of obtaining one trip sticker or decal privileges 
and fraudulent or misleading statements or improper use of said stickers will be considered cause for immediate 
revocation of stickers or decals and the privileges granted, without refund for stickers or decals when same are 
picked up after revocation. 
 
FIRM NAME ______________________________________________________________________ 
  Type or Print Plainly 
 
MAILING ADDRESS _______________________________________________________________ 
  Street or Post Office Box Number 
 
CITY __________________________ COUNTY ____________________ STATE ______________ 
 
ZIP CODE _________ Signature of Applicant _________________________ Title ____________ 
 
State of West Virginia 
 


County of ________________________ to-wit: 
 
 Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______________ day of __________________ 20_____. 
 


My Commission expires ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
  _________________________________________ 
      Notary Public 
 


(THIS SPACE FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY) 
 


Applicant Approved By ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Serial Number of Decals Issued From ________________________ To ____________________________ 
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DMV42-TR 
6/04 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


Building 3, Capitol Complex 
Charleston, WV 25317 


APPLICATION FOR PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATES 
STANDARD, SCENIC, WILDLIFE, PATRIOTIC, 9/11 OR MOTORCYCLE GRAPHIC 


 


 
NAME(S) OF OWNER(S) EXACTLY AS SHOWN ON CURRENT REGISTRATION – FOR VEHICLE YOU WISH TO REGISTER 


 
 
Effective Date of Insurance Policy: From ______ to ______ 
 
Policy Number ____________________________________ 
 
Insurance Company ________________________________ 
 
Insurance Agent ___________________________________
  


 


Name(s) of Registered Owner(s) __________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Registered Owner(s) ___________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________ 
 
City __________________________ Zip __________ Phone (    )________ 
 
Vehicle Make_________________ Vehicle Year _____________________ 
 
Serial Number _________________________________________________ 
 
Current License Plate Number ____________________________________ 
 
Title Number __________________________________________________ 
  


 


 


 


Special mailing instructions for gifts: 
 
Name _________________________ Phone _________________________ 
 
Address ______________________________________________________ 
 
City _______________________ State ________________ Zip _________ 
  


 


 


 
 ⁯ Standard Graphic (8 spaces) 
 ⁯ Motorcycle Graphic (same as above, 6 spaces) 


 
⁯ Scenic Graphic 


(8 spaces) 


 
⁯ Patriotic Graphic 


(5 spaces) 


⁯ Wildlife Bird 
(6 spaces) 


⁯ 
⁯ Wildlife Deer 


(6 spaces) 
⁯ 9/11 Graphic 


(6 spaces) 
 


(*See fee chart on back page for the above plates)  
 


 
Eight positions are allowed. Provide a minimum of two and a maximum of eight characters per choice. To check for vanity plate 
availability log on to www.wvdot.com. Symbols and punctuation marks cannot be used. Show choices in order of preference. 
Your first selection available will be produced. No plates will be approved that conflict with the special numbers two (2) through 
two-thousand (2,000). Place characters in boxes exactly as yoou want them to appear on the plate. All characters will be centered 
on the plate, unless you clearly specify otherwise. Please clarify alpha letter and numeric examples which can be confusing: 


6-G, 2-Z, 1-I, 5-S, O-0 
  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  
 1st Choice ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______  
 2nd Choice ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______  
 3rd Choice ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______  
 4th Choice ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______ ______  


 
Check if plate is not to be centered  ⁯ 


 
 


 
FOR DMV USE ONLY 


Check # __________________  Amount: _________________ 
Registration Expiration Date: _________________________ 
This application is being returned for the following reasons: 
⁯ Your selection is taken, please make another selection 
⁯ Payment is for the incorrect amount. Correct amount is $ ______ 
 
⁯ No payment is included. The correct amount is $ _____________ 
 


 


 


  


APPLICANT’S STATEMENT 
The information above is true and correct to the best 
of my knowledge and belief, and I understand that 
any false statements may result in legal penalties 
pursuant to the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law 
17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 
(X) 
______________________________________________ 
 Signature    Date 


 
 



http://www.wvdot.com/





PERSONALIZED PLATE INFORMATION 
 


1. All fee must be submitted with application. 


2. An applicant must first title their vehicle and have a regular Class A plate issued on that vehicle. No requests will be 


accepted unless the Division has a record of that vehicle and current plate. 


3. Personalized plates are issued for Class A vehicles only – automobiles, trucks weighing under 8,000 pounds, and 


motorcycles. 


4. A personalized plate will be issued of the Division of Motor Vehicles determines: 


a. the requested choice is available 


b. the requested choice is not obscene or possibly offensive. 


c. The requested choice does not conflict with a regular series license number. 


5. Once a personalized plate is issued, it may continue to be reserved yearly if fees are paid when required. 


6. A personalized plate can be transferred to another vehicle in the original registrant’s name or from husband to wife or 


wife to husband. A $5.00 transfer fee and $.50 insurance fee is required. 


7. When the personalized plate is received by the applicant, the currently assigned regular plate and registration must be 


returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles within ten days. 


8. All requests for personalized plates must be submitted, in writing, on this form to the Division. 


9. The $15.00 reservation fee is due annually at renewal. 


10. The wildlife reservation fee is $30.00, due annual at the time of renewal. Of this fee, $15.00 goes to the Non-Game 


Wildlife Fund. 


11. Motorcycle license plates are limited to six spaces and cannot be issued on the scenic or wildlife graphic. 


MOTORCYCLE VANITY FEES 
 


(Plates expire July 1 of each year) 
 


7/1 – 9/30 
$31.00 


10/1 – 12/31 
$29.00 


1/1 – 3/31 
$27.00 


4/1 – 6/30 
$25.00 


 


FEES FOR NEW PLATE 
 


PLATE STANDARD GRAPHIC 
 


* 
PATRIOTIC/SCENIC 


 


GRAPHIC 
 


** 


WILDLIFE/911 
 


GRAPHIC 
 


*** 
Plate begins with 1 or is 
a personalized plate $45.00 $55.00 $70.00 


Plate begins with 2 $46.63 $56.63 $71.63 
Plate begins with 3 $44.25 $54.25 $69.25 
Plate begins with 4 $41.88 $51.88 $66.88 
Plate begins with 5 $39.50 $49.50 $64.50 
Plate begins with 6 $37.13 $47.13 $62.13 
Plate begins with 7 $34.75 $44.75 $59.75 
Plate begins with 8 $32.38 $42.38 $57.38 
Plate begins with 9 $30.00 $40.00 $55.00 
Plate begins with O $27.63 $37.63 $52.63 
Plate begins with N $25.25 $35.25 $50.25 
Plate begins with D $22.88 $32.88 $47.88 


 


* Includes annual $15.00 Reservation Fee, $1.00 litter fee, $.50 insurance fee and registration fees. 
** Includes annual $15.00 Reservation Fee, $1.00 litter fee, $.50 insurance fee and a one time $10.00 fee. 
*** Includes annual $15.00 Reservation Fee, annual $15.00 non-game wildlife fund fee, $1.00 litter fee, $.50 insurance fee and 
a one-time $10.00 fee. 
NOTE: If plate has already been renewed for next calendar year, the total fees will be $20.50 for the standard graphic, $30.50 
for the patriotic/scenic graphic and $45.50 for the wildlife/911 graphic. Time remaining before January 1 will be applied as a 
credit to the cost of the new plate. All time after January 1 will be lost. 
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DMV42-LE 
4/97 
 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


Building 3, Capitol Complex 
Charleston, WV 25317 


 
APPLICATION FOR AMATEUR RADIO LICENSE PLATES 


 
NAMES OF OWNER(S) EXACTLY AS SHOWN ON CURRENT REGISTRATION FOR VEHICLE YOU WISH 
TO REGISTER 
 
Names(s) of Registered Owner(s) __________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Registered Owner(s) ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
City ___________________________ZIP ______________________Telephone __(______)__________________ 
 
Vehicle Make ________________Vehicle Year ____________Serial Number ______________________________ 
 
Current License Plate Number ___________________________Title Number ______________________________ 
 
Effective Date of Insurance Policy: From _______________to _______________Policy Number _______________ 
 
Insurance Number ___________________________________ Insurance Agent _____________________________ 
 
Six positions are allowed. Place characters in boxes exactly as you want them to appear on the plate. All 
characters will be centered on the plate, unless you clearly specify otherwise. Please clarify alpha letter and 
numeric examples which can be confusing: 6-G, 2-Z, 1-I, 5-S, 0-O 
 
FCC License Number _____  _____  _____  _____  _____  _____ 
 


APPLICANT’S STATEMENT 
 
The information above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I understand that any false statements may 
result in legal penalties pursuant to the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law 17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
(X) __________________________________________________ Date __________________________ 
 


FOR DMV USE ONLY 
Check# __________ Amount __________ 


THIS APPLLICATION IS BEING RETURNED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASON(S): 
_____ Payment is for incorrect amount. Correct amount is $ _______________. 
_____ No payment is enclosed. Correct amount is $ _______________. 
_____ We have no record of your vehicle. Please provide a current copy of your title or 
registration card. 
_____Other____________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 







DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX 
CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 
AMATEUR RADIO PLATE INFORMATION 


 
1. All fees must be submitted with this application. 
 
2. An applicant must first title their vehicle and have a regular Class A plate issued on that vehicle. No 


requests will be accepted unless the Division has a record of that vehicle and current plate. 
 


3. Amateur Radio plates are for Class A vehicles only – Automobiles and trucks weighing under 8000 pounds. 
 


4. An Amateur Radio plate will be issued if the Division of Motor Vehicles determines: 
 


a. the requested choice is available. 
b. The requested choice does not conflict with a regular series license number. 


 
5. Once an Amateur Radio plate is issued, it may continue to be reserved yearly, if fees are paid when 


required. 
 


6. An Amateur Radio plate can be transferred to another vehicle in the original registrant’s name. A $5.00 
transfer fee and $.50 insurance fee is required. 


 
7. When the Amateur Radio plate is received by the applicant, the currently assigned regular plate and 


registration card must be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles within ten days. 
 


8. All requests for Amateur Radio plates must be submitted, in writing, on this form to the Division along with 
a copy of your FCC license. Please do not send original certificate. 


 
9. The $10.00 reservation fee is an additional one-time fee. 


 
FEES FOR NEW PLATE 


 
Plate begins with 7 $40.00 
Plate begins with 8 $41.63 
Plate begins with 9 $39.25 
Plate begins with O $36.88 
Plate begins with N $34.50 
Plate begins with D $32.13 
Plate begins with 1 or personalized $29.75 
Plate begins with 2 $27.38 
Plate begins with 3 $25.00 
Plate begins with 4 $22.63 
Plate begins with 5 $20.25 
Plate begins with 6 $17.88 
 
The fees listed above include a one-time $10.00 reservation fee, $5.00 transfer fee, $.50 insurance fee, and registration fees. 
 
Note: If plate has already been renewed, the total fees will be $15.50, ($10.00 reservation fee, $5.00 transfer fee, and $.50 
insurance fee). Time remaining before July 1 will be applied as a credit to the cost of the new plate. All time after July 1 will be 
lost. 





		Owner: 

		Address: 

		City: 

		ZIP: 

		Area Code: 

		Phone #: 

		Make: 

		Year: 

		Serial Number: 

		License Number: 

		Title Number: 

		Insured From: 

		Insured To: 

		Policy Number: 

		Insurance Number: 

		Insurance Agent: 

		First: 

		Second: 

		Third: 

		Fourth: 

		Fifth: 

		Sixth: 

		Check #: 

		Amount: 

		Check Box25: Off

		Check Box27: Off

		Correct Amount: 

		Check Box29: Off

		Check Box30: Off

		Other: 








DMV 48H 
6/97 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX 
CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 


 
APPLICATION FOR DISABLED AMERICAN VETERANS LICENSE PLATE 


 
PART I – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT (Type or Print in Blue or Black Ink) 
 
Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register: 
Name(s) 
 


Telephone Number 


Present Street Address 
 


Current License Plate Number 


City 
 


State Zip Title Number 


Model Year 
 


Make Vehicle Identification Number 


 
INSURANCE INFORMATION 


 


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________ 
 
Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________ 
 
Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________ 
 


 I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described 
vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that 
the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of 
false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 


 
_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant Date 
 
 


 


PART II – CERTIFICATION BY THE DISABLED AMERICAN VETERANS – DEPARTMENT OF 
WEST VIRGINIA 
 
 The Disabled American Veterans, Department of West Virginia, certifies that the above named 
person is a member of the Disabled American Veterans and qualifies for the special Disabled Americans 
license plate. 
 
______________________________________    ____________________________________________ 
 Department Adjutant Date 
 Disabled American Veterans 
 Department of West Virginia 
 
 


(NOT VALID WITHOUT RAISED SEAL) 
 
 


PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 







INSTRUCTIONS 
 


1. To qualify for a Disabled American Veterans license plate, the applicant must be a member of the Disabled 
American Veterans. An eligible applicant must have this form certified by the Disabled American 
Veterans, Department of West Virginia. 


 
2. Please complete Part I of the application. 


 
3. Please mail the application (DO NOT SEND MONEY) to the Disabled American Veterans, West Virginia 


Department office at the following address: 
 


Disabled American Veterans 
Department of West Virginia 


P. O. Box 605 
Elkview, WV 25071-0605 


Telephone: (304) 965-3246 
 


4. The Disabled American Veterans office will review your application and if you are eligible, your 
application will be certified with a raised seal, approved and returned to you. 


 
5. Please send the completed application along with the correct fess to the Division of Motor Vehicles. All 


checks should be made payable to the Division of Motor Vehicles (address listed below). Please include 
your personal property tax receipt or an affidavit from the Assessor, if your registration is expiring within 
60 days of your application. 


 
Disabled American Veterans Plate 


Division of Motor Vehicles 
Building 3, Capitol Complex 


Charleston, WV 25317 
 


6. Your fee is based on the expiration of your current license plate. Use the first letter or number of your 
license plate to calculate your fee. This amount includes the one time $10.00 fee. All American Legion 
license plates will expire July 1 of each year. Your renewal fee will be $30.00 per year. 


 
CURRENT FEE EXPIRATION FEES
Plate begins with 8 8/97 $40.00 
Plate begins with 9 9/97 $39.25 
Plate begins with O 10/97 $36.88 
Plate begins with N 11/97 $34.50 
Plate begins with D 12/97 $32.13 
Plate begins with 1 1/98 $29.75 
Plate begins with 2 2/98 $27.38 
Plate begins with 3 3/98 $25.00 
Plate begins with 4 4/98 $22.63 
Plate begins with 5 5/98 $20.25 
Plate begins with 6 6/98 $17.88 
Plate begins with 7 7/98 $15.50 


 
 


PLEASE ALLOW THIRTY (30) DAYS FOR DELIVERY 





		Name: 

		Address: 

		City: 

		State: 

		ZIP: 

		Phone #: 

		License #: 

		Title #: 

		Year: 

		Make: 

		VIN: 

		From: 

		To: 

		Insurance Co: 

		Agent: 

		Policy #: 








DMV 48G 
6/96 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX 
CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 


 
APPLICATION FOR MARINE CORPS LEAGUE LICENSE PLATE 


 
PART I – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT (Type or Print in Blue or Black Ink) 
 
Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register: 
Name(s) 
 


Telephone Number 


Present Street Address 
 


Current License Plate Number 


City 
 


State Zip Title Number 


Model Year 
 


Make Vehicle Identification Number 


 
INSURANCE INFORMATION 


 


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________ 
 
Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________ 
 
Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________ 
 


 I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described 
vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that 
the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of 
false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 


 
_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant Date 
 
 


 


PART II – CERTIFICATION BY THE MARINE CORPS LEAGUE – DEPARTMENT OF WEST 
VIRGINIA 
 
 The Marine Corp League, Department of West Virginia, certifies that the above named person is 
a member of the Marine Corps League and qualifies for the special Marine Corps League license plate. 
 
 
 
______________________________________    ____________________________________________ 
 Signature of Marine Corps League Date 
 Department Commander/Paymaster 
 
 


 
 


 
 


PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS 
 







INSTRUCTIONS 
 


1. To qualify for a Marine Corps League license plate, the applicant must be a member of the Marine Corps 
League. An eligible applicant must have this form certified by the Marine Corps League, Department of 
West Virginia. 


 
2. Please complete Part I of the application. 


 
3. Please mail the application (DO NOT SEND MONEY) to the Marine Corps League, West Virginia 


Department office at the following address: 
 


Marine Corps League 
RD 3, Box 394 


Moundsville, WV 26041 
 


4. The Marine Corps League office will review your application and if you are eligible, your application will 
be certified with a raised seal, approved and returned to you. 


 
5. Please send the completed application along with the correct fess to the Division of Motor Vehicles. All 


checks should be made payable to the Division of Motor Vehicles (address listed below). Please include 
your personal property tax receipt or an affidavit from the Assessor, if your registration is expiring within 
60 days of your application. 


 
Marine Corps League Plate 
Division of Motor Vehicles 


Building 3, Capitol Complex 
Charleston, WV 25317 


 
6. Your fee is based on the expiration of your current license plate. Use the first letter or number of your 


license plate to calculate your fee. This amount includes the one time $10.00 fee. All American Legion 
license plates will expire July 1 of each year. Your renewal fee will be $30.00 per year. 


 
CURRENT FEE EXPIRATION FEES
Plate begins with 8 8/97 $40.00 
Plate begins with 9 9/97 $39.25 
Plate begins with O 10/97 $36.88 
Plate begins with N 11/97 $34.50 
Plate begins with D 12/97 $32.13 
Plate begins with 1 1/98 $29.75 
Plate begins with 2 2/98 $27.38 
Plate begins with 3 3/98 $25.00 
Plate begins with 4 4/98 $22.63 
Plate begins with 5 5/98 $20.25 
Plate begins with 6 6/98 $17.88 
Plate begins with 7 7/98 $15.50 


 
 


PLEASE ALLOW THIRTY (30) DAYS FOR DELIVERY 





		Name: 

		Address: 

		City: 

		State: 

		ZIP: 

		Phone: 

		License #: 

		Title #: 

		Year: 

		Make: 

		VIN: 

		From: 

		To: 

		Insurance Co: 

		Agent: 

		Policy #: 








DMV 48B 
Revised 8/01 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX 
CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 


 
APPLICATION FOR PURPLE HEART LICENSE PLATE 


 
PART I – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
 
Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register: 
Name(s) 
 


Telephone Number 


Present Street Address 
 


Current License Plate Number 


City 
 


State Zip Title Number 


Model Year 
 


Make Vehicle Identification Number 


 
INSURANCE INFORMATION 


 


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________ 
 
Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________ 
 
Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________ 
 


 I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described 
vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that 
the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of 
false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 


 
_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant Date 
 
 


 


PART II – CERTIFICATION BY THE WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS 
 
 The West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs certifies that the above named person has 
been awarded the Military Order of the Purple Heart and qualifies for the special registration 
plate authorized under West Virginia Code §17A-3-14. 
 
____________________________________ ____________________________________ 
 Printed Name of Veterans Affairs Officer Signature of Veterans Affairs Officer 
 
____________________________________ ____________________________________ 
 Date Street Address of Veterans Affairs Office 
 
       ____________________________________ 
  City, State and ZIP 
 
 
 


PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS 







PURPLE HEART LICENSE PLATE INSTRUCTIONS 
 


To qualify for a Purple Heart license plate, an eligible applicant must have this form certified by the West 
Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs and must provide all documentation required by that office for 
certification. 
 


1. The applicant must complete Part I of the application. The vehicle on which the plate will be 
placed must be a Class A passenger car or truck and may not be used for commercial purposes. 
The vehicle must be currently titled in West Virginia in the applicant’s name. 


 
2. The applicant is not required to pay registration fees for one Purple Heart license plate, however, 


they must pay the $.50 insurance enforcement fee, plus a $1.00 litter fee. These plates will expire 
in July 2005, based on a ten year cycle. The fees are as follows: 


 
FISCAL YEAR FEE FISCAL YEAR FEE 


2001 $6.00 2006 $13.50 
2002 $4.50 2007 $12.00 
2003 $3.00 2008 $10.50 
2004 $1.50 2009 $  9.00 
2005 $15.00 2010 $  7.50 


 
3. Part II of this application must be certified by the West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs. 


The applicant is responsible for mailing the completed application to the Division of Motor 
Vehicles. 


 
4. Within ten days after receipt of the Purple Heart plate, the current registration plate and 


registration card must be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles or transferred to another 
vehicle titled in the applicant’s name. 


 
5. In the event of the death of the Purple Heart plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the 


surviving spouse until remarriage, non-renewal or death (Form DMV 48F) 
 


6. For a fee of $45.00 per year, an additional Purple Heart license plate may be obtained by 
completing Form DMV-48A. 


 


Division of Veterans Affairs – Main Office 
1321 Plaza East Shopping Center, Suite 101 
Charleston, WV 25301-1400 
Telephone: 558-3661 / 558-3540 


Lewisburg Office 
Greenbrier County Courthouse 
200 North Court Street 
Telephone: 647-7500 


Spencer Office 
207 East Main Street 
Telephone: 927-0980 


Beckley Office 
PO Box 1751 
407 Neville Street 
Telephone: 256-6955 


Logan Office 
513 Dingess Street 
Logan, WV 25601 
Telephone: 792-7055 


Summersville Office 
715 B Main Street 
Telephone: 872-0829 


Clarksburg Office 
430 East Pike Street 
Clarksburg, WV 26301 
Telephone: 627-2198 


Martinsburg Office 
900 South Winchester Avenue 
Telephone: 267-0040 


Welch Office 
McDowell Public Library 
Telephone: 436-3804 


Elkins Office 
Elkins – Randolph County Airport 
Route 4, Box 271 
Telephone: 637-0235 


Moorefield Office 
225 North Main Street 
Telephone: 538-2839 


Wheeling Office 
51 Eleventh Street, Room 300 
Telephone: 238-1085 


Fairmont Office 
WV Office Complex, Room 352 
107 Adams Street 
Telephone: 367-2702 


Parkersburg Office 
Wood County Courthouse 
1 Court Square, #403 
Telephone: 424-1952 


 


Huntington Office 
640 Fourth Avenue, Room 108 
Huntington, WV 25701 
Telephone: 528-5575 


Princeton Office 
Memorial Building 
1500 West Main Street 
Telephone: 425-5194 


 


 





		Name: 

		Phone #: 

		Address: 

		City: 

		State: 

		ZIP: 

		License #: 

		Title #: 

		Year: 

		Make: 

		VIN: 

		From: 

		To: 

		Insurance Co: 

		Agent: 

		Policy #: 








DMV 48F 
8/96 


 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX 


CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 


 
SURVIVING SPOUSE 


APPLICATION FOR SPECIAL MILITAYR LICENSE PLATE 
 


Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register: 
Name(s) 
 


Telephone Number 


Present Street Address 
 


Current License Plate Number 


City 
 


State Zip Title Number 


Model Year 
 


Make Vehicle Identification Number 


 
INSURANCE INFORMATION 


 
Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________ 
 
Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________ 
 
Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________ 
 
 
1. This application is for the surviving spouse of a veteran who wishes to resume the use of the 
special military license plate which belonged to the deceased veteran. The surviving spouse is 
eligible to use the special military license plate until his or her remarriage, non-renewal or death. 
 
2. Use this form only if the surviving spouse has, after the death of the veteran, obtained another 
license plate for the vehicle. 
 
3. Please indicate which special military license plate the deceased veteran obtained during his 
lifetime: 
 


__________ Purple Heart 
__________ Disabled Veteran 
__________ Former Prisoner of War 
__________ Other 


__________ Pearl Harbor Survivor 
__________ Veteran 
__________ National Guard 


 
4. Please complete the following information to determine your eligibility. If possible, please 
attaché an old registration card or any other evidence you might have which shows the license 
plate listed in the deceased veterans name. You may be asked to provide additional 
documentation showing your status as the surviving spouse. 
 
 


PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 
 
 







 Name of Deceased Veteran _______________________________________________ 
 
 Name under which the vehicle was titled _____________________________________ 
 
 Plate Number __________________________________________________________ 
 
5. Do you still have the license plate?               _____ Yes          _____ No 
 


* If you still have the license plate in your possession, a current registration and decal will 
be issued to reactivate the license plate to the vehicle indicated on the reverse side. 


 
* If you no longer have the license plate, a new plate with the next available number will 


be issued to you. 
 
6. You are responsible for paying any applicable renewal fees. There are no refunds of any fees 
for exchanged plates. Your current license plate must be returned to DMV. 
 
 After the death of the vehicle owner, the surviving spouse should remove the name of the 
deceased from the title. This is necessary for insurance and tax purposes and will lessen the 
burden for legal heirs after the death of the surviving spouse. 
 
 In order to transfer the title of a jointly owned vehicle (or appears between the two 
names) into the surviving spouse’s name, the surviving spouse signs the back of the title as the 
seller. The surviving spouse also completes the remainder of the title and signs as the purchaser 
and completes the bottom section of the title as the purchaser. 
 
 If the title is in the name of the deceased only, or the word and appears between the two 
names, the administrator or executor of the estate signs as the seller, and the surviving spouse 
signs as the purchaser. If the word and appears between the names, the surviving spouse must 
sign as one of the sellers. A copy of the court appointment papers should accompany the 
application for the transfer of the title. The surviving spouse also completes the bottom section of 
the title as the purchaser. 
 
 In both instances, the surviving spouse should submit the properly reassigned title. The 
odometer disclosure information, insurance information and current registration card for the 
vehicle being titled must also be completed. 
 
 There are no fees for the transfer of title, if the surviving spouse is the legal heir and you 
have attached a copy of the court appointment papers. 
 


APPLICANT’S STATEMENT 
 
I hereby certify that I am the surviving spouse of a veteran who had a special military license 
plate, which has not been renewed and that the information above is true and correct to the best 
of my knowledge and belief, and I understand that any false statements may result in legal 
penalties pursuant to the West Virginia Motor vehicle Law 17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 
(x) ________________________________     ________________________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant Date 





		Name: 

		Address: 

		City: 

		State: 

		ZIP: 

		Year: 

		Phone: 

		License: 

		Title #: 

		VIN: 

		From: 

		To: 

		Insurance Co: 

		Agent: 

		Policy Number: 

		Check Box16: Off

		Check Box17: Off

		Check Box18: Off

		Check Box19: Off

		Check Box20: Off

		Check Box21: Off

		Check Box22: Off

		Deceased Name: 

		Name on Title: 

		Plate #: 

		Check Box26: Off

		Check Box27: Off








DMV 48 
5/00 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX 
CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 


 
APPLICATION FOR VETERANS LICENSE PLATE 


Please Check Class of Vehicle:        ⁯ Class A (Passenger Car or Truck)        ⁯ Class G (Motorcycle) 
 


PART I – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
 
NAME OF VETERAN (Name Must be on Title): __________________________________________ 
Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register: 
Name(s) 
 


Telephone Number 


Present Street Address 
 


Current License Plate Number 


City 
 


State Zip Title Number 


Model Year 
 


Make Vehicle Identification Number 


 


INSURANCE INFORMATION 
 
 


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________ 
 
Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________ 
 
Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________ 
 


 I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described 
vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that 
the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of 
false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 


 
_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant Date 
 
 


 


PART II – CERTIFICATION BY THE WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS 
 
 The West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs certifies that the above named person has 
an honorable discharge from a branch of the Armed Services of the United States and qualifies 
for the special registration plate authorized under West Virginia Code §17A-3-14. 
 
____________________________________ ____________________________________ 
 Printed Name of Veterans Affairs Officer Signature of Veterans Affairs Officer 
 
____________________________________ ____________________________________ 
 Date Street Address of Veterans Affairs Ofc. 
 
       ____________________________________ 
  City, State and ZIP 
 


PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS 







VETERANS LICENSE PLATE INSTRUCTIONS 
 


To qualify for a Veterans license plate, an eligible applicant must have an honorable discharge from a branch of the armed 
services of the United State. An applicant must submit all documentation to be certified by the West Virginia Division of 
Veterans Affairs in Part II of the application. 
 


1. The applicant must complete Part I of the application. The vehicle on which the plate will be placed must be a Class A 
(passenger car or truck) or Class G (motorcycle) and may not be used for commercial purposes. The vehicle must be 
currently titled in West Virginia in the applicant’s name (veteran’s name must appear on the title). 


 
2. The fee for a Class A (car or truck) Veterans license plate is the regular registration fee of $30.00, plus an additional 


one time fee of $10.00. The fee for a Class G (motorcycle) Veterans license plate is the regular registration fee os 
$13.50, plus an additional one time fee of $10.00. If your current plate is due to expire within two months, please 
enclose a check for $40.00 (Class A or truck) or $23.50 (Class G motorcycle), along with a copy of your personal 
property tax receipt and proof of insurance. Veterans motorcycle plates will expire June 30 of each year. Veterans 
license plates cannot be personalized plates. 


 
3. Part II of this application must be certified by the West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs. Applicants may mail or 


turn-in the application to any one of the West Virginia Division of Veteran’s Affairs offices listed below. Attach copies 
of documents which verify the honorable discharge from a branch of the Armed Services of the United States of the 
United States. Eligibility for the veterans license plate is contingent upon providing the West Virginia Division of 
Veterans Affairs with any information or documentation that they may deem necessary to verify eligibility. All 
applications received by the Division of Veterans Affairs will be forwarded to the Division of Motor Vehicles. 
DO NOT MAIL OR BRING YOUR APPLICATION TO THE DIVISION OF MOOTOR VEHICLES. IT CANNOT 
BE PROCESSED UNTIL IT HAS BEEN CERTIFIED BY THE DIVISION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS. 


 
4. Within ten days after receipt of the Veterans plate, the current registration plate and certification must be returned to the 


Division of Motor Vehicles or transferred to another vehicle titled in the applicant’s name. 
 


5. In the event of the death of the Veterans plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse until 
remarriage, non-renewal or death. 


 
6. An additional Veterans license plate may be obtained by completing Form DMV-48. 


 


Division of Veterans Affairs – Main Office 
1321 Plaza East Shopping Center, Suite 101 
Charleston, WV 25301-1400 
Telephone: 558-3661 / 558-3540 


Lewisburg Office 
Greenbrier County Courthouse 
200 North Court Street 
Telephone: 647-7500 


Spencer Office 
207 East Main Street 
Telephone: 927-0980 


Beckley Office 
PO Box 1751 
407 Neville Street 
Telephone: 256-6955 


Logan Office 
513 Dingess Street 
Logan, WV 25601 
Telephone: 792-7055 


Summersville Office 
715 B Main Street 
Telephone: 872-0829 


Clarksburg Office 
430 East Pike Street 
Clarksburg, WV 26301 
Telephone: 627-2198 


Martinsburg Office 
900 South Winchester Avenue 
Telephone: 267-0040 


Welch Office 
McDowell Public Library 
Telephone: 436-3804 


Elkins Office 
Elkins – Randolph County Airport 
Route 4, Box 271 
Telephone: 637-0235 


Moorefield Office 
225 North Main Street 
Telephone: 538-2839 


Wheeling Office 
51 Eleventh Street, Room 300 
Telephone: 238-1085 


Fairmont Office 
WV Office Complex, Room 352 
107 Adams Street 
Telephone: 367-2702 


Parkersburg Office 
Wood County Courthouse 
1 Court Square, #403 
Telephone: 424-1952 


 


Huntington Office 
640 Fourth Avenue, Room 108 
Huntington, WV 25701 
Telephone: 528-5575 


Princeton Office 
Memorial Building 
1500 West Main Street 
Telephone: 425-5194 
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DMV 49B 
01/05 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX 
CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 


 


82nd AIRBORNE DIVISION ASSOCIATION 
 


PART I 
APPLICATION – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT (Type or Print in Blue or Black Ink) 
Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register: 
Name(s) 
 


Telephone Number 


Present Street Address 
 


Current License Plate Number 


City 
 


State Zip Title Number 


Model Year 
 


Make Vehicle Identification Number 


PART II 
INSURANCE INFORMATION 


 
Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________ 
Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________ 
Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________ 
 
 I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described 
vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that 
the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of 
false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications. 
 
 
_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant Date 
 
 
 


PART III 
 
 I certify that I am a member of the 82nd Airborne Division Association 
 
 
_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________ 
 Signature of Applicant Date 
 


 


FOR DMV USE ONLY 
__________________________________________________________________ 
PLATE NUMBER _______________________ Expiration __________________ 
Approved by ____________________________ Date _______________________ 
 


PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS 
  
 
 







INSTRUCTIONS 
 


1. To qualify for an 82nd Airborne Division Association license plate you must 
be a member of the 82nd Airborne Division Association. The division must 
be able to verify membership. 


2. All fees must be submitted with the application. 
3. The vehicle must be titled in the applicants name and have a current Class A 


plate issued to the vehicle. 
4. When you receive your new plate, the currently assigned regular plate must 


be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles within (10) days. 
5. Please mail the application to the Division of Motor Vehicles office at the 


following address: 
Division of Motor Vehicles 


Capital Complex, Building 3 
Charleston, West Virginia 25317 


 
FEE CHART 


 
Your fee is based on the expiration of your present license plate. Use the first 
letter or number of your license plate to calculate your fee. This amount 
includes the one time $10.00 fee. All 82nd Airborne plates will expire July 1 of 
each year. Your renewal fee will be $30.00 per year. 
 


CURRENT PLATE  AT TIME OF 
RENEWAL


EXCHANGING 
VALID PLATE


Plate begins with 5, 6, 
or 7 


Within 60 days of 
expiration $40.00  


Plate begins with 8  $37.63 $41.63 
Plate begins with 9  $35.25 $39.25 
Plate begins with O  $32.88 $36.88 
Plate begins with N  $30.50 $34.50 
Plate begins with D  $28.13 $32.13 
Plate begins with 1  $25.75 $29.75 
Plate begins with 2  $23.38 $27.38 
Plate begins with 3  $21.00 $25.00 
Plate begins with 4  $18.63 $22.63 
Plate begins with 5 $16.25 $20.25 
Plate begins with 6 


More than 60 days 
from expiration $13.88 $17.99 
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DMV 41-TR (Rev. 10/02) 


 


WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 
PARKING APPLICATION FOR MOBILITY IMPAIRED PERSONS


 
SECTION 1: APPLICANT INFORMATION  Please print in ink or type all of the following information 
 
Name  Last  First  Middle Social Security Number 


 
Mailing Address/Physical Address Daytime Telephone Number 


 
City    State Zip Code Date of Birth Sex 


 
Indicate type of permit 
desired 


⁮ Placard    ⁮ Plate 


Check box that applies 
⁮ Original Placard ⁮ Renewal of 
Placard 
⁮ Duplicate Placard – Lost or Stolen 


Current License Plate Lost or Stolen Plate Number 


COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING ONLY IF REQUESTING A LICENSE PLATE 
Title Number 
 


Make 
 


Year 
 


Weight 
 


Current License Plate 
 


Vehicle Identification Number 
 


I certify that I am the person with a mobility impairment which limits or impairs my ability to walk. I understand that any false 
statement may result in legal penalties to West Virginia Code 17C-13-6. A parent or legal guardian may sign for the applicant if 
the applicant is unable to do so. Please note your relationship to the applicant. 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT OR PARENT / OR LEGAL GUARDIAN DATE 


 
SECTION 2. Complete only if you regularly transport the above person and wish to obtain a permit. Section 1 must be 


completed and signed 
Name  Last  First  Middle Social Security Number 


 
Mailing Address/Physical Address Daytime Telephone Number 


 
City    State Zip Code Relationship to Applicant 


 
Signature of Person who Transports Date 


 
SECTION 3. PHYSICIAN’S CERTIFICATION This section must be completed by a MD or DO 
I certify and affirm that the above described applicant is a patient of mine and in my professional opinion his/her ability to walk is limited or 
impaired based on one of the following reasons as outlined in Federal Law 23 CFR 1235.2(b) 1-6-WV. State Law 17C-13-6 
⁮ Permanent – Valid 1-5 years ⁮ Temporary Valid for 6 months 


Expiration depends on the date of issuance 
⁮ Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest 
⁮ Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other 
assisted device 
⁮ Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when 
measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60mm/hg on room air at rest. 
⁮ Uses portable oxygen 
⁮ Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV 
according to standards set by the American Heart Association. 
⁮ Are severely limited in their ability to walk due to arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition 
NOTE: Please fill out this entire section. Failure to do so will result in this form being returned to the sender for completion. 
All physician’s signatures and medical licenses are subject to review and verification. Physicians may be required to submit further 
documentation to substantiate the disability. 


Physician’s Name (Please print in ink or type) Medical License Number 
 


Medical License Expiration Date 
 


Business Address 
 


City 
 


State 
 


Zip Code 
 


Signature 
 


Date 
 


Telephone Number 
 


FOR DMV USE ONLY 
Issued by 
 


Issue Date 
 


Expiration Date 
 ⁮ Lost           ⁮ Stolen 


Placard / Plate Number Previous Placard / Plate Number 
 
 







INSTRUCTIONS 
 NOTE: All applicants must be West Virginia residents: 
1. Mobility impaired person completes Section 1 – complete and sign the entire section 
2. When a person who regularly transports an applicant, applies for a placard or plate on 


behalf of a mobility impaired person, Section 1 must be completed and signed 
3. A licensed physician completes Section 3 
4. The completed application can be processed at any DMV Regional office or submitted 


by mail to the address listed below: 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Mobility Impaired Placard & Plates 
Building 3, Capitol Complex 
Charleston, WV 25317 


Placard Display Information 
When parked in a mobility impaired parking space, display the placard by hanging the placard on 
the review mirror or, in the absence of a mirror post, on the dashboard. 
 


Replacement 
If a parking placard or special license plate has been lost, stolen, mutilated or destroyed, a 
replacement may be requested at any DMV Regional offices or by mail to the DMV in 
Charleston. The cost of a replacement placard is $5.00 per placard. Customer must complete a 
new application; doctor’s recertification is not required. 
 


Renewall 
Permanent mobility impaired parking placards & plates privileges and the special ID cards are 
renewed every FIVE years. Renewal reminders will be mailed prior to expiration, to the address 
you have provided. However, the license plate expires each or every other year. 
 


Return Placards & Plates When: 
1. The person to whom the permit has been issued is deceased or has moved out of state. 
2. The person has found or has in his/her possession a permit that was not issued to that person. 
3. The permit was reported lost or stolen and is later found after a duplicate has been issued. 
4. Special license plates shall be surrendered to your local DMV Regional office. 
 


Penalties 
A fine of up to $500.00 may be assessed for filing fraudulent applications for a mobility 
impaired parking permit. This fine also applies to the misuse of a parking space reserved for 
persons with a walking mobility impairment. 
 


Remember 
It is unlawful to loan this placard to any person for any reason, regardless of whether that person 
is mobility impaired. The mobility impaired person does not have to own or drive the vehicle to 
use the placard. Placard should be hung from the rearview mirror when parked, but should be 
removed from the mirror when driving. 
 
Local governments designate parking spaces for persons with mobility impairments by local law 
or ordinance. Contact your local government if you have a question about designated parking for 
the mobility impaired. 
 


Mobility Impaired License Plates and Motorcycle 
Information concerning transfer and fees for obtaining a plate or exchange, call TOLL FREE 1-
800-642-9066 (in state) or 1-304-558-3900. 
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Form DMV-15-TR 
Rev. 9/89 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317 


 
Application to increase Gross Weight on Class B, & X License for vehicle described below. 
 
I (we) enclosed fee of $ _____________ for _______________________________ lbs, additional weight 
 
On: Make __________________ Model _____________ Title No. _______________________________ 
 
Class _________________ License No. ____________________________ 
 
Give distance in feet between first and last axles of vehicle or combination of vehicles _______________ 
 


Your current Registration Card Must Accompany This Application 
 


 Signature of APPLICANT _______________________________ 
 
See reverse side for fee schedule 







 
CLASSES B & X FEES 


 
 


FOR DECLARED GROSS WEIGHTS GREATER THAN EIGHT THOUSAND POUNDS - $28.00 PLUS 
$5.00 FOR EACH THOUSAND POUNDS OR FRACTION THEREOF THAT THE GROSS WEIGHT OF 
SUCH VEHICLE OR COMBINATION OF VEHICLES EXCEEDS EIGHT THOUSAND POUNDS. 
 
 
FOR DECLARED GROSS WEIGHTS GREATER THAN SIXTEEN THOUSAND POUNDS - $78.00 PLUS 
$10.00 FOR EACH ONE THOUSAND POUNDS OR FRACTION THEREOF THAT THE GROSS 
WEIGHT OF SUCH VEHICLE OR COMBINATION OF VEHICLES EXCEEDS SIXTEEN THOUSANDS 
POUNDS. 
 
 
JULY 1 TO SEPTEMBER 30 ___________________________________________________ FULL FEE 
OCTOBER 1 DECEMBER 31 ________________________________________ THREE-FOURTHS FEE 
JANUARY 1 TO MARCH 31 ____________________________________________________ HALF FEE 
APRIL 1 TO JUNE 30__________________________________________________ ONE-FOURTH FEE 





		Fee: 

		For: 

		Make: 

		Model: 

		Title No: 

		Class: 

		License No: 

		Length: 








MB-7 
Rev. 6/01 
 
 
 
 


MOTOR  BOAT  AFFIDAVIT 
 
 
 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
 
COUNTY OF ____________________________ 
 
THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT I, __________________________ OF ___________________ 
 
WEST VIRGINIA, AM THE SOLE OWNER OF A 
 
 
 YEAR MAKE HULL NUMBER LENGTH 
 
TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE, THERE IS NO OUTSTANDING TITLE OR 
REGISTRATION FOR THE ABOVE MOTOR BOAT AND THERE ARE NO LINES OR 
ENCUMBRANCES AGAINST IT. I WILL ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY FOR 
ISSUANCE OF A WEST VIRGINIA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE. 
 
 
 
   ______________________________________ 
    SIGNATURE 
 
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO ME BEFORE THIS ______________________________ 
 
DAY OF, ____________________________, 20______. 
 
 
 
   ______________________________________ 
    NOTARY PUBLIC 
 
 
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES __________________________ 
 
 
NOTE:  THIS AFFIDAVIT MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY A SERIAL 
CDRTIFICATION COMPLETED BY A STATE TROOPER. 
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MB-11-TR 
8/89 
 
 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX 


CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317 
 


AFFIDAVIT OF BUILDER 
 


THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION MUST BE PROVIDED AND ATTACHED TO APPLICATION 
FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE (MB-6) FOR AN ASSEMBLED BOAT 


 
HULL NUMBER, IF AVAILABLE _________________________________ 
 


LENGTH IN FEET (NOT INCLUDING MOTOR) ________________________ 
 


TYPE OF FUEL ___________________________ 
 


MAKE OF MOTOR _________________________ 
 


TYPE OF PROPULSION ______________________ 
 


HORSEPOWER ____________________________ 
 


CHECK TYPE OF BOAT: 
 


_____ RUNABOUT _____ CABIN CRUISER _____ HOUSE BOAT 
 
_____ V-BOTTOM _____ PONTOON _____ OTHER (SPECIFY) ______________ 
 
TWO PHOTOGRAPHS, A SIDE VIEW AND A FRONT VIEW, OF THE BOAT MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH 
THE APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE OF TITLE. 
 
LIST ALL PARTS USED TO BUILD THE BOAT AND WHERE YOU ACQUIRED EACH PART: 
 


______________________________________________________________________ 
 


______________________________________________________________________ 
 
IF THE BOAT WAS ASSEMBLED BY A PERSON OTHER THAN THE APPLICANT, GIVE NAME AND 
ADDRESS OF THE BUILDER: 
 


______________________________________________________________________ 
NAME (PLEASE PRINT) 
______________________________________________________________________ 
STREET OR ROUTE NUMBER CITY STATE ZIP 
 


WAS THIS PERSON CONTRACTED TO BUILD THE BOAT FOR YOU?  _____ YES  _____ NO 
 


HAS THE BOAT EVER BEEN REGISTERED IN ANY OTHER STATE?  _____ NO  _____ YES 
 (IF YES, WHAT STATE?) ______________ 
 
TOTAL COST OF MATERIALS USED TO BUILD BOAT: $ _______________ 
 


TOTAL COST OF MOTOR:  $ _______________ 
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DMV-1-S DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION Telephone 
10/05 DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 1-800-642-9066 
 CAPITOL COMPLEX, BUILDING 3 1-304-558-3900 
 CHARLESTON, WV 25317 
 
 


SOLD VEHICLE OR WATERCRAFT NOTICE 
DO NOT SUBMIT THIS NOTICE UNTIL 60 DAYS AFTER THE DATE OF SALE 


* * * PRINT USING BLACK INK ONLY 
 
 


MAKE _______ YEAR _______ SERIAL NUMBER ___________________________ 
 
TITLE _____________ DATE OF SALE __________ SALE PRICE ______________ 
 
SELLER’S NAME(s) ____________________________________________________ 
 
SELLER’S CURRENT ADDRESS _________________________________________ 
 
BUYER’S NAME(s) _____________________________________________________ 
 
BUYER’S ADDRESS ____________________________________________________ 
 
I CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF FALSE SWEARING THAT THE ABOVE 
INFORMATION IS TRUE AND ACCURATE TO THE BEST OF MY 
KNOWLEDGE. 
 
 SELLER’S SIGNATURE DATE 
 
 SELLER’S SIGNATURE DATE 
 
 BUYER’S SIGNATURE DATE 
 
 BUYER’S SIGNATURE DATE 
 
IF THE TITLE READS “AND” BOTH SELLER’S MUST SIGN. IF AVAILABLE HAVE 
BUYER SIGN. 
 
ANY PERSON WHO KNOWINGLY MAKES A FALSE STATEMENT, KNOWINGLY 
CONCEALS A MATERIAL FACT OR OTHERWISE COMMITS A FRAUD IS GUILTY OF 
A MISDEMEANOR AND SUBJECT TO A $1,000 FINE, ONE YEAR IMPRISONMENT OR 
BOTH. 
 


INSTRUCTIONS ON BACK 
 
 







 
INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETING THIS NOTICE 


 
 


1) This notice will not be accepted if any lines are left blank. 
 
2) If the buyer is unknown, then list “UNKNOWN.” If the vehicle is sold to a junk dealer or 


salvage yard, use their name as the buyer on this application. 
 


3) DO NOT USE SOLD NOTICE, IF YOU HAVE JUNKED THE VEHICLE. The word 
“JUNK” must be placed on the face of the title and returned to DMV. If the title has been 
misplaced, you must apply for a duplicate title indicating vehicle “JUNKED.” Submit the 
duplicate title application, along with a copy of your driver’s license and a $10.00 fee. 


 
4) If the sale date is unknown, list the approximate month and year of sale. If sale price is 


unknown, list the approximate price. If “and” appeared on the original title, both seller’s 
must sign the notice. 
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DMV-1L 
Rev. 06/00 


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
CHARLESTON, WV 25317 


 


 


Application for a Certificate of Title for a Leased Motor Vehicle 
 


 


TYPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK 
 


 


 


FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 
CLASS _________________________ 
NUMBER _______________________ 
EXP. DATE _____________________ 
 


 


MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
 


The Owner(s) of the following Vehicle make application for a Certificate of Title for that Vehicle and for that Purpose State the Following: 
 


LESSOR’S NAME ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
     Name of purchaser to be written plainly and exactly as it is to appear on the Certificate of Title 
 


C/O LESSEE’S NAME ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


LESSOR’S ADDRESS ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


 ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Please include: Number Street City or Town County State Zip Code 


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION 
 


MAKE _______________________________ YEAR ______________________ V.I.N. ______________________________________ 
 


STYLE OF BODY     WEIGHT        
    


  
Odometer Reading    Passenger vehicle only TRUCKS (Requested GVW) 


 (No Tenths)  * Does not include Personal Property Tax   
LEASE PERMIT #   BASE LEASE PAYMENT      TERM    TAX    


 


TRADE-IN DESCRIPTION 
 


____________   ___________   ______________________________________   ______________________________________________ 
      MAKE YEAR SERIAL NUMBER WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER 
 


_______________________________________________________   _______________________________________________________ 
 CASH DOWN OR REBATE 5 PER CENT 
Registration Plate Transferred from: (Send copy of registration card both sides) 
 


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Make of Vehicle Weight Serial Number License Number 


LIENS AND ENCUMBRANCES 
 


1. NAME ________________________________________________________ Amount __________________________________________________________________ 
 Name of Lienholder 
 
Address____________________________________________________________________   Kind of Lien _____________________ Date __________________________ 
 Street City State ZIP C/S/C   D/T   S/A 
 


 


I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicles 


Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle 


Law § 17A-9-1; Farudulent Applications. 
 
 


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:  From ________________ to ______________ 


Name of Insurance Company ___________________________________________ 


Name of Insurance Agent ______________________________________________ 


Insurance Policy Number_______________________________________________ 


TITLE OF APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED BY OWNER 
  
 (X)__________________________________ 
                   PRINT COMPANY NAME 
 (X)__________________________________ 
                      OWNER’S SIGNATURE 


 INSURANCE MUST BE IN EFFECT WHEN APPLICATION IS RECEIVED. 
DEALER CERTIFICATION 


* A Power of Attorney must be provided if 
Not signed by the owner themselves 


 


This is to certify that the above described vehicle was acquired from ____________________________________________________________________________________ 


Month __________ day __________ year ______ and leased to the above-named lessor on month __________ day __________ year ______. The undersigned dealer further 


certifies that the lease payment, term and tax are true and correct and that the Federal Odometer Regulation has been satisfied. Federal Regulations Require You to State 


the Odometer Mileage Upon Transfer of Ownership. 


I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is __________ and reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked 


⁯ 1. The mileage stated is is excess of its mechanical limits. 


⁯ 2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage. WARNING – ODOMETER DISCREPANCY. 
 
Dealer Name ____________________________________________________ Address __________________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature (X) ____________________________________________________ Dealer Number ____________________________________________________________ 
 







PROCEDURE TO TITLE A LEASED MOTOR VEHICLE (NEW – NEVER BEEN TITLED) 
1) *DMV-1l – completed by dealer 
2) MSO Certificate of Origin – properly reassigned by dealer. 
3) Fees: $10.00 Title, $5.00 Lien (if applicable) and plate fee (see chart below). 
4) Odometer Disclosure Statement – DMV-43 
5) Copy of lease agreement 
6) Power of Attorney for dealership. 
 * Must contain leasing company’s permit number 


 
OUT-OF-STATE TRANSFER OF A TITLE LEASED VEHICLE – (NO LIEN) 


1) Out-of-state title. 
2) *DMV-1L 
3) Odometer Disclosure – DMV-43 
4) Fees: $10.00 title fee, plate fee (see chart below). 
5) Copy of lease agreement. 
6) Power of Attorney to allow lessee to sign for lessor 
 * Must contain leasing company’s permit number 


 
OUT-OF-STATE TRANSFER OF A TITLED LEASED VEHICLE (WITH A LIEN) 


1) A letter from the lienholder stating they are holding the lessee’s title, along with a copy of the title. 
2) *DMV-1L 
3) Odometer disclosure – DMV-43 
4) Fees: $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee and plate fee (see chart below). 
5) Power of Attorney 
6) Copy of lease agreement 
 * Must contain leasing company’s permit number 


 
TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP OF A VEHICLE ALREADY TITLED IN WEST VIRGINIA TO A LEASING COMPANY 
1) West Virginia title, properly reassigned. 
2) Copy of lease agreement 
3) Fees: $10.00 title, $5.00 lien (if applicable) and plate fee (see chart below) 
4) Odometer disclosure – DMV-43 
5) Power of Attorney (if applicable) 
6) *DMV-1L 
 * Must contain leasing company’s permit number 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
 


INFORMATION REGISTRATION FEES 
Class A - $30.00 for: 
 Cars 
Trucks 8,000 lbs. or less 


Print in ink or type. 
 
Mail check or money order. 
Make payable to DMV. 


 
DO NOT M IL CASH A 


 
 
 
 


Fee includes $1.00 litter fee and the Any check which is not honored for payment will result in a $10.00 service charge. 
$.50 insurance fee. 
 
  Be certain you have completed the application, including signatures. 
 
  When transferring plates (must be in same name) the fee is $5.50 plates must be valid. 
 
  All titles with liens are mailed directly to the lienholder. 
 
  For additional information call 558-3621 or toll-free 1-800-642-9066. 
  Mail to: 
  Department of Transportation 
  Division of Motor Vehicles 
  Leasing Section 
  1800 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Building 3 
  Charleston, West Virginia 25317 
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ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 
LEASED VEHICLE 


 


DMV-43-A 


 


Federal law (and State law, if applicable) requires that the lessee disclose the 
mileage to the lessor in connection with the transfer of ownership. Failure to 
complete or making a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment. 
Complete disclosure form below and return to lessor. 
 
I, __________________________________ (name of person making disclosure) 
 (Print) 
State that the odometer now reads _______________ (no tenths) miles and to the 
best of my knowledge that it reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle described 
below, unless one of the following statements is checked. 
∏ (1) I hereby certify that to the best of my knowledge the odometer reading 
reflects the amount of mileage in excess of its mechanical is checked. 
∏ (2) I hereby certify that the odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage. 
 


MAKE                                                               MODEL                              BODY TYPE 
 
VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 
 


 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
LESSEE’S NAME 
 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
LESSEE’S ADDRESS (STREET) 
 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
CITY                                                                                 STATE                       ZIP CODE 
 
X _______________________________________________________________________ 
         LESSEE’S SIGNATURE 
 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
DATE OF STATEMENT 
 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
LESSOR’S NAME 
 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
LESSOR’S ADDRESS (STREET) 
 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
CITY                                                                                 STATE                       ZIP CODE 
 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
DATE DISCLOSURE FORM SENT TO LESSEE 
 
_________________________________________________________________________ 
DATE COMPLETED DISCLOSURE FORM RECEIVED FROM LESSEE 
 
X _______________________________________________________________________ 
         LESSOR’S SIGNATURE 





		Name: 

		Odometer: 

		Check Box3: Off

		Check Box4: Off

		Make: 

		Model: 

		Type: 

		VIN: 

		Lessee: 

		Lessee Address: 

		Lessee City: 

		Lessee State: 

		Lessee ZIP: 

		Date: 

		Lessor Name: 

		Lessor Address: 

		Lessor City: 

		Lessor State: 

		Lessor ZIP: 

		Date Sent: 

		Date Received: 








DMV-1-R-TR 
REV. 06/00 


FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 
 


CLASS ___________________ 
 
NUMBER ________________ 
 
EXP. 
DATE ______________________ 
  


 
STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


CHARLESTON 25317 
Application for a Certificate of Title for a Rental Motor Vehicle 


TYPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK 
MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 


 
The owner(s) of the following vehicle make application for a certificate of title for that vehicle and for that purpose state the following: 
 


NAME ______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 (Name of purchaser to be written plainly and exactly as it is to appear on the Certificate of Title) 
 


ADDRESS ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Number Street City or Town County State Zip Code 


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION 
 


MAKE _______________________ YEAR ________ V.I.N. ____________________________________________________ 
 


STYLE OF 
BODY      WEIGHT      


    Passenger vehicle only  TRUCKS (Requested GVW 
Odometer 
Reading       


 (No Tenths)   
RENTAL 
PERMIT #    


RENTAL 
 


TRADE IN DESCRIPTION 
(Credit allowed only on vehicles registered in West Virginia and the tax paid thereon by applicant) 


 


1) _______________ _______________ _________________________________ _______________________________ 
              MAKE        YEAR                     SERIAL NUMBER     WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER 
 


2) _______________ _______________ _________________________________ _______________________________ 
              MAKE        YEAR                     SERIAL NUMBER     WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER 
 


Registration Plate Transferred from: (Send copy of registration card both sides) 
 


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
   Make of Vehicle Weight Serial Number Title Number License Number 


 LIENS AND ENCUMBRANCES 
1 Name ________________________________________________________________________________ Amount______________________________ 


  Name of Lienholder 
 
Address ______________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien ___________________ Date __________________ 
 Street City State Zip Code C/S/C    D/T    S/A 


 


2 Name ________________________________________________________________________________ Amount______________________________ 
  Name of Lienholder 
 
Address ______________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien ___________________ Date __________________ 
 Street City State Zip Code C/S/C    D/T    S/A 


 


I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that 
the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law  §17A-9-1; Fraudulent 
Applications. 


TITLE APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED BY OWNER  
Effective date of insurance Policy:  From __________________ To _____________________ 
 
Name of Insurance Company __________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Insurance Agent ______________________________________________________ 
 
Insurance Policy Number _______________________________________________________ 
 


 


If Title reads “AND” Both Signatures of Owners must appear 
 
(X) ___________________________________________ 
                              OWNER’S SIGNATURE 
 
(X) ___________________________________________ 
                              OWNER’S SIGNATURE 


INSURANCE MUST BE IN EFFECT WHEN APPLICATION IS RECEIVED. 
DEALER CERTIFICATION 


 


This is to certify that the above described vehicle was acquired from _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Month __________ day ____________ year _____ and sold to the above named purchaser on month _________ day ________ year _____. The undersigned dealer further 
Certifies that the sale price, trade-in, and net cost are true and correct and that the Federal Odometer Regulation has been satisfied. Federal Regulations Require You to State 
the Odometer Mileage Upon Transfer of Ownership. 
I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is __________ and reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked: 


 ⁯ 1. The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits. 
 ⁯ 2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage – WARNING-ODOMETER DISCREPANCY 
Dealer Name _____________________________________________________________________ 
Address _________________________________________________________________________ 
Signature (X) _____________________________________________________________________ 
Dealer Number ____________________________________________________________________ 







INFORMATION 
 
 


Print in ink or type 
 
 
Mail check or money order. 
Make payable to DMV DO NOT MAIL CASH 
 
Any check which is not honored for payment will result in a $10.00 service charge. 
 
Be certain you have completed the application, including your signature. 
 
If the vehicle is titled in another state the title must accompany this application. 
 
All titles with liens are mailed directly to the lienholder. 
 
Be sure to include your Zip Code and Zip Code of lienholder. 
 
Statement of insurance must be submitted with each application for Motor Vehicle Registration. There is a $.50 insurance Recording Fee. 
 
 
 FEES 
 
 $10.00 for title  $ _______________________ 
 
 $5.00 for lien      _______________________ 
 
 $5.50 transfer of license (includes insurance fees)       _______________________ 
 REGISTRATION FEES* 
 
 Cars (Class A): ------------------------------- $30.00 (includes litter and insurance fees.)        _______________________ 
 
 Trucks (Class A): 
 Below 8001 lbs. Gross vehicle weight ---$30.00 (includes litter and insurance fees.)        _______________________ 
 
 All other registration fees must also include $1.00 litter fee and the $.50 insurance fee when applicable.    _______________________ 
 
 TOTAL $ _______________________ 
 
 
 


• Credit on trade-in allowed only for vehicles registered in West Virginia and the taxes paid thereon by applicant. 
  
For additional information call 558-3900 or toll—free 1-800-642-9066 
 
 


  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Mail to: 
 
 
 
 Department of Transportation 
 Division of Motor Vehicles 
 1800 Kanawha Boulevard, East Building 3 
 Charleston, West Virginia 25317 
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		MV-52-TR

		NOTIFICATION OF TRANSFER OF LICENSE PLATES



		1/06

		






Date of Transfer ___________________________________________     
20___________

Class of License __________ License Plate Number ______________ Expiration Date _________

Issued to ________________________________________________________________________


Name


Address _________________________________________________________________________


TRANSFERRED FROM


________/_____________/_________________________/_____________/__________


Make
Year
Serial Number
Weight
Title No.


TRANSFERRED TO


________/_____________/_________________________/_____________/__________


Make
Year
Serial Number
Weight
Title No.


Signature of Purchaser _____________________________________________________________


Trade or Corporate Name of Dealer or License Service ____________________________________


By ______________________________ License Certification Number ______________________


Authorized Personnel Only




⁪ Licensed West Virginia Dealer




Please Check One:
⁪ License Service


THIS FORM CAN ONLY BE EXECUTED BY A LICENSED WEST VIRGINIA


DEALER OR LICENSE SERVICE


DMV-86-TR

STATE OF WEST VIRGNIA


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUY HERE – PAY HERE DEALER AFFIDAVIT

PURCHASER’S INFORMATION


____________________________________   _____________________________________   _________________



(Purchaser’s Name)
(Purchaser’s Address)
(Phone #)


____________________________________   _____________________________________   _________________



(Co-Purchaser’s Name)
(CO-Purchaser’s Address)
(Phone #)


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION:


		

		

		

		






Make
Year
Body Type
Vehicle Identification Number


LIEN INFORMATION:

Name of Lienholder ____________________________________________________________________________

Address ______________________________________________________________________________________


Date of Sale _________________________


		

		

		






Total Amount of Lien
Kind of Lien
Date


		

		

		






Total Amount of Payments
Amount of Payment
Payment Due Date


DEALER INFORMATION:


Name of Dealership _____________________________________ Dealer Number __________________________


Address ______________________________________________________________________________________


The Purchaser (s) do hereby acknowledge purchase of the vehicle described above and that the listed lienholder has a valid lien on the vehicle.


X ____________________________   _____________       ________________________________   ____________



Purchaser’s Signature
Date
C-Purchaser’s Signature
Date



___________________________________   __________



Dealer Representative’s Signature
Date


White Copy – Submit with original title work


Pink Copy – Dealer


Yellow Copy - Customer


DMV-44 Rev. 10/99

		____________________________


current license number

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY


OWNER”S STATEMENT OF INSURANCE

I hereby state, under penalty of false swearing and penalties provided for in Chapters 17A and D of the West Virginia Code, that there is in effect a MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY POLICY upon the vehicle described herein, in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Code.


X_____________________________________


Owner’s Signature


X_____________________________________


Owner’s Signature


_______________________________________


NAME OFINSURANCE AGENCY


_______________________________________
NAME OF AGENT


_______________________________________
POLICY NUMBER


From:________________to:________________


EFFECTIVE DATES


___________________________


class


__________________________


expiration date


V E H I C L E  D E S C R I P T I O N

CLASS A


REGISTRATION FEES


For cars and trucks below 8001llbs. GVW


$30.00       $60.00


1 year        2 years


Includes standard license plate, 50 cent insurance fee, and $1.00 litter fee.


ADD $10, CHECK BOX


FOR SCENIC PLATE


Mail to


DMV


Capitol Complex, Building 3

Charleston, WV 25317

make


year


weight


title number


body style


serial number (VIN)


name(s) on title

address (check box if address has changed)

            ⁯

city                            county                           state                    zip code


All vehicle insurance information must be completed. Your personal property tax receipt or exemption from your county courthouse must be enclosed. DRIVING WITHOUT AUTO INSURANCE IS AGAINST THE LAW








		

		

		Department Use Only








DMV-32-TR

Rev. 2/06


STATE OF WEST VIRGIINIA


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


1800 KANAWHA BOULEVARD, EAST, BUILDING THREE


CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317-0017


APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF ADDRESS,


DUPLICATE REGISTRATION CARD, DECAL OR PLATE


Cash by mail is at sender’s risk. Any check tendered to this department which is not honored by any banking institution will result in a $10.00 service charge.


_______________________________________________________________


Name


_______________________________________________________________


Current Address


_______________________________________________________________


    City


County

State        ZIP Code


		Make



		Year

		Weight/Length

		Plate/Reg Number

		Exp. Date



		Title Number




		VIN/Hull Number





A REGISTRATION CARD, LICENSE PLATE OR DECAL, WILL BE ISSUED IF THE COMMISSIONER IS SATISFIED THE ORIGINAL IS LOST, STOLEN OR DESTROYED, AND UPON CERTIFICATION TO THAT EFFECT

Give Reason for Requesting Replacement _____________________________________


Please Check Transaction(s) that apply: Application for: __________________________


(a) Change of Address only ___ $5.00 (b) Duplicate Registration Card ___$5.00


*(c) Duplicate Decal ___ $5.00 *(d) Duplicate Plate ___$5.50 (*Reg Card Included)


*A STATEMENT OF INSURANCE MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH


APPLICATION FOR DUPLICATE PLATE


I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the sttements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law 17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:  From ____________ To ___________


Name of Insurance ______________________________________________


Name of Agent _________________________________________________


Insurance Policy Number ________________________________________


If the title reads “AND,” signature of both owners must appear


(X) ___________________________________________________________


Owner’s Signature


(X) ___________________________________________________________


Owner’s Signature


DMV-SV-1

(Rev. 11/01)


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317


SALVAGE CERTIFICATE APPLICATION


($15.00 FEE)


NAME: ___________________________________________________________________________


Address: __________________________________________________________________________



(Address)
(City)
(State)
(Zap)


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION


Make: ________________ Year: _________________ V.I.N. ________________________________________________


Style of Body: _______________ Weight: __________________   _______________ Odometer ___________________



(Passenger Vehicle)
(Trucks GVW)

COMPLETE IF APPLICABLE:


Flood Damage: ______
Cosmetic Total Loss/Salvage: _____
_____ Requesting a Nonrepairable




Certificate. Over 75%


Fire Damage: _____

damaged. Not to be




Reconstructed.


INDICATED DAMAGE BY MARKING PART ON APPROPRIATE LINE OR LIST PART UNDER “OTHER”

_____ Front Bumper
_____ Roof Panel
Other (Includes boats, campers, cycles, misc.)

_____ Grill Assembly
_____ Qtr. Panel – L


_____ Hood
_____ Qtr. Panel – R
________________________________________


_____ Fender – L
_____ Deck Lid


_____ Fender – R
_____ Rear Door S/W
________________________________________


_____ Door Front – L
_____ Rear Bumper


_____ Door Front – R
_____ Frame
________________________________________


_____ Door Rear – L
_____ Suspension


_____ Door Rear – R
_____ Seats
________________________________________


_____ Windshield
_____ Radio/Tape


_____ Side Glass – L
_____ Battery
________________________________________


_____ Side Glass – R
_____ Dash Panel


_____ Rear Glass
_____ Engine
________________________________________


IF A LIEN IS TO BE RECORDED, COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING:


Name: __________________________________________ Amount: ___________________ Date: _________________



(Lienholder)


Address: __________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien: ____________________


I hereby certify under penalty of fines and/or imprisonment, that the statements made herein are correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.


Printed Name: ___________________________________________________________


Signature: ____________________________________________________________ Date: ________________________


(Original Signature of applicant required, no copies)


ANY ERASURES OR ALTERATIONS WILL VOID THIS DOCUMENT



		DMV-SV-3


Rev. 07/05

		STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


RECONSTRUCTED VEHICLE EXAMINATION

		





		REBUILDER’S


INFORMATION

		Company/Individual Name




		WD Certificate Number (if applicable)



		

		Address




		City/State/ZIP



		

		Address where vehicle is inspected (if other than above)




		Telephone Number





		VEHICLE


INFORMATION

		Make

		Model

		Year

		Body Style


     _____Auto  _____Truck






		

		Type


___ 2 Door
___ 4 Door
___ Pickup
___ Other _____________



___ 3 Door
___ 5 Door
___ Tractor trailer


		Color Top/Bottom





		

		VIN (Vehicle Identification Number)




		Odometer Reading



		

		Previous Owner




		Address

		City/State/Zip



		

		Date Vehicle Purchased

		Amount Paid

$




		Safety Inspection Number

		Exp. Date





		STATEMENT OF PARTS REPLACED

		MAJOR COMPONENT PARTS REPLACED:
Check all applicable parts



and list original Vehicle



Identification Number (VIN)

_____ Front Clip Assembly


          VIN:

		PARTS REPLACED OR REPAIRED:

Check all applicable parts


_____ Front Bumper
_____ Roof Panel


_____ Grill Assembly
_____ Qtr. Panel-L


_____ Hood
_____ Qtr. Panel-R


_____ Fender-L
_____ Deck Lid


_____ Fender-R
_____ Rear Door S/W


_____ Door Front-L
_____ Rear Bumper


_____ Door Front-R
_____ Frame


_____ Door Rear-L
_____ Suspension


_____ Door Rear-R
_____ Seats


_____ Windshield
_____ Radio/Tape


_____ Side Glass-L
_____ Battery


_____ Side Glass-R
_____ Dash Panel


_____ Rear Glass
_____ Other __________________


_____ Air Bags



		

		_____ Engine

          VIN:

		



		

		_____ Transmission

          VIN:

		



		

		_____Rear Clip Assembly

          VIN:

		



		

		_____ Doors (2 or more)

          VIN:

		





		STATEMENT OF FACT

		I CERTIFY THAT THE FACTS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE TRUE, ACCURATE, & VALID; THAT I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE & POSSESS A PROPERLY ASSIGNED SALVAGE CERTIFICATE; THAT THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN REBUILT & REPAIRED USING THOSE PARTS INDICATED HEREIN; THAT I HAVE IN MY POSSESSION A TITLE, OR BILL OF SALE FOR THE PARTS USED; THAT NO OTHER REPLACEMENT OF COMPONENT PARTS WERE MADE; AND, THAT I HAVE NOT KNOWINGLY MADE A FALSE STATEMENT.



		

		Print Name of Rebuilder




		Signature

		Date





DMV USE ONLY


		VERIFICATION BY DMV INSPECTOR

		THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT AS AN INSPECTOR FOR THE DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES, I HAVE PHYSICALLY EXAMINED THE ABOVE DESCRIBED VEHICLE AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND VERIFY THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION.



		

		The Public Vehicle Identification Number ____ Does _____ Does Not appear to be altered or changed


Supporting documentation in Order _____ yes _____ No    Approved _____ yes _____ No    Type of Title     _____ Other _____ Reconstructed





		

		Print Name of Inspector




		Signature

		Date





DISTRIBUTION:   Orig. (white) submitted with application     #2 (canary) retained by WD/Rebuilder     #3 (pink) Inspector


MV-158-OB

Rev. 02/96


AFFIDAVIT


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


COUNTY OF __________________________


The undersigned authorized church official hereby certifies that the vehicle described below is the property of the church trustees of the church, and such vehicle is used regularly for transporting parishioners to and from church services, as provided in Chapter 17A, Article Ten, Section Three of the West Virginia Code.


VEHICLE INFORMATION


		Model Year




		Make

		Body Style

		Vehicle Identification Number

		Plate Number





Number of Passenger Capabilities ________________________________________________



Name of Church _______________________________________________________________


Address of Church _____________________________________________________________


Name of Official _______________________________________________________________


Official Capacity ______________________________________________________________



I hereby state under penalty of false swearing that the above statement is true.



I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

INSURANCE INFORMATION


Insurance Company __________________________ Policy Number ____________________


Effective Date: From __________________________ To ______________________________


Signature ________________________________________________


Date ____________________________________________________


DMV-168-TR

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


OWNER’S AFFIDAVIT AS TO THE OPERATION OF AN OFF-THE-HIGHWAY VEHICLE


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


COUNTY OF ___________________________ TO WIT:                             DATE ________________



The undersigned hereby certifies that he is the owner of the off-the-highway vehicle described below:


		Manufacturer’s Make _____________ Style of Body ____________ Year Model __________



		Vehicle Identification Number _____________________ Model Number ________________



		Length of Body ____________ Width of Body ____________ Height of Body ____________



		Body Serial Number Assigned by the Manufacturer _________________________________



		






The undersigned further states the vehicle will only be incidentally operated on the highways of this state for the sole purpose of moving the vehicle to or from a place of repairs or moving the vehicle from one job site to another, without a load, between sunrise and sunset. Under no circumstances would the vehicle be moved on the highways on Saturday, Sunday or any legal holiday. The vehicle must be operated at all times with the required permit issued by the Department of Highways for over-sized vehicles.

		

		_________________________________________



		

		Corporate or Company Name



		

		_________________________________________



		

		President or Vice-President if a Corporation



		

		_________________________________________



		

		Partner if a Partnership



		

		_________________________________________



		

		Owner if an Individual






DMV-62-TR
STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

Rev. 12/88
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION



DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES



1800 KANAWHA BLVD., EAST



BUILDING 3



CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317


AFFIDAVIT OF BUILDER


The following information must be provided and attached to Application


For Certificate of Title (DMV-1) for an Assembled Trailer


Serial Number, if available _______________________________________________________

Empty Weight of Trailer ___________________________


Declared Gross Weight of Trailer including the Maximum Load to be Hauled at –



Any Time: _______________________


Number of Axles: __________________________


Length: _______________  Height: _______________  Width of Trailer: _______________


Check Type of Trailer:


   _____ Boat Trailer


   _____ Utility Trailer


   _____ House Trailer


   _____Camper Trailer


   _____ Other (Specify) __________________________________________________________


Two photographs, a side view and a front view, of the trailer must be submitted with the application for a certificate of title. If the vehicle is a house trailer or camper, two photographs of the inside of the trailer, one from each end, must also be submitted with the application.


List all parts used to build the trailer and where you acquired each part:


______________________________________________________________________________


______________________________________________________________________________


If the trailer was assembled by a person other than the applicant, give name and address of the builder:


______________________________________________________________________________


   Name (Please Print)


______________________________________________________________________________


   Street or Route Number



City


State

ZIP


Was this person contracted to build the trailer for you?     _____ YES     _____ NO


For what purpose is this trailer to be used? ___________________________________________
 

Has the trailer ever been registered in any other state?   _____ NO    _____ YES  (If Yes, what State? ______________________________


TOTAL COST OF MATERIALS USED:     $_________________


DMV-66-TR

Rev. 11/89

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, STATE CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317

DISABLED VETERANS EXEMPTION STATEMENT


I, the undersigned, do hereby certify that I am, t the best of my knowledge and belief, eligible for exemption from payment fo a vehicle registration fee under the provisions of Section 8, Article 8, Article 10, Chapter 10, Chapter 17A, of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended by Acts of the Legislature, Regular Sessions 1955 and 1978. I meet the eligibility requirements by virtue of the following (check whichever is applicable):


_____ I have received a grant from the Federal Government to be applied toward the purchase of a vehicle under the provisions of PL 663-79, PL 187-82, or PL 77-90, Congress of the United States. I certify that the vehicle for which I claim exemption from registration fees will not be used for hire.


_____ I have a one hundred percent (100%) total and permanent service-connected disability as rated by the Veteran’s Administration. I certify that the vehicles for which I claim exemption from registration fees will not be used for commercial purposes.


I understand that this claim for exemption from payment of registration fees does not entitle me to exemption from payment of the tax imposed upon the priviledge of effecting the certification of title of my vehicle, nor the payment of the five dollwr ($5.00) charge for the Certificate of Title evidencing ownership of the vehicle for which exemption from payment of registration fee is claimed. Only one disabled veteran plate issued per veteran.


I hereby consent to have the pertinent information from my VA records released to the Department of Veterans’ Affairs and to the Department of Motor Vehicles.


VA File Number: _______________



____________________________________



(Signature of Veteran)


Date Signed: ___________________
____________________________________




(Street or Box Number)



____________________________________




(City)
(County)
(State)


Records of the Veteran’s Administration show that the above-named veteran (check one):


_____ Has received a vehicle grant under PL 663-79, PL 187-82, or PL 77-90


_____ Has been determined to have a one hundred percent (100%) total and permanent service-connected disability.


Date Signed: ____________________
________________________________________



(Signature of VA Regional Officer – Title)



________________________________________



(Address of VA Office having custody of records)


TO: West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Date: _______________________________



I certify that the above-named veteran is eligible for exemption from the payment of registration fees as authenticated by the VA Regional Officer, above.


NOTE: PREPARE IN DUPLICATE!!
________________________________________




Director, W. Va. Department of Veterans’ Affairs


Insurance Certificate and Personal Property Tax Receipt Required.  Fee: $1.50



DMV-130-TR

04/04


State of West Virginia


Department of Transportation – Division of Motor Vehicles


AFFIDAVIT FOR POSSESSESSION OF A JUNKED


OR ABANDONED MOTOR VEHICLE


(VEHICLE HAS A LOAN VALUE OF $2500 OR LESS)


This affidavit to be used by a West Virginia motor vehicle dealer, a motor vehicle repair facility or a person or entity hired by a West Virginia Enforcement Agency for securing a West Virginia title for a junked or abandoned motor vehicle.

I/we, the undersigned certify that the motor vehicle described herein will be sold due to failure of the registered owner, named herein, to meet his/her obligation of payment for towing, storage, repairs, etc., and that all West Virginia Motor Vehicle laws have been complied with fully regarding the giving of due notice and authority to dispose of the vehicle at a private sale or public auction.


		





Name of Last Registered Owner (If known)

		



		





Address


		





Lienholder (If applicable)


VEHCILE INFORMATION


		Year

		Make

		Serial Number

		Title Number

		State



		

		

		

		

		





		

		






Name of Applicant for Title
Loan Value

		

		






Signature of Applicant
Date


This form must be executed with a typewriter or printed with ink.


Any alterations or erasures will void this certification.


(Forms required, certification and instructions on reverse side)


TITLING INSTRUCTIONS



In 2001, the Legislature reenacted Chapter 17, Section 8, Article 24 of the West Virginia Code, to allow due process for a West Virginia motor vehicle dealer, a motor vehicle repair facility or a person or entity hired by a West Virginia enforcement agency to obtain title and sell at private sale or public auction any motor vehicle towed or abandoned on their property, and having loan value of twenty-five hundred dollars ($2500.00) or less. If the loan value is above $2500, the applicant for title must provide an insurance appraisal indicating a lesser value. If not, the applicant must go through a sheriff’s sale.



OPTION 1 Once the motor vehicle is in your possession you shall within thirty (30) days notify the last registered owner of record and all lienholders of record, if any, by registered mail return receipt requested, of the location of the facility where the motor vehicle is being stored and of the owner’s liability for towing and storage charges. Upon issuance of the notice, the owner is liable and responsible for all charges for towing and storage of the motor vehicle. However, failure to issue said notice within thirty (30) days after possession of the vehicle relieves the identified owner of any liability for towing or storage charges in excess of the sum of the first five (5) days of such charges. The owner must be given ten (10) days to respond from the date of receipt of notice.


OPTION 2 If the identity of the last registered owner, or lienholder cannot be determined, notice shall be published as a Class I newspaper advertisement. The publication area shall be the county where the vehicle was located at the time of possession. The notice shall be published within fifteen (15) days after possession of vehicle. The owner has ten (10) days to respond from date of publication. Before a title will be issued a nationwide serial number search must be completed by the division. If record of the serial number is found, the applicant for title must revert back to Option 1. The division will supply the state of record to the applicant; but it is the responsibility of the applicant to contact the state’s DMV for the owner and lienholder information.


LAW  ENFORCEMENT  CERTIFICATION

The following person or entity applying for title to this vehicle has been hired by this agency to tow the vehicle listed on the front of the application.

		

		






Persons or Entity Hired
Address


Law Enforcement Agency ________________________ Badge/Unit Number _____________


Signature of Officer _____________________________ Date __________________________


Check list of documents required for titling:\


		

		Application for West Virginia Title (DMV-1-TR)



		

		Serial Number Certification (DMV-1B)



		

		Vehicle Information Request (Copy)



		

		Affidavit of Possession (DMV-130-TR)



		

		Certified Mail Return Receipt Stub – (Option 1)



		

		Copy of Class I (Newspaper) – Legal Advertisement (if applicable) - **Option 2



		

		Odometer Disclosure (if applicable)





**Identity of the last registered owner of the vehicle cannot be determined.


Fees required:  $10.00 Title Fee, 5% Privilege Tax (if applicable). West Virginia dealer are exempt.



		MV-126-TR-1


REV. 11/20/03

		STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES


TITLE AND REGISTRATION DIVISION

		





APPLICATION FOR A HOUSE TRAILER ONE TRIP PERMIT


1. In accordance with the provisions of Chapter Seventeen A, Article Seven, Section Two of the Motor Vehicle Code, the undersigned ______________________________________________________________ hereby makes application for a House


Individual, Trade or Corporation Name

Trailer One Trip Permit. Enclosed herewith is ⁯, money order ⁯, cash ⁯, in payment of the required statutory fee of $2.00.


2. Has the house trailer described below been titled or registered in this or any other state? ________________________________

Yes or No



If so, give name of state _______________________________________________________________.

3. Has a Permit of this type been issued to you on this house trailer prior to this application? _______________________________


Yes or No

4. Check which of the documents outlined below you have as proof of ownership of the house trailer. Certificate of Title ⁯, Certificate of Registration ⁯, Manufacturers Certificate of Origin ⁯, Bill of Sale ⁯. The document checked must be presented for inspection with this application.

DESCRIPTION OF HOUSE TRAILER FOR WHICH APPLICATION IS MADE


Manufacturer’s Make __________________________________ Year Model __________ Serial Number _____________________

APPLICATION IS MADE FOR TRIP


From _________________________________________________ To __________________________________________________





City and State






City and State



The above statements have been made for the purpose of obtaining a House Trailer One Trip Permit. Fraudulent or misleading statements or improper use of said Permit will be considered cause for immediate revocation of Permit and privileges granted,



__________________________________________________






Individual, Trade or Corporation Name



__________________________________________________







Street Address



__________________________________________________





City


State

Zip Code



__________________________________________________






Signature and Title of Applicant


State of West Virginia


County of ____________________________________, to wit:



Subscribed and sworn to before me this ___________________ day of _________________________________ 20________


My commission expires _________________________________________




__________________________________________________








Notary Public


___________________________________________________________________________________________________________


(This Space Department Use Only)


Application Approved By ________________________________________________ Permit Number Issued __________________


Date of Issuance _________________________________________________


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
TITLE AND REGISTRATION DIVISION


TRANSPORTERS APPLICATION FOR HOUSE TRAILER ONE TRIP PERMITS


1. In accordance with the provisions of Chapter Seventeen A, Article Seven, Section Two of the Motor Vehicle Code, the undersigned ______________________________________________________ hereby makes application for _________ House Trailer One Trip Permits.



Enclosed herewith is check ⁯ money order ⁯ cash ⁯ in payment of the required statutory fee of $2.00 for 



each permit.


2. If applicant is licensed by the Division of Motor Vehicles as a dealer, insert your Dealer License Certificate


 Number _____________________________________.


3. Does applicant have Public Service Commission authority to engage in the business of moving



house trailers for hire? ____________________. If yes, Certificate No. ___________________________




yes or no

4. Insert Class K License Numbers currently displayed on the vehicles operating under the public Service Commission authority.



The above statements have been made for the purpose of obtaining House Trailer One Trip Permit privileges. Fraudulent or misleading statements or improper use of said permits will be considered cause for immediate revocation of the permits and the priviledges granted, without refund for permits when same are picked up after revocation.


FIRM NAME _____________________________________________________________________________




(Type or Print Plainly)


MAILING ADDRESS ______________________________________________________________________




Street or Post Office Box Number


CITY _____________________ COUNTY ________________________ STATE ______________________


ZIP CODE _________________________________


SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT __________________________________ TITLE ______________________


State of West Virginia


County of ______________________ to-wit:



Subscribed and sworn to before me this ________________ day of _____________________ 20______


My Commission expires _____________________________________________________________________




__________________________________________








Notary Public


(This Space For Department Use Only)


Application Approved By ____________________________________________________________________

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


TITLE AND REGISTRATION DIVISION


APPLICATION FOR SPECIAL ONE TRIP STICKERS OR DECALS



Pursuant to Chapter Seventeen A, Article Seven, section One of the Motor Vehicle Code the undersigned:


________________________________________________________________________________________________


Corporation, Firm or Individual


Hereby makes application for _________________ One Trip Stickers or Decals. Enclosed herewith is check ⁯, money order ⁯, cash ⁯, in payment of the required statutory fee of $1.00 each.


Check in the proper space below the type of business the applicant is engaged in.


⁯ Insurance Company
⁯ Finance Company or any type of Financing Agency

⁯ Banking Institution
⁯ Wrecking and Dismantling Vehicles


If applicant is licensed by the Division of Motor Vehicles as a Wrecker and Dismantler insert your Dealer 


License Certification Number _______________________________________________________________________



Give location of your principal place of business ________________________________________________


________________________________________________________________________________________________



Outline below why you have a need for one trip sticker or decals. __________________________________


________________________________________________________________________________________________



The above statements have been made for the purpose of obtaining one trip sticker or decal privileges and fraudulent or misleading statements or improper use of said stickers will be considered cause for immediate revocation of stickers or decals and the privileges granted, without refund for stickers or decals when same are picked up after revocation.

FIRM NAME ______________________________________________________________________




Type or Print Plainly

MAILING ADDRESS _______________________________________________________________




Street or Post Office Box Number


CITY __________________________ COUNTY ____________________ STATE ______________

ZIP CODE _________ Signature of Applicant _________________________ Title ____________


State of West Virginia


County of ________________________ to-wit:



Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______________ day of __________________ 20_____.


My Commission expires ___________________________________________________________________




_________________________________________








Notary Public


(THIS SPACE FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY)


Applicant Approved By ___________________________________________________________________


Serial Number of Decals Issued From ________________________ To ____________________________


		DMV42-TR

6/04

		DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


Building 3, Capitol Complex


Charleston, WV 25317


APPLICATION FOR PERSONALIZED LICENSE PLATES


STANDARD, SCENIC, WILDLIFE, PATRIOTIC, 9/11 OR MOTORCYCLE GRAPHIC

		





NAME(S) OF OWNER(S) EXACTLY AS SHOWN ON CURRENT REGISTRATION – FOR VEHICLE YOU WISH TO REGISTER


		
Name(s) of Registered Owner(s) __________________________________

_____________________________________________________________

Address of Registered Owner(s) ___________________________________


_____________________________________________________________

City __________________________ Zip __________ Phone (    )________

Vehicle Make_________________ Vehicle Year _____________________

Serial Number _________________________________________________

Current License Plate Number ____________________________________

Title Number __________________________________________________







		

		

		
Effective Date of Insurance Policy: From ______ to ______


Policy Number ____________________________________


Insurance Company ________________________________


Insurance Agent ___________________________________






		

		

		[image: image1.jpg]







⁯ Standard Graphic (8 spaces)



⁯ Motorcycle Graphic (same as above, 6 spaces)

[image: image2.jpg]






⁯ Scenic Graphic


(8 spaces)

[image: image3.jpg]






⁯ Patriotic Graphic


(5 spaces)
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⁯ Wildlife Bird

(6 spaces)

[image: image5.jpg]




⁯ ⁯ Wildlife Deer

(6 spaces)

[image: image6.jpg]500





⁯ 9/11 Graphic

(6 spaces)

(*See fee chart on back page for the above plates)






		

		

		



		Special mailing instructions for gifts:


Name _________________________ Phone _________________________

Address ______________________________________________________

City _______________________ State ________________ Zip _________





		

		





Eight positions are allowed. Provide a minimum of two and a maximum of eight characters per choice. To check for vanity plate availability log on to www.wvdot.com. Symbols and punctuation marks cannot be used. Show choices in order of preference. Your first selection available will be produced. No plates will be approved that conflict with the special numbers two (2) through two-thousand (2,000). Place characters in boxes exactly as yoou want them to appear on the plate. All characters will be centered on the plate, unless you clearly specify otherwise. Please clarify alpha letter and numeric examples which can be confusing:


6-G, 2-Z, 1-I, 5-S, O-0


		

		

		1

		2

		3

		4

		5

		6

		7

		8

		



		

		1st Choice

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		



		

		2nd Choice

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		



		

		3rd Choice

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		



		

		4th Choice

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		______

		



		
Check if plate is not to be centered  ⁯





		FOR DMV USE ONLY


Check # __________________  Amount: _________________
Registration Expiration Date: _________________________
This application is being returned for the following reasons:


⁯ Your selection is taken, please make another selection


⁯ Payment is for the incorrect amount. Correct amount is $ ______


⁯ No payment is included. The correct amount is $ _____________




		

		APPLICANT’S STATEMENT


The information above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I understand that any false statements may result in legal penalties pursuant to the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law 17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.


(X) ______________________________________________



Signature



Date








PERSONALIZED PLATE INFORMATION


1. All fee must be submitted with application.


2. An applicant must first title their vehicle and have a regular Class A plate issued on that vehicle. No requests will be accepted unless the Division has a record of that vehicle and current plate.


3. Personalized plates are issued for Class A vehicles only – automobiles, trucks weighing under 8,000 pounds, and motorcycles.


4. A personalized plate will be issued of the Division of Motor Vehicles determines:


a. the requested choice is available


b. the requested choice is not obscene or possibly offensive.


5. The requested choice does not conflict with a regular series license number.


6. Once a personalized plate is issued, it may continue to be reserved yearly if fees are paid when required.


7. A personalized plate can be transferred to another vehicle in the original registrant’s name or from husband to wife or wife to husband. A $5.00 transfer fee and $.50 insurance fee is required.


8. When the personalized plate is received by the applicant, the currently assigned regular plate and registration must be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles within ten days.


9. All requests for personalized plates must be submitted, in writing, on this form to the Division.


10. The $15.00 reservation fee is due annually at renewal.


11. The wildlife reservation fee is $30.00, due annual at the time of renewal. Of this fee, $15.00 goes to the Non-Game Wildlife Fund.


12. Motorcycle license plates are limited to six spaces and cannot be issued on the scenic or wildlife graphic.


MOTORCYCLE VANITY FEES

(Plates expire July 1 of each year)


		7/1 – 9/30


$31.00

		10/1 – 12/31


$29.00

		1/1 – 3/31


$27.00

		4/1 – 6/30


$25.00





FEES FOR NEW PLATE

		PLATE

		STANDARD GRAPHIC


*

		PATRIOTIC/SCENIC


GRAPHIC


**

		WILDLIFE/911


GRAPHIC


***



		Plate begins with 1 or is


a personalized plate

		$45.00

		$55.00

		$70.00



		Plate begins with 2

		$46.63

		$56.63

		$71.63



		Plate begins with 3

		$44.25

		$54.25

		$69.25



		Plate begins with 4

		$41.88

		$51.88

		$66.88



		Plate begins with 5

		$39.50

		$49.50

		$64.50



		Plate begins with 6

		$37.13

		$47.13

		$62.13



		Plate begins with 7

		$34.75

		$44.75

		$59.75



		Plate begins with 8

		$32.38

		$42.38

		$57.38



		Plate begins with 9

		$30.00

		$40.00

		$55.00



		Plate begins with O

		$27.63

		$37.63

		$52.63



		Plate begins with N

		$25.25

		$35.25

		$50.25



		Plate begins with D

		$22.88

		$32.88

		$47.88





* Includes annual $15.00 Reservation Fee, $1.00 litter fee, $.50 insurance fee and registration fees.

** Includes annual $15.00 Reservation Fee, $1.00 litter fee, $.50 insurance fee and a one time $10.00 fee.


*** Includes annual $15.00 Reservation Fee, annual $15.00 non-game wildlife fund fee, $1.00 litter fee, $.50 insurance fee and a one-time $10.00 fee.


NOTE: If plate has already been renewed for next calendar year, the total fees will be $20.50 for the standard graphic, $30.50 for the patriotic/scenic graphic and $45.50 for the wildlife/911 graphic. Time remaining before January 1 will be applied as a credit to the cost of the new plate. All time after January 1 will be lost.


DMV42-LE

4/97

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Building 3, Capitol Complex


Charleston, WV 25317


APPLICATION FOR AMATEUR RADIO LICENSE PLATES


NAMES OF OWNER(S) EXACTLY AS SHOWN ON CURRENT REGISTRATION FOR VEHICLE YOU WISH TO REGISTER


Names(s) of Registered Owner(s) __________________________________________________________________


Address of Registered Owner(s) ___________________________________________________________________


City ___________________________ZIP ______________________Telephone __(______)__________________


Vehicle Make ________________Vehicle Year ____________Serial Number ______________________________


Current License Plate Number ___________________________Title Number ______________________________


Effective Date of Insurance Policy: From _______________to _______________Policy Number _______________


Insurance Number ___________________________________ Insurance Agent _____________________________


Six positions are allowed. Place characters in boxes exactly as you want them to appear on the plate. All characters will be centered on the plate, unless you clearly specify otherwise. Please clarify alpha letter and numeric examples which can be confusing: 6-G, 2-Z, 1-I, 5-S, 0-O


FCC License Number _____  _____  _____  _____  _____  _____


APPLICANT’S STATEMENT


The information above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I understand that any false statements may result in legal penalties pursuant to the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law 17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.


(X) __________________________________________________ Date __________________________

FOR DMV USE ONLY


Check# __________ Amount __________

THIS APPLLICATION IS BEING RETURNED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASON(S):


_____ Payment is for incorrect amount. Correct amount is $ _______________.

_____ No payment is enclosed. Correct amount is $ _______________.

_____ We have no record of your vehicle. Please provide a current copy of your title or registration card.


_____Other__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WV 25317

AMATEUR RADIO PLATE INFORMATION


1. All fees must be submitted with this application.


2. An applicant must first title their vehicle and have a regular Class A plate issued on that vehicle. No requests will be accepted unless the Division has a record of that vehicle and current plate.

3. Amateur Radio plates are for Class A vehicles only – Automobiles and trucks weighing under 8000 pounds.


4. An Amateur Radio plate will be issued if the Division of Motor Vehicles determines:


a. the requested choice is available.


b. The requested choice does not conflict with a regular series license number.


5. Once an Amateur Radio plate is issued, it may continue to be reserved yearly, if fees are paid when required.


6. An Amateur Radio plate can be transferred to another vehicle in the original registrant’s name. A $5.00 transfer fee and $.50 insurance fee is required.


7. When the Amateur Radio plate is received by the applicant, the currently assigned regular plate and registration card must be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles within ten days.


8. All requests for Amateur Radio plates must be submitted, in writing, on this form to the Division along with a copy of your FCC license. Please do not send original certificate.


9. The $10.00 reservation fee is an additional one-time fee.


FEES FOR NEW PLATE


Plate begins with 7
$40.00

Plate begins with 8
$41.63


Plate begins with 9
$39.25


Plate begins with O
$36.88


Plate begins with N
$34.50


Plate begins with D
$32.13


Plate begins with 1 or personalized
$29.75


Plate begins with 2
$27.38


Plate begins with 3
$25.00


Plate begins with 4
$22.63


Plate begins with 5
$20.25


Plate begins with 6
$17.88


The fees listed above include a one-time $10.00 reservation fee, $5.00 transfer fee, $.50 insurance fee, and registration fees.


Note: If plate has already been renewed, the total fees will be $15.50, ($10.00 reservation fee, $5.00 transfer fee, and $.50 insurance fee). Time remaining before July 1 will be applied as a credit to the cost of the new plate. All time after July 1 will be lost.



		DMV 48H

6/97

		DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WV 25317

		





APPLICATION FOR DISABLED AMERICAN VETERANS LICENSE PLATE

PART I – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT (Type or Print in Blue or Black Ink)

Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register:

		Name(s)




		Telephone Number



		Present Street Address




		Current License Plate Number



		City




		State

		Zip

		Title Number



		Model Year




		Make

		Vehicle Identification Number





INSURANCE INFORMATION


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________


Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________


Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________



I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________



Signature of Applicant
Date


PART II – CERTIFICATION BY THE DISABLED AMERICAN VETERANS – DEPARTMENT OF WEST VIRGINIA


The Disabled American Veterans, Department of West Virginia, certifies that the above named person is a member of the Disabled American Veterans and qualifies for the special Disabled Americans license plate.

______________________________________
   ____________________________________________



Department Adjutant
Date


Disabled American Veterans


Department of West Virginia


(NOT VALID WITHOUT RAISED SEAL)

PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

INSTRUCTIONS

1. To qualify for a Disabled American Veterans license plate, the applicant must be a member of the Disabled American Veterans. An eligible applicant must have this form certified by the Disabled American Veterans, Department of West Virginia.

2. Please complete Part I of the application.


3. Please mail the application (DO NOT SEND MONEY) to the Disabled American Veterans, West Virginia Department office at the following address:

Disabled American Veterans

Department of West Virginia


P. O. Box 605

Elkview, WV 25071-0605

Telephone: (304) 965-3246

4. The Disabled American Veterans office will review your application and if you are eligible, your application will be certified with a raised seal, approved and returned to you.


5. Please send the completed application along with the correct fess to the Division of Motor Vehicles. All checks should be made payable to the Division of Motor Vehicles (address listed below). Please include your personal property tax receipt or an affidavit from the Assessor, if your registration is expiring within 60 days of your application.

Disabled American Veterans Plate


Division of Motor Vehicles


Building 3, Capitol Complex


Charleston, WV 25317


6. Your fee is based on the expiration of your current license plate. Use the first letter or number of your license plate to calculate your fee. This amount includes the one time $10.00 fee. All American Legion license plates will expire July 1 of each year. Your renewal fee will be $30.00 per year.

		CURRENT FEE

		EXPIRATION

		FEES



		Plate begins with 8

		8/97

		$40.00



		Plate begins with 9

		9/97

		$39.25



		Plate begins with O

		10/97

		$36.88



		Plate begins with N

		11/97

		$34.50



		Plate begins with D

		12/97

		$32.13



		Plate begins with 1

		1/98

		$29.75



		Plate begins with 2

		2/98

		$27.38



		Plate begins with 3

		3/98

		$25.00



		Plate begins with 4

		4/98

		$22.63



		Plate begins with 5

		5/98

		$20.25



		Plate begins with 6

		6/98

		$17.88



		Plate begins with 7

		7/98

		$15.50





PLEASE ALLOW THIRTY (30) DAYS FOR DELIVERY



		DMV 48G

6/96

		DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WV 25317

		





APPLICATION FOR MARINE CORPS LEAGUE LICENSE PLATE

PART I – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT (Type or Print in Blue or Black Ink)

Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register:

		Name(s)




		Telephone Number



		Present Street Address




		Current License Plate Number



		City




		State

		Zip

		Title Number



		Model Year




		Make

		Vehicle Identification Number





INSURANCE INFORMATION


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________


Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________


Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________



I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________



Signature of Applicant
Date


PART II – CERTIFICATION BY THE MARINE CORPS LEAGUE – DEPARTMENT OF WEST VIRGINIA


The Marine Corp League, Department of West Virginia, certifies that the above named person is a member of the Marine Corps League and qualifies for the special Marine Corps League license plate.

______________________________________
   ____________________________________________



Signature of Marine Corps League
Date



Department Commander/Paymaster

PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

INSTRUCTIONS

1. To qualify for a Marine Corps League license plate, the applicant must be a member of the Marine Corps League. An eligible applicant must have this form certified by the Marine Corps League, Department of West Virginia.

2. Please complete Part I of the application.


3. Please mail the application (DO NOT SEND MONEY) to the Marine Corps League, West Virginia Department office at the following address:

Marine Corps League

RD 3, Box 394

Moundsville, WV 26041

4. The Marine Corps League office will review your application and if you are eligible, your application will be certified with a raised seal, approved and returned to you.


5. Please send the completed application along with the correct fess to the Division of Motor Vehicles. All checks should be made payable to the Division of Motor Vehicles (address listed below). Please include your personal property tax receipt or an affidavit from the Assessor, if your registration is expiring within 60 days of your application.

Marine Corps League Plate


Division of Motor Vehicles


Building 3, Capitol Complex


Charleston, WV 25317


6. Your fee is based on the expiration of your current license plate. Use the first letter or number of your license plate to calculate your fee. This amount includes the one time $10.00 fee. All American Legion license plates will expire July 1 of each year. Your renewal fee will be $30.00 per year.

		CURRENT FEE

		EXPIRATION

		FEES



		Plate begins with 8

		8/97

		$40.00



		Plate begins with 9

		9/97

		$39.25



		Plate begins with O

		10/97

		$36.88



		Plate begins with N

		11/97

		$34.50



		Plate begins with D

		12/97

		$32.13



		Plate begins with 1

		1/98

		$29.75



		Plate begins with 2

		2/98

		$27.38



		Plate begins with 3

		3/98

		$25.00



		Plate begins with 4

		4/98

		$22.63



		Plate begins with 5

		5/98

		$20.25



		Plate begins with 6

		6/98

		$17.88



		Plate begins with 7

		7/98

		$15.50





PLEASE ALLOW THIRTY (30) DAYS FOR DELIVERY



		DMV 48B


Revised 8/01

		DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WV 25317

		





APPLICATION FOR PURPLE HEART LICENSE PLATE

PART I – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT

Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register:


		Name(s)




		Telephone Number



		Present Street Address




		Current License Plate Number



		City




		State

		Zip

		Title Number



		Model Year




		Make

		Vehicle Identification Number





INSURANCE INFORMATION


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________


Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________


Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________



I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________



Signature of Applicant
Date


PART II – CERTIFICATION BY THE WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS



The West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs certifies that the above named person has been awarded the Military Order of the Purple Heart and qualifies for the special registration plate authorized under West Virginia Code §17A-3-14.

____________________________________
____________________________________



Printed Name of Veterans Affairs Officer
Signature of Veterans Affairs Officer


____________________________________
____________________________________



Date
Street Address of Veterans Affairs Office









____________________________________




City, State and ZIP

PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

PURPLE HEART LICENSE PLATE INSTRUCTIONS

To qualify for a Purple Heart license plate, an eligible applicant must have this form certified by the West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs and must provide all documentation required by that office for certification.


1. The applicant must complete Part I of the application. The vehicle on which the plate will be placed must be a Class A passenger car or truck and may not be used for commercial purposes. The vehicle must be currently titled in West Virginia in the applicant’s name.


2. The applicant is not required to pay registration fees for one Purple Heart license plate, however, they must pay the $.50 insurance enforcement fee, plus a $1.00 litter fee. These plates will expire in July 2005, based on a ten year cycle. The fees are as follows:


		FISCAL YEAR

		FEE

		FISCAL YEAR

		FEE



		2001

		$6.00

		2006

		$13.50



		2002

		$4.50

		2007

		$12.00



		2003

		$3.00

		2008

		$10.50



		2004

		$1.50

		2009

		$  9.00



		2005

		$15.00

		2010

		$  7.50





3. Part II of this application must be certified by the West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs. The applicant is responsible for mailing the completed application to the Division of Motor Vehicles.


4. Within ten days after receipt of the Purple Heart plate, the current registration plate and registration card must be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles or transferred to another vehicle titled in the applicant’s name.


5. In the event of the death of the Purple Heart plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse until remarriage, non-renewal or death (Form DMV 48F)


6. For a fee of $45.00 per year, an additional Purple Heart license plate may be obtained by completing Form DMV-48A.

		Division of Veterans Affairs – Main Office


1321 Plaza East Shopping Center, Suite 101


Charleston, WV 25301-1400


Telephone: 558-3661 / 558-3540

		Lewisburg Office


Greenbrier County Courthouse


200 North Court Street


Telephone: 647-7500

		Spencer Office


207 East Main Street


Telephone: 927-0980



		Beckley Office

PO Box 1751


407 Neville Street


Telephone: 256-6955

		Logan Office


513 Dingess Street


Logan, WV 25601


Telephone: 792-7055

		Summersville Office


715 B Main Street


Telephone: 872-0829



		Clarksburg Office

430 East Pike Street


Clarksburg, WV 26301


Telephone: 627-2198

		Martinsburg Office


900 South Winchester Avenue


Telephone: 267-0040

		Welch Office


McDowell Public Library


Telephone: 436-3804



		Elkins Office

Elkins – Randolph County Airport


Route 4, Box 271


Telephone: 637-0235

		Moorefield Office


225 North Main Street


Telephone: 538-2839

		Wheeling Office


51 Eleventh Street, Room 300


Telephone: 238-1085



		Fairmont Office

WV Office Complex, Room 352


107 Adams Street


Telephone: 367-2702

		Parkersburg Office


Wood County Courthouse


1 Court Square, #403


Telephone: 424-1952

		



		Huntington Office

640 Fourth Avenue, Room 108


Huntington, WV 25701


Telephone: 528-5575

		Princeton Office


Memorial Building


1500 West Main Street


Telephone: 425-5194

		






		DMV 48F

8/96

		DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WV 25317

		





SURVIVING SPOUSE

APPLICATION FOR SPECIAL MILITAYR LICENSE PLATE


Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register:


		Name(s)




		Telephone Number



		Present Street Address




		Current License Plate Number



		City




		State

		Zip

		Title Number



		Model Year




		Make

		Vehicle Identification Number





INSURANCE INFORMATION


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________


Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________


Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________


1. This application is for the surviving spouse of a veteran who wishes to resume the use of the special military license plate which belonged to the deceased veteran. The surviving spouse is eligible to use the special military license plate until his or her remarriage, non-renewal or death.


2. Use this form only if the surviving spouse has, after the death of the veteran, obtained another license plate for the vehicle.


3. Please indicate which special military license plate the deceased veteran obtained during his lifetime:


__________ Purple Heart


__________ Disabled Veteran


__________ Former Prisoner of War


__________ Other


__________ Pearl Harbor Survivor


__________ Veteran


__________ National Guard


4. Please complete the following information to determine your eligibility. If possible, please attaché an old registration card or any other evidence you might have which shows the license plate listed in the deceased veterans name. You may be asked to provide additional documentation showing your status as the surviving spouse.


PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION



Name of Deceased Veteran _______________________________________________



Name under which the vehicle was titled _____________________________________



Plate Number __________________________________________________________


5. Do you still have the license plate?               _____ Yes          _____ No


* If you still have the license plate in your possession, a current registration and decal will be issued to reactivate the license plate to the vehicle indicated on the reverse side.


* If you no longer have the license plate, a new plate with the next available number will be issued to you.

6. You are responsible for paying any applicable renewal fees. There are no refunds of any fees for exchanged plates. Your current license plate must be returned to DMV.



After the death of the vehicle owner, the surviving spouse should remove the name of the deceased from the title. This is necessary for insurance and tax purposes and will lessen the burden for legal heirs after the death of the surviving spouse.



In order to transfer the title of a jointly owned vehicle (or appears between the two names) into the surviving spouse’s name, the surviving spouse signs the back of the title as the seller. The surviving spouse also completes the remainder of the title and signs as the purchaser and completes the bottom section of the title as the purchaser.



If the title is in the name of the deceased only, or the word and appears between the two names, the administrator or executor of the estate signs as the seller, and the surviving spouse signs as the purchaser. If the word and appears between the names, the surviving spouse must sign as one of the sellers. A copy of the court appointment papers should accompany the application for the transfer of the title. The surviving spouse also completes the bottom section of the title as the purchaser.



In both instances, the surviving spouse should submit the properly reassigned title. The odometer disclosure information, insurance information and current registration card for the vehicle being titled must also be completed.



There are no fees for the transfer of title, if the surviving spouse is the legal heir and you have attached a copy of the court appointment papers.


APPLICANT’S STATEMENT


I hereby certify that I am the surviving spouse of a veteran who had a special military license plate, which has not been renewed and that the information above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief, and I understand that any false statements may result in legal penalties pursuant to the West Virginia Motor vehicle Law 17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

(x) ________________________________     ________________________________________



Signature of Applicant
Date


		DMV 48

5/00

		DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WV 25317

		





APPLICATION FOR VETERANS LICENSE PLATE

Please Check Class of Vehicle:   ‬‬‫‫‫⁯ Class A (Passenger Car or Truck)   ‬‬‫‫‫⁯ Class G (Motorcycle)

PART I – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT

NAME OF VETERAN (Name Must be on Title): __________________________________________


Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register:


		Name(s)




		Telephone Number



		Present Street Address




		Current License Plate Number



		City




		State

		Zip

		Title Number



		Model Year




		Make

		Vehicle Identification Number





INSURANCE INFORMATION


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________


Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________


Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________



I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________



Signature of Applicant
Date


PART II – CERTIFICATION BY THE WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS



The West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs certifies that the above named person has an honorable discharge from a branch of the Armed Services of the United States and qualifies for the special registration plate authorized under West Virginia Code §17A-3-14.

____________________________________
____________________________________



Printed Name of Veterans Affairs Officer
Signature of Veterans Affairs Officer


____________________________________
____________________________________



Date
Street Address of Veterans Affairs Ofc.








____________________________________




City, State and ZIP

PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

VETERANS LICENSE PLATE INSTRUCTIONS

To qualify for a Veterans license plate, an eligible applicant must have an honorable discharge from a branch of the armed services of the United State. An applicant must submit all documentation to be certified by the West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs in Part II of the application.

1. The applicant must complete Part I of the application. The vehicle on which the plate will be placed must be a Class A (passenger car or truck) or Class G (motorcycle) and may not be used for commercial purposes. The vehicle must be currently titled in West Virginia in the applicant’s name (veteran’s name must appear on the title).

2. The fee for a Class A (car or truck) Veterans license plate is the regular registration fee of $30.00, plus an additional one time fee of $10.00. The fee for a Class G (motorcycle) Veterans license plate is the regular registration fee os $13.50, plus an additional one time fee of $10.00. If your current plate is due to expire within two months, please enclose a check for $40.00 (Class A or truck) or $23.50 (Class G motorcycle), along with a copy of your personal property tax receipt and proof of insurance. Veterans motorcycle plates will expire June 30 of each year. Veterans license plates cannot be personalized plates.


3. Part II of this application must be certified by the West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs. Applicants may mail or turn-in the application to any one of the West Virginia Division of Veteran’s Affairs offices listed below. Attach copies of documents which verify the honorable discharge from a branch of the Armed Services of the United States of the United States. Eligibility for the veterans license plate is contingent upon providing the West Virginia Division of Veterans Affairs with any information or documentation that they may deem necessary to verify eligibility. All applications received by the Division of Veterans Affairs will be forwarded to the Division of Motor Vehicles.


DO NOT MAIL OR BRING YOUR APPLICATION TO THE DIVISION OF MOOTOR VEHICLES. IT CANNOT BE PROCESSED UNTIL IT HAS BEEN CERTIFIED BY THE DIVISION OF VETERANS AFFAIRS.


4. Within ten days after receipt of the Veterans plate, the current registration plate and certification must be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles or transferred to another vehicle titled in the applicant’s name.


5. In the event of the death of the Veterans plate holder, the license plate may be retained by the surviving spouse until remarriage, non-renewal or death.

6. An additional Veterans license plate may be obtained by completing Form DMV-48.

		Division of Veterans Affairs – Main Office


1321 Plaza East Shopping Center, Suite 101


Charleston, WV 25301-1400


Telephone: 558-3661 / 558-3540

		Lewisburg Office


Greenbrier County Courthouse


200 North Court Street


Telephone: 647-7500

		Spencer Office


207 East Main Street


Telephone: 927-0980



		Beckley Office

PO Box 1751


407 Neville Street


Telephone: 256-6955

		Logan Office


513 Dingess Street


Logan, WV 25601


Telephone: 792-7055

		Summersville Office


715 B Main Street


Telephone: 872-0829



		Clarksburg Office

430 East Pike Street


Clarksburg, WV 26301


Telephone: 627-2198

		Martinsburg Office


900 South Winchester Avenue


Telephone: 267-0040

		Welch Office


McDowell Public Library


Telephone: 436-3804



		Elkins Office

Elkins – Randolph County Airport


Route 4, Box 271


Telephone: 637-0235

		Moorefield Office


225 North Main Street


Telephone: 538-2839

		Wheeling Office


51 Eleventh Street, Room 300


Telephone: 238-1085



		Fairmont Office

WV Office Complex, Room 352


107 Adams Street


Telephone: 367-2702

		Parkersburg Office


Wood County Courthouse


1 Court Square, #403


Telephone: 424-1952

		



		Huntington Office

640 Fourth Avenue, Room 108


Huntington, WV 25701


Telephone: 528-5575

		Princeton Office


Memorial Building


1500 West Main Street


Telephone: 425-5194

		






		DMV 49B


01/05

		DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WV 25317

		





82nd AIRBORNE DIVISION ASSOCIATION


PART I


APPLICATION – TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT (Type or Print in Blue or Black Ink)

Names(s) of owner(s) exactly as shown on current registration – For vehicle you wish to register:


		Name(s)




		Telephone Number



		Present Street Address




		Current License Plate Number



		City




		State

		Zip

		Title Number



		Model Year




		Make

		Vehicle Identification Number





PART II


INSURANCE INFORMATION


Effective Date of Insurance Policy:   From ____________________ To ____________________


Insurance Company _____________________________________________________________


Agent _______________________________ Policy Number ____________________________



I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing, West Virginia Code §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________



Signature of Applicant
Date


PART III



I certify that I am a member of the 82nd Airborne Division Association


_______________________________________________________                   _____________________________



Signature of Applicant
Date


FOR DMV USE ONLY


__________________________________________________________________


PLATE NUMBER _______________________ Expiration __________________


Approved by ____________________________ Date _______________________


PLEASE SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS

INSTRUCTIONS


1. To qualify for an 82nd Airborne Division Association license plate you must be a member of the 82nd Airborne Division Association. The division must be able to verify membership.

2. All fees must be submitted with the application.


3. The vehicle must be titled in the applicants name and have a current Class A plate issued to the vehicle.


4. When you receive your new plate, the currently assigned regular plate must be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles within (10) days.


5. Please mail the application to the Division of Motor Vehicles office at the following address:


Division of Motor Vehicles


Capital Complex, Building 3


Charleston, West Virginia 25317


FEE CHART

Your fee is based on the expiration of your present license plate. Use the first letter or number of your license plate to calculate your fee. This amount includes the one time $10.00 fee. All 82nd Airborne plates will expire July 1 of each year. Your renewal fee will be $30.00 per year.


		CURRENT PLATE

		

		AT TIME OF RENEWAL

		EXCHANGING VALID PLATE



		Plate begins with 5, 6, or 7

		Within 60 days of expiration

		$40.00

		



		Plate begins with 8

		

		$37.63

		$41.63



		Plate begins with 9

		

		$35.25

		$39.25



		Plate begins with O

		

		$32.88

		$36.88



		Plate begins with N

		

		$30.50

		$34.50



		Plate begins with D

		

		$28.13

		$32.13



		Plate begins with 1

		

		$25.75

		$29.75



		Plate begins with 2

		

		$23.38

		$27.38



		Plate begins with 3

		

		$21.00

		$25.00



		Plate begins with 4

		

		$18.63

		$22.63



		Plate begins with 5

		More than 60 days from expiration

		$16.25

		$20.25



		Plate begins with 6

		

		$13.88

		$17.99






		DMV 41-TR (Rev. 10/02)
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		WEST VIRGINIA DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


CHARLESTON, WV 25317


PARKING APPLICATION FOR MOBILITY IMPAIRED PERSONS





		SECTION 1: APPLICANT INFORMATION  Please print in ink or type all of the following information






		Name

Last

First

Middle

		Social Security Number






		Mailing Address/Physical Address

		Daytime Telephone Number






		City



State

		Zip Code

		Date of Birth

		Sex






		Indicate type of permit desired


⁮ Placard    ⁮ Plate

		Check box that applies

⁮ Original Placard ⁮ Renewal of Placard


⁮ Duplicate Placard – Lost or Stolen

		Current License Plate

		Lost or Stolen Plate Number



		COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING ONLY IF REQUESTING A LICENSE PLATE



		Title Number



		Make



		Year



		Weight



		Current License Plate



		Vehicle Identification Number





		I certify that I am the person with a mobility impairment which limits or impairs my ability to walk. I understand that any false statement may result in legal penalties to West Virginia Code 17C-13-6. A parent or legal guardian may sign for the applicant if the applicant is unable to do so. Please note your relationship to the applicant.



		SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT OR PARENT / OR LEGAL GUARDIAN

		DATE






		SECTION 2. Complete only if you regularly transport the above person and wish to obtain a permit.

		Section 1 must be completed and signed



		Name

Last

First

Middle

		Social Security Number






		Mailing Address/Physical Address

		Daytime Telephone Number





		City



State

		Zip Code

		Relationship to Applicant






		Signature of Person who Transports

		Date






		SECTION 3. PHYSICIAN’S CERTIFICATION

		This section must be completed by a MD or DO



		I certify and affirm that the above described applicant is a patient of mine and in my professional opinion his/her ability to walk is limited or impaired based on one of the following reasons as outlined in Federal Law 23 CFR 1235.2(b) 1-6-WV. State Law 17C-13-6



		⁮ Permanent – Valid 1-5 years

		⁮ Temporary Valid for 6 months



		Expiration depends on the date of issuance


⁮ Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest


⁮ Cannot walk without the use of or assistance from a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair or other assisted device


⁮ Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60mm/hg on room air at rest.


⁮ Uses portable oxygen


⁮ Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association.


⁮ Are severely limited in their ability to walk due to arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition


NOTE: Please fill out this entire section. Failure to do so will result in this form being returned to the sender for completion.


All physician’s signatures and medical licenses are subject to review and verification. Physicians may be required to submit further documentation to substantiate the disability.



		Physician’s Name (Please print in ink or type)

		Medical License Number




		Medical License Expiration Date






		Business Address




		City




		State




		Zip Code






		Signature




		Date




		Telephone Number






		FOR DMV USE ONLY



		Issued by




		Issue Date




		Expiration Date




		⁮ Lost           ⁮ Stolen



		Placard / Plate Number

		Previous Placard / Plate Number





INSTRUCTIONS

 NOTE: All applicants must be West Virginia residents:


1. Mobility impaired person completes Section 1 – complete and sign the entire section


2. When a person who regularly transports an applicant, applies for a placard or plate on behalf of a mobility impaired person, Section 1 must be completed and signed


3. A licensed physician completes Section 3


4. The completed application can be processed at any DMV Regional office or submitted by mail to the address listed below:


Division of Motor Vehicles


Mobility Impaired Placard & Plates


Building 3, Capitol Complex


Charleston, WV 25317


Placard Display Information


When parked in a mobility impaired parking space, display the placard by hanging the placard on the review mirror or, in the absence of a mirror post, on the dashboard.


Replacement


If a parking placard or special license plate has been lost, stolen, mutilated or destroyed, a replacement may be requested at any DMV Regional offices or by mail to the DMV in Charleston. The cost of a replacement placard is $5.00 per placard. Customer must complete a new application; doctor’s recertification is not required.


Renewall


Permanent mobility impaired parking placards & plates privileges and the special ID cards are renewed every FIVE years. Renewal reminders will be mailed prior to expiration, to the address you have provided. However, the license plate expires each or every other year.


Return Placards & Plates When:

1. The person to whom the permit has been issued is deceased or has moved out of state.


2. The person has found or has in his/her possession a permit that was not issued to that person.


3. The permit was reported lost or stolen and is later found after a duplicate has been issued.

4. Special license plates shall be surrendered to your local DMV Regional office.


Penalties


A fine of up to $500.00 may be assessed for filing fraudulent applications for a mobility impaired parking permit. This fine also applies to the misuse of a parking space reserved for persons with a walking mobility impairment.


Remember


It is unlawful to loan this placard to any person for any reason, regardless of whether that person is mobility impaired. The mobility impaired person does not have to own or drive the vehicle to use the placard. Placard should be hung from the rearview mirror when parked, but should be removed from the mirror when driving.

Local governments designate parking spaces for persons with mobility impairments by local law or ordinance. Contact your local government if you have a question about designated parking for the mobility impaired.


Mobility Impaired License Plates and Motorcycle


Information concerning transfer and fees for obtaining a plate or exchange, call TOLL FREE 1-800-642-9066 (in state) or 1-304-558-3900.


Form DMV-15-TR
Rev. 9/89

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317


Application to increase Gross Weight on Class B, & X License for vehicle described below.


I (we) enclosed fee of $ _____________ for _______________________________ lbs, additional weight


On: Make __________________ Model _____________ Title No. _______________________________


Class _________________ License No. ____________________________


Give distance in feet between first and last axles of vehicle or combination of vehicles _______________


Your current Registration Card Must Accompany This Application



Signature of APPLICANT _______________________________

See reverse side for fee schedule

CLASSES B & X FEES


FOR DECLARED GROSS WEIGHTS GREATER THAN EIGHT THOUSAND POUNDS - $28.00 PLUS $5.00 FOR EACH THOUSAND POUNDS OR FRACTION THEREOF THAT THE GROSS WEIGHT OF SUCH VEHICLE OR COMBINATION OF VEHICLES EXCEEDS EIGHT THOUSAND POUNDS.


FOR DECLARED GROSS WEIGHTS GREATER THAN SIXTEEN THOUSAND POUNDS - $78.00 PLUS $10.00 FOR EACH ONE THOUSAND POUNDS OR FRACTION THEREOF THAT THE GROSS WEIGHT OF SUCH VEHICLE OR COMBINATION OF VEHICLES EXCEEDS SIXTEEN THOUSANDS POUNDS.


JULY 1 TO SEPTEMBER 30 ___________________________________________________ FULL FEE


OCTOBER 1 DECEMBER 31 ________________________________________ THREE-FOURTHS FEE


JANUARY 1 TO MARCH 31 ____________________________________________________ HALF FEE


APRIL 1 TO JUNE 30__________________________________________________ ONE-FOURTH FEE



MB-7

Rev. 6/01


MOTOR  BOAT  AFFIDAVIT


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


COUNTY OF ____________________________


THIS IS TO CERTIFY THAT I, __________________________ OF ___________________


WEST VIRGINIA, AM THE SOLE OWNER OF A



YEAR
MAKE
HULL NUMBER
LENGTH


TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE, THERE IS NO OUTSTANDING TITLE OR REGISTRATION FOR THE ABOVE MOTOR BOAT AND THERE ARE NO LINES OR ENCUMBRANCES AGAINST IT. I WILL ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY FOR ISSUANCE OF A WEST VIRGINIA CERTIFICATE OF TITLE.





______________________________________






SIGNATURE


SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO ME BEFORE THIS ______________________________


DAY OF, ____________________________, 20______.





______________________________________






NOTARY PUBLIC


MY COMMISSION EXPIRES __________________________


NOTE:  THIS AFFIDAVIT MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY A SERIAL CDRTIFICATION COMPLETED BY A STATE TROOPER.



MB-11-TR

8/89


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


BUILDING 3, CAPITOL COMPLEX


CHARLESTON, WEST VIRGINIA 25317


AFFIDAVIT OF BUILDER


The following information must be provided and attached to Application


For Certificate of Title (MB-6) for an Assembled Boat


Hull Number, if available _________________________________


Length in Feet (not including motor) ________________________


Type of Fuel ___________________________


Make of Motor _________________________


Type of Propulsion ______________________


Horsepower ____________________________


Check Type of Boat:


_____ Runabout
_____ Cabin Cruiser
_____ House Boat


_____ V-Bottom
_____ Pontoon
_____ Other (Specify) ______________

Two photographs, a side view and a front view, of the boat must be submitted with the application for a certificate of title.


List all parts used to build the boat and where you acquired each part:


______________________________________________________________________


______________________________________________________________________


If the boat was assembled by a person other than the applicant, give name and address of the builder:


______________________________________________________________________


Name (Please Print)


______________________________________________________________________


Street or Route Number
City
State
Zip


Was this person contracted to build the boat for you?  _____ Yes  _____ No

Has the boat ever been registered in any other state?  _____ No  _____ Yes



(If Yes, What State?) ______________


total cost of materials used to build boat:
$ _______________


total cost of motor:

$ _______________


DMV-1-S
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Telephone

10/05
DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
1-800-642-9066



CAPITOL COMPLEX, BUILDING 3
1-304-558-3900



CHARLESTON, WV 25317


SOLD VEHICLE OR WATERCRAFT NOTICE


DO NOT SUBMIT THIS NOTICE UNTIL 60 DAYS AFTER THE DATE OF SALE


* * * PRINT USING BLACK INK ONLY


MAKE _______ YEAR _______ SERIAL NUMBER ___________________________


TITLE _____________ DATE OF SALE __________ SALE PRICE ______________


SELLER’S NAME(s) ____________________________________________________


SELLER’S CURRENT ADDRESS _________________________________________


BUYER’S NAME(s) _____________________________________________________


BUYER’S ADDRESS ____________________________________________________


I CERTIFY UNDER PENALTY OF FALSE SWEARING THAT THE ABOVE INFORMATION IS TRUE AND ACCURATE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE.



SELLER’S SIGNATURE
DATE



SELLER’S SIGNATURE
DATE



BUYER’S SIGNATURE
DATE



BUYER’S SIGNATURE
DATE


IF THE TITLE READS “AND” BOTH SELLER’S MUST SIGN. IF AVAILABLE HAVE BUYER SIGN.


ANY PERSON WHO KNOWINGLY MAKES A FALSE STATEMENT, KNOWINGLY CONCEALS A MATERIAL FACT OR OTHERWISE COMMITS A FRAUD IS GUILTY OF A MISDEMEANOR AND SUBJECT TO A $1,000 FINE, ONE YEAR IMPRISONMENT OR BOTH.

INSTRUCTIONS ON BACK


INSTRUCTION FOR COMPLETING THIS NOTICE


1) This notice will not be accepted if any lines are left blank.


2) If the buyer is unknown, then list “UNKNOWN.” If the vehicle is sold to a junk dealer or salvage yard, use their name as the buyer on this application.


3) DO NOT USE SOLD NOTICE, IF YOU HAVE JUNKED THE VEHICLE. The word “JUNK” must be placed on the face of the title and returned to DMV. If the title has been misplaced, you must apply for a duplicate title indicating vehicle “JUNKED.” Submit the duplicate title application, along with a copy of your driver’s license and a $10.00 fee.


4) If the sale date is unknown, list the approximate month and year of sale. If sale price is unknown, list the approximate price. If “and” appeared on the original title, both seller’s must sign the notice.



		DMV-1L


Rev. 06/00

		STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


CHARLESTON, WV 25317

		





		FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY


CLASS _________________________


NUMBER _______________________


EXP. DATE _____________________



		Application for a Certificate of Title for a Leased Motor Vehicle



		

		TYPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK






		

		MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES





The Owner(s) of the following Vehicle make application for a Certificate of Title for that Vehicle and for that Purpose State the Following:

LESSOR’S NAME ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________







Name of purchaser to be written plainly and exactly as it is to appear on the Certificate of Title


C/O LESSEE’S NAME ________________________________________________________________________________________________________


LESSOR’S ADDRESS
________________________________________________________________________________________________________



________________________________________________________________________________________________________



Please include: Number
Street
City or Town
County
State
Zip Code


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION


MAKE _______________________________ YEAR ______________________ V.I.N. ______________________________________


		STYLE OF BODY

		  

		

		WEIGHT

		  

		

		  



		

		

		

		

		



		Odometer Reading

		 

		

		Passenger vehicle only

		TRUCKS (Requested GVW)



		

		(No Tenths)

		

		* Does not include Personal Property Tax

		

		



		LEASE PERMIT #

		 

		BASE LEASE PAYMENT

		    

		TERM

		  

		TAX

		  





TRADE-IN DESCRIPTION


____________   ___________   ______________________________________   ______________________________________________


      MAKE
YEAR
SERIAL NUMBER
WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER


_______________________________________________________   _______________________________________________________



CASH DOWN OR REBATE
5 PER CENT


Registration Plate Transferred from: (Send copy of registration card both sides)


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________


Make of Vehicle
Weight
Serial Number
License Number


LIENS AND ENCUMBRANCES

		1. NAME ________________________________________________________
Amount __________________________________________________________________



Name of Lienholder


Address____________________________________________________________________   Kind of Lien _____________________ Date __________________________



Street
City
State
ZIP
C/S/C   D/T   S/A








I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicles Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law § 17A-9-1; Farudulent Applications.

		Effective Date of Insurance Policy:  From ________________ to ______________


Name of Insurance Company ___________________________________________


Name of Insurance Agent ______________________________________________


Insurance Policy Number_______________________________________________

		TITLE OF APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED BY OWNER





(X)__________________________________



                  PRINT COMPANY NAME


(X)__________________________________



                     OWNER’S SIGNATURE



		

		INSURANCE MUST BE IN EFFECT WHEN APPLICATION IS RECEIVED.


DEALER CERTIFICATION

		* A Power of Attorney must be provided if


Not signed by the owner themselves





This is to certify that the above described vehicle was acquired from ____________________________________________________________________________________


Month __________ day __________ year ______ and leased to the above-named lessor on month __________ day __________ year ______. The undersigned dealer further certifies that the lease payment, term and tax are true and correct and that the Federal Odometer Regulation has been satisfied. Federal Regulations Require You to State the Odometer Mileage Upon Transfer of Ownership.


I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is __________ and reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked


⁯ 1. The mileage stated is is excess of its mechanical limits.


⁯ 2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage. WARNING – ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.

Dealer Name ____________________________________________________
Address __________________________________________________________________


Signature (X) ____________________________________________________
Dealer Number ____________________________________________________________


PROCEDURE TO TITLE A LEASED MOTOR VEHICLE (NEW – NEVER BEEN TITLED)

1) *DMV-1l – completed by dealer


2) MSO Certificate of Origin – properly reassigned by dealer.


3) Fees: $10.00 Title, $5.00 Lien (if applicable) and plate fee (see chart below).


4) Odometer Disclosure Statement – DMV-43


5) Copy of lease agreement


6) Power of Attorney for dealership.



* Must contain leasing company’s permit number


OUT-OF-STATE TRANSFER OF A TITLE LEASED VEHICLE – (NO LIEN)


1) Out-of-state title.

2) *DMV-1L


3) Odometer Disclosure – DMV-43


4) Fees: $10.00 title fee, plate fee (see chart below).


5) Copy of lease agreement.


6) Power of Attorney to allow lessee to sign for lessor



* Must contain leasing company’s permit number

OUT-OF-STATE TRANSFER OF A TITLED LEASED VEHICLE (WITH A LIEN)


1) A letter from the lienholder stating they are holding the lessee’s title, along with a copy of the title.

2) *DMV-1L


3) Odometer disclosure – DMV-43


4) Fees: $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee and plate fee (see chart below).


5) Power of Attorney


6) Copy of lease agreement



* Must contain leasing company’s permit number

TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP OF A VEHICLE ALREADY TITLED IN WEST VIRGINIA TO A LEASING COMPANY


1) West Virginia title, properly reassigned.

2) Copy of lease agreement


3) Fees: $10.00 title, $5.00 lien (if applicable) and plate fee (see chart below)


4) Odometer disclosure – DMV-43


5) Power of Attorney (if applicable)


6) *DMV-1L



* Must contain leasing company’s permit number

_________________________________________________________________________


		REGISTRATION FEES


Class A - $30.00 for:



Cars


Trucks 8,000 lbs. or less

		INFORMATION



		

		Print in ink or type.


Mail check or money order.


Make payable to DMV.

		DO NOT MAIL CASH








Fee includes $1.00 litter fee and the Any check which is not honored for payment will result in a $10.00 service charge.

$.50 insurance fee.




Be certain you have completed the application, including signatures.




When transferring plates (must be in same name) the fee is $5.50 plates must be valid.




All titles with liens are mailed directly to the lienholder.




For additional information call 558-3621 or toll-free 1-800-642-9066.




Mail to:




Department of Transportation




Division of Motor Vehicles




Leasing Section




1800 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Building 3




Charleston, West Virginia 25317



ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT


LEASED VEHICLE



Federal law (and State law, if applicable) requires that the lessee disclose the mileage to the lessor in connection with the transfer of ownership. Failure to complete or making a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment.


Complete disclosure form below and return to lessor.


I, __________________________________ (name of person making disclosure)



(Print)


State that the odometer now reads _______________ (no tenths) miles and to the best of my knowledge that it reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle described below, unless one of the following statements is checked.


∏ (1) I hereby certify that to the best of my knowledge the odometer reading reflects the amount of mileage in excess of its mechanical is checked.


∏ (2) I hereby certify that the odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage.


		MAKE                                                               MODEL                              BODY TYPE






		VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER








_________________________________________________________________________

LESSEE’S NAME

_________________________________________________________________________


LESSEE’S ADDRESS (STREET)


_________________________________________________________________________


CITY                                                                                 STATE                       ZIP CODE


X _______________________________________________________________________


         LESSEE’S SIGNATURE


_________________________________________________________________________


DATE OF STATEMENT


_________________________________________________________________________


LESSOR’S NAME


_________________________________________________________________________


LESSOR’S ADDRESS (STREET)


_________________________________________________________________________


CITY                                                                                 STATE                       ZIP CODE


_________________________________________________________________________


DATE DISCLOSURE FORM SENT TO LESSEE


_________________________________________________________________________


DATE COMPLETED DISCLOSURE FORM RECEIVED FROM LESSEE


X _______________________________________________________________________


         LESSOR’S SIGNATURE

DMV-43-A





		DMV-1-R-TR


REV. 06/00


FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY


CLASS ___________________


NUMBER ________________


EXP.


DATE ______________________



		STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


CHARLESTON 25317


Application for a Certificate of Title for a Rental Motor Vehicle


TYPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK


MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES





The owner(s) of the following vehicle make application for a certificate of title for that vehicle and for that purpose state the following:

NAME ______________________________________________________________________________________________



(Name of purchaser to be written plainly and exactly as it is to appear on the Certificate of Title)


ADDRESS ___________________________________________________________________________________________



Number
Street
City or Town
County
State
Zip Code


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION


MAKE _______________________ YEAR ________ V.I.N. ____________________________________________________


		STYLE OF BODY

		   

		

		WEIGHT

		

		  

		



		

		

		

		

		Passenger vehicle only

		

		TRUCKS (Requested GVW



		Odometer Reading

		   

		

		

		RENTAL

		



		

		(No Tenths)

		

		

		

		



		RENTAL PERMIT #

		

		

		

		

		





TRADE IN DESCRIPTION

(Credit allowed only on vehicles registered in West Virginia and the tax paid thereon by applicant)

1) _______________
_______________
_________________________________
_______________________________


              MAKE
       YEAR
                    SERIAL NUMBER
    WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER


2) _______________
_______________
_________________________________
_______________________________


              MAKE
       YEAR
                    SERIAL NUMBER
    WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER


Registration Plate Transferred from: (Send copy of registration card both sides)


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


   Make of Vehicle
Weight
Serial Number
Title Number
License Number


 LIENS AND ENCUMBRANCES

		1

		Name ________________________________________________________________________________ Amount______________________________




Name of Lienholder


Address ______________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien ___________________ Date __________________



Street
City
State
Zip Code
C/S/C    D/T    S/A





		2

		Name ________________________________________________________________________________ Amount______________________________




Name of Lienholder


Address ______________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien ___________________ Date __________________



Street
City
State
Zip Code
C/S/C    D/T    S/A





I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law  §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.

		
Effective date of insurance Policy:  From __________________ To _____________________


Name of Insurance Company __________________________________________________


Name of Insurance Agent ______________________________________________________


Insurance Policy Number _______________________________________________________



		TITLE APPLICATION MUST BE SIGNED BY OWNER



		

		If Title reads “AND” Both Signatures of Owners must appear


(X) ___________________________________________


                              OWNER’S SIGNATURE


(X) ___________________________________________


                              OWNER’S SIGNATURE





INSURANCE MUST BE IN EFFECT WHEN APPLICATION IS RECEIVED.

DEALER CERTIFICATION


This is to certify that the above described vehicle was acquired from _________________________________________________________________________________________

Month __________ day ____________ year _____ and sold to the above named purchaser on month _________ day ________ year _____. The undersigned dealer further Certifies that the sale price, trade-in, and net cost are true and correct and that the Federal Odometer Regulation has been satisfied. Federal Regulations Require You to State the Odometer Mileage Upon Transfer of Ownership.


I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is __________ and reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked:



⁯ 1. The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits.


⁯ 2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage – WARNING-ODOMETER DISCREPANCY

Dealer Name _____________________________________________________________________

Address _________________________________________________________________________

Signature (X) _____________________________________________________________________


Dealer Number ____________________________________________________________________


INFORMATION

Print in ink or type

		Mail check or money order.


Make payable to DMV

		DO NOT MAIL CASH





Any check which is not honored for payment will result in a $10.00 service charge.

Be certain you have completed the application, including your signature.


If the vehicle is titled in another state the title must accompany this application.


All titles with liens are mailed directly to the lienholder.


Be sure to include your Zip Code and Zip Code of lienholder.


Statement of insurance must be submitted with each application for Motor Vehicle Registration. There is a $.50 insurance Recording Fee.



FEES



$10.00 for title

$ _______________________



$5.00 for lien
 
   _______________________



$5.50 transfer of license (includes insurance fees)
  
   _______________________



REGISTRATION FEES*



Cars (Class A): ------------------------------- $30.00 (includes litter and insurance fees.)
   
   _______________________



Trucks (Class A):



Below 8001 lbs. Gross vehicle weight ---$30.00 (includes litter and insurance fees.)
   
   _______________________


All other registration fees must also include $1.00 litter fee and the $.50 insurance fee when applicable.
   _______________________


TOTAL
$ _______________________


· Credit on trade-in allowed only for vehicles registered in West Virginia and the taxes paid thereon by applicant.

For additional information call 558-3900 or toll—free 1-800-642-9066



Mail to:



Department of Transportation



Division of Motor Vehicles



1800 Kanawha Boulevard, East Building 3



Charleston, West Virginia 25317
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DMV-126-A-DS (This application must be typewritten or printed legibly in ble or black ink) 
Rev. 4/92 


State of West Virginia 
Division of Motor Vehicles 


Dealer Services Section 
APPLICATION FOR NEW OR USED MOTOR VEHICLE 


DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATE 
 


Dealer License Certificate Number               D _______________ 
 


 DUC _______________ 
 
 


NAME OF FIRM OR TRADE NAME UNDER WHICH THE DEALER SHIP WILL BE OPERATED 
 
NAME _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
MAILING ADDRESS ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS OR LOCATION _____________________________________________________ 
 
CITY _______________________ COUNTY ______________________________ STATE ______________________ 
 
ZIP CODE _________________________________ TELEPHONE NUMBER _________________________________ 
 


If business is located in a suburban or rural area out of the city or town limits, the following information must be shown 
on the application: 
 


State or Federal Highway Route number __________; Miles business is located from town or city limits ____________; 
 


Check proper direction from city or town: __________ North, __________ South, ___________East, __________ West. 
 


The undersigned hereby makes application for a Dealer License Certificate and ___________________ license plates. 
 


Attached hereto is a check __________, money order ___________, in payment of the required fees as outlined below: 
 
_One_ Plate and Dealer License Certificate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $ ____250.00_ 
 
_____ Dealer Recovery Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ____150.00_ 
 
_____ Class D Plates up to Two Exempt of Formula at $5.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ___________ 
 
_____ Class DUC Plates up to Two Exempt of Formula at $5.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ___________ 
 
_____ Additional Plates Within Formula at $5.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ___________ 
 
_____ Special Demonstration Plate At $100.00 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ___________ 
 
_____ Additional Special Demonstration Plates at $50.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  ___________ 
 
_____ Additional Certified Copies of Dealer License Certificate, if required, at $1.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . .  ___________ 
 
 TOTAL FEES SUBMITTED WITH APPLICATION . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $ ___________ 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  


(This Space For Department Use Only) 
 


Checked and approved by ________________________________________ Date ____________________________ 
 
License certificate issued by _______________________________________ Date ____________________________ 
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ALL DEALER APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSE CERTIFICATE MUST BE TYPEWRITTEN OR PRINTED LEGIBILITY. 
QUESTIONS AND INFORMATION REQUESTED IN THE APPLICATION MUST BE ANSWERED IN DETAIL, IF THE 
QUESTION APPLIES TO THE TYPE OF DEALERSHIP FOR WHICH YOU ARE MAKING APPLICATION, FAILURE TO 
COMPLY WILL RESULT IN THE RETURN OF YOUR APPLICATION AND WILL DELAY ISSUANCE OF LICENSE. 
ANY FALSE STATEMENT OF A MATERIAL FACT IN THIS APPLICATION IS SUFFICIENT REASON TO REFUSE, 
SUSPEND OR REVOKE A DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATE.. 
 
ALL INFORMATION SUBMITTED WITH THIS APPLICATION SHALL BE CONFIDENTIAL FOR THE USE OF THE 
COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES IN CONSIDERING THIS APPLICATION. 
 
THE APPLICANT AS DEFINED AND USED IN THIS APPLICATION SHALL HAVE THE FOLLOWING MEANING: AN 
INDIVIDUAL OPERATING IN HIS OWN NAME OR UNDER A TRADE NAME: TWO OR MORE PARTNERS 
OPERATING UNDER A CO-PARTNERSHIP NAME OR UNDER TRADE NAME: THE OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS 
OF A CORPORATION UNDER THE CORPORATE NAME. 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  
 
FULL NAME, HOME ADDRESS, AND HOME TELEPHONE NUMBER OF PERSON WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR 
BUSINESS MANAGEMENT OF THE LEADERSHIP: 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
______________________________________________________________ Telephone No. ____________________ 
 
1. If the application is for an individual dealer, list the full name, home address and home telephone number of the 


individual applicant, if the application is for a partnership, list the full name, home address and home telephone 
number of each partner. If the application is for a corporation, list the full name, home address and home telephone 
number of at least three officers in the corporation. 
 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


2.  List the full name, home and employment address and telephone number of at least three business references. 
 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


3. If you plan to do business as a new or used motor vehicle dealer in other locations in this state, give name and 
address of each. 
  Name Address 
 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4. In the proper space below, show the exact number of motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by the applicant or 


his predecessor, if any, during the preceding year. If no motor vehicles were sold at wholesale and retail by such 
applicant or his predecessor during the preceding fiscal year, the number of motor vehicles the applicant reasonably 
expects to sell at wholesale and retail during the ensuing fiscal year. 


 
_____ New car dealer only – exact number of new and used motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by the applicant 


during preceding fiscal year. 
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_____ New car dealer only – exact number of new and used motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by my 
predecessor for the preceding fiscal year. 


 
_____ New car dealer only – if no new and used motor vehicles were sold by the applicant or his predecessor during the 


preceding year, the number of vehicles the applicant reasonably expects to sell at wholesale and retail during 
the ensuing year. 


 
_____ Used car dealer only – exact number of used motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by the applicant the 


preceding year. 
 
_____ Used car dealer only – exact number of used motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by my predecessor for 


the preceding fiscal year. 
 
_____ Used car dealer only – if no used motor vehicles were sold by the applicant or his predecessor during the 


preceding year, the number applicant reasonably expects to sell at wholesale and retail during the ensuing fiscal 
year. 


 
5. If application is for a dealer in new motor vehicles, give the following information: 
 


A. Manufacturer’s name and make of all motor vehicles you will sell at any location designated on your dealer 
license certificate. 


 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


B. Do you have a franchise with the manufacturers to sell the above named motor vehicles in this state? 
 


Yes _____   No _____ 
 


C. Is a copy of the franchise agreement attached?   Yes _____   No _____ 
 
D. Name and complete mailing address of all of the manufacturer’s branch offices or distributors that supply the 


above vehicles. 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 


 
6. Has applicant or any partner, officer, director or employee, previously applied for a dealer license certificate in this or 


any other state?     Yes ________ No ________ If so, was the license certificate issued or refused? ________ If 
refused, state reason: 


 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
If issued, in what state? ____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name of dealership certificate was issued for: 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
For what period of time was certificate issued? __________________________________________________________ 
 
Was the certificate suspended or revoked?   Yes _____   No _____  (If yes, please explain why and when): 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
7. Has applicant or any partner, if a partnership, or any officer or director, if a corporation, been convicted of a felony?     


Yes _____   No _____ If yes, please advise date, court and charge. 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
8. Has the applicant, or any partner, if a partnership, officer or director, if a corporation, filed bankruptcy or defaulted on 


a financial obligation within the past five years?   Yes _____   No _____ If yes, please advise date, court and 
location. 


_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
9. Section A applies only to new or used motor vehicle dealers who own or lease a building that is used to service or 


display vehicles. Section B applies to applicants operating exclusively as a used car dealer from a lot with no service 
or display building. 


 
A. Does applicant own building on which business is located:   Yes _____   No _____   if not, do you have a written  


 
 lease with owner of building?     Yes _____   No _____   Full name and address of owner of building: 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 


 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Date lease expires _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Size of building :  Frontage ____________________________ Depth _________________________________ 
 
 Size of office:  Frontage ___________________________ Depth _____________________________________ 
 
 Number of vehicles that can be displayed in building _______________________________________________ 
 
 Number of vehicles that can be repaired and serviced in building, exclusive of inspection, wash and grease  
 
 Lanes ___________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Does applicant have a lot adjacent to building on which vehicles may be displayed to the public? 
 
 Yes _____   No _____ 
 
 If so, specify type of surface on lot (grael, cement, blacktop, etc.) _____________________________________ 
 
 Number of vehicles that can be displayed on lot ___________________________________________________ 
 
B. Is applicant operating exclusively from a lot?    Yes _____   No _____ 
 
 Full name and address of the owner of lot _______________________________________________________ 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Date lease expires _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Size of lot:  Frontage ________________________________ Depth __________________________________ 
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 Specify type of surface on lot (gravel, cement, blacktop, etc.) ________________________________________ 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Number of vehicles that can be displayed on lot: __________________________________________________ 
 
 Is there an office building on lot?   Yes _____   No _____  If so, size of building: 
 
 Frontage ______________________________ Depth _____________________________________________ 
 
 Does applicant have facilities at another location to properly service and repair vehicles sold to public? 
  
 Yes _____    No _____ . 
 
 Location : _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 If not, name, address and location of individuals of individual(s), company or corporation you have written 
 agreement or agreements with to service and repair vehicles you may have fopr sale. 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 _________________________________________________________________________________________ 


 
10.  Number of years applicant has engaged in the business of buying and selling motor vehicles at this or other location 
 


_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Briefly outline previous general business experience and history for the past ten years of applicant, if the applicant be 
an individual; or of each partner, if the applicant be a co-partnership; of each officer if the applicant be a corporation. 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


11. Does applicant have a liability insurance policy in effect that complies with the minimum limits as provided in chapter 
Seventeen D, Article 4, Section 2 of the Code?   Yes _____   No _____ 


 
Name of insurance company _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of insurance company ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Insurance policy number _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name, address and telephone number of local agent of the insurance company issuing policy: 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________ Telephone Number ___________________ 
 
NOTE: DIVISIN OF MOTOR VEHICLES FORM NO, DMV-126-DS-J,  CERTIFICATE OF LIABILITYINSURANCE, 


PROPERLY EXECUTED BY YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY MUST ACCOMPANY THE APPLICATION 
FOR DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATE. 


 
12. Does applicant have bond in the amount of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) that complies with the provisions of 


Chapter Seventeen A, Article Six, Section Four of the West Virginia Code?   Yes _____   No _____ 
 


Name of bonding company _______________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of bonding company _____________________________________________________________________ 
 
Bond Number _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Name , address and telephone number of local agent of the company issuing bond. 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________ Telephone Number ____________________ 
 


13. Will your place of business be occupied by you and used exclusively for the purpose of selling motor vehicles?   Yes 
_____   No _____   If not, explain: 


 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


14. List below the full names and home addresses of employees or agents in your business that are (or will be) 
authorized to execute assignment of titles and applications for registrations for registration plates or to otherwise 
transact business in the name of this dealership. 


 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


15. Will the applicant display at least one permanent sign, clearly visible from the principal street or highway, with letters 
at least four inches in height specifically identifying trade name and type of business to be conducted at the location? 


 
     Yes _____   No _____ 
 
16. Is the applicant’s location completely separated from a residential area and in an area zoned for business? 


 
Yes _____   No _____ 


 
17. Is your business being operated in conjunction with a junk or salvage yard?     Yes _____   No _____ 
 
 
18. Will applicant maintain a written record of the salesmen, mechanics, employees, agents, officers or other persons to 


whom a special dealer plate is assigned?     Yes _____   No _____ 
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19. List the full name and home address of all salesmen, mechanics, employees, agents, officers or other persons to 
whom a special plate or plates would be assigned by the dealer when the license certificate is issued. 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


20.Will applicant keep and maintain in permanent form a record a every vehicle, vehicle body or chassis which is 
bought, sold, exchanged, or otherwise acquired or disposed of as required under 17A-6-16 of the Code? 


 
 Yes _____   No _____ 
 
21.Will applicant keep and maintain in permanent form a written sales instrument which contains all of the agreements 


between the buyer and the seller required under 17A-16-17 of the Code and legislative rules and regulations? 
 
 Yes _____   No _____ 
 
22.Will applicant keep and maintain in a permanent form a record of all temporary registration certificates issued as 


required under 17A-6-15 of the Code and legislative rules and regulations? 
 
 Yes _____   No _____ 
 
23. Will all records of vehicles sold and temporary registration certificates issued be available during posted office hours 


to authorized personnel of the Division of Motor Vehicles and all law enforcement officers? 
 
 Yes _____   No _____ 
 
24. List by day of week and hours of the day the regular business hours of applicant. 


 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


25. Attach at least one photograph (size no less than 3 X 5 inches) of the established place of business that clearly 
shows the office, the display lot and one permanent sign. (Application will not be considered that does not have a 
photograph). 


 
26. State Tax Department Business Franchise Certificate Number: 
 
 _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
27. City license number (if required) __________________________________________________________________ 
 
28. Attach a receipt showing full payment of the business personal property taxes for the calendar year which 


immediately precedes the calendar year of the application. 
 


A. In the event the applicant didi not own a business the preceding year, the applicant’s individual paid receipt is to 
be submitted. 


 
B. In the event the applicant was not a resident of West Virgnia the preceding year, a sworn affidavit stating as 


much must be submitted. 
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STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA 
 
COUNTY OF _______________________, TO-WIT: 
 
  Before the undersigned authority this day personally appeared 
 
_____________________________________________________, who being first duly sworn upon his oath, 
deposes and says that he is the applicant, if the applicant be an individual, or a partner, if the applicant be a 
copartnership, or a duly authorized officer of the applicant, if the applicant be a corporation; that he has at the 
principal business address or location shown above, an “established place of business,” as that term is defined in 
Section 1, Article 6, Chapter 17A of the Code of West Virginia, as amended; that he is familiar with Article ^, Chapter 
17A of said Code; that he is familiar with the law governing the issuance of dealer special plates and the use thereof; 
that all statements contained in this application are true and correct to the best of his knowledge and belief; and that 
he understands that fraudulent or misleading statements contained herein may be considered cause for the 
immediate suspension or revocation of the dealer license certificate or dealer special plates issued pursuant to such 
application. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 ______________________________________ (Seal) 
  (Sign here if applicant is an individual) 


 
 
 ______________________________________ (Seal) 
 
 
 By _________________________________________ 
 
 
  Its ___________________________________ 
   (Sign here if applicant is a corpopration and affix corporate seal) 


 
 
  ________________________________ (Seal) 
    A partner 
    (Sign here if the applicant is copartnership) 


 
 
Taken, subscribed and sworn to before me this _________________________ day of _______________ 20 ______ 
 
My commission expires _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
  _____________________________________ 
    Notary Public 
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DMV-126-E-DS (This application must be typewritten or printed in blue or black ink 
REV. 0306 and submitted before June 1) 


STATE  OF  WEST  VIRGINIA 


 
DEPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION 


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES 
DEALER  SERVICES 


 
Dealer License Number __________________ 


 


NEW CAR DEALER 
AND 


USED CAR DEALER 


MOBILE HOME 
AND 


TRAILER DEALER 


MOTORCYCLE 
DEALER AUTO AUCTION RECREATIONAL 


DEALER 


WRECKER / 
DISMANTLER 


DEALER 


Recovery Fund $150.00 
Recovery Fund 
Mobile Home Dealers 
Exempt $150.00 


Recovery Fund $150.00 Recovery Fund 
Exempt Recovery Fund $150.00 Recovery Fund 


Exempt 


One Plate/ 
Certificate $100.00 


Four Plates 
And Certificates 
 $100.00 


License Certificates 
 $15.00 


2 Exempt Plate 
$5.00 Each 


$ 


Four Plates 
And Certificates 
 $25.00 


Two Plates 
And Certificates 
 $10.00 


One Plate 
And Certificate 
 $100.00 


Plates Per Formula 
$5.00 Each 


$ 
Special Demo Late 
$100.00 


$ 


Additional Plates 
$5.00 Each 


$ 


Additional Plates 
$5.00 Each 


$ 
 


Additional Plates 
$25.00 Each 


$ 


Additional Plates 
$25.00 


$ 


WD Plates 
Towing #_________ 
Demo/Only One ______ 
$25.00 Each 


$ 


Additional Demo Plate 
$50.00 Each 


$ 
Additional Location 
License Certificates 
$1.00 Each 


$ 


Additional Location 
License Certificates 
$1.00 Each 


$ 


Additional Location 
License Certificates 
$1.00 Each 


$ 


Additional Location 
License Certificates 
$1.00 Each 


$ 


Additional Location 
License Certificates 
$1.00 Each 


$ 


Additional Location 
License Certificates 
$1.00 Each 


$ 


      


Total Fees 
$ 


Total Fees 
$ 


Total Fees 
$ 


Total Fees 
$ 


Total Fees 
$ 


Total Fees 
$ 


 


DEALERSHIP NAME _______________________________________________________________ 
 


MAILING ADDRES _________________________________________________________________ 
 


PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS OR LOCATION _______________________________________ 
 


CITY _____________________ COUTNY ________________________ STATE _______________ 
 


ZIP _____________________________________ TELEPHONE NUMBER ____________________ 
 


1. Any dealership changes pursuant to 17A-6-9 since the last renewal application? Yes _____ No _____ If yes, submit 
form MV-126-M-DS with this application. Note: Do not send form if there was no change. 


 
2. Indicate the number of vehicles sold at wholesale or retail. ________ Note: If licensed within the past fiscal year, 


estimate the number of vehicles sold at wholesale or retail. ________ 
 
3. List additional locations of operation for your dealership. Note: Attach addendum if necessary. 
 Name Address 
 
 
4. List business name and address of the repair facility servicing vehicles for the dealership. 
 Note: Write “NA” if repair facility is located at the same address. 
5. List names of individuals authorized to transact business on behalf of the dealership. 
 
 
 







6. List name, home address, and home telephone number of individual, partners, or corporation officers. 
 
  Telephone # 
   
  Telephone # 
 


  Telephone # 
 
7. Liability Insurance Pursuant to 17A-6-4 8. Bond Pursuant to 17A-6-4. Note: Bond must be 
 Note: DMV Form 126-DS-J, Certification of Liability submitted with application along with a power of 
 Insurance must be submitted with application. Attorney. (If applicable) 


 
(Name) (Name) 
Insurance Company:_____________________________Bonding Company:____________________________________ 
 
Address:______________________________________Address:____________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Insurance Policy #:______________________________Bond #:_____________________________________________ 
 
 
Name, address, and phone number of local agent. 
 
Name:________________________________________Name:______________________________________________ 
 
Address:______________________________________Address:____________________________________________ 
 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Phone #________________________________________Phone #___________________________________________ 
 
 
NOTE: A personal property tax receipt for the dealership for the prior calendar year must be included with this application. 
 If no taxes were owed, an affidavit from the county assessor stating no taxes were owed must be submitted.. 
 
9. Has applicant or any partner, if a partnership, officer or director, if a corporation, filed bankruptcy or defaulted on a 


financial obligation within the last year?  Yes _____ No _____ If yes, please advise date, court and location. 
 
 
 
10. Has a the applicant, or any partner, if a partnership, officer or director, if a corpopration, filed bankruptcy or defaulted 


on a financial obligation within the last year?  Yes _____ No _____  If yes, please advise date, court and location. 
 
 
 
11. List the names of salespersons authorized to sell vehicles for the dealership. Note: Attach addendum iif necessary. 
 
 
 
 
 


I hereby state and certify the statements made within this application are true and 
correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. 
West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law 17A-6-6 
 
 
____________________        __________________________________________ 
 Date Signature of Owner, Partner, or Corporation 


 



jgrate

Text Box

Name, address, and phone number of local agent.
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DMV-SL-1 
04/2006 


Salesperson List 
 


West Virginia Legislative Rule 91CSR6 section 2.1.E. states that applicant’s shall 
complete and submit with the application a list of all persons who are authorized to 
buy and sell vehicles on behalf of the dealership. 
 
  1.  
  2.  
  3.    
  4.  
  5.  
  6.  
  7.  
  8.  
  9.  
10.  
11.  
12.  
13  
14.  
15.  
16.  
17.  
18.  
19.  
20.  
21.  
22.  
23.  
24.  
25.  
26.  
27.  
28.  
29.  
30.  
 





		Salesperson 1: 

		Salesperson 7: 

		Salesperson 8: 

		Salesperson 9: 

		Salesperson 10: 

		Salesperson 11: 

		Salesperson 12: 

		Salesperson 13: 

		Salesperson 14: 

		Salesperson 15: 

		Salesperson 16: 

		Salesperson 17: 

		Salesperson 18: 

		Salesperson 19: 

		Salesperson 20: 

		Salesperson 21: 

		Salesperson 22: 

		Salesperson 23: 

		Salesperson 24: 

		Salesperson 25: 

		Salesperson 26: 

		Salesperson 27: 

		Salesperson 28: 

		Salesperson 29: 

		Salesperson 30: 

		Salesperson 2: 

		Salesperson 3: 

		Salesperson 4: 

		Salesperson 5: 

		Salesperson 6: 








MV-126-DS-P Bond No. _______________ 
Rev. 2-2005 
 


SURETY BOND 
 


KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS: 
 
 That ________________________________________________________________________ of 


(Name of Dealership as it appears on Dealer License) 
 
The City of _________________________, County of _______________, West Virginia, as PRINCIPAL 
 
and the ______________________________________________________________________________ 


(Name of Insurance / Bonding Company) 
a corporation, authorized to do business in the State of West Virginia, as SURETY, are held and firmly 
 
bound, effective the _________ day of _______________________, __________, unto the West Virginia 
Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in the penal sum of Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) for payment to 
the West Virginia DMV, we bind ourselves, our successors and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by 
these presents. 
 
 THE CONDITION OF THIS BOND IS SUCH THAT, if the Principal practices any fraud or 
makes any fraudulent representation which causes a financial loss to a purchaser, seller, financial 
institutions or agency, or the State of West Virginia, then the Surety is obligated to pay the penalty sum of 
Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) to the West Virginia DMV. 
 
 The Surety shall notify the West Virginia DMV by certified mail, within thirty days of 
cancellation of the bond by the Surety or the Principal. If the Surety fails to notify the West Virginia 
DMV within the thirty days, then the bond will be deemed to be in full force and effect until such 
cancellation notice is received by the West Virginia DMV. This bond is required of all dealers licensed 
pursuant to Article 6, Chapter 17A of the West Virginia Code. All pertinent sections of that statute and all 
pertinent rules and regulations of the West Virginia DMV are hereby expressly made part of this bond. 
 
 IN WITNESS WHEREOF the said Principal has hereunder set his or its hand, and the said Surety 
has caused its corporate name to be signed hereto by its duly authorized official or agent and executed this 
instrument the __________ day of ____________________________, ______________. 
 
 This bond covers acts and omissions by the Principal that occur during the license year July1, 
__________, to June 30, __________, as of the effective date the Principal is issued or renewed license 
by the West Virginia DMV. 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Name of Dealership 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Signature of Individual, Partner, or Corporate Officer 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Name Surety / Bonding Company 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Address Surety / Bonding Company 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Authorized Company Representative 
 
 _________________________________________________ 
 Signature of Authorized Company Representative 





		Bond Number: 

		County: 

		City: 

		Effective Day: 

		Effective Month: 

		Effective Year: 

		Instrument Day: 

		Instrument Month: 

		Instrument Year: 

		License Year Start: 

		License Year End: 

		Bonding Company: 

		Company Representative NAme: 

		Delearship Name: 
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1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East 


Building Three 


Charleston, West Virginia 25317-0010 


 


DEALER /  L ICENSE SERVICE  


  CONTACT NUMBERS  


 


General Questions (800) 642-9066 


Title & Registration Problems (800) 642-9066 


Form Orders (304) 558-0521  


To Order Another Manual (304) 558-0521 


To Open A New License (304) 558-3584 


Service or Dealership 
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CHAPTER 1 
 


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
  


The Division of Motor Vehicles, which was created by an act of the 1947 
West Virginia Legislature, is a division of the Department of Transportation.  
Administered by a Commissioner, who is an appointee of the Governor, the 
division has the overall responsibility for the titling and registration of motor 
vehicles, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, and trailers of all types; the licensing 
of heavy commercial vehicles under the International Registration Plan [IRP]; the 
issuance of driver's licenses, including commercial driver's licenses [CDL]; the 
administration of the state's DUI, point and compulsory insurance systems; the 
inspection of all reconstructed vehicles; and the licensing and regulation of all 
license services and motor vehicle, recreational vehicle, motorcycle, trailer 
dealers and automobile auctions.  To help carry out these functions the division 
is organized into the following units:  
  
INFORMATION SERVICES: This unit has the responsibility of managing the 
division's records and data entry sections.  It is also responsible for all division 
computer programming.  
  
MANAGEMENT SERVICES: This unit has the responsibility of managing the 
division's auditing staff and support services, e.g., personnel, accounting, mail 
room, supply, etc.  
  
DRIVER SERVICES: This unit has the responsibility of managing the division's 
driver licensing and driver improvement sections.  It is responsible for managing 
the division’s field offices in the following counties.  
  
LEGAL SERVICES: This unit is responsible for all legal matters within the 
division.  It also has the responsibility of managing the division hearing 
examiners section.  
  
VEHICLE SERVICES: This unit has the responsibility of managing the division's 
title & registration section.  It is also responsible for managing the division's field 
offices in: Beckley, Charlestown, Clarksburg (Bridgeport), Elkins, Flatwoods, 
Franklin, Huntington, Kanawha City (Charleston), Lewisburg, Logan, 
Martinsburg,  Moorefield, Morgantown, Moundsville, Parkersburg, Point Pleasant, 
Princeton, Romney, Spencer, Weirton, Welch, Williamson and Winfield. 
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Regional Field Office Information 


 


Beckley Regional Office 
107 Pinecrest Drive 
Beckley, WV 25801  
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Morgantown Regional Office 
1525 Deckers Creek Blvd 
Morgantown, WV 26505 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 or 304-558-3900 


Bridgeport Regional Office 
105 Platinum Drive, Suite D 
Bridgeport, WV 26330 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Moundsville Regional Office 
400 Teletech Drive, Suite 100 
Moundsville, WV 26041 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 or 304-558-3900 


Charlestown Regional Office 
8157 Charlestown Road 
Kearneysville, WV 25430 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


 


Parkersburg Regional Office 
3001 Dudley Avenue 
Parkersburg, WV 26104 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Elkins Regional Office 
1029 North Randolph Avenue 
Elkins, WV 26241 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Point Pleasant Regional Office 
1408 Kanawha Street 
Point Pleasant, WV 25550 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Flatwoods Regional Office 
295 Skidmore Lane 
(Exit 67 on Interstate 79) 
Sutton, WV 26601 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Princeton Regional Office 
198 Davis St 
Princeton, WV 24740 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 or 304-558-3900 


Franklin Regional Office 
HC 61 BOX 18A,  
Franklin, WV 26807 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Romney Regional Office 
Ridge Loop Road & US Route 50 @ Sunrise Summit 
Romney, WV 26757 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Huntington Regional Office 
P.O. Box 880 
801 Madison Avenue 
Huntington, WV 25701 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Spencer Regional Office 
115 Church Street,  
Spencer,  WV 25276 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Kanawha City Regional Office 
140 Kanawha Mall 
Charleston, WV 25387 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Weirton Regional Office 
100 Municipal Plaza, Suite 100 
Weirton, WV 26062 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 or 304-558-3900 


Lewisburg Regional Office 
148 Maplewood Avenue,  
Lewisburg, WV 24901 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Welch Regional Office 
92 McDowell St. 
Welch, WV 24801 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


 


Logan Regional Office 
428 Main St 
Logan, WV 25601 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Williamson Regional Office 
225 East 3rd Avenue,  
Williamson, WV 25661 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Martinsburg Regional Office 
1438 Edwin Miller Boulevard 
Martinsburg, WV 25401 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


  
Winfield Regional Office 
116 Liberty Square 
Hurricane, WV 25526 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 


Franklin Regional Office 
410 South Main Street 
Franklin, WV 26807 
Phone: 1-800-642-9066 & 304-558-3900 
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CHAPTER II  


 
DEFINITIONS 
  
Unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the following words as used in §17A-6 of the West 
Virginia Code, the Division of Motor Vehicles rules & regulations, and in this manual will have the 
meanings described below:  
  


A. "New Motor Vehicle Dealer " - Every person [other than his agents and employees, if 
any, while acting within the scope of their authority or employment], engaged in, or who 
holds himself out to the public to be engaged in, the business in this state of selling five 
or more new motor vehicles or new and used motor vehicles in any fiscal year of a type 
required to be registered, except motorcycles.  
  
B. "Used Motor Vehicle Dealer " - Every person [other than his agents and employees, if 
any, while acting within the scope of their authority or employment], engaged in, or who 
holds himself out to the public to be engaged in, the business in this state of selling five 
or more used motor vehicles in any fiscal year of a type required to be registered, except 
motorcycles.  
  
C. "New Motor Vehicles " - All motor vehicles, except motorcycles and used motor 
vehicles, of a type required to be registered.  
  
D. "Used Motor Vehicles " - All motor vehicles, except motorcycles, of a type required to 
be registered which have been sold and operated, or which have been registered or 
titled, in this or any other state or jurisdiction.  
  
E. "Wrecker / Dismantler / Rebuilder " - Every person [other than his agents or 
employees, if any, while acting within the scope of their authority or employment], 
engaged in, or who holds himself out to the public to be engaged in, the business in this 
state of dealing in wrecked or damaged motor vehicles or motor vehicle parts for the 
purpose of selling the parts thereof or scrap therefrom or who are in the business of 
rebuilding salvage motor vehicles for the purpose of resale to the public.  
  
F. "Recreational Vehicle Dealer " - Every person [other than his agents and employees, 
if any, while acting within the scope of their authority or employment], engaged in, or who 
holds himself out to the public to be engaged in, the business in this state of selling new 
and/or used recreational vehicles.  
  
G. "Trailer Dealer " - Every person [other than his agents and  employees, if any, while 
acting within the scope of their authority or employment], engaged in, or who holds 
himself out to the public to be engaged in, the business in this state of selling new and/or 
used trailers.  
  
H. "Motorcycle Dealer " - Every person [other than his agents and employees, if any, 
while acting within the scope of their authority or employment], engaged in, or who holds 
himself out to the public to be engaged in, the business in this state of selling new 
and/used motorcycles.  
  
I. "Sell ", "Sale" or "Selling " - Shall, in addition to the ordinary definitions of such terms, 
include offering for sale, soliciting sales of, negotiating for the sale of, displaying for sale, 
or advertising for sale, any vehicle, whether at retail, wholesale or at auction.  "Selling" 
shall, in addition to the ordinary definition of that term, also include buying and 
exchanging. 
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J. "Transporter " - Every person engaged in the business of transporting vehicles to or 
from a manufacturing, assembling or distributing plant to dealers or sales agents of a 
manufacturer, or purchasers.  
  
K. "Manufacturer " - Every person engaged in the business of reconstructing, assembling 
or reassembling vehicles with a special type body required by the purchaser if said 
vehicle is subject to the title and registration provisions of the code.  
    
L. "Sales Instrument " - Any document resulting from the sale of a vehicle, which shall 
include, but not be limited to, a bill of sale, invoice, conditional sales contract, chattel 
mortgage, chattel trust deed, security agreement or similar document.  
  
M. "Applicant " - Any person making application for an original or renewal license 
certificate.  
  
N. "Licensee " - Any person holding any license certificate.  
  
O. "Predecessor " - The former owner or owners or operators of any new motor vehicle 
dealer business or used motor vehicle dealer business.  
  
P. "Recreational Vehicle " - A motorboat, motorboat trailer, all-terrain vehicle, travel 
trailer, fold down camping trailer, motor home or snowmobile.  
  
Q. "Motorboat " - Any vessel propelled by an electrical, steam, gas, diesel or other fuel 
propelled or driven motor, whether or not such motor is the principal source of propulsion, 
but shall not include a vessel which has a valid marine document issued by the bureau of 
customs of the United States government or any federal agency successor thereto.  
  
R. "Motorboat Trailer " - Every vehicle designed for or ordinarily used for the 
transportation of a motorboat.  
  
S. "All-terrain Vehicle " - Any motor vehicle [ATV] designed for off-highway use and 
designed for operator use only with no passengers, having a seat or saddle designed to 
be straddled by the operator, and handlebars for steering control.  
  
T. "Travel Trailer " - Every vehicle, mounted on wheels, designed to provide temporary 
living quarters for recreational, camping or travel use of such size or weight as not to 
require special highway movement permits when towed by a motor vehicle and of gross 
trailer area less than four hundred square feet.  
  
U. "Fold Down Camping Trailer " - Every vehicle consisting of a portable unit mounted 
on wheels and constructed with collapsible partial sidewalls which fold for towing by 
another vehicle and unfold at the camp site to provide temporary living quarters for 
recreational, camping or travel use.   
  
V. "Motor Home " - Every vehicle designed to provide temporary living quarters, built into 
an integral part of or permanently attached to a self-propelled motor vehicle, chassis or 
van including: [1] Type A motor home built on an incomplete truck chassis with the truck 
cab constructed by the second stage manufacturer; [2] Type B motor home consisting of 
a van-type vehicle which has been altered to provide temporary living quarters; and [3] 
Type C motor home build on an incomplete van or truck chassis with a cab constructed 
by the chassis manufacturer.  
  
W. "Snowmobile " - A self-propelled vehicle intended for travel primarily on snow and 
driven by a track or tracks in contact with the snow and steered by a ski or skis in contact 
with the snow.  
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X. "Major Component " - Any one of the following subassemblies of a motor vehicle: [1] 
Front clip assembly consisting of fenders, grille, hood, bumper and related parts; [2] 
Engine; [3] Transmission; [4] Rear clip assembly consisting of quarter panels and floor 
panel assembly; or [5] Two or more doors.   
  
Y. "House Trailers " - All trailers designed or intended for human occupancy and 
commonly referred to as mobile homes or house trailers, but shall not include fold down 
camping trailers or travel trailers.  
      
Z. "Trailers " - All types of trailers other than house trailers, and shall include, but not be 
limited to, pole trailers and semitrailers but excluding recreational vehicles.  
  
aa. “Factory-built home”  includes mobile homes, house trailers and manufactured 
homes.  
  
bb. “Manufactured home” has the same meaning as the term is defined in section two 
[§ 21-9-2], article nine, chapter twenty-one of this code which meets the National 
Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974 (42 U.S.C. § 5401 
et seq., ), effective on the fifteenth  day of June, one thousand nine hundred seventy-six, 
and the federal manufactured home construction and safety standards and regulations 
promulgated by the secretary of the United States department of housing and urban 
development.  
  
cc. “Mobile home”  means a transportable structure that is wholly, or in substantial part, 
made, fabricated, formed or assembled in manufacturing facilities for installation or 
assembly and installation on a building site and designed for long-term residential use 
and built prior to enactment of the designed for long-term residential use and built prior to 
enactment of the federal manufactured housing construction and safety standards 
institute (ANSI) – A119.1 standards for mobile homes.  


 
dd. “Used Parts Dealer”  means every person (other than agents and employees, if any, 
while acting within the scope of their authority or employment), engaged in, or held out to 
the public to be engaged in, the business in this state of selling any used appliance, 
accessory, member, portion or other part of any vehicle. 
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CHAPTER III 
 
 
DEALER LICENSING 


 
 A. WHO MUST BE LICENSED 


 
1. Every person engaged in or who holds himself out to the public to be engaged in the 
business in this state of selling new motor vehicles, used motor vehicles, house trailers, 
recreational vehicles, motorcycles, wrecker/dismantler/rebuilders, license services and 
automobile auctions.  Transporters, manufacturers and financial institutions are also 
required to be licensed. 


 
 B. WHEN LICENSING IS NOT REQUIRED 


 
1. With regard to motor vehicles only, no license is required if a person sells fewer than 
five [5] motor vehicles in any fiscal year. 


 
 C. CONSEQUENCE OF NOT OBTAINING A LICENSE WHEN ONE IS REQUIRED 


 
1. Any person who is required to have a license but fails to obtain one is subject to 
misdemeanor criminal charges and/or injunctive action by a court of competent 
jurisdiction. 


 
 D. TYPES OF LICENSES ISSUED  


 
The Division of Motor Vehicles issues eleven [11] classes of licenses. The license prefix 
designations and descriptions are: 
 
1. "D" This is the prefix for a NEW MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER. This type of license 
allows the licensee to sell both new and used motor vehicles.  


 
2. "DUC" This is the prefix for a USED MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER. This type of license 
allows the licensee to sell used motor vehicles. 
 
3. "DRV" This is the prefix for a RECREATIONAL VEHICLE DEALER. This type of 
license allows the licensee to sell motorboats, motorboat trailers, travel trailers, fold-down 
camping trailers, all-terrain vehicles, snowmobiles and motor homes. 
  
4. "DTR" This is the prefix for a TRAILER DEALER. This type of license allows the 
licensee to sell all types of trailers, other than those trailers designated as recreational 
vehicles. 
 
5. "F" This is the prefix for a MOTORCYCLE DEALER. This type of license allows the 
licensee to sell motorcycles. 
 
6. "WDR" This is the prefix for a WRECKER / DISMANTLER / REBUILDER. This type of 
license allows the licensee to deal in salvage vehicles, vehicle parts, and/or to rebuild 
salvage vehicles for resale. 
 
7. "MFG" This is the prefix for a MANUFACTURER. This type of license allows the 
licensee to engage in the business of reconstructing, assembling or reassembling 
vehicles with a special body type required by the purchaser if said vehicles are subject to 
the title and registration provisions of the Code. 
 
8. "TRS" This is the prefix for a TRANSPORTER. This type of license allows the licensee 
to transport vehicles to or from a manufacturing, assembling, or distribution plant to 
dealers or sales agents of a manufacturer, or purchasers.  
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9. "REPO" This is the prefix for a FINANCIAL INSTITUTION. This type of license allows 
the licensee to deal in repossessed vehicles. 
 
10. "LS" This is the prefix for a LICENSE SERVICE. This type of license allows the 
licensee to process division documents for compensation. 
 
11. "AA" This is the prefix for an AUTOMOBILE AUCTION. This type of license allows the 
licensee to sell twenty or more used motor vehicles at auction within a license year. 


 
E. LICENSING PERIOD 
 
All dealer licenses are issued for a maximum period of one year and run concurrent with the 
fiscal year which begins on July 1, and ends the following June 30th.  Even if a license is 
issued in the middle or near the end of the annual licensing period it will expire on the last 
day of the fiscal year. 
 
Rental Service licenses are issued for a period of one year, and run from January 1 through 
December 31. 
 
Leasing Services licenses are issued for a period of one year, and run from September 30 
through October 1. 
 
License Service licenses are issued for a period of one year, and run from January 1 through 
December 31. 
 
Note:  Since license fees are not prorated an applicant seeking an initial license near 
the end of the fiscal year may wish to delay the submission of the application until the 
beginning of the next fiscal year.  
 
F. LICENSE FEES 


 
C INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 


   


“D” $250.00 $100.00 


“DUC” $250.00 $100.00 


Dealer Recovery Fund  $150.00 


 
The above fees entitle the applicant/licensee to a dealer license certificate and one dealer 
plate.  Two (2) additional dealer plates are available for $5.00 each.  Beyond that, additional 
dealer plates are available under a formula system of one [1] additional plate per twenty [20] 
motor vehicles sold at wholesale or retail. 


 
TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 


   
“DRV” $250.00 $100.00 


Dealer Recovery Fund  $150.00 
 


The above fees entitle the applicant/licensee to a dealer license certificate and four [4] dealer 
plates.  Additional dealer plates may be ordered at $25.00 each. 
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TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 


   
“DTR” $250.00 $25.00 


Dealer Recovery Fund  $150.00 
 


The above fees entitles the applicant/licensee to a dealer license certificate and four [4] 
dealer plates.  Additional dealer plates may be ordered at $5.00 each. 


NOTE: Mobile Home Dealers no recovery fund. 
 


TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 
   


“F” $250.00 $10.00 
Dealer Recovery Fund  $150.00 


 
The above fees entitle the applicant/licensee to a dealer license certificate and two [2] 
dealer plates. Additional dealer plates may be ordered at $5.00 each. 


 
TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 


   


"WDR" $250.00 $15.00 


"MFG" $250.00 $100.00 


"TRS" $250.00 $100.00 


 
The above fees entitle the applicant/licensee to a dealer license certificate and one [1] dealer 
plate.  Additional dealer plates may be ordered at $25.00 each. 


 
TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 


   
“REPO” $100.00 $100.00 


 
The above fees entitle the applicant/licensee to a dealer license certificate and one [1] dealer 
plate.  Up to four [4] additional dealer plates may be ordered at $25.00 each. 


 
TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 


   
“LS” $25.00 $25.00 


 
The above fees entitle the applicant/licensee to a license certificate.  


 
TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 


   
“AA” $250.00 $100.00 


 
The above fees entitle the applicant/licensee to a license certificate and one [1] special plate.  
Additional special plates are available under a formula system which may be found in 
Chapter VII of this manual. 


 
TYPE INITIAL FEE RENEWAL FEE 


   
RENTAL $250.00 $100.00 
LEASING $250.00 $100.00 


 
The above fees entitle the applicant/licensee to a license certificate. 
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G.  GENERAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 
 
There are a number of general requirements that every applicant for a dealers license must 
satisfy as a prerequisite to having a license issued. Those requirements, which it should be 
mentioned, must also be maintained throughout the life of the dealership, can be found 
summarized below. Prospective applicants are urged to consider the requirements carefully 
before making application.  


 
1. NEW MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER APPLICANT 


 
a. LOCATION AND FACILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 
Every new motor vehicle dealer is required to comply with the following "Place of 
Business" requirements as set forth in §17A-6-1[17] of the code and in Division of 
Motor Vehicles rules and regulations. 


 
(1) Dealership location must be permanent and not a temporary stand or other 
temporary quarters. 
 
(2) The location must be owned or leased and actually occupied by the applicant 
or licensee. 
     
(3) The location must be used exclusively for the purpose of selling new and 
used motor vehicles. 
 
(4) There must be space under roof for the display of at least one new motor 
vehicle. 
 
(5) There must be facilities and space for the servicing and repair of at least one 
motor vehicle which is easily accessible to the public. 
 
(6) There must be an office with inside dimensions of at least 144 square feet, 
office furniture necessary to reasonably conduct business, and the facilities to 
keep, maintain and preserve records. 
 
(7) Only one corporation is allowed to operate from the location. This would 
apply even if both corporations are owned by the same officers and directors. 
 
(8) Accessory, gasoline, oil, and/or storage departments are allowed if such 
departments are operating for the purpose of furthering and assisting the 
licensed business.  


 
(9) There must be a vehicle display area of at least 1200 square feet, which is 
used exclusively for the display of vehicles which are offered for sale by the 
dealer.  The display area must have an all weather surface and be free of any 
hazardous conditions, junked vehicles, scrap iron, or trash and litter of all types. 
 
 (10) There must be a sign in letters of at least four [4] inches high permanently 
affixed on the premises. The sign must specifically and clearly identify the 
business and must be legible from the nearest principle street or highway. 
 
(11) There must be a telephone at the location listed in the name of the 
dealership. 
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(12) The dealership must maintain minimum business hours of:  


 
(a) 20 hours per week, minimum of 40 weeks per year. 
 
(b) 10 hours of the 20 hours must be between 9:30 a.m. and 8:30 p.m., 
Monday through Saturday. 
 
(c) The business hours must be posted. 
 
(d) The dealership must notify the division in advance of the dates they 
intend to be closed. 


 
(13) All local zoning laws must be complied with. 


 
b. SURETY BOND 
 
All applicants/dealers must submit with their dealer application a dealer surety bond 
[MV-126-DS-P] in the penal sum of ten thousand [10,000] dollars.  The bond must be 
duly signed and executed in every detail by both a representative of the bonding 
company and the applicant.  This must include all proper acknowledgements on the 
reverse side of the bond. A power of attorney for the bonding company must also be 
provided. 
 
c. LIABILITY INSURANCE 
 
All applicants/dealers must submit with their dealer application a dealer liability 
insurance certificate [DMV-126-DS-J] in the same name that the dealership is to be 
operated under.  The insurance policy shall be subject to minimum limits of 
$20,000-$40,000-$10,000, and shall be effective from the date of the application 
through the following June 30th. 
 
d. DEALER FRANCHISE 
 
In order to be classified as a dealer in new motor vehicles an applicant/dealer must 
have a franchise from the manufacturer authorizing the applicant/dealer to sell new 
motor vehicles of a kind produced by the manufacturer. 


 
e. PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX RECEIPT 
 
All applicant/dealers must submit with their dealer application a copy of their paid-up 
county personal property tax receipt for the year preceding the date of their 
application.  If no tax was due, an affidavit from their county assessor stating same 
must be submitted with the application. 
 
f. STATE TAX NUMBER 
 
A state sales tax number is required on an application for a new motor vehicle 
dealer’s license.  A number may be obtained from the state tax department by calling 
1 (800) 982-8297 or 558-3333. 
     
g. PHOTOGRAPH 
 
All applicants must submit with their application at least one photograph [size no less 
that 3x5] of their dealership that clearly shows the office, display area, and sign. 
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h. CRIMINAL HISTORY  
 
The applicant/dealer must not have had a felony conviction preceding the date of 
application.  All applicants are required to be fingerprinted. 


 
i. FINANCIAL HISTORY 
 
The applicant/dealer must have no history of habitually defaulting on financial 
obligations.   
 
j. BUREAU OF EMPLOYMENT PROGRAMS 
  
The applicant must have no history of defaults on accounts with the Bureau of 
Employment Programs. 
 
k. PAYMENT INTO DEALER RECOVERY FUND 


 
2. USED MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER APPLICANTS  
 
The requirements for a used motor vehicle dealer are the same as those of a new motor 
vehicle dealer with the following exceptions:  


 
a. No dealer franchise is required. 
 
b. The location must be used exclusively for the purpose of selling used motor 
vehicles.  
 
c. No under roof display area is required. 
 
d. On-site service and repair facilities are not required if applicant/dealer has entered 
into written agreement with a third party to provide such services. 
 
e. The applicant dealer must pay $150.00 into the Dealer Recovery Fund. 


 
3. TRAILER, RECREATIONAL VEHICLE, MOTORCYCLE, AND WRECKER / 
DISMANTLER / REBUILDER APPLICANT 


 
a. LOCATION AND FACILITY REQUIREMENTS 


 
 (1) Dealership location must be permanent and not a temporary stand or 
other temporary quarters.  
 
(2) The location must be owned or leased by the applicant and actually 
occupied by him. 
 
(3) The location must be easily accessible to the public. 
 
(4) There must be a sign in letters at least four [4] inches high permanently 
affixed on the premises. The sign must specifically and clearly identify the 
business and must be legible from the nearest principle street or highway.  
  
(5) There must be facilities to keep, maintain, and preserve records. 


 
b. SURETY BOND 
 


Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer. 
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c. LIABILITY INSURANCE 


 
Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer. 


 
d. PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX RECEIPT 


 
Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer. 


 
e. CRIMINAL HISTORY 
   


Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer. 
 


f. FINANCIAL HISTORY 
   
Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer. 


 
g. STATE TAX NUMBER 


   
Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer. 


 
h. PHOTOGRAPH 
 
 Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer. 
 
i. Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer. NOTE: Mobile 


Home Dealers are exempt from the fund. 
 


4. MANUFACTURER, TRANSPORTER, & FINANCIAL INSTITUTION APPLICANT 
  


a. PROOF OF STATUS 
 
The applicant must submit proof of status as a bona fide manufacturer, 
transporter or financial institution. 


  
b. LIABILITY INSURANCE 
  


Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer.  
 
c. SURETY BOND 
  


No surety bond is required. 
 
d. PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX RECEIPT 


  
Same as required of a new and used motor vehicle dealer.  


 
H.  PROCESSING THE INITIAL DEALER LICENSE APPLICATION 


 
1. A perspective applicant communicates his/her desire to become a dealer to 
Dealer Services.  This may be done in person or by calling 558-3584. 
 
2. If the applicant wishes to become a new or used motor vehicle dealer, he/she will 
be contacted in person by a Division of Motor Vehicles investigator who will conduct a 
preliminary location inspection to ensure that the location meets minimum requirements. 
 
Note: The purpose of this preliminary inspection is twofold: 
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a. If it is determined that the location does not meet "EXCLUSIVE USE" 
requirements [no other business or residence at location] then the applicant can save 
the time and expense of further location development and the expense of purchasing 
the required insurance and bond, and 
 
b. It saves Dealer Services the trouble of having to deny the application. 
 
With regard to all other classifications of licenses, the application is simply mailed to 
the applicant upon request. No preliminary inspection is required. 
 
c. If it is determined that the location meets minimum requirements then an 
application, with instructions on how to complete it, will be given to the applicant by 
the investigator. 
 
d. Upon receipt of the application, the applicant finishes preparing his location, 
secures his bond, insurance, and personal property tax receipt and then sends same, 
along with the completed application to:  Division of Motor Vehicles, Dealer 
Services, 1615 Washington Street, East, Charleston, WV, 25317 
 
It should be noted that the application should not be submitted until the applicant's 
location is completely finished and ready for a final inspection. 
 
e. Upon receipt by Dealer Services, the application and all attached documents are 
reviewed to ensure completeness. If everything is found to be in order arrangements 
will be made for an investigator to visit the location for a final inspection.  If the 
application has not been properly completed, or if required documents are missing, 
the applicant is contacted and advised as to what is needed. In some cases the 
application must be returned to the applicant and, in other cases, the matter may be 
handled by telephone. 
 
f. Once the application and documents have been reviewed and have been found 
to be complete and accurate, an investigator will visit the location to conduct a final 
inspection.  This inspection is to ensure that all "Place of Business" requirements are 
being met. The investigator will also at this time secure from the applicant finger 
prints of both hands and a signed waiver.  The prints are forwarded to the State 
Police for a criminal history check and the waiver allows Dealer Services to check 
with the state tax department for any delinquent taxes owed the state by the 
applicant. 
 
If the location is found to be in compliance, and if no disqualifying information is 
found through the criminal and tax inquiries, the dealers license will be issued. The 
license, along with the requested number of dealer plates, will be mailed to the 
applicant by first class mail; however, in certain cases, if it does not interfere with the 
normal operation of Dealer Services, the applicant may pick up the license and 
plates.  


 
I.  DENIAL OF DEALER LICENSE  


 
A dealer license may be denied if the applicant has: 


 
1. Failed to furnish the required bond; 
 
2. Failed to furnish the required certificate of insurance;  
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3. Knowingly made a false statement of a material fact in his application;   
 
 
 
4. Habitually defaulted on financial obligations in this state or other state or jurisdiction;  
 
5. So far as can be ascertained has not and will not comply with the registration and title 
laws of West Virginia;  
 
6. Has been convicted of a felony preceding receipt of the application by The Division of 
Motor Vehicles; 
 
7. Does not or will not have and/or maintain at each place of business an "Established 
Place of Business" as defined in the code for the class of license in question;  
 
8. Has been guilty of any fraudulent act in connection with the business of any new 
motor vehicle dealer, used motor vehicle dealer, trailer dealer, recreational vehicle 
dealer, motorcycle dealer, or wrecker/dismantler/rebuilder; or 
 
9. Has done any act or has failed or refused to perform any duty for which the license 
certificate sought could be suspended or revoked were it then issued and outstanding. 
 
10. Is delinquent in payment of any taxes owed to the United States, the State of West 
Virginia, or any political subdivision. 


 
J. MODIFICATIONS AFTER A LICENSE HAS BEEN ISSUED 


 
Every dealer shall notify the division within sixty [60] days whenever any of the following 
changes in business occur:  


                                  
1. A change of business location. [This requires a location inspection]; 
  
2. A change in the trade name under which the business operates; 
 
3. The death of the licensee or any partner or partners;  
 
4. A change in any partners, officers, or directors;            
         
5. A change in the ownership of the business. [This requires a new application]; 
       
6. A change in the type of legal entity through which the licensee operates; and 
 
7. The appointment of any trustee in bankruptcy or, trustee under assignment for the 
benefit of creditors, master, or receiver. 


 
K. LICENSE RENEWALS 
 
As previously mentioned, all dealer licenses, with the exception of License Services, run 
concurrent with the fiscal year; therefore, they must be renewed by July 1 of each year.  The 
renewal applications are mailed to dealers on or before May 1 with the request that they, 
along with the requested documents, e.g. insurance certificate, surety bond, and tax receipt, 
be returned to the Division of Motor Vehicles no later than June 1.  This early return date 
allows ample time for processing and will ensure that all licenses will be renewed on time.  
 
Renewal applicants not submitted 30 days prior to expiration date are subject to origination 
fees. 
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CHAPTER IV 
 
DEALER OPERATIONS  
 
Every dealer, in addition to having to comply with the "Place of Business" requirements, as 
previously described in this manual, must also comply with additional laws and regulations 
pertaining to the operation of a dealership.  A summary of these laws and regulations, as well as 
some general information relating to dealer operations, can be found below. 
 


A.  RECORD KEEPING REQUIREMENTS 
 
Every dealer shall keep and maintain a record of the following: 


 
1. Every vehicle which is bought, sold, exchanged, received, or accepted for sale or 
exchange; 
 
2. Every used vehicle body or chassis which is sold or otherwise disposed of; and 
 
3. Every vehicle which is bought or otherwise acquired and wrecked or dismantled by 
the licensee.  


 
Each of the above records shall state the name and address of the person from 
whom such vehicle was purchased or acquired and the date thereof, the name and 
address of the person to whom any such vehicle, vehicle body, or chassis was sold 
or otherwise disposed of, the date thereof, and a description of every such vehicle, 
body, or chassis by name and identifying numbers sufficient to identify same. 


 
4. Every vehicle sold at retail shall be evidenced by a sales instrument in writing which 
shall contain the following information: 


 
a. Name of seller; 
      
b. Name of buyer; 
 
c. Make, year, and model of vehicle; 
 
d. Cash sale price; 
 
e. Cash paid down by buyer; 
 
f. Amount credited to buyer for trade-in; 
 
g. Provision as to whether the seller or buyer is to pay off the indebtedness, if any, 
of the trade-in; 
 
h. Description of the trade-in; 
 
i. Amount of the time differential charge [if not cash sale so far as the dealer is 
concerned]; 
 
j. Amount charged by seller for insurance and the type of coverage afforded; if any 
insurance does not include coverage for bodily injury and/or property damage 
caused to others, the sales instrument shall expressly so state; and 
 
k. Net balance due from buyer and the terms of payment. 







 
  4 - 2 Revised 8/06 


 
5. Every dealer must keep a written record of the salesman, mechanic, employee, 
agent, officer or other person to whom a dealer plate is assigned. 


 
6. Every dealer who is issued a special demonstration plate for use on trucks, trailers, 
truck-tractors, and/or road-tractors shall keep a written record containing the following 
information: 


 
a. Identification of the motor vehicle upon which the special demonstration plate is 
being used; 
 
b. The time and date during which each special demonstration plate is used; 
 
c. The name and address of company or individual using a motor vehicle on which a 
special demonstration plate is used; and 
 
d. Any other information considered necessary by the Commissioner. 


 
7. Every dealer must keep a record of all temporary registration plates delivered to him, 
and a record of all temporary plates issued by him.  
 
8. Every financial institution must keep a written record of the vehicle on which a REPO 
plate is used, the time used, and the location of the place of repossession, storage, and 
delivery of the vehicle. 
 
9. Every manufacturer or transporter shall keep a written record of the vehicle upon 
which MFG or TRS plates are used, the time during which they are used, and the location 
used. 
 
10.   Every wrecker/dismantler/rebuilder must keep, in addition to all previously 
mentioned records, a record of all reconstructed vehicles which they have rebuilt. The 
record shall include, but is not limited to, "before" photographs of the rebuilt vehicle, 
receipts for all parts and materials used in reconstructing the vehicle, and a copy of the 
Form DMV-3 pertaining to the vehicle. 


 
B. USE OF DEALER SPECIAL PLATES  


 
1. The dealer special plate may be used for any purpose on any motor vehicle owned 
by the dealer to whom issued, which is being operated with the dealer's knowledge and 
consent and not otherwise.  Under no circumstances whatsoever shall a dealer special 
plate be used on any work or service vehicle owned by a dealer or any vehicle which has 
been sold by a dealer to a customer.  Provided, however, that a dealer is authorized to 
use a Class D or DUC special plate on no more than one [1] courtesy vehicle per 
dealership.  Provided further, that any dealer engaged in the business of selling trailers, 
truck-tractors, road-tractors, or trucks, who demonstrate the motor vehicles under actual 
work conditions to potential customers, shall be allowed to use a "Special Demonstration" 
plate for such demonstration purposes. 
 
2. Under no circumstances whatsoever shall a Class DTR special plate be used for the 
purpose of operating a motor vehicle upon the streets and highways of the state, or on 
any house trailer or other trailer owned by a dealer and offered for hire or lease, or on any 
house trailer or other trailer which has been sold by a dealer to a customer. A Class DTR 
special plate may be used in moving a house trailer sold by a house trailer dealer to a 
customer for one trip only from the said dealer's established place of business to a place 
designated by such customer.  
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3. Under no circumstances whatsoever shall a Class F special plate be used for the 
purpose of operating any type of motor vehicle other than a motorcycle on the streets and 
highways of the state, or on a motorcycle owned by a dealer and offered for hire or lease, 
or on any motorcycle which has been sold by a dealer to a customer. 
 
4. A manufacturer or transporter may operate a vehicle displaying MFG or TRS special 
plates on the streets or highways of the state solely for the purpose of testing or 
transporting such vehicle.  Under no circumstances shall such plates be used on any 
work or service vehicles owned by a manufacturer or transporter. 
 
5. Financial institutions may operate a vehicle displaying REPO special plates only in 
conjunction with the repossession or sale of a vehicle. 
 
6. A wrecker/dismantler/rebuilder may use a "towing only" special plate only on a 
vehicle which is being towed and which is owned by the wrecker/dismantler/rebuilder.  
The wrecker/dismantler/rebuilder may use a "demo" special plate only:   
 
a. On a vehicle being test driven by a prospective purchaser; 
 
b. On a vehicle being driven to or from a DMV examination location; 
 
c. On a vehicle being driven to or from an authorized state inspection station; or 
 
d. On a vehicle being driven to an auction. 
 
7. Under no circumstances whatsoever shall a Class DRV special plate be used for the 
purpose of operating a motor vehicle upon the streets and highways, or on any 
recreational vehicle owned by a dealer and offered for hire or lease, or on any 
recreational vehicle which has been sold by a dealer to a customer. A Class DRV special 
plate may be used upon the streets and highways for demonstration purposes only on 
those recreational vehicles that are subject to registration. 


 
C. ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATES  


 
1. All applications for temporary registration plates shall be submitted on Form 
MV-126-F-TR. 
 
2. All applications for temporary registration plates shall be limited to 400 plates.  
 
3. Application for additional temporary plates shall not be approved if the application 
shows 100 or more temporary plates on hand from the previous allotment. 
 
 4. All temporary plates previously issued by the dealer shall be accounted for before 
any application for additional plates will be approved. 
 
5. Temporary plates shall be issued in numerical order.  
 
6. Every dealer issuing temporary plates shall write the date of issuance and expiration 
date and shall also insert clearly and legibly on the face of each temporary plate the 
name, year, make, and the vehicle identification number [VIN] of the vehicle to which the 
temporary plate is assigned. 
      
7. The temporary registration certificate [Form DMV-40-TR] executed by the dealer 
shall be completed in triplicate. Each copy shall be clear and legible.  The original 
certificate shall be sent to the DMV within 5 working days from the date of issue. The 
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second copy shall be given to the purchaser. The third copy shall be retained by the 
dealer. 
 
8. The insurance policy referred to on the Form 40 must be in effect either on or before 
the date of issuance of the temporary plate. This would also apply when a temporary 
plate is to be issued for a vehicle which is to be titled out-of-state and must  be in effect 
for the entire length of 60 days that the plate is active. 
 
9. No temporary plates shall be delivered to any dealer in house trailers only, and no 
such temporary plates shall be issued for or used on any house trailer for any purpose.  
 
10. Every dealer who has made application for and received temporary plates shall 
maintain in permanent form a record of all temporary plates delivered to him, a record of 
all temporary plates issued by him, and a record of any other information pertaining to the 
receipt or the issuance of temporary plates which the commissioner may require. Each 
such record shall be kept for at least three years from the date of the making thereof.    
 
11. A dealer shall not issue, assign, transfer or deliver a temporary plate to anyone other 
than the bona fide purchaser of the vehicle to be registered; nor shall a dealer issue a 
temporary plate to anyone possessed of an annual registration plate for a vehicle which 
has been sold or exchanged, except a dealer may issue a temporary plate to the bona 
fide purchaser of a vehicle to be registered who possesses an annual registration plate of 
a different class and makes application to the division to exchange such annual 
registration plate in accordance with the provisions of §17A-4-1 of the code; nor shall a 
dealer lend a temporary plate to anyone, or use one on a vehicle which he may own.  
         
12. It shall be unlawful for any dealer to issue any temporary plate knowingly containing 
any misstatement of fact, or knowingly to insert any false information upon the face 
thereof.   
      
13. Every person to whom a temporary plate has been issued shall permanently destroy 
such temporary plate immediately upon receiving their annual registration plate from the 
division. If the annual registration plate is not received within sixty [60] days of the 
issuance of the temporary plate, the owner shall, notwithstanding the fact that the annual 
registration plate has not been received, immediately and permanently destroy the 
temporary plate.     
   
14. Not more than one temporary plate shall be issued to the same bona fide purchaser 
for the same vehicle. Nor, shall a dealer extend the period of time on a temporary plate.     
 
15. A temporary plate shall expire and become void upon the receipt of the annual 
registration plate from the division or upon the rescission of the contract to purchase the 
vehicle in question, or upon the expiration of sixty [60] days from the date of issuance, 
depending upon whichever event shall first occur. 
 
16. If it is determined that the dealer is not in compliance with the law and legislative 
rules relative to the issuance of temporary plates, the commissioner may suspend the 
dealers right to issue temporary plates.  


 
D. WARRANTIES  


 
Before offering a used motor vehicle for sale a dealer must display a "Buyers Guide" on the 
side window of the vehicle. Regulations pertaining to the "Buyers Guide" can be found below. 


 
1. BUYERS GUIDE WINDOW FORM:  Before offering a used motor vehicle for sale to 
a consumer the dealer must properly complete and display a "Buyers Guide" form on the 
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side window of the vehicle so both sides of the form can be read, with the title "Buyers 
Guide" facing to the outside.  Contents of the form must conform exactly to the Rule, e.g., 
wording, type styles, sizes, black ink on white stock, and not less than 11 inches high by 
7 1/4 inches wide. 
 
2. VEHICLE DESCRIPTION:  Insert the make, model, and vehicle identification number 
[VIN].  Insertion of the dealer stock number is optional. 
 
3. AS IS - NO WARRANTY :  West Virginia law prohibits "as is" sales. The "AS IS - NO 
WARRANTY" form may not be used. 
 
4. WARRANTY :  If the vehicle is offered with a written warranty, check the box 
"WARRANTY".  Check whether the warranty is "FULL" or "LIMITED" and fill in the 
percentage of parts and paid by the dealer.  List the specific systems covered by the 
warranty.  For example: engine, transmission, differential, etc. Shorthand terms, such as 
drivetrain or powertrain, cannot be used for covered systems. Include the corresponding 
duration of coverage for each system. The window form must reflect all changes in the 
warranty coverage that have been negotiated by the dealer and consumer.   
 
5. IMPLIED WARRANTIES ONLY :  This means that the dealer does not make any 
specific promises to fix things that need repaired when the consumer buys the vehicle or 
after the time of sale.  However, under West Virginia law, "Implied Warranty" may give the 
consumer some rights to have the dealer take care of serious problems that were not 
apparent when he/she bought the vehicle. 
 
6. MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY :  If the manufacturer's original warranty still 
applies, the dealer may insert the following statement: "MANUFACTURER'S 
WARRANTY STILL APPLIES. THE MANUFACTURER'S ORIGINAL WARRANTY HAS 
NOT EXPIRED ON THE VEHICLE. CONSULT THE MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY 
BOOKLET FOR DETAILS AS TO WARRANTY COVERAGE, SERVICE LOCATIONS, 
ETC."  
      
7. SERVICE CONTRACT :  If the dealer makes a service contract [other than a contract 
regulated in West Virginia as the business of insurance] available on the vehicle, check 
the appropriate box.  
       
8. DEALERSHIP IDENTIFICATION :  On the reverse side of the "Buyers Guide" insert 
the dealership name, address, and the telephone number of the dealership employee 
designated to handle any complaints. 
 
9. FORM GIVEN TO BUYER:  Give the "Buyers Guide" form displayed on the vehicle 
to the buyer of that vehicle or a copy of the original, so long as that copy accurately 
reflects all of the disclosures required by the Rule and the warranty coverage agreed 
upon. 
 
10. BUYERS GUIDE INCORPORATED INTO CONTRACT :  Inform the consumer that 
the final version of the "Buyers Guide" form is incorporated in the contract of sale by 
including the following language in each consumer contract:  "The information you see on 
the window for this vehicle is part of this contract.  Information on the window form 
overrides any contrary provisions in the contract of sale." 
 
11. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS :   
      


a. CONTRARY STATEMENTS : A dealer may not make any statement, oral or 
written, or take any action which contradicts the "Buyers Guide" and contractual 
disclosure statement.  
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b. PENALTIES :  Each separate violation of the Rule carries a civil penalty of up to 
$10,000 which the Federal Trade Commission [FTC] may seek in Federal District 
Court.  Each separate violation would also be a violation of the West Virginia 
Consumer Credit and Protection Act, subject to a civil penalty of $5,000. 
 
c. ENFORCEMENT:  Matters pertaining to "Buyers Guides" and warranties fall 
under the jurisdiction of the West Virginia Attorney General's Office of Consumer 
Protection.  Any relevant questions should be directed to that office. 


 
E. INSPECTIONS; VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES  


 
1. The commissioner and all law-enforcement officers of the State, acting at the 
commissioner's request, are hereby authorized to inspect the place of business, vehicles 
and pertinent records, documents and papers of any person required to be licensed to the 
extent deemed reasonably necessary to determine compliance with the code. For the 
purpose of making any such inspection, the commissioner and such law-enforcement 
officers are authorized, at reasonable times, to enter in and upon any such place of 
business and any other public garage or enclosure where vehicles are sold, stored, or 
repaired. 
 
2. Any person who shall violate any provisions of §17A-6 of the code or any final order 
of the commissioner shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 


 
F. DEALER LICENSE SUSPENSION/REVOCATION  


 
1. The commissioner may suspend or revoke a license certificate or suspend a special 
license plate or plates if it is found that the licensee has: 


 
a. Failed or refused to comply with the laws of this state relating to the registration 
and titling of vehicles and the issuing of notices of transfer, the provisions and 
requirements of §17A-6 of the code, or any reasonable rule and regulation 
authorized in §17A-2-9, promulgated, to implement the provisions of §17A-6, by the 
commissioner in accordance with the provisions of §29A-3-1 of the code; 
 
b. Given any check in the payment of any fee required under the provisions of the 
code which is dishonored; 
 
c. In the case of a dealer, has knowingly made or permitted any unlawful use of any 
dealer plate or plates issued to him; or                 
 
d. In the case of a dealer, has a dealer plate or plates to which he is not lawfully 
entitled. 
 


2. The commissioner shall suspend or revoke a license certificate if the commissioner 
finds that the licensee has:  


 
a. Knowingly made a false statement of a material fact in his application for the 
license certificate then issued and outstanding; 
 
b. Habitually defaulted on financial obligations;  
 
c. Does not have and/or maintain at each place of business an "Established Place 
of Business" as defined in §17A-6-1 of the code for the type of business in question; 
 







 
  4 - 7 Revised 8/06 


d. Been guilty of any fraudulent action in connection with the business of new motor 
vehicle dealer, used motor vehicle dealer, house trailer dealer, trailer dealer, 
motorcycle dealer, recreational vehicle dealer, or wrecker/dismantler/rebuilder; 
 
e. Defrauded or is attempting to defraud any buyer or any other person, to the 
damage of the buyer or such other person, in the conduct of the licensee's business; 
 
f. Defrauded or is attempting to defraud the state or any political subdivision of the 
state of any taxes or fees in connection with the sale or transfer of any vehicle;  
 
g. Committed fraud in the registration of a vehicle; 
 
h. Knowingly purchased, sold, or otherwise dealt in a stolen vehicle or vehicles;  
 
i. Advertised by any means, with intent to defraud, any material representation or 
statement of fact which is untrue, misleading or deceptive in any particular relating to 
the conduct of the licensed business; 
 
j. Willfully failed or refused to perform any legally binding written agreement with 
any buyer; 
 
k. Made a fraudulent sale or purchase; 
 
l. Failed or refused to assign, reassign or transfer a proper certificate of title; or 
 
m. A license certificate to which he is not lawfully entitled. 
 
n. The commissioner shall also suspend or revoke the license certificate if he finds 
the existence of any ground upon which the license certificate could have been 
refused, or any ground which would be cause for refusing a license a license 
certificate to such licensee were he then applying for the same.  
             


3. Whenever a licensee fails or refuses to keep the bond and liability insurance required 
by §17A-6-4 of the code in full force and effect, the license certificate of such licensee 
shall automatically be suspended unless and until a bond or certificate of insurance as 
required by said section is furnished to the commissioner, in which event the suspension 
shall be vacated.  
     
4. Suspensions shall continue until the cause therefore has been eliminated or 
corrected.  Revocation of a license certificate shall not preclude application for a new 
license certificate, which application shall be processed in the same manner and the 
license certificate issued or refused on the same grounds as any other application for a 
license certificate is processed, considered and passed upon, except that any previous 
suspension and revocation may be given such weight in deciding whether to issue or 
refuse such license certificate. 
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CHAPTER V 
 
 
 


ADMINISTRATIVE APPEALS OF COMMISSIONER'S ORDERS OR DECISIONS 
                               


A. REQUEST FOR HEARING 
 


The applicant or licensee adversely affected by an order made and entered by the commissioner may 
request a hearing by filing a written notice with the commissioner in person or certified mail, return 
receipt requested.  Such request must be made within thirty [30] days after the date on which said 
order is received. 


 
B. CONTENTS OF NOTICE 


 
The notice requesting a hearing shall contain the following information:  


 
1. A description of the order upon which a hearing is requested; and 
 
2. The grounds upon which it is asserted that said order should be vacated or modified. 


 
C. NOTICE OF HEARING   
 


Within ten [10] days after receipt of a notice requesting a hearing, the commissioner shall cause a 
notice of hearing to be served upon the party requesting the hearing by certified mail, return receipt 
requested.  Such notice shall specify the time, date, and place of the hearing and shall contain a 
statement of the issues to be considered at the hearing.  All parties shall be afforded at least ten [10] 
days notice of the hearing. 
 


D. FAILURE OF PERSON REQUESTING HEARING TO APPEAR  
 


The failure of a person requesting a hearing to appear without first obtaining a continuance shall 
result in an automatic reinstatement of the commissioner's order. 


 
E. REQUEST FOR CONTINUANCE 
 


The person requesting a hearing may be granted a continuance of a scheduled hearing.  The request 
for continuance shall be in writing, and must be received by the commissioner at least five [5] days 
prior to the scheduled hearing date.  Such request will be granted if good cause is shown.  Good 
cause shall include such reasons as serious illness, medical appointments, court appearances, or 
religious holidays of either the person requesting the hearing or their attorney. 
 


F. CONTINUANCE ON THE MOTION OF THE COMMISSIONER 
 


The commissioner may postpone or continue a hearing on his or her own motion.  The commissioner 
may also grant a continuance on less than five [5] days notice in the circumstances of unexpected 
personal emergencies. 


 
G. SUBPOENAS  
 


Any party may request the issuance of subpoenas or subpoenas duces tecum by the commissioner.  
The authority for the issuance of subpoenas or subpoenas duces tecum is contained in §17A-2-18 of 
the code.  All of the provisions relating to subpoenas and subpoenas duces tecum set forth in 
paragraph [b] of §29A-5-1 of the code shall be followed.  
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H. STAYS 
 
The filing of a notice requesting a hearing shall operate to automatically stay or suspend 
execution of any order which is the subject matter of said hearing except for an order suspending 
a license certificate in accordance with the provisions of §17A-6-18[b] of the code which provides 
for immediate suspension for failure to maintain the required bond or liability insurance. 
 


I. DESIGNATION OF HEARING OFFICER  
 


The commissioner may appoint a hearing examiner to conduct hearings and to recommend 
findings of fact and conclusions of the law to the commissioner.  Such appointee shall have had 
no contact or involvement with the investigation which resulted in the order that is being 
contested.  Hearing examiners may exercise all the powers listed in §29A-5-1[d] of the code.  


 
J.  REPRESENTATION  
 


The party who has requested a hearing may represent himself or be represented by an attorney 
licensed to practice law in the state of West Virginia.  The division shall be represented by the 
office of the attorney general. 


 
K. RULES OF EVIDENCE  
 


The rules of evidence as applied in civil cases in the circuit courts of this state shall be followed.        
 
When necessary to ascertain facts not reasonably susceptible to proof under the rules of 
evidence, evidence not admissible thereunder shall be admitted, except where precluded by 
statute, if it is of a type commonly relied upon by reasonably prudent men in the conduct of their 
affairs.        
 
The rules of privilege recognized by law shall be followed. 
 
Documentary evidence may be received in the form of copies or excerpts or by incorporation by 
reference. 
 
Evidentiary depositions may be taken and admitted into evidence as in civil actions in the circuit 
courts of this state. 
 
The division has the burden of sustaining the commissioner's order, and therefore, shall make the 
initial presentation of evidence.  At the conclusion of the division's presentation the party 
requesting the hearing shall have an opportunity to present evidence.  The division shall have the 
right of rebuttal.  All parties have the right to cross-examine witnesses.  


 
L.  CONTINUATION AND ADJOURNMENT  
 


Hearings may be continued from one day to another or adjourned to a later date or a different 
place by the hearing examiner by making an announcement at the hearing or by appropriate 
notice to all parties. 


 
M.  WHAT REPORTED 
 


All testimony, evidence, arguments, and rulings on the admissibility of testimony and evidence 
shall be reported by stenographic notes and characters or by other mechanical means. 
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N.  TRANSCRIPTION OF REPORTED EVIDENCE 
 


Upon the request to the division by any party to the hearing, all reported materials shall be 
transcribed and a copy furnished to such party at their expense.  The commissioner shall collect a 
fee of one dollar and fifty cents [$1.50] for each page transcribed. 


 
O.  RESPONSIBILITY FOR TRANSCRIPT  
 


The division shall have the responsibility for making arrangements for the transcription of reported 
testimony and evidence.  In the event transcription is required, it shall be accomplished with all 
dispatch.  The rules of privilege recognized by law shall be followed. 


 
P.  CORRECTION OF ERROR IN TRANSCRIPT  
 


Upon the motion of the division or any party assigning error or omission in any part of the 
transcript, the division through the commissioner or any duly appointed hearing examiner, shall 
settle all differences arising as to whether such transcript truly disclosed what occurred at the 
hearing and shall direct that the transcript be corrected and revised in the respect designated so 
as to make it conform to the whole truth. 
 


Q.  CONTENT 
 


Every final order entered by the commissioner following a hearing shall be made in accordance 
with the provisions of §29A-5-3 of the code. 
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CHAPTER VI 
 
LICENSE SERVICES 
 


A. DEFINITION 
 


"License Service or Services" shall mean any person processing division documents for 
compensation, when such service or services are offered to the general public. 


 
B. APPLICATION 


 
No person shall engage in the "License Service" business without a license certificate.  
Application for a license certificate shall be made on a form prescribed by the 
commissioner and shall disclose such information the commissioner requires.  Such 
application shall be verified by an oath or affirmation of the applicant, if an individual, or if 
the applicant is a co-partnership or corporation, by a partner or officer thereof. 


 
C. SURETY BOND 


 
All License Services must submit with their applications a surety bond in the penal sum of 
twenty-five thousand [$25,000] dollars.  The bond must be duly signed and executed in 
every detail by both a representative of the bonding company and the applicant.  The 
licensee shall keep the bond in full force and effect at all times. 


 
D. FEE REQUIRED 


                INITIAL                    RENEWAL 
 
                 $25.00                      $25.00 
 


E. REFUSAL OF LICENSE CERTIFICATE 
 


 A license certificate may be denied if the commissioner finds the applicant: 
 


1. Has failed to furnish the required bond; 
 
2. Has knowingly made false statements in the application; 
 
3. Has habitually defaulted on financial obligations; 
 
4. Has been convicted of a felony within five [5] years immediately preceding receipt of the 
application by the commissioner; 
      
5. Has not complied and will not comply with the registration and title laws of this state; 
 
6. Has been guilty of any fraudulent act in connection with the business of License Service; 
or 
 
7. Has done any act or has failed or refused to perform any duty for which the license 
certificate could be suspended or revoked if it were issued. 


 
F. LICENSING PERIOD   
 


All License Service licenses are issued for a maximum period of one [1] year and run concurrent 
with the calendar year.  Even if a license is issued during the license year it will expire on the last 
day of the calendar year.  A LICENSE CERTIFICATE IS NOT TRANSFERABLE. 
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G. INVESTIGATION PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 
 


Upon receipt of a completed application, the required bond, and the application fee, the 
commissioner may conduct such investigation, as necessary, to determine the accuracy of any 
statements contained in the application and the existence of any other facts relevant in 
considering such application.  To facilitate such investigation, the commissioner may withhold 
issuance or refusal of the license certificate for a period not to exceed twenty [20] days.  


                                                                                                                    
H. DISPLAY OF LICENSE CERTIFICATE  
 


A licensee shall keep his or her license certificate posted at their place of business.  If they 
operate their business from more than one [1] location, then a certified copy of the license 
certificate shall be posted at each such location. 
 
If a license certificate becomes lost or destroyed, the licensee shall immediately make application 
for a certified copy.  A fee of one [$1.00] dollar shall be required. 


 
I. CHANGES IN BUSINESS 
 


Every License Service business shall notify the commissioner within sixty [60] days from the date 
on which any of the following changes in the business occur: 


 
1. A change of the location of any place of business; 
 
2. A change of the name or trade name under which the licensee engages or will engage in 
the business;  
 
3. The death of the licensee or any partner or partners thereof; 
 
4. A change in any partners, officers or directors; 
 
5. A change in ownership of the business; 
 
6. A change in the type of legal entity by and through which the licensee engages or will 
engage in the business; or 
 
7. The appointment of any trustee in bankruptcy, trustee under an assignment for the 
benefit of creditors, master or receiver.          
When any change specified in subdivision [1],[2], [3],[4],[5] or [6]  occurs, an application for a 
new license certificate shall immediately be filed with the commissioner: Provided, that when 
a subdivision [3] change is involved, an application for a new license certificate need not be 
filed during the balance of the license year if a member of the family of such deceased 
person succeeds to the interest in the business.  Upon receipt and review of the application, 
a new license certificate shall be issued incorporating the changes.  No additional fee for the 
balance of the license year shall be required for the issuance of any new license certificate 
issued as a result of any change specified. 


 
J.  REVOCATION OF LICENSE 
 


The commissioner may suspend or revoke a license certificate if it is found that the licensee: 
   


1. Has failed or refused to comply with the laws of this state relating to the registration and 
titling of vehicles and the giving of notices of transfers;   
 
2. Has failed or refused to comply with the provisions and requirements of §17A-6B of the 
code, and the promulgated rules and regulations authorized in §17A-2-9 of the code; or 


 
The commissioner shall suspend or revoke a license certificate if the commissioner finds that the 
licensee:  
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1. Has knowingly made a false statement of a material fact in his or her application for the 
license certificate then issued and outstanding; 
 
2. Has habitually defaulted on financial obligations; 
 
3. Has been guilty of any fraudulent act in connection with the License Service business; 
 
4. Has defrauded or is attempting to defraud the state or any political subdivision of the 
state of any taxes or fees in connection with the sale or transfer of any vehicle; 
 
5. Has committed fraud in the registration of a vehicle;  
 
6. Has knowingly purchased, sold or otherwise dealt in a stolen vehicle or vehicles; 
 
7. Has advertised by any means, with intent to defraud, any material representation or 
statement of fact which is untrue, misleading or deceptive in any particular, relating to the 
conduct of the licensed business; 
 
8. Has a license certificate to which he is not lawfully entitled; or 
 
9. The existence of any other ground upon which the license certificate could have been 
refused, or any ground which would be cause for refusing a license certificate to such 
licensee were he then applying for the same.  


 
Whenever a licensee fails or refuses to keep the bond required by §17A-6B-2 of the code in full 
force and effect, the license certificate of such licensee shall automatically be suspended unless 
and until the required bond is furnished to the commissioner, in which event the suspension shall 
be vacated.  
 
Whenever the commissioner shall refuse to issue a license certificate, or shall suspend or revoke 
a license certificate, or shall suspend the right of a licensee to issue temporary plates, he or she 
shall make and enter an order to that effect and shall cause a copy of such order to be served in 
person or by certified mail, return receipt requested, on the applicant or licensee, as the case may 
be. 
 
Suspensions hereunder shall continue until the cause therefore has been eliminated or corrected.  
Whenever a license certificate and the right of a licensee to issue temporary registration plates is 
suspended or revoked, the commissioner shall, in the order of suspension or revocation, direct 
the licensee to return to the division his or her license certificate and any temporary registration 
plates still in the licensee's possession and issued in conjunction with the issuance of such 
License Service certificate.  
 
Any applicant whose request for a license certificate is refused, and any licensee whose license 
certificate is suspended or revoked, may appeal such order in accordance with the procedures 
set by the commissioner. 
 
Revocation of a license certificate shall not preclude application for a new license certificate, 
which application shall be processed in the same manner.  The license certificate shall be issued 
or refused on the same grounds as any other application for a license certificate, except that any 
previous suspension and revocation may be considered in deciding whether to issue or refuse 
such license certificate.  


 
K. ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATES   
 


All applications for temporary registration plates shall be submitted on form MV 126-F-TR.  The 
cost of each plate is three dollars [$3.00].  No refund or credit of fees paid by License Services for 
temporary registration plates shall be allowed.  
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Every License Service who has made application for and received temporary registration plates 
shall maintain in permanent form a record of all temporary registration plates issued, and a record 
of any other information pertaining to the receipt or the issuance of temporary registration plates 
which the commissioner may require.  Each such record shall be kept for a period of at least 
three [3] years from the date of the making thereof. 
 
No License Service shall issue, assign or deliver a temporary registration plate to anyone unless 
and until the License Service has physical possession of the application and appropriate fees and 
taxes of the vehicle to be titled and registered.  Such application, fees, and taxes shall be 
postmarked to the issuing agency or submitted to the division within forty-eight [48] hours after 
issuance of the temporary plate.  
 
Every License Service who issues a temporary plate shall within five [5] working days after the 
issuance of said plate, send to the division a copy of the temporary registration certificate properly 
executed by the License Service and the purchaser.  The temporary registration certificate should 
be sent to:   Division of Motor Vehicles, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, WV, 
25317.  Attention: Temporary Plate Clerk.  
 
No temporary registration plates will be delivered to any License Service until such License 
Service has fully accounted for all temporary registration plates last delivered to such License 
Service by showing the number issued to purchasers and any on hand. 
 
A License Service shall not issue, assign, or deliver a temporary registration plate to anyone 
other than the bona fide applicant for title and registration of the vehicle to be registered.  Not 
more than one temporary registration plate shall be issued to the same bona fide applicant for the 
same vehicle.  A License Service shall not issue a temporary registration plate to anyone 
possessed of an annual registration plate for a vehicle which has been sold or exchanged, except 
a License Service may issue a temporary registration plate to the bona fide applicant of a vehicle 
to be registered who possesses an annual registration plate of a different class and makes 
application to the division to exchange such annual registration.  A License Service shall not lend 
to anyone, or use on any vehicle which they may own, a temporary registration plate. 
 
It is unlawful for any License Service to issue any temporary registration plate which contains a 
misstatement of fact. 


 
Every License Service who issues temporary registration plates shall affix or insert clearly and 
indelibly on the face of each temporary registration plate the date of issuance and expiration 
thereof, and the make, model, and serial number of the vehicle for which issued. 
 
If the commissioner finds that the provisions of §17A-6B of the code or his or her directions are 
not being complied with by a License Service, he or she may suspend the right of such License 
Service to issue temporary registration plates. 
 
A temporary registration plate shall expire upon the receipt of the annual registration plate from 
the division, or upon the rescission of the contract to purchase the vehicle in question, or upon 
the expiration of sixty days from the date of issuance, depending upon which event occurs first.  
 
A License Service may charge a fee not to exceed five dollars [$5.00] for issuing a temporary 
registration plate. 
 
A License Service shall not issue a temporary registration plate for a vehicle which has been 
purchased from a licensed West Virginia dealer; however, a License Service may issue a 
temporary registration plate for a vehicle entering West Virginia from another state or jurisdiction 
irrespective of the place of purchase. 
 
A License Service may issue a temporary registration plate to an individual coming into West 
Virginia from another state or jurisdiction so long as that individual gives to the License Service 
his or her title documents and fees and taxes for processing.   
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L. RECORD KEEPING AND DOCUMENT PROCESSING 
 


In addition to such records as required by §17A-6B-10 of the code and legislative rules, each 
License Service shall maintain a record/log of all work accepted by the License Service for 
processing.  Such record/log shall include the name and address of customer, vehicle 
identification information, type of transaction, the date of transaction and/or any activity relating to 
the transaction. 
 
If an investigation of a License Service financial records reveals that any tax or fee is due the 
state, the License Service's license shall be immediately suspended.  In addition to any 
administrative license suspension or revocation the division may pursue criminal or civil action to 
collect any taxes or fees due the division. 
 
All License Service records shall be open for inspection by authorized representatives of the 
division and all law enforcement offices during regular posted business hours. 


 
M. NONCOMPLIANCE WITH STATUTES, RULES, OR REGULATIONS 


 
License Services, as a condition of licensing, agree to abide by all policies and procedures 
established by the division in order to provide for the most efficient processing of work. 
 
The commissioner may suspend the processing of a License Service's documents due to 
noncompliance with any statute, rule, policy or procedure.  


 
N. INSPECTIONS   
 


The commissioner, and all law enforcement officers of the state acting at the commissioner's 
request, are authorized to inspect the place of business, pertinent records, and documents and 
papers of any person required to be licensed as a License Service to the extent deemed 
reasonably necessary to determine compliance with and violations of §17A-6B of the code.  For 
the purpose of making such inspection, the commissioner and such law enforcement officers are 
authorized at reasonable times to enter in and upon any such place of business.    
              
Any person who violates any provisions of §17A-6B of the code or any final order of the 
commissioner shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.  
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CHAPTER VII 
 
 
AUTOMOBILE AUCTIONS 
 


A. DEFINITION  
 


"Automobile Auction or Auctions" shall mean an auction or other sale where twenty or 
more used motor vehicles are offered for sale by auction within a license year.  This 
does not apply to a sale or auction of surplus vehicles by an agency of the state, a 
municipality of the state or of the federal government or a sale or auction of 
repossessed vehicles by a financial institution or a sale or auction by a licensed 
motor vehicle dealer of vehicles owned by said dealer.  For purposes of this 
definition, a used motor vehicle does not mean a vehicle for which a salvage 
certificate has been issued. 


 
B. APPLICATION 


 
A person, partnership or corporation may not engage in, represent or advertise that 
he, she or it is in the business of conducting automobile auctions without first 
obtaining a license certificate from the office of the commissioner.  The commissioner 
shall provide an application form for applicants seeking a license certificate.  The 
applicant shall provide full information required by the commissioner on the 
application form.  The applicant, if a person, shall verify the information on the form 
by oath or affirmation.  If the applicant is a partnership or corporation, the oath or 
affirmation shall be made by a partner or an officer of the corporation.       


 
C. SURETY BOND 


 
An application for a license certificate must be accompanied by a bond, issued by a 
surety corporation authorized to issue bonds in this state, in the penal sum of 
twenty-five thousand dollars, to ensure that the licensee will not make fraudulent 
representations to the detriment of any purchaser, seller, financial institution or the 
state of West Virginia.  The bond shall be effective on the date the license certificate 
is issued.  A licensee shall keep the bond in full force and effect at all times.  The 
aggregate liability of the surety in no event shall exceed the principal sum of the 
bond.  The surety of the bond shall have the right to cancel upon giving thirty days 
notice to the commissioner and shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition 
occurring after the effect date of the cancellation. 


 
D. INSURANCE 


 
An application for a license certificate must be accompanied by a certificate of insurance 
certifying that the applicant has in force an insurance policy, issued by an insurance company 
authorized to do business in the state, insuring the applicant any other person using any 
vehicle or vehicles owned by, or in the possession of, the applicant with the expressed or 
implied permission of the applicant, against loss from the liability imposed by law for 
damages arising out of the ownership, possession, operation, maintenance or use of such 
vehicles, subject to minimum limits, exclusive of interest and cost, with respect opt each 
vehicle, as follows: Twenty thousand dollars because of bodily injury to or death of one 
person in any one accident and, subject to said limit for one person, forty thousand dollars 
because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident and ten 
thousand dollars because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.  
The liability insurance policy shall run concurrently with the license year and shall remain in 
full force and effect at all times.  
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E. LOCATION AND FACILITY REQUIREMENTS 
 


Every automobile auction is required to comply with the following "Place of Business" 
requirements as set forth in §17A-6C-3 of the code: 


 
1. Be located at a permanent site which is owned or leased by the licensee; 
 
2. Have no other class of dealership operating from the automobile auction location; 
 
3. Have office space of at least one hundred forty-five square feet, with necessary office 
furniture, heating and lighting facilities, restroom facilities and a telephone listed in the 
name of the automobile auction. 
 
4. Maintain parking space for at least one hundred vehicles. 
 
5. Display at least one permanent sign that is clearly visible from the nearest street or 
highway.  The sign shall state that automobile auctions are conducted at that site. 


 
F. FEE REQUIRED  
      
        NITIAL               ENEWAL 
 
                                     250.00        $100.00  


 
The fee entitles the licensee to one special plate known as the Class AA special plate. 
  
The licensee is also entitled to additional Class AA special plates for a fee of twenty-five 
dollars each based on the following formula: 


      
ANNUAL VEHICLE SALES              ADDITIONAL AA PLATES 


0 - 239                        2 
       240 - 499    4  [Additional] 
       500 - 999    4  [Additional] 
      1000 - More    4  Plates per 500 
          vehicles sold 


 
G. INVESTIGATION PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OF LICENSE  
 


Upon receipt of a completed application, the required bond, certificate of insurance and the 
application fee, the commissioner may investigate to determine the accuracy of the 
application and any facts relevant to the application.  The commissioner may withhold 
issuance or refusal of a license for up to twenty day after an application is received. 
 
An application for a license certificate and any information submitted are confidential.  No 
person may divulge any information contained in any application or any information submitted 
except in response to a valid subpoena or subpoena duces tecum. 


 
H. REFUSAL OF LICENSE CERTIFICATE 
 


The commissioner shall deny an application if he or she finds that the applicant:  
 


1. Has failed to furnish the required bond; 
 
2. Has failed to furnish the required certificate of insurance;  
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3. Has knowingly made a false statement of a material fact in the application; 
 
4. Has habitually defaulted on financial obligations; 
 
5. Has been convicted of a felony within five years immediately preceding receipt of the 
application by the commissioner;         
 
6. Has been refused, or has had revoked, an automobile auction license in any other 
state or jurisdiction within five years immediately preceding receipt of the application by 
the commissioner; 
 
7. So far as can by ascertained, has not complied with and will not comply with the 
registration and title laws of this state; 
 
8. Has been convicted of any fraudulent act in connection with the business of an 
automobile auction; or 
 
9. Has committed any act or has failed or refused to perform any duty for which the 
license certificate, if issued, could be suspended or revoked. 


 
I. LICENSING PERIOD 
 


All automobile auction licenses are issued for a maximum period of one [1] year and run 
concurrent with the fiscal year.  Even if a license is issued during the license year it will expire 
on the last day of the fiscal year.  A LICENSE CERTIFICATE IS NOT TRANSFERABLE. 


 
J. DISPLAY OF LICENSE CERTIFICATE 
 


A licensee shall keep his or her license certificate posted at their place of business. When a 
licensee conducts business at more than one location, he or she shall obtain from the 
commissioner one certified copy of the license certificate for each place of business for a fee 
of one dollar each. 
 
In the event of the loss or destruction of a license certificate or a certified copy, the licensee 
shall immediately make application for a certified copy of the lost license certificate.  The fee 
for a replacement copy is three dollars. 


 
K. CHANGES IN BUSINESS 
 


Every automobile auction business shall notify the commissioner immediately when any of 
the following changes in the business occur:  
 


1.  A change of the location of any place of business:  
    
2. A change of the name or trade name under which the licensee engages or will 
engage in the business; 
 
3. The death of the licensee or any partner or partners thereof; 
 
4. A change in any partners, officers or directors; 
 
5. A change in ownership of the business; 
 
6. A change in the type of legal entity by and through which the licensee engages or will 
engage in the business; or 
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7. The appointment of any trustee in bankruptcy, trustee under an assignment for the 
benefit of creditors, master or receiver. 


     
When any change specified in subdivision [a], [b], [c], [d], [e] or [f] occurs, an application for a 
new license certificate shall immediately be filed with the commissioner: Provided, That when 
a subdivision [c] change is involved, an application for a new license certificate need not be 
filed during the balance of the license year if a member of the family of the deceased person 
succeeds to the interest in the business.   
 
Upon receipt and review of the application, a new license certificate shall be issued 
incorporating the changes.  No additional fee for the balance of the license year shall be 
required for the issuance of any new license certificate issued as a result of any change 
specified in subdivision [a], [b], [c], [d], [e] or [f]. 
 
No new license certificate is required for any trustee in bankruptcy, trustee under an 
assignment for the benefit of creditors, receiver or master, appointed pursuant to law, who 
takes charge of or operates such business for the purpose of winding up the affairs of such 
business or protecting the interest of the creditors of such business.      


 
L. REVOCATION OF LICENSE 
 


The commissioner may suspend or revoke a license certificate if the commissioner finds that 
the licensee: 


 
1. Has failed or refused to comply with the laws of this state relating to the registration 
and titling of vehicles and requiring notices of transfers; or  
 
2. Has failed or refused to comply with the provisions of §17A-6C of the code and the 
promulgated rules and regulations authorized in §17A-2-9 of the code.  


 
The commissioner shall suspend or revoke a license certificate if the commissioner finds that 
the licensee: 


 
1. Has knowingly made a false statement of a material fact in his or her application for 
the license certificate then issued and outstanding; 
 
2. Has habitually defaulted on financial obligations;   
 
3. Has been guilty of any fraudulent act in connection with the automobile auction 
business; 
 
4. Has defrauded or is attempting to defraud the state or any political subdivision of the 
state of any taxes or fees in connection with the sale or transfer of any vehicle;  
 
5. Has committed fraud in the registration of a vehicle; 
 
6. Has knowingly purchased, sold or otherwise dealt in a stolen vehicle or vehicles; 
 
7. Has advertised by any means, with intent to defraud, any material misrepresentation 
or misleading or deceptive statement of fact, relating to the conduct of the licensed 
business; 
 
8. Has a license certificate to which he is not lawfully entitled; or; 
 
9. Has committed an act for which a certificate could have been refused. 
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If a licensee fails or refuses to keep in effect the bond or liability insurance required by the 
code, the license certificate of the licensee shall automatically be suspended unless and until 
the required bond and certificate of insurance is furnished to the commissioner, in which 
event the suspension shall be vacated. 
 
If the commissioner refuses to issue a license certificate, or suspends or revokes a license 
certificate, or suspends the right of a licensee to issue temporary plates or markers under the 
provisions §17A-6-11 of the code, he or she shall make and enter an order to that effect and 
shall cause a copy of this order to be served in person or by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, on the applicant or licensee. 
 
Suspensions continue until the cause of suspension is eliminated or corrected.  If a license 
certificate and the right of a licensee to issue temporary registration plates or markers is 
suspended or revoked, the commissioner shall, in the order of suspension or revocation, 
direct the licensee to return to the division his or her license certificate and any temporary 
registration plates or markers in the licensee's possession and issued in conjunction with the 
issuance of an automobile auction certificate.  If a licensee fails or refuses to comply with any 
order of the commissioner, the commissioner shall proceed as provided in §17A-9-7 of the 
code.  
 
Any applicant whose request for a license certificate is refused, and any licensee whose 
license certificate is suspended or revoked, may appeal the suspension or revocation in 
accordance with the rules promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to §17A-6C of the 
code. 
 
Revocation of a license certificate shall not preclude application for a new license certificate, 
which shall be processed in the same manner.  The license certificate shall be issued or 
denied on the same grounds as any other application for a license certificate, except that any 
previous suspension and revocation may be considered in deciding whether to issue or 
refuse the license certificate. 


 
M. ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATES 
 


In order to permit a vehicle which is to be titled and registered to be operated on the streets 
and highways pending receipt of the annual registration plate the commissioner may, subject 
to the following limitations, deliver temporary vehicle registration plates or markers to persons 
engaged in the automobile auction business for issuance to applicants for title and 
registration of vehicles.  
 
An application by an automobile auction business to the commissioner for temporary 
registration plates or markers shall be made on the form prescribed and furnished by the 
commissioner and shall be accompanied by a fee of three dollars for each temporary 
registration plate or marker.  No refund or credit of fees paid by automobile auction 
businesses to the commissioner for temporary registration plates or  markers is allowed, 
except in the event the commissioner discontinues the issuance of temporary plates or 
markers.  Automobile auction businesses returning temporary registration plates or markers 
to the commissioner may petition for and be entitled to a refund or a credit.  


 
Every automobile auction business applying for and receiving temporary registration plates or 
markers shall maintain in permanent form a record of all temporary registration plates or 
markers delivered to the licensee, a record of all temporary registration plates or markers 
issued and a record of any other information pertaining to the receipt or the issuance of 
temporary registration plates or markers which the commissioner may require.  Each record 
shall be kept for a period of at least three years from the date issued.  Every automobile 
auction business issuing a temporary registration plate or marker shall send to the division a 
copy of the temporary registration plate or marker certificate properly executed by the 
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automobile auction business and the purchaser within five working days after the issuance of 
the plate or marker. The temporary registration certificate should be sent to:  Division of 
Motor Vehicles, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, WV. 25317.  Attention: 
Dealer Services/Temporary Plate Clerk.  
 
No temporary registration plate or markers may be delivered to any automobile auction 
business until the business has fully accounted to the commissioner for the temporary 
registration plates or markers last delivered by showing the number issued to purchasers and 
the number remaining to be issued.                              
 
An automobile auction business may not issue, assign or deliver a temporary registration 
plate or marker to anyone other than the bona fide applicant for title and registration of the 
vehicle to be registered.  Not more than one temporary registration plate or marker may be 
issued to the same bona fide applicant for the same vehicle. An automobile auction business 
may not issue a temporary registration or marker to anyone possessing an annual 
registration plate for a vehicle which has been sold or exchanged, except an automobile 
auction business may issue a temporary registration plate or marker to the bona fide 
applicant who possesses an annual registration plate of a different class and it may make 
application to the division to exchange the annual registration plate of a different class in 
accordance with the provisions of Article 4, Section 1, of the code.  An automobile auction 
business may not lend to anyone or use on any vehicle which it may own, a temporary 
registration plate or marker.  It is unlawful for any automobile auction business to issue any 
temporary registration plate or marker which contains a misstatement of fact or false 
information.  
 
Every automobile auction business issuing temporary registration plates or markers shall affix 
or insert clearly and indelibly on the fact of each temporary registration plate or marker the 
date of issuance, the date of expiration and the make, model and serial number of the 
vehicle. 
 
If the commissioner finds that the provisions of this section or his or her directions are not 
being complied with by an automobile auction business, the commissioner may suspend the 
right of the automobile auction business to issue temporary registration plates or markers. 
 
A temporary registration plate or marker expires upon the receipt of the annual registration 
plate from the division, or upon the rescission of the contract to purchase the vehicle in 
question, or upon the expiration of sixty days from the date of issuance, whichever event 
occurs first. 


 
N. USE OF SPECIALPLATES; RECORDS TO BE MAINTAINED; OPERATION OF VEHICLES 
UNDER SPECIAL PLATES; EXPIRATION OF SPECIAL PLATE  


 
Class AA special plates may be used by the automobile auction business receiving them only 
for the purpose of transporting or moving consigned or owned motor vehicles to and from the 
automobile auction in the normal course of business or for purposes of demonstrating 
vehicles owned by the auction which are offered for sale: Provided, That under no 
circumstances may a Class AA special plate be used on any work or service vehicle owned 
by the automobile auction business, on any vehicle being operated for personal reasons or 
on any vehicle sold by or through it to a purchaser. 
 
Every automobile auction business entitled to and issued a special plate or plates under the 
provisions of §17A-6C of the code shall keep a written record of the location of each plate.  
Every record shall be open to inspection by the commissioner, his or her representative or 
any law-enforcement officer, when acting in an official capacity.  
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An automobile auction business licensee who holds on consignment a vehicle or vehicles of 
the type required to be registered under Chapter 17A of the code may operate or move the 
same upon the streets and highways without registering each vehicle if the vehicle displays a 
special plate issued as provided in §17A-6C of the code.  
 
Every special plate or plates shall expire at midnight on the thirtieth day of June.  A new plate 
or plates for the ensuing year may be obtained as specified in §17A-6C-4 of the code. 
 


O. RECORD KEEPING 
 


In addition to all other records required to be kept and maintained, the licensee shall keep 
and maintain a record of the following on forms and for the period of time proscribed by the 
commissioner: 
 


1. Every vehicle which is sold at auction by a licensee or received or accepted by the 
licensee for sale at auction;  
 
2. The name and address of the person from whom the vehicle was acquired and the 
date thereof, the name and address of the person to whom the vehicle was sold or 
auctioned, the date thereof and a description of each vehicle with name and identifying 
numbers sufficient to identify it; and 
 
3. Records as the commissioner may require by reasonable rules promulgated pursuant 
to §17A-6C of the code. 


 
All records required to be kept and maintained shall be kept for a period of at least three 
years from the date of the making and shall be open to inspection by the commissioner, his 
or her representative or any law-enforcement officer while acting in an official capacity. 


 
P. NOTICE OF REFUSAL, OR SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION, OF LICENSE CERTIFICATE 
OR OF SUSPENSION OF RIGHT TO ISSUE TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATES OR 
MARKERS OR OF SUSPENSION OF AN AUTOMOBILE AUCTION SPECIAL PLATE OR 
PLATES; RELINQUISHING LICENSE CERTIFICATE, DEALER SPECIAL PLATE OR PLATES 
AND TEMPORARY PLATES OR MARKERS   
 


If the commissioner refuses to issue a license certificate, or suspends or revokes a license 
certificate, or suspends the right of an automobile auction business to issue temporary plates 
or markers under the provisions of §17A-6C-15 of the code, or suspends a Class AA special 
plate or plates, he or she shall make and enter an order to that effect and shall cause a copy 
of the order to be served in person or by certified mail, return receipt requested, on the 
applicant or licensee. 
 
If a license certificate is suspended or revoked, the commissioner shall, in the order of 
suspension or revocation, direct the licensee to return to the department his or her license 
certificate and any special Class AA plates and temporary registration plates or markers 
issued in conjunction with the issuance of the license certificate of the business.   
 
If the right of an automobile auction business to issue temporary registration plates or 
markers is suspended or a Class AA special plate or plates are suspended, the 
commissioner shall in the order of suspension direct the licensee to return to the department 
all temporary registration plates or markers issued in conjunction with the business.  It is the 
duty of the licensee to comply with an order.  If the licensee fails or refuses to comply with 
any order, the commissioner shall proceed as provided in §17A-9 of the code. 
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Q. INSPECTIONS; PENALTIES 
 


The commissioner and law-enforcement officers of the state, acting at the commissioner's 
request, are hereby authorized to inspect the place of business and pertinent records, 
documents and papers of any person required to be licensed under the provisions of 
§17A-6C of the code to the extent deemed reasonably necessary to determine compliance 
with the provisions of §17A-6C.   
 
For the purpose of making an inspection, the commissioner and law-enforcement officers are 
authorized, at reasonable times, to enter the place of business. 
 
Any person who violates any provision of §17A-6C of the code or any final order of the 
commissioner is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject to the provisions of §17A-11 of the 
code.  


 
R. INJUNCTIVE RELIEF 
 


If it appears to the commissioner that any person or licensee has violated any provision of 
§17A-6C of the code or any final order of the commissioner, the commissioner may petition, 
in the name of the state, the circuit court of the country which the violation  or violations 
occurred, for an injunction against such person or licensee.  A violation or violations resulting 
in prosecution or conviction under the provisions of §17A-11 of the code shall not prohibit 
injunctive relief. 
 
The circuit court may, by mandatory or prohibitory injunction, compel compliance with the 
provisions of §17A-6C of the code and all final orders of the commissioner.    
 
The court may also issue temporary injunctions.   
 
The judgment by the circuit court is final unless reversed, vacated or modified on appeal to 
the supreme court of appeals.  Any such appeal shall be sought in the manner and within the 
time provided by law for appeals from circuit courts in other civil cases.  
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CHAPTER VIII 
 


TITLE AND REGISTRATION LAWS 
 
Issuance of Title and Registration 


 
17A-3-2. Every motor vehicle, etc., subject to regi stration and certificate of title provisions; 


exceptions. 
 


(a)  Every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, pole trailer and recreational vehicle when driven or 
moved upon a highway is subject to the registration and certificate of title provisions of 
this chapter except:   
 
(1) Any vehicle driven or moved upon a highway in conformance with the provisions of 


this chapter relating to manufacturers, transporters, dealers, lienholders or 
nonresidents or under a temporary registration permit issued by the division as 
authorized under this chapter;   


 
(2) Any implement of husbandry upon which is securely attached a machine for spraying 


fruit trees and plants of the owner or lessee or for any other implement of husbandry 
which is used exclusively for agricultural or horticultural purposes on lands owned or 
leased by the owner of the implement and which is not operated on or over any 
public highway of this state for any other purpose other than for the purpose of 
operating it across a highway or along a highway other than an expressway as 
designated by the commissioner of the division of highways from one point of the 
owner's land to another part of the owner's land, irrespective of whether or not the 
tracts adjoin: Provided, That the distance between the points may not exceed twenty-
five miles, or for the purpose of taking it or other fixtures attached to the implement, 
to and from a repair shop for repairs. The exemption in this subdivision from 
registration and license requirements also applies to any vehicle described in this 
subsection or to any farm trailer owned by the owner or lessee of the farm on which 
the trailer is used, when the trailer is used by the owner of the trailer for the purpose 
of moving farm produce and livestock from the farm along a public highway for a 
distance not to exceed twenty-five miles to a storage house or packing plant, when 
the use is a seasonal operation:   


 
(A) The exemptions contained in this section also apply to farm machinery and 


tractors: Provided, That the machinery and tractors may use the highways in 
going from one tract of land to another tract of land regardless of whether the 
land is owned by the same or different persons;   


 
(B) Any vehicle exempted under this subsection from the requirements of annual 


registration certificate and license plates and fees for the registration certificate 
and license plate may not use the highways between sunset and sunrise;   


 
(C)  Any vehicle exempted under this section from the requirements of annual 


registration certificate and license plates may use the highways as provided in 
this section whether the exempt vehicle is self-propelled, towed by another 
exempt vehicle or towed by another vehicle required to be registered;   


 
(D)  Any vehicle used as an implement of husbandry exempt under this section shall 


have the words "farm use" affixed to both sides of the implement in ten inch 
letters. Any vehicle which would be subject to registration as a Class A or B 
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vehicle if not exempted by this section shall display a farm-use exemption 
certificate on the lower driver's side of the windshield:   


 
(i) The farm-use exemption certificate shall be provided by the 


commissioner and shall be issued annually by the assessor of the 
applicant's county of residence. The assessor shall issue a farm-use 
exemption certificate to the applicant upon his or her determination 
pursuant to an examination of the property books or documentation 
provided by the applicant that the vehicle has been properly 
assessed as Class I personal property. The assessor shall charge a 
fee of two dollars for each certificate, which shall be retained by the 
assessor;   


 
(ii) A farm-use exemption certificate shall not exempt the applicant from 


maintaining the security required by chapter seventeen-d [§§ 17D-1-
1 et seq.] of this code on any vehicle being operated on the roads or 
highways of this state;   


 
(iii) No person charged with the offense of operating a vehicle without a 


farm-use exemption certificate, if required under this section, may be 
convicted of the offense if he or she produces in court, or in the office 
of the arresting officer, a valid farm-use exemption certificate for the 
vehicle in question within five days;   


 
(3) Any vehicle which is propelled exclusively by electric power obtained from overhead 


trolley wires though not operated upon rails;   
 
(4) Any vehicle of a type subject to registration which is owned by the government of the 


United States;   
 
(5) Any wrecked or disabled vehicle towed by a licensed wrecker or dealer on the public 


highways of this state;   
 


(6) The following recreational vehicles are exempt from the requirements of annual registration, 
license plates and fees, unless otherwise specified  
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by law, but are subject to the certificate of title provisions of this chapter regardless of 


highway use: Motorboats, all-terrain vehicles and snowmobiles; and   
 
(7) Any special mobile equipment as defined in subsection (r), section one [§ 17A-1-1(r)], 


article one of this chapter.   
 


(b)  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a) of this section:   
 


(1) Mobile homes or manufactured homes are exempt from the requirements 
of annual registration, license plates and fees;   


 
 (2) House trailers may be registered and licensed; and   


 
(3) Factory-built homes are subject to the certificate of title provisions of this 


chapter.   
 


17A-3-3. Application for registration; statement of  insurance or other proof of security to 
accompany application; criminal penalties; fees; sp ecial revolving fund. 
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Every owner of a vehicle subject to registration under this article shall make application to the 
division for the registration of the vehicle upon the appropriate form or forms furnished by the 
division and every such application shall bear the signature of the owner or his or her 
authorized agent, written with pen and ink, and the application shall contain:   


 
(a) The name, bona fide residence and mailing address of the owner, the county in 


which he or she resides, or business address of the owner if a firm, association or 
corporation.   


 
(b) A description of the vehicle including, insofar as the data specified in this section may 


exist with respect to a given vehicle, the make, model, type of body, the 
manufacturer's serial or identification number or other number as determined by the 
commissioner.   


 
(c) In the event a motor vehicle is designed, constructed, converted or rebuilt for the 


transportation of property, the application shall include a statement of its declared 
gross weight if the motor vehicle is to be used alone, or if the motor vehicle is to be 
used in combination with other vehicles, the application for registration of the motor 
vehicle shall include a statement of the combined declared gross weight of the motor 
vehicle and the vehicles to be drawn by the motor vehicle; declared gross weight 
being the weight declared by the owner to be the actual combined weight of the 
vehicle or combination of vehicles and load when carrying the maximum load which 
the owner intends to place on the vehicle; and the application for registration of each 
vehicle shall also include a statement of the distance between the first and last axles 
of that vehicle or combination of vehicles.  The declared gross weight stated in the 
application shall not exceed the permissible gross weight for the axle spacing listed 
in the application as determined by the table of permissible gross weights contained 
in chapter seventeen-c [§§ 17C-1-1 et seq.] of this code; and any vehicle registered 
for a declared gross weight as stated in the application is subject to the single-axle 
load limit set forth in chapter seventeen-c of this code.   


 
(d) Each applicant shall state whether the vehicle is or is not to be used in the public 


transportation of passengers or property, or both, for compensation, and if used for 
compensation, or to be used, the applicants shall certify that the vehicle is used for 
compensation, and shall, as a condition precedent to the registration of such vehicle, 
obtain a certificate of convenience, or permit from the public service commission.   


 
(e) A statement under penalty of false swearing that liability insurance is in effect and will 


continue to be in effect through the entire term of the vehicle registration period 
within limits which shall be no less than the requirement of section two [§ 17D-4-2], 
article four, chapter seventeen-d of this code, which shall contain the name of the 
applicant's insurer, the name of the agent or agency which issued the policy and the 
effective date of the policy, and such other information as may be required by the 
commissioner of motor vehicles, or that the applicant has qualified as a self-insurer 
meeting the requirements of section two [§ 17D-6-2], article six, chapter seventeen-d 
of the code and that as a self-insurer he or she has complied with the minimum 
security requirements as established in section two, article four, chapter seventeen-
d, or that the applicant has submitted bond or other security approved by the 
commissioner of motor vehicles which shall provide the equivalent of the policy of 
insurance specified in this section, or that the applicant has submitted the required 
cash or other securities with the state treasurer as set forth in the provisions of 
section sixteen [§ 17D-4-16], article four, chapter seventeen-d of this code.   


 
(1) Intentional lapses of insurance coverage.   
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(A) In the case of a periodic use or seasonal vehicle, as defined in section 
three [§ 17D-2A-3], article two-a, chapter seventeen-d of this code, the 
owner may provide, in lieu of other statements required by this section, a 
statement, under penalty of false swearing, that liability insurance is in 
effect during the portion of the year the vehicle is in actual use, within 
limits which shall be no less than the requirements of section two [§ 
17D-4-2], article four, chapter seventeen-d of this code, and other 
information relating to the seasonal use, on a form designed and 
provided by the division.   


 
(B) Any registrant who prior to expiration of his or her vehicle registration 


drops or cancels insurance coverage for any reason other than periodic 
or seasonal use shall either surrender the registration plate or shall, by 
certified mail, notify the division of the cancellation. The notice shall 
contain a statement under penalty of false swearing that the vehicle will 
not be operated on the roads or highways of this state.   


 
(C) The registration of any vehicle upon which insurance coverage has been 


dropped or canceled under paragraph (B) shall be reinstated upon 
submission of current proof of insurance and payment of the duplicate 
plate fee prescribed by this chapter.   


 
(2) Verification process.   
 (NOTE: This section was recently struck down by Court action) 
 


The division shall select no fewer than one percent of the total number of 
motor vehicles registered annually for a random sample verification of current 
insurance coverage. The division may also select an owners statement of 
insurance submitted at the time of registration or registration renewal for 
verification.   
 
Random sample verification of current insurance coverage shall be 
conducted on a monthly basis. The basis for each sample shall be the entire 
registered motor vehicle base. The selection of a registration for random 
sample verification shall not preclude the registration from being selected 
again in any subsequent month.   
 
The division shall notify the registrant by regular mail that he or she has 
twenty days to provide the division with proof of insurance indicating current 
insurance coverage on the indicated vehicle as of the date of the notice. The 
information shall be verified with the indicated insurance company as 
provided in this section or in the case of a verification of the original owner's 
statement of insurance, proof of insurance as of the date of submission of the 
owner's statement.   
 
When a statement or registration is selected for verification, the division shall 
forward the information provided by the registrant to the listed insurer. The 
insurer shall notify the division, on a form required by the commissioner, 
within twenty calendar days if the liability insurance is or is not in effect, as 
required by this section.   
 
The division may select for verification any statement of liability insurance 
submitted by a person who has previously been convicted or whose 
registration or driver's license has been suspended for violating the 
provisions of section three, article two-a, chapter seventeen-d of this code, or 
whose statements of liability insurance have previously been found to be 
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incorrect. The division may also determine the correctness of information 
relating to proof of other security satisfying the requirements of this section.   
 
Following the twenty-day period, if the registrant has not responded, or the 
division determines through the verification process with the insurance 
company that there is or was no liability insurance in effect, and the registrant 
has not complied with the provisions of intentional lapse of insurance, then 
the commissioner shall send a notice of pending suspension of the motor 
vehicle registration and the suspension of the owner or owner's driver's 
license to the registrant by certified mail. The notice of pending suspension 
shall grant the registrant an additional twenty days from the date of the 
mailing to provide current proof of insurance as of the original notice date or 
other requested information to the commissioner. Following this additional 
twenty-day period, if the registrant fails to provide proof of current insurance 
coverage as of the date of the original notice, an order of suspension shall be 
directed to the superintendent by the commissioner as provided in section 
seven [§ 17A-9-7], article nine of this chapter.   
 
The commissioner shall suspend the motor vehicle registration until current 
proof of insurance is received and shall suspend the driver's license of the 
owner or owners of the motor vehicle for a period of ninety days: Provided, 
That whenever the commissioner determines that the vehicle was actually 
insured despite the receipt of a notice from the insurer, or the license plate 
was surrendered to the division upon cancellation of coverage or that the 
registrant complied with the intentional lapse of coverage notice provisions, 
the suspension shall be withdrawn and any fees collected by the state shall 
be returned.   
 
Upon the timely written request of a person whose vehicle registration or 
driver's license is suspended under the provisions of this section, the 
commissioner shall stay the suspension, and afford the person an 
opportunity to be heard. The written request must be filed with the 
commissioner in person or by registered or certified mail, return receipt 
requested, within ten days after receipt of a copy of the order of suspension.   
 
If the commissioner finds that the person whose vehicle registration or 
driver's license was suspended was not in violation of the provisions of this 
section, the commissioner shall rescind his or her earlier order of 
suspension.   
 
A copy of the commissioner's order made and entered following the hearing 
shall be served on the person by registered or certified mail, return receipt 
requested. During the pendency of any hearing, the revocation of the 
person's license to operate a motor vehicle in this state shall be stayed. If the 
commissioner shall, after hearing, make and enter an order affirming the 
commissioner's earlier order of revocation, the person shall be entitled to 
judicial review as set forth in chapter twenty-nine-a [§§ 29A-1-1 et seq.] of 
this code. The commissioner shall not stay enforcement of the order during 
the appeal. Pending the appeal, the court may grant a stay or supersedeas 
of the order only upon motion and hearing, and a finding by the court upon 
the evidence presented, that there is a substantial probability that the 
appellant shall prevail upon the merits, and the appellant will suffer 
irreparable harm if the order is not stayed: Provided, That in no event shall 
the stay or supersedeas of the order exceed thirty days.   
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(3) If any person making an application required under the provisions of this 
section, in the application knowingly provides false information, false proof of 
security or a false statement of insurance, or if any person, including an 
applicant's insurance agent, knowingly counsels, advises, aids or abets 
another in providing false information, false proof of security, or a false 
statement of insurance in the application, he or she is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than five 
hundred dollars, or be imprisoned in the county or regional jail for a period 
not to exceed fifteen days, or both fined and imprisoned, and in addition to 
the fine or imprisonment shall have his or her operator's or chauffeur's 
license and vehicle registration suspended for a period of six months.   


 
(f) Any further information as may reasonably be required by the division to 


enable it to determine whether the vehicle is lawfully entitled to 
registration.   


 
(g) Each such application for registration shall be accompanied by the fees 


provided in this article, and an additional fee of fifty cents for each motor 
vehicle for which the applicant seeks registration, the fee to be deposited 
in a special revolving fund for the operation by the division of its 
functions established by the provisions of article two-a [§§ 17D-2A-1 et 
seq.], chapter seventeen-d of this code.   


 
 


17A-3-3a. Payment of personal property taxes and em ergency ambulance fees 
prerequisite to registration or renewal; duties of assessors; schedule of 
automobile values. 
 
(a) Certificates of registration and renewal of registration of any vehicle or registration 
plates for any vehicle may not be issued or furnished by the division of motor vehicles, or 
any other officer charged with the duty, unless the applicant for the certificate or 
registration plate, except an applicant exempt from payment of registration fees under 
section eight, article ten of this chapter, has furnished the receipt provided for in this 
section to show full payment of: 


 
(1)(A) The personal property taxes for the calendar year which immediately precedes 
the calendar year in which application is made on all vehicles which were registered 
with the division of motor vehicles in the applicant's name on the tax day for the 
former calendar year; and 
 
(B) All emergency ambulance fees owed pursuant to section seventeen, article 
fifteen, chapter seven of this code, at the time the receipt is prepared, except for any 
of the fees that are not yet past due: Provided, That any county which does not 
impose emergency ambulance fees or which chooses not to show emergency 
ambulance fees on the personal property tax receipt may issue a receipt without 
complying with paragraph (B), subdivision (1) of this subsection and the 
commissioner of motor vehicles may issue or renew registration without regard to 
such fees; 
 
(2)(A) When an applicant has chosen the optional two-year registration system 
provided for in section sixteen of this article, the personal property taxes for the two 
calendar years immediately preceding the calendar year in which application is made 
on all vehicles which were registered with the division of motor vehicles in the 
applicant's name on the tax day for the former calendar year; and 
 
(B) All emergency ambulance fees owed pursuant to section seventeen, article 
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fifteen, chapter seven of this code, at the time the receipt is prepared, except for any 
of the fees that are not yet past due: Provided, That any county which does not 
impose emergency ambulance fees or which chooses not to show emergency 
ambulance fees on the personal property tax receipt may issue a receipt without 
complying with paragraph (B), subdivision (1) of this subsection and the 
commissioner of motor vehicles may issue or renew registration without regard to 
such fees. 


 
(b) If the applicant contends that any registered vehicle was not subject to personal 
property taxation for that year or that he or she does not owe any emergency ambulance 
fees if a receipt for fees are required by the county, he or she shall furnish the information 
and evidence as the commissioner of motor vehicles may require to substantiate his or 
her contention. 
 
(c) The assessor shall require any person having a duty to make a return of property for 
taxation to him or her to furnish information identifying each vehicle subject to the 
registration provisions of this chapter. When the property taxes on any vehicle have been 
paid, the officer to whom the payment was made shall deliver to the person paying the 
taxes a written or printed receipt for the payment and shall retain for his or her records a 
duplicate of the receipt. It is the duty of the assessor and sheriff, respectively, to see that 
the assessment records and the receipts contain information adequately identifying the 
vehicle as registered under the provisions of this chapter. The officer receiving payment 
shall sign each receipt in his or her own handwriting. 
 
(d) Each receipt given to a taxpayer for payment of personal property taxes on a vehicle 
may indicate on the receipt whether the taxpayer has paid all emergency ambulance fees 
owed pursuant to section seventeen, article fifteen, chapter seven of this code at the time 
the receipt is prepared, except for any of the fees that are not yet past due: Provided, 
That the county shall include on the same notice of personal property taxes due the 
additional amount due for all emergency ambulance fees. 
 
(e) The state tax commissioner shall annually compile a schedule of automobile values, 
based on the lowest values shown in a nationally accepted used car guide. The state tax 
commissioner shall furnish the schedule to each assessor and it shall be used by him or 
her as a guide in placing the assessed values on all automobiles in his or her county. 
 


17A-3-4. Application for certificate of title; tax for privilege of certification of title; 
exceptions; fee on payments for leased vehicles; pe nalty for false swearing. 


 
(a) Certificates of registration of any vehicle or registration plates for the vehicle, whether 


original issues or duplicates, may not be issued or furnished by the division of motor 
vehicles or any other officer or agent charged with the duty, unless the applicant 
already has received, or at the same time makes application for and is granted, an 
official certificate of title of the vehicle in either an electronic or paper format. The 
application shall be upon a blank form to be furnished by the division of motor 
vehicles and shall contain a full description of the vehicle, which description shall 
contain a manufacturer's serial or identification number or other number as 
determined by the commissioner and any distinguishing marks, together with a 
statement of the applicant's title and of any liens or encumbrances upon the vehicle, 
the names and addresses of the holders of the liens and any other information as the 
division of motor vehicles may require. The application shall be signed and sworn to 
by the applicant. A duly certified copy of the division's electronic record of a certificate 
of title is admissible in any civil, criminal or administrative proceeding in this state as 
evidence of ownership. 


 
(b)  A tax is imposed upon the privilege of effecting the certification of title of each vehicle 
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in the amount equal to five percent of the value of the motor vehicle at the time of the 
certification, to be assessed as follows: 


 
(1) If the vehicle is new, the actual purchase price or consideration to the purchaser 
of the vehicle is the value of the vehicle. If the vehicle is a used or secondhand 
vehicle, the present market value at time of transfer or purchase is the value of the 
vehicle for the purposes of this section: Provided, That so much of the purchase 
price or consideration as is represented by the exchange of other vehicles on which 
the tax imposed by this section has been paid by the purchaser shall be deducted 
from the total actual price or consideration paid for the vehicle, whether the vehicle 
be new or secondhand. If the vehicle is acquired through gift or by any manner 
whatsoever, unless specifically exempted in this section, the present market value of 
the vehicle at the time of the gift or transfer is the value of the vehicle for the 
purposes of this section. 
 
(2) No certificate of title for any vehicle may be issued to any applicant unless the 
applicant has paid to the division of motor vehicles the tax imposed by this section 
which is five percent of the true and actual value of the vehicle whether the vehicle is 
acquired through purchase, by gift or by any other manner whatsoever, except gifts 
between husband and wife or between parents and children: Provided, That the 
husband or wife, or the parents or children, previously have paid the tax on the 
vehicles transferred to the state of West Virginia. 
 
(3) The division of motor vehicles may issue a certificate of registration and title to an 
applicant if the applicant provides sufficient proof to the division of motor vehicles 
that the applicant has paid the taxes and fees required by this section to a motor 
vehicle dealership that has gone out of business or has filed bankruptcy proceedings 
in the United States bankruptcy court and the taxes and fees so required to be paid 
by the applicant have not been sent to the division by the motor vehicle dealership or 
have been impounded due to the bankruptcy proceedings: Provided, That the 
applicant makes an affidavit of the same and assigns all rights to claims for money 
the applicant may have against the motor vehicle dealership to the division of motor 
vehicles. 
 
(4) The division of motor vehicles shall issue a certificate of registration and title to an 
applicant without payment of the tax imposed by this section if the applicant is a 
corporation, partnership or limited liability company transferring the vehicle to another 
corporation, partnership or limited liability company when the entities involved in the 
transfer are members of the same controlled group and the transferring entity has 
previously paid the tax on the vehicle transferred. For the purposes of this section, 
control means ownership, directly or indirectly, of stock or equity interests possessing 
fifty percent or more of the total combined voting power of all classes of the stock of 
a corporation or equity interests of a partnership or limited liability company entitled 
to vote or ownership, directly or indirectly, of stock or equity interests possessing fifty 
percent or more of the value of the corporation, partnership or limited liability 
company. 
 
(5) The tax imposed by this section does not apply to vehicles to be registered as 
Class H vehicles or Class M vehicles, as defined in section one, article ten of this 
chapter, which are used or to be used in interstate commerce. Nor does the tax 
imposed by this section apply to the titling of Class B vehicles registered at a gross 
weight of fifty-five thousand pounds or more, or to the titling of Class C semitrailers, 
full trailers, pole trailers and converter gear: Provided, That if an owner of a vehicle 
has previously titled the vehicle at a declared gross weight of fifty-five thousand 
pounds or more and the title was issued without the payment of the tax imposed by 
this section, then before the owner may obtain registration for the vehicle at a gross 
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weight less than fifty-five thousand pounds, the owner shall surrender to the 
commissioner the exempted registration, the exempted certificate of title and pay the 
tax imposed by this section based upon the current market value of the vehicle: 
Provided, however, That notwithstanding the provisions of section nine, article 
fifteen, chapter eleven of this code, the exemption from tax under this section for 
Class B vehicles in excess of fifty-five thousand pounds and Class C semitrailers, full 
trailers, pole trailers and converter gear does not subject the sale or purchase of the 
vehicles to the consumers sales tax. 
 
(6) The tax imposed by this section does not apply to titling of vehicles leased by 
residents of West Virginia. A tax is imposed upon the monthly payments for the lease 
of any motor vehicle leased by a resident of West Virginia, which tax is equal to five 
percent of the amount of the monthly payment, applied to each payment, and 
continuing for the entire term of the initial lease period. The tax shall be remitted to 
the division of motor vehicles on a monthly basis by the lessor of the vehicle. 
 
(7) The tax imposed by this section does not apply to titling of vehicles by a 
registered dealer of this state for resale only, nor does the tax imposed by this 
section apply to titling of vehicles by this state or any political subdivision thereof, or 
by any volunteer fire department or duly chartered rescue or ambulance squad 
organized and incorporated under the laws of the state of West Virginia as a 
nonprofit corporation for protection of life or property. The total amount of revenue 
collected by reason of this tax shall be paid into the state road fund and expended by 
the commissioner of highways for matching federal funds allocated for West Virginia. 
In addition to the tax, there is a charge of five dollars for each original certificate of 
title or duplicate certificate of title so issued: Provided, That this state or any political 
subdivision of this state or any volunteer fire department or duly chartered rescue 
squad is exempt from payment of the charge. 
 
(8) The certificate is good for the life of the vehicle, so long as the vehicle is owned or 
held by the original holder of the certificate, and need not be renewed annually, or 
any other time, except as provided in this section. 
 
(9) If, by will or direct inheritance, a person becomes the owner of a motor vehicle 
and the tax imposed by this section previously has been paid to the division of motor 
vehicles on that vehicle, he or she is not required to pay the tax. 
 
(10) A person who has paid the tax imposed by this section is not required to pay the 
tax a second time for the same motor vehicle, but is required to pay a charge of five 
dollars for the certificate of retitle of that motor vehicle, except that the tax shall be 
paid by the person when the title to the vehicle has been transferred either in this or 
another state from the person to another person and transferred back to the person. 
 
(11) The tax imposed by this section does not apply to any passenger vehicle offered 
for rent in the normal course of business by a daily passenger rental car business as 
licensed under the provisions of article six-d of this chapter. For purposes of this 
section, a daily passenger car means a Class A motor vehicle having a gross weight 
of eight thousand pounds or less and is registered in this state or any other state. In 
lieu of the tax imposed by this section, there is hereby imposed a tax of not less than 
one dollar nor more than one dollar and fifty cents for each day or part of the rental 
period. The commissioner shall propose an emergency rule in accordance with the 
provisions of article three, chapter twenty-nine-a of this code to establish this tax. 
 
(12) The tax imposed by this article does not apply to the titling of any vehicle 
purchased by a senior citizen service organization which is exempt from the payment 
of income taxes under the United States Internal Revenue Code, Title 26 U.S.C. 
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§501(c)(3) and which is recognized to be a bonafide senior citizen service 
organization by the senior services bureau existing under the provisions of article 
five, chapter sixteen of this code. 


 
(c) Notwithstanding any provisions of this code to the contrary, the owners of trailers, 
semitrailers, recreational vehicles and other vehicles not subject to the certificate of title 
tax prior to the enactment of this chapter are subject to the privilege tax imposed by this 
section: Provided, That the certification of title of any recreational vehicle owned by the 
applicant on the thirtieth day of June, one thousand nine hundred eighty-nine, is not 
subject to the tax imposed by this section: Provided, however, That mobile homes, 
manufactured homes, modular homes and similar nonmotive propelled vehicles, except 
recreational vehicles and house trailers, susceptible of being moved upon the highways 
but primarily designed for habitation and occupancy, rather than for transporting persons 
or property, or any vehicle operated on a nonprofit basis and used exclusively for the 
transportation of mentally retarded or physically handicapped children when the 
application for certificate of registration for the vehicle is accompanied by an affidavit 
stating that the vehicle will be operated on a nonprofit basis and used exclusively for the 
transportation of mentally retarded and physically handicapped children, are not subject 
to the tax imposed by this section, but are taxable under the provisions of articles fifteen 
and fifteen-a, chapter eleven of this code. 
 
(d) Any person making any affidavit required under any provision of this section who 
knowingly swears falsely, or any person who counsels, advises, aids or abets another in 
the commission of false swearing, or any person, while acting as an agent of the division 
of motor vehicles, issues a vehicle registration without first collecting the fees and taxes 
or fails to perform any other duty required by this chapter to be performed before a 
vehicle registration is issued is, on the first offense, guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon 
conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or be confined in jail 
for a period not to exceed six months or, in the discretion of the court, both fined and 
confined. For a second or any subsequent conviction within five years, that person is 
guilty of a felony and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than five thousand 
dollars or be imprisoned in a state correctional facility for not less than one year nor more 
than five years or, in the discretion of the court, both fined and imprisoned. 
 
(e) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, any person in the military 
stationed outside West Virginia or his or her dependents who possess a motor vehicle 
with valid registration are exempt from the provisions of this article for a period of nine 
months from the date the person returns to this state or the date his or her dependent 
returns to this state, whichever is later. 
 
(f) No person may transfer, purchase or sell a factory-built home without a certificate of 
title issued by the commissioner in accordance with the provisions of this article: 


 
(1) Any person who fails to provide a certificate of title upon the transfer, purchase or 
sale of a factory-built home is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, 
shall for the first offense be fined not less than one hundred dollars nor more than 
one thousand dollars, or be confined in jail for not more than one year or, both fined 
and confined. For each subsequent offense, the fine may be increased to not more 
than two thousand dollars, with confinement in jail not more than one year or, both 
fined and confined. 
 
(2) Failure of the seller to transfer a certificate of title upon sale or transfer of the 
factory-built home gives rise to a cause of action, upon prosecution thereof, and 
allows for the recovery of damages, costs and reasonable attorney fees. 
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(3) This subsection does not apply to a mobile or manufactured home for which a 
certificate of title has been canceled pursuant to section twelve-b of this article. 


 
(g) Notwithstanding any other provision to the contrary, whenever reference is made to 
the application for or issuance of any title or the recordation or release of any lien, it 
includes the application, transmission, recordation, transfer of ownership and storage of 
information in an electronic format. 
 
(h) Notwithstanding any other provision contained in this section, nothing herein shall be 
considered to include modular homes as defined in subsection (i), section two, article 
fifteen, chapter thirty-seven of this code and built to the state building code as established 
by legislative rules promulgated by the state fire commission pursuant to section five-b, 
article three, chapter twenty-nine of this code. 
 


17A-3-5. Application for specially constructed, rec onstructed or foreign vehicles or new 
vehicles purchased outside this State. 


 
(a)  In the event the vehicle to be registered is specially constructed, reconstructed, or a 


foreign vehicle, such fact shall be stated in the application and with reference to 
every foreign vehicle which has been registered heretofore outside of this State the 
owner shall surrender to the department all registration plates, registration cards, and 
certificates of title or other evidence of such foreign registration as may be in his 
possession or under his control except as provided in subsection (b) hereof.   


 
(b)  Where in the course of interstate operation of a vehicle registered in another state it is 


desirable to retain registration of said vehicle in such other state, such applicant need 
not surrender but shall submit for inspection said evidences of such foreign 
registration and the department upon a proper showing shall register said vehicle in 
this State but shall not issue a certificate of title for such vehicle.   


 
(c)  In the event application for registration and certificate of title is made for a new vehicle 


purchased from a dealer outside this State, a certificate of title shall not be issued for 
such vehicle nor shall such vehicle be registered by the department unless and until 
such application shall be accompanied by a certificate of title or a manufacturer's 
certificate of origin, or if the state of purchase does not require a certificate of title 
such application shall be accompanied by a manufacturer's certificate of origin, 
accompanied by evidence that such seller is a bona fide dealer of the state in which 
such vehicle was purchased.   


 
 


17A-3-7. Grounds for refusing registration or certi ficate of title. 
 


The department shall refuse registration or issuance of a certificate of title or any transfer of 
registration upon any of the following grounds:   


 
(1) That the application contains any false or fraudulent statement or that the applicant 


has failed to furnish required information or reasonable additional information 
requested by the department or that the applicant is not entitled to the issuance of a 
certificate of title or registration of the vehicle under this chapter;   


 
(2) That the applicant fails to present a statement of insurance or proof of other security 


as required pursuant to the provisions of section three [§ 17A-3-3] of this article;   
 
(3) That the vehicle is mechanically unfit or unsafe to be operated or moved upon the 


highways;   
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(4) That the department has reasonable grounds to believe that the vehicle is a stolen or 


embezzled vehicle or that the granting of registration or the issuance of certificate of 
title would constitute a fraud against the rightful owner or other person having a valid 
lien upon such vehicle;   


 
(5) That the registration of the vehicle stands suspended or revoked for any reason as 


provided in the motor vehicle laws of this State;   
 
(6) That the required fee has not been paid.   
  
 


17A-3-11. Registration of vehicles according to per missible gross weight. 
 


The commissioner, upon registering any truck, truck tractor, or road tractor, under the laws of 
this State, may require such information and may make such investigation or test as 
necessary to determine whether such motor vehicle may safely be operated upon the 
highways in compliance with all the provisions of law relating to such vehicles. Every such 
vehicle shall be registered with a permissible gross weight under which the vehicle can safely 
be operated upon the highways, which weight may not exceed the limitations set forth in 
chapter seventeen-C [§§ 17C-1-1 et seq.] of this Code.   
 
The commissioner shall include on the registration card issued for every such motor vehicle 
the gross weight for which it is registered, and if it is a motor vehicle to be used for propelling 
other vehicles, a separate listing of the total permissible gross weight of such motor vehicle 
and other vehicles to be propelled by it shall be included. The commissioner shall also cause 
to be printed or stamped upon the registration card a statement that the vehicle although 
registered for the gross weight appearing on the registration card is subject to the axle load 
limit set forth in chapter seventeen-C of this Code.   


 
 


17A-3-12. Commissioner to issue certificate of titl e; signatures on certificate; certificate of 
title to be delivered to owner or lienor. 


 
(a) The commissioner, if satisfied that the applicant for a certificate of title is the owner of 


such vehicle, or otherwise entitled to have the same registered in the applicant's 
name, shall issue an appropriate certificate of title in either an electronic or paper 
format. The certificate of title in an electronic format shall contain all of the 
information required by this section.   


 
(b) The certificate of title shall contain upon the face thereof the date issued, the name 


and address of the owner, the description of the vehicle as determined by the 
commissioner, and a statement of the owner's title and of all liens and encumbrances 
upon the vehicle therein described and whether possession is held by the owner 
under a lease, contract of conditional sale or other like agreement, and shall bear 
thereon the seal of the division.   


 
(c) The certificate of title shall contain upon the reverse side a space for the signature of 


the owner and the owner shall write his or her name with pen and ink in the space 
upon receipt of the certificate. The certificate shall also contain upon the reverse side 
forms for assignment of title or interest and warranty thereof by the owner with space 
for notation of liens and encumbrances upon the vehicle at the time of a transfer.   


 
(d) The commissioner, upon issuing a certificate of title, shall deliver same in either an 


electronic or paper format to the person who holds legal title to the vehicle described 
on the face of said certificate: Provided, That when a certificate of title is issued 
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showing upon the face thereof a lien or encumbrance of liens or encumbrances, the 
certificate of title shall be delivered to the lienholder in either an electronic or paper 
format in order of priority. It shall be unlawful and constitute a misdemeanor for a 
lienor who holds a certificate of title, as hereinabove in this section provided, to 
refuse or fail to surrender the certificate of title to the person legally entitled thereto 
within ten days after the lien or encumbrance or liens or encumbrances shown on the 
face thereof shall have been paid and satisfied.   


 
 


17A-3-12a. Disclosure of odometer information; exce ptions; penalties. 
 
 (a) In accordance with the provisions of sections four hundred eight-a and four hundred 


eight-e of the Motor Vehicle Information and Cost Savings Act, Public Law 92-513, 
the transferor of a motor vehicle must complete the odometer disclosure form on the 
certificate of title or a separate written odometer disclosure statement, before 
executing any transfer of ownership document and before a new certificate of title 
may be issued for a transfer of ownership of a vehicle. The odometer disclosure form 
on the certificate of title and the separate written odometer disclosure statement shall 
contain the following information:   


 
(1) The odometer reading at the time of transfer (not to include tenths of miles);   
(2) The date of transfer;   
(3) The transferor's name and current address;   
(4) The transferee's name and current address;   
(5) The transferor's printed name and signature acknowledging the disclosure;   
(6) The identity of the vehicle, including its make, model, year, body type and 


identification number;   
(7) Certification by the transferor that to the best of his or her knowledge the 


odometer reading reflects: 
   


(A) The actual mileage the vehicle has been driven;   
(B) The amount of mileage in excess of the designated mechanical 


odometer limit; or   
(C) A difference from the number of miles the vehicle has actually been 


driven and that the difference is greater than that caused by 
odometer calibration error, and that the odometer reading is not the 
actual mileage. This certification shall state that the odometer 
reading does not reflect the actual mileage and should not be relied 
upon, and shall also include a warning notice to alert the transferee 
that a discrepancy exists between the odometer reading and the 
actual mileage; and   


 
(8) A warning statement referring to state and federal law and the statement: 


"That failure to complete or providing false information may result in fines 
and/or imprisonment."  Upon issuance of a new title, the division shall mark 
the new title with an appropriate brand which reflects certification of the prior 
owner.   


 
(b)  Before executing any transfer of ownership document, the lessor of a leased motor 


vehicle must notify a lessee in writing that the lessee is required to provide a written 
odometer disclosure statement to the lessor. The odometer disclosure statement 
shall contain the following information:   


 
(1) The odometer reading at the time of transfer (not to include tenths of miles);   
(2) The date of statement;   
(3) The lessee's name and current address;   
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(4) The lessor's name and current address;   
(5) The lessee's printed name and signature acknowledging the disclosure;   
(6) The identity of the vehicle, including its make, model, year, body type and 


identification number;   
(7) The date that the lessor notified the lessee of the disclosure requirements;   
(8) The date that the completed disclosure statement was received by the lessor;   
(9) The signature of the lessor;   
(10) Certification by the lessee that to the best of his or her knowledge the 


odometer reading reflects:   
 


(A) The actual mileage the vehicle has been driven;   
 
(B) The amount of mileage in excess of the designated mechanical 


odometer limit; or   
 
(C) A difference from the number of miles the vehicle has actually been 


driven and that the difference is greater than that caused by 
odometer calibration error, and that the odometer reading is not the 
actual mileage. This certification shall state that the odometer 
reading does not reflect the actual mileage and should not be relied 
upon; and   


 
(11) A warning statement referring to state and federal law and the statement: 


"That failure to complete or providing false information may result in fines 
and/or imprisonment."  


 
If a lessor transfers the leased vehicle without obtaining possession of it, the 
lessor may indicate on the title the mileage disclosed by the lessee, unless 
the lessor has reason to believe the disclosure does not state the actual 
mileage.   


 
(c)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, the form for odometer disclosure on the 


certificate of title or a separate written odometer disclosure statement need not be 
completed for any of the following motor vehicles:   


 
(1) A vehicle having a gross weight of more than sixteen thousand pounds;   
(2) A vehicle that is not self-propelled;   
(3) A vehicle that is ten years old or older;   
(4) A vehicle sold directly by the manufacturer to any agency of the United States 


in conformity with contracted specifications; or   
(5) A new motor vehicle prior to its first transfer for purposes other than resale. 


 
(d)  Dealers and distributors of motor vehicles who are required by law to execute an 


odometer disclosure statement shall retain for five years a photostat, carbon or other 
facsimile copy of each odometer mileage statement which they issue and receive, at 
their primary place of business in an order that is appropriate to business 
requirements and that permits systematic retrieval.   


 
(e)  Lessors shall retain for five years following the date they transfer ownership of the 


leased vehicle each odometer disclosure statement which they receive from a 
lessee, at their primary place of business in an order that is appropriate to business 
requirements and that permits systematic retrieval.   


 
(f)  Auction companies shall retain for five years following the date of sale of each motor 


vehicle, at their primary place of business in an order that is appropriate to business 
requirements and that permits systematic retrieval, the following records: 
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(1) The name of the most recent owner (other than the auction company);   
(2) The name of the buyer;   
(3) The vehicle identification number; and   
(4) The odometer reading on the date the auction company took possession of 


the motor vehicle.   
 
(g)  A transfer of a motor vehicle which has not been previously titled in this state or which 


has a certificate of title issued prior to the first day of January, one thousand nine 
hundred ninety-one, must include the execution of the transfer by the owner and the 
purchaser on a form prescribed by the commissioner signed by each of the two 
parties, which form contains substantially the same information as is required in this 
section and with the provisions of the odometer mileage statement form pursuant to 
the Motor Vehicle Information and Cost Savings Act.   


 
(h)  The commissioner shall promulgate rules for the administration of this section in 


accordance with chapter twenty-nine-a [§§ 29A-1-1 et seq.] of this code.   
 
(i)  Any person who violates any of the provisions of this section with intent to defraud 


shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less 
than two hundred dollars nor more than one thousand dollars, or imprisoned in the 
county jail for not more than six months, or both fined and imprisoned.   


 
 


17A-3-14. Registration plates generally; descriptio n of plates; issuance of special numbers 
and plates; registration fees; special application fees; exemptions; 
commissioner to promulgate forms; suspension and no nrenewal. 


 
(a) The division upon registering a vehicle shall issue to the owner one registration plate for a 


motorcycle, trailer, semitrailer or other motor vehicle.   
 
(b) Registration plates issued by the division shall meet the following requirements:   


 
(1) Every registration plate shall be of reflectorized material and have displayed upon it 


the registration number assigned to the vehicle for which it is issued; the name of this 
state, which may be abbreviated; and the year number for which it is issued or the 
date of expiration of the plate.   


 
(2) Every registration plate and the required letters and numerals on the plate shall be of 


sufficient size to be plainly readable from a distance of one hundred feet during 
daylight: Provided, That the requirements of this subdivision shall not apply to the 
year number for which the plate is issued or the date of expiration.   


 
(3) Registration numbering for registration plates shall begin with number two.   
 


(c)  The division may not issue, permit to be issued or distribute any special registration plates 
except as follows:   


 
(1) The governor shall be issued two registration plates, on one of which shall be 


imprinted the numeral one and on the other the word one.   
 
(2) State officials and judges may be issued special registration plates as follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, the division shall issue to the secretary of state, 
state superintendent of schools, auditor, treasurer, commissioner of agriculture 
and the attorney general, the members of both houses of the Legislature, 
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including the elected officials of both houses of the Legislature, the justices of the 
supreme court of appeals of West Virginia, the representatives and senators of 
the state in the Congress of the United States, the judges of the United States 
district courts for the state of West Virginia and the judges of the United States 
court of appeals for the fourth circuit, if any of the judges are residents of West 
Virginia, a special registration plate for a Class A motor vehicle and a special 
registration plate for a Class G motorcycle owned by the official or his or her 
spouse: Provided, That the division may not issue more than two Class A special 
registration plates and two Class G special registration plates for each official.   


 
(B) Each plate issued pursuant to this subdivision shall bear any combination of 


letters and numbers not to exceed an amount determined by the commissioner 
and a designation of the office. Each plate shall supersede the regular numbered 
plate assigned to the official or his or her spouse during the official's term of office 
and while the motor vehicle is owned by the official or his or her spouse.   


 
(C) The division shall charge an annual fee of fifteen dollars for every registration 


plate issued pursuant to this subdivision, which is in addition to all other fees 
required by this chapter.   


 
(3) The division may issue members of the national guard forces special registration 


plates as follows:   
 


(A) Upon receipt of an application on a form prescribed by the division and receipt of 
written evidence from the chief executive officer of the army national guard or air 
national guard, as appropriate, or the commanding officer of any United States 
armed forces reserve unit that the applicant is a member thereof, the division 
shall issue to any member of the national guard of this state or a member of any 
reserve unit of the United States armed forces a special registration plate 
designed by the commissioner for any number of Class A motor vehicles owned 
by the member. Upon presentation of written evidence of retirement status, 
retired members of this state's army or air national guard, or retired members of 
any reserve unit of the United States armed forces, are eligible to purchase the 
special registration plate issued pursuant to this subdivision.   


 
(B) The division shall charge an initial application fee of ten dollars for each special 


registration plate issued pursuant to this subdivision, which is in addition to all 
other fees required by this chapter. All initial application fees collected by the 
division shall be deposited into a special revolving fund to be used in the 
administration of this section.   


 
(C) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's national 


guard forces license plate until the surviving spouse dies, remarries or does not 
renew the license plate.   


 
(4) Specially arranged registration plates may be issued as follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, any owner of a motor vehicle subject to Class A 
registration, or a motorcycle subject to Class G registration, as defined by this 
article, may request that the division issue a registration plate bearing specially 
arranged letters or numbers with the maximum number of letters or numbers to 
be determined by the commissioner. The division shall attempt to comply with the 
request wherever possible.   


 
(B) The commissioner shall propose rules for legislative approval in accordance with 


the provisions of chapter twenty-nine-a of this code regarding the orderly 
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distribution of the plates: Provided, That for purposes of this subdivision, the 
registration plates requested and issued shall include all plates bearing the 
numbers two through two thousand.   


 
(C) An annual fee of fifteen dollars shall be charged for each special registration 


plate issued pursuant to this subdivision, which is in addition to all other fees 
required by this chapter.   


 
(5) The division may issue honorably discharged veterans special registration plates as 


follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, the division shall issue to any honorably 
discharged veteran of any branch of the armed services of the United States a 
special registration plate for any number of vehicles titled in the name of the 
qualified applicant with an insignia designed by the commissioner of the division 
of motor vehicles.   


 
(B) The division shall charge a special initial application fee of ten dollars in addition 


to all other fees required by law. This special fee is to compensate the division of 
motor vehicles for additional costs and services required in the issuing of the 
special registration and shall be collected by the division and deposited in a 
special revolving fund to be used for the administration of this section: Provided, 
That nothing in this section may be construed to exempt any veteran from any 
other provision of this chapter.   


 
(C) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's honorably 


discharged veterans license plate until the surviving spouse dies, remarries or 
does not renew the license plate.   


 
(6) The division may issue disabled veterans special registration plates as follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, the division shall issue to any disabled veteran who 
is exempt from the payment of registration fees under the provisions of this 
chapter a registration plate for a vehicle titled in the name of the qualified 
applicant which bears the letters "DV" in red and also the regular identification 
numerals in red.   


 
(B) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's disabled 


veterans license plate until the surviving spouse dies, remarries or does not 
renew the license plate.   


 
(C) A qualified disabled veteran may obtain a second disabled veteran license plate 


as described in this section for use on a passenger vehicle titled in the name of 
the qualified applicant. The division shall charge an annual fee of fifteen dollars, 
in addition to all other fees required by this chapter, for the second plate.   
 


(7) The division may issue recipients of the distinguished purple heart medal special 
registration plates as follows:   


 
(A) Upon appropriate application, there shall be issued to any armed service person 


holding the distinguished purple heart medal for persons wounded in combat a 
registration plate for a vehicle titled in the name of the qualified applicant bearing 
letters or numbers. The registration plate shall be designed by the commissioner 
of motor vehicles and shall denote that those individuals who are granted this 
special registration plate are recipients of the purple heart. All letterings shall be 
in purple where practical.   
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(B) Registration plates issued pursuant to this subdivision are exempt from all 


registration fees otherwise required by the provisions of this chapter.   
 
(C) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's purple 


heart medal license plate until the surviving spouse dies, remarries or does not 
renew the license plate.   


 
(D) A recipient of the purple heart medal may obtain a second purple heart medal 


license plate as described in this section for use on a passenger vehicle titled in 
the name of the qualified applicant. The division shall charge an annual fee of 
fifteen dollars, in addition to all other fees required by this chapter, for the second 
plate.   


 
(8) The division may issue survivors of the attack on Pearl Harbor special registration 


plates as follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, the owner of a motor vehicle who was enlisted in 
any branch of the armed services that participated in and survived the attack on 
Pearl Harbor on the seventh day of December, one thousand nine hundred forty-
one, the division shall issue a special registration plate for a vehicle titled in the 
name of the qualified applicant. The registration plate shall be designed by the 
commissioner of motor vehicles.   


 
(B) Registration plates issued pursuant to this subdivision are exempt from the 


payment of all registration fees otherwise required by the provisions of this 
chapter.   


 
(C) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's survivors 


of the attack on Pearl Harbor license plate until the surviving spouse dies, 
remarries or does not renew the license plate.   


 
(D) A survivor of the attack on Pearl Harbor may obtain a second survivors of the 


attack on Pearl Harbor license plate as described in this section for use on a 
passenger vehicle titled in the name of the qualified applicant. The division shall 
charge an annual fee of fifteen dollars, in addition to all other fees required by this 
chapter, for the second plate.   


 
(9) The division may issue special registration plates to nonprofit charitable and 


educational organizations as follows:   
 


(A) Approved nonprofit charitable and educational organizations may accept and 
collect applications for special registration plates from owners of Class A motor 
vehicles together with a special annual fee of fifteen dollars, which is in addition to 
all other fees required by this chapter. The applications and fees shall be 
submitted to the division of motor vehicles with the request that the division issue 
a registration plate bearing a combination of letters or numbers with the 
organizations' logo or emblem, with the maximum number of letters or numbers to 
be determined by the commissioner.   


 
(B) The commissioner shall propose rules for legislative approval in accordance with 


the provisions of article three [§§ 29A-3-1 et seq.], chapter twenty-nine-a of this 
code regarding the procedures for and approval of special registration plates 
issued pursuant to this subdivision.   
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(C) The commissioner shall set an appropriate fee to defray the administrative costs 
associated with designing and manufacturing special registration plates for a 
nonprofit charitable or educational organization. The nonprofit charitable or 
educational organization shall collect this fee and forward it to the division for 
deposit in a special revolving fund to pay the administrative costs. The nonprofit 
charitable or educational organization may also collect a fee for marketing the 
special registration plates.   
 


(10) The division may issue specified emergency or volunteer registration plates as 
follows:   


 
(A) Any owner of a motor vehicle who is a resident of the state of West Virginia and 


who is a certified paramedic or emergency medical technician, a member of a 
volunteer fire company or a paid fire department, a member of the state fire 
commission, the state fire marshal, the state fire marshal's assistants, the state 
fire administrator and voluntary rescue squad members may apply for a special 
license plate for any number of Class A vehicles titled in the name of the qualified 
applicant which bears the insignia of the profession, group or commission. Any 
insignia shall be designed by the commissioner. License plates issued pursuant 
to this subdivision shall bear the requested insignia in addition to the registration 
number issued to the applicant pursuant to the provisions of this article.   


 
(B) Each application submitted pursuant to this subdivision shall be accompanied by 


an affidavit signed by the fire chief or department head of the applicant stating 
that the applicant is justified in having a registration with the requested insignia; 
proof of compliance with all laws of this state regarding registration and licensure 
of motor vehicles; and payment of all required fees.   


 
(C) Each application submitted pursuant to this subdivision shall be accompanied by 


payment of a special initial application fee of ten dollars, which is in addition to 
any other registration or license fee required by this chapter. All special fees shall 
be collected by the division and deposited into a special revolving fund to be used 
for the purpose of compensating the division of motor vehicles for additional costs 
and services required in the issuing of the special registration and for the 
administration of this section.   


 
(11) The division may issue special scenic registration plates as follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, the commissioner shall issue a special registration 
plate displaying a scenic design of West Virginia which displays the words "Wild 
Wonderful" as a slogan.   


 
(B) The division shall charge a special one-time initial application fee of ten dollars in 


addition to all other fees required by this chapter. All initial application fees 
collected by the division shall be deposited into a special revolving fund to be 
used in the administration of this chapter.   


 
(12) The division may issue honorably discharged marine corps league members special 


registration plates as follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, the division shall issue to any honorably 
discharged marine corps league member a special registration plate for any 
number of vehicles titled in the name of the qualified applicant with an insignia 
designed by the commissioner of the division of motor vehicles.   
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(B) The division may charge a special one-time initial application fee of ten dollars in 
addition to all other fees required by this chapter. This special fee is to 
compensate the division of motor vehicles for additional costs and services 
required in the issuing of the special registration and shall be collected by the 
division and deposited in a special revolving fund to be used for the 
administration of this section: Provided, That nothing in this section may be 
construed to exempt any veteran from any other provision of this chapter.   


 
(C) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's honorably 


discharged marine corps league license plate until the surviving spouse dies, 
remarries or does not renew the license plate.   


 
(13) The division may issue military organization registration plates as follows:   
 


(A) The division may issue a special registration plate for the members of any military 
organization chartered by the United States Congress upon receipt of a 
guarantee from organization of a minimum of one hundred applicants. The 
insignia on the plate shall be designed by the commissioner.   


 
(B) Upon appropriate application, the division may issue members of the chartered 


organization in good standing, as determined by the governing body of the 
chartered organization, a special registration plate for any number of vehicles 
titled in the name of the qualified applicant.   


 
(C) The division shall charge a special one-time initial application fee of ten dollars 


for each special license plate in addition to all other fees required by this chapter. 
All initial application fees collected by the division shall be deposited into a special 
revolving fund to be used in the administration of this chapter: Provided, That 
nothing in this section may be construed to exempt any veteran from any other 
provision of this chapter.   


 
(D) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's military 


organization registration plate until the surviving spouse dies, remarries or does 
not renew the special military organization registration plate.   


 
(14) The division may issue special nongame wildlife registration plates and special 


wildlife registration plates as follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, the division shall issue a special registration plate 
displaying a species of West Virginia wildlife which shall display a species of 
wildlife native to West Virginia as prescribed and designated by the commissioner 
and the director of the division of natural resources.   


 
(B) The division shall charge an annual fee of fifteen dollars for each special 


nongame wildlife registration plate in addition to all other fees required by this 
chapter. All annual fees collected for nongame wildlife registration plates shall be 
deposited in a special revenue account designated the nongame wildlife fund and 
credited to the division of natural resources.   


 
(C) The division shall charge a special one-time initial application fee of ten dollars in 


addition to all other fees required by this chapter. All initial application fees 
collected by the division shall be deposited in a special revolving fund to be used 
in the administration of this chapter.   


 
(15) The division may issue members of the silver haired legislature special registration 


plates as follows:   
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(A) Upon appropriate application, the division shall issue to any person who is a duly 


qualified member of the silver haired legislature a specialized registration plate 
which bears recognition of the applicant as a member of the silver haired 
legislature.   


 
(B) A qualified member of the silver haired legislature may obtain one registration 


plate described in this subdivision for use on a passenger vehicle titled in the 
name of the qualified applicant. The division shall charge an annual fee of fifteen 
dollars, in addition to all other fees required by this chapter, for the plate. All 
annual fees collected by the division shall be deposited in a special revolving fund 
to be used in the administration of this chapter.   
 


(16) Upon appropriate application, the commissioner shall issue to a classic motor vehicle 
or classic motorcycle as defined in section three-a [§ 17A-10-3a], article ten of this 
chapter, a special registration plate designed by the commissioner. An annual fee of 
fifteen dollars, in addition to all other fees required by this chapter, shall be charged 
for each classic registration plate.   


 
(17) Honorably discharged veterans may be issued special registration plates for 


motorcycles subject to Class G registration as follows:   
 


(A) Upon appropriate application, there shall be issued to any honorably discharged 
veteran, of any branch of the armed services of the United States, a special 
registration plate for any number of motorcycles subject to Class G registration 
titled in the name of the qualified applicant with an insignia designed by the 
commissioner of the division of motor vehicles.   


 
(B) A special initial application fee of ten dollars shall be charged in addition to all 


other fees required by law. This special fee is to compensate the division of motor 
vehicles for additional costs and services required in the issuing of the special 
registration and shall be collected by the division and deposited in a special 
revolving fund to be used for the administration of this section: Provided, That 
nothing in this section may be construed to exempt any veteran from any other 
provision of this chapter.   


 
(C) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's honorably 


discharged veterans license plate until the surviving spouse dies, remarries or 
does not renew the license plate.   


 
(18) Racing theme special registration plates:   
 


(A) The division may issue a series of special registration plates displaying national 
association for stock car auto racing themes;   


 
(B) An annual fee of twenty-five dollars shall be charged for each special racing 


theme registration plate in addition to all other fees required by this chapter. All 
annual fees collected for each special racing theme registration plate shall be 
deposited into a special revolving fund to be used in the administration of this 
chapter;   


 
(C) A special application fee of ten dollars shall be charged at the time of initial 


application as well as upon application for any duplicate or replacement 
registration plate, in addition to all other fees required by this chapter. All 
application fees shall be deposited into a special revolving fund to be used in the 
administration of this chapter.   
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(19) The division may issue recipients of the navy cross, distinguished service cross, 


distinguished flying cross, air force cross or silver star special registration plates as 
follows:   


 
(A) Upon appropriate application, the division shall issue to any recipient of the navy 


cross, distinguished service cross, distinguished flying cross, air force cross or 
silver star a registration plate for a vehicle titled in the name of the qualified 
applicant bearing letters or numbers. A separate registration plate shall be 
designed by the commissioner of motor vehicles for each award that denotes 
that those individuals who are granted this special registration plate are 
recipients of the navy cross, distinguished service cross, distinguished flying 
cross, air force cross or silver star, as applicable.   


 
(B) The division shall charge a special initial application fee of ten dollars in addition 


to all other fees required by law. This special fee is to compensate the division of 
motor vehicles for additional costs and services required in the issuing of the 
special registration and shall be collected by the division and deposited in a 
special revolving fund to be used for the administration of this section: Provided, 
That nothing in this section exempts the applicant for a special registration plate 
under this subdivision from any other provision of this chapter.   


 
(C) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's navy 


cross, distinguished service cross, distinguished flying cross, air force cross or 
silver star special registration plate until the surviving spouse dies, remarries or 
does not renew the special registration plate.   


 
(D) A recipient of a navy cross, distinguished flying cross, distinguished service 


cross, air force cross or silver star may obtain a second navy cross, distinguished 
service cross, air force cross or silver star license plate as described in this 
subdivision for use on a passenger vehicle titled in the name of the qualified 
applicant. The division shall charge an annual fee of fifteen dollars, in addition to 
all other fees required by this chapter, for the second plate.   


 
(d)  The commissioner shall propose rules for legislative approval in accordance 
with the provisions of article three [§§ 29A-3-1 et seq.], chapter twenty-nine-a of 
this code regarding the proper forms to be used in making application for the 
special license plates authorized by this section.   


 
(e) (1)  Nothing in this section may be construed to require a charge for a free 


prisoner of war license plate or a free recipient of the congressional medal of 
honor license plate for a vehicle titled in the name of the qualified applicant 
as authorized by other provisions of this code.   


 
(2) A surviving spouse may continue to use his or her deceased spouse's 
prisoner of war or congressional medal of honor license plate until the 
surviving spouse dies, remarries or does not renew the license plate.   
 
(3) Qualified former prisoners of war and recipients of the congressional 
medal of honor may obtain a second special registration plate for use on a 
passenger vehicle titled in the name of the qualified applicant. The division 
shall charge an annual fee of fifteen dollars, in addition to all other fees 
required by this chapter, for the second special plate.   


 
(f)  The division may issue special ten-year registration plates as follows:   
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(1) The commissioner may issue or renew for a period of no more than ten 
years any registration plate exempted from registration fees pursuant to 
any provision of this code or any restricted use antique motor vehicle 
license plate authorized by section three-a [§ 17A-10-3a], article ten of 
this chapter: Provided, That the provisions of this subsection do not 
apply to any person who has had a special registration suspended for 
failure to maintain motor vehicle liability insurance as required by section 
three [§ 17D-2A-3], article two-a, chapter seventeen-d of this code or 
failure to pay personal property taxes as required by section three-a of 
this article.   


 
(2) An initial nonrefundable fee shall be charged for each special registration 


plate issued pursuant to this subsection, which is the total amount of 
fees required by section fifteen [§ 17A-10-15], article ten of this chapter, 
section three [§ 17A-3-3], article three of this chapter or section three-a 
[§ 17A-10-3a], article ten of this chapter for the period requested.   


 
(g)  The provisions of this section may not be construed to exempt any registrant 


from maintaining motor vehicle liability insurance as required by section three 
[§ 17D-2A-3], article two-a, chapter seventeen-d of this code or from paying 
personal property taxes on any motor vehicle as required by section three-a 
[§ 17A-3-3a] of this article.   


 
(h) The commissioner may, in his or her discretion, issue a registration plate of 


reflectorized material suitable for permanent use on motor vehicles, trailers 
and semitrailers, together with appropriate devices to be attached to the 
registration to indicate the year for which the vehicles have been properly 
registered or the date of expiration of the registration. The design and 
expiration of the plates shall be determined by the commissioner.   


 
(i)  Any license plate issued or renewed pursuant to this chapter, which is paid for 


by a check that is returned for nonsufficient funds, is void without further 
notice to the applicant. The applicant may not reinstate the registration until 
the returned check is paid by the applicant in cash, money order or certified 
check and all applicable fees assessed as a result thereof have been paid.   


 
 


17A-3-17. Application for and renewal of registrati on; sheriffs authorized to issue renewals 
of registration for certain vehicles. 


     
(a) Application for renewal of a vehicle registration shall be made by the vehicle owner by 


proper application and payment of taxes and registration fees provided by law.   
 
(b) The division may receive applications for renewal of any vehicle registration and each 


sheriff shall receive applications from residents in his or her county for renewal of any 
Class A or G vehicle registration. The division and each sheriff shall issue the renewals of 
registration each receives, respectively, in accordance with all of the provisions in this 
article pertaining to renewal of vehicle registration including, but not limited to, the 
payment of the taxes and fees required thereunder.   


 
(c) Each sheriff shall charge a service fee of one dollar for each renewal of a Class A or G 


vehicle registration he or she issues. Effective the first day of July, one thousand nine 
hundred ninety-eight, the sheriff shall pay one half of this fee into the county general 
fund. The sheriff shall pay the remaining one half of this fee into the deputy sheriff 
retirement fund created in section six, article fourteen-d, chapter seven of this code.   
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(d) On the first day of each month, each sheriff shall pay over to the commissioner all fees he 
or she collected during the preceding month for renewal of Class A and G vehicle 
registrations, except his or her service fees. The payment shall be accompanied by a 
report showing the name of the county, the name and address of the person who 
obtained the registration and paid the registration fee therefor, the vehicle registered, the 
registration number, the date the registration was issued, the signature of the sheriff and 
any other information the commissioner may reasonably require in order to maintain the 
functions and records of the department. The commissioner shall deposit all fees he or 
she receives from the sheriffs for renewal of Class A and G vehicle registrations in the 
state treasury to the credit of the state road fund as provided in section twenty-one [§ 
17A-2-21], article two of this chapter.   
 


(e) The commissioner shall provide each sheriff with the necessary forms, supplies, 
registration plates, registration decals and instructions necessary to enable him or her to 
perform the duties and functions specified in this section.   


 
(f) No person may display upon a vehicle a new registration plate or registration decal prior to 


the first day of the month preceding the new registration period.   
   


17A-3-18. Notice of change of address or name. 
 


(a) Whenever any person after making application for or obtaining the registration of a 
vehicle or a certificate of title shall move from the address named in the application or 
shown upon a registration card or certificate of title the person shall within ten days 
thereafter notify the division in writing of the old and new addresses.   


 
(b) Whenever any person, after making application for or obtaining the registration of a 


vehicle or a certificate of title, is assigned a new address by the United States postal 
service or other legally constituted authority, the person shall notify the division in writing 
of the old and new address and of the registration or title number of the vehicle held by 
the person. The notification of change of address shall be made at least ten days prior to 
the last date on which mail with the old address is deliverable by the United States postal 
service.   


 
(c) Whenever the name of any person who has made application for or obtained the 


registration of a vehicle or a certificate of title is thereafter changed by marriage or 
otherwise the person shall within ten days notify the division of the former name and new 
name upon a form prescribed by the commissioner. The notification shall be 
accompanied by application for retitle under the new name.   


 
(d) The provisions of section one [§ 17A-11-1], article eleven of this chapter relating to 


imprisonment do not apply to persons who violate the provisions of this section.   
 


17A-3-19. Lost or damaged certificates, cards and p lates. 
 


In the event any registration card or registration plate is lost, mutilated, or becomes illegible 
the owner or legal representative or successor in interest of the owner of the vehicle for 
which the same was issued as shown by the records of the department shall immediately 
make application for and may obtain a duplicate or a substitute or a new registration under a 
new registration number, as determined to be most advisable by the department, upon the 
applicant furnishing information satisfactory to the department.   
 
In the event any certificate of title is lost, mutilated, or becomes illegible, the owner or legal 
representative or successor in interest of the owner of the vehicle for which the same was 
issued, as shown by the records of the department, shall immediately make application for 
and may obtain a duplicate upon the applicant furnishing information satisfactory to the 
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department. Upon issuance of any duplicate certificate of title the previous certificate last 
issued shall be void.   


 
 


17A-3-20. Department may assign new identifying num bers. 
 


The department may assign a distinguishing number to a motor vehicle whenever the serial 
number thereon is destroyed or obliterated and issue to the owner a special plate bearing 
such distinguishing number which shall be affixed to the vehicle in a position to be 
determined by the commissioner. Such motor vehicle may then be registered under such 
distinguishing number in lieu of the former serial number.   


 
17A-3-23. Registration plates to state, county, mun icipal and other governmental vehicles; 


use for undercover activities. 
 


Any motor vehicle designed to carry passengers, owned or leased by the state of West 
Virginia, or any of its departments, bureaus, commissions or institutions, except vehicles 
used by the governor, treasurer, three plates per elected office of the board of public works, 
vehicles operated by the state police, vehicles operated by conservation officers of the 
division of natural resources, not to exceed ten vehicles operated by the arson investigators 
of the office of state fire marshal and not to exceed sixteen vehicles operated by inspectors 
of the office of the alcohol beverage control commissioner, may not be operated or driven by 
any person unless it has displayed and attached to the front thereof, in the same manner as 
regular motor vehicle registration plates are attached, a plate of the same size as the regular 
registration plate, with white lettering on a green background bearing the words "West 
Virginia" in one line and the words "State Car" in another line, and the lettering for the words 
"State Car" shall be of sufficient size to be plainly readable from a distance of one hundred 
feet during daylight.   
 
The vehicle shall also have attached to the rear a plate bearing a number and any other 
words and figures as the commissioner of motor vehicles shall prescribe. The rear plate shall 
also be green with the number in white.   
 
On registration plates issued to vehicles owned by counties, the color shall be white on red 
with the word "County" on top of the plate and the words "West Virginia" on the bottom. On 
any registration plates issued to a city or municipality, the color shall be white on blue with 
the word "City" on top, and the words "West Virginia" on the bottom. The colors may not be 
reversed and shall be of reflectorized material. The registration plates issued to counties, 
municipalities and other governmental agencies authorized to receive colored plates 
hereunder shall be affixed to both the front and rear of the vehicles.   
 
The commissioner is authorized to designate the colors and design of any other registration 
plates that are issued without charge to any other agency in accordance with the motor 
vehicle laws.   
 
Upon application and payment of fees, the commissioner is authorized to issue a maximum 
of five Class A license plates per applicant to be used by county sheriffs and municipalities 
on law-enforcement vehicles while engaged in undercover investigations.   
 
The commissioner is authorized to issue an unlimited number of license plates per applicant 
to authorized drug and violent crime task forces in the state of West Virginia when the 
chairperson of the control group of a drug and violent crime task force signs a written affidavit 
stating that the vehicle or vehicles for which the plates are being requested will be used only 
for official undercover work conducted by a drug and violent crime task force.   
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The commissioner is authorized to issue twenty Class A license plates to the criminal 
investigation division of the department of tax and revenue for use by its investigators.   
 
The commissioner may issue a maximum of ten Class A license plates to the division of 
natural resources for use by conservation officers. The commissioner shall designate the 
color and design of the registration plates to be displayed on the front and the rear of all 
other state-owned vehicles owned by the division of natural resources and operated by 
conservation officers.   
 
The commissioner is authorized to issue an unlimited number of Class A license plates to the 
commission on special investigations for state-owned vehicles used for official undercover 
work conducted by the commission on special investigations.   
 
No other registration plate may be issued for, or attached to, any state-owned vehicle.   
 
The commissioner of motor vehicles shall have a sufficient number of both front and rear 
plates produced to attach to all state-owned cars.  
 
The numbered registration plates for the vehicles shall start with the number "five hundred" 
and the commissioner shall issue consecutive numbers for all state-owned cars.   
 
It is the duty of each office, department, bureau, commission or institution furnished any 
vehicle to have plates as described herein affixed thereto prior to the operation of the vehicle 
by any official or employee.   
Any person who violates the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than fifty dollars nor more than one hundred 
dollars.   
 
Magistrates shall have concurrent jurisdiction with circuit and criminal courts for the 
enforcement of this section.   


 
17A-3A-3. Certificates of title. 


 
(a)  Before any imported vehicle which has not previously been titled or registered in the 


United States may be titled in this state, the applicant must submit: (1) A manufacturer's 
certificate of origin issued by the actual vehicle manufacturer together with a notarized 
translation thereof, or (2) the documents constituting valid proof of ownership in the 
country in which the vehicle was originally purchased, together with a notarized 
translation of any such document or (3) with regard to vehicles imported from countries 
which cancel the vehicle registration and title for export, the documents assigned to such 
vehicle after the registration and title have been canceled, together with a notarized 
translation thereof.   


 
(b)  In the event that the documents submitted as required by subsection do not name as 


owner the current applicant for a certificate of title, the applicant must also submit reliable 
proof of a chain of title.   


 
The commissioner shall have the authority to issue a temporary title for vehicles subject 
to the provisions of this section. Application for a temporary title shall include an affidavit 
from a U.S. Department of Transportation approved modification facility, stating that the 
standards required by the U.S. Department of Transportation and the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency have been met; and further an affidavit from the vehicle owner stating 
that all necessary paperwork has been forwarded to the applicable federal agencies for 
consideration of a bond release letter. Temporary titles shall not be transferable and shall 
be valid for a period of time not to exceed ten months.   
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The fee for the temporary title shall be twenty-five dollars. Applicable privilege taxes, as 
provided for in this or other sections of the code, shall be collected from the owner upon 
application for the temporary title, and additional privilege taxes shall not be required 
upon application for permanent titles issued following the issuance of said temporary 
titles. Receipt of a federal bond release letter shall be required to be filed with the 
commissioner prior to issuance of a permanent title.  
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TRANSFERS OF TITLE OR INTEREST 
 


17A-4-1. Registration expires on transfer by owner;  transfer, surrender or retention of 
plates. 


 
Whenever the owner of a registered vehicle transfers or assigns his title, or interest thereto, 
the registration of such vehicle shall expire: Provided, That such owner, if he has made 
application to the department within sixty days from the date of purchase to have said 
registration plates transferred to be used on another vehicle owned by said owner, may then 
operate the other vehicle for a period of sixty days, but in no event longer than sixty days 
from the date of original transfer. Upon such transfer, it shall be the duty of the original owner 
to retain the registration plates issued therefor and to immediately notify the commissioner of 
such transfer upon such form as may be provided therefor and to deliver to him the certificate 
of registration, whereupon the commissioner shall, upon the payment of a fee of five dollars, 
issue a new certificate showing the use to be made of such plates. Such plates may then be 
used by such owner on another vehicle of the same class as the vehicle for which they were 
originally issued if such other vehicle does not require a greater license fee than was 
required for such original vehicle. If such other vehicle requires a greater license fee than 
such original vehicle, then such plates may be used by paying such difference to the 
commissioner. When such transfer of ownership is made to a licensed dealer in motor 
vehicles it shall be the duty of such dealer to immediately execute notification of transfer, in 
triplicate, and to have this notification properly signed by the owner making the transfer. The 
dealer shall immediately forward to the department the original copy of the notification of 
transfer. One copy of the notification of transfer shall be given to the owner and one shall be 
retained by the dealer. The owner shall immediately send to the department the transfer fee 
of five dollars with any additional fee that may be required under the terms of this chapter. 
The owner's copy, properly signed by the dealer, will be the owner's identification until he 
receives a new registration card from the department.   
 
The owner of a set of registration plates may surrender them to the commissioner together 
with the registration card and, upon the payment of five dollars as an exchange fee and upon 
the payment of such additional fees as are necessary to equalize the value of the plates 
surrendered with the value of registration plates desired, receive in exchange a set of plates 
and registration card for a vehicle of a different class.   


 
17A-4-2. Endorsement of certificate of title upon t ransfer by owner. 


 
Whenever the owner of a registered vehicle transfers or assigns his title, he shall endorse an 
assignment and warranty of title upon the certificate of title for such vehicle with a statement 
of all liens and encumbrances thereon, which statement shall be verified under oath by the 
owner, and he shall within sixty days from date of sale deliver the certificate of title to the 
purchaser or transferee, except in the case of a vehicle sold as scrap or to be dismantled.   


 
17A-4-4. Transfers to dealers and others . 


 
When the transferee of a vehicle is a dealer who holds the same for resale and lawfully 
operates the same under dealer's plates, such dealer shall not be required to obtain a new 
registration of said vehicle or be required to forward the certificate of title to the department, 
but such dealer upon transferring his title or interest to another person shall execute and 
acknowledge an assignment and warranty of title upon the certificate of title and deliver the 
same not later than sixty days from date of sale to the person to whom such transfer is 
made.   
 
When the transferee of a vehicle does not drive such vehicle or permit it to be driven upon 
the highways, such transferee shall not be required to obtain a new registration of said 
vehicle, but such transferee shall be required within sixty days from the date of such transfer 
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to forward the certificate of title to the department accompanied by an application for a new 
certificate of title in his name.   


 
17A-4-5. Transfer by operation of law. 


 
Whenever the title or interest of an owner in or to a registered vehicle shall pass to another 
otherwise than by voluntary transfer, the registration thereof shall expire and the vehicle shall 
not be operated upon the highways unless and until the person entitled to possession of 
such vehicle shall apply for and obtain the registration thereof, except that such vehicle may 
operated by the person entitled to its possession or his legal representative upon the 
highways for a distance not exceeding seventy-five miles upon displaying upon such vehicle 
the registration plates issued to the former owner, or in the event title has become vested in 
the person holding a lien or encumbrance upon said vehicle, such person may apply to the 
department for and obtain special plates as may be issued under this chapter to dealers or 
others and may operate any said repossessed vehicle under such special plates only for 
purposes of transporting the same to a garage or warehouse or for purposes of 
demonstrating or selling the same: Provided, That the commissioner is authorized to transfer 
the plates and registration of a deceased person to his legal heir or legatee without payment 
of any fee and the legal heir or legatee may keep and use the same license plate until it 
regularly expires.   
 
Upon any transfer the new owner may secure a new registration and certificate of title upon 
proper application and upon presentation of the last certificate of title, if available, and such 
instruments or documents of authority or certified copies thereof as may be sufficient or 
required by law to evidence or effect a transfer of title or interest in or to chattels in such 
case. In the event title has become vested in the person or financial institution holding a lien 
or encumbrance upon said vehicle, such person or institution need not obtain a new 
registration of said vehicle or forward the certificate of title to the department in order to sell 
the vehicle, but the person or institution upon transfer of title or interest to another shall 
execute and acknowledge an assignment and warranty of title upon the certificate of title and 
deliver the same not later than sixty days from the date of sale to the purchaser. The person 
or institution holding a lien or encumbrance upon the vehicle who acquires the vehicle as a 
result of the lien or encumbrance and subsequently, within sixty days, sells the vehicle in 
satisfaction of the debt creating the lien or encumbrance, shall not be subject to any privilege 
tax or personal property tax on the vehicle imposed by any other section.   


 
 


17A-4-7. Release by lienholder to owner. 
 


A person holding a lien or encumbrance as shown upon a certificate of title upon a vehicle 
may release the lien or encumbrance or assign his or her interest to the owner without 
affecting the registration of the vehicle. The division, upon receiving an electronic 
acknowledgment of a release of lien from the lienholder or a certificate of title upon which a 
lienholder has released or assigned his or her interest to the owner or upon receipt of a 
certificate of title not so endorsed but accompanied by a legal release from a lienholder of 
this interest in or to a vehicle, shall issue a new certificate of title as upon an original 
application. The division, upon receiving an electronic acknowledgment of a release of lien 
from the lienholder shall issue, without further application or fee a new certificate of title free 
of any lien or encumbrance to the vehicle owner to the address shown in the division's 
records.   


 
17A-4-8. Failure to deliver certificate a misdemean or. 


 
It is a misdemeanor for any person to fail or neglect to properly endorse and deliver a 
certificate of title to a transferee or owner lawfully entitled thereto.   
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17A-4-9. Owner after transfer not liable for neglig ent operation. 


 
The owner of a motor vehicle who has made a bona fide sale or transfer of his title or interest 
and who has delivered possession of such vehicle and the certificate of title thereto properly 
endorsed to the purchaser or transferee shall not be liable for any damages thereafter 
resulting from negligent operation of such vehicle by another.   


 
 


17A-4-10. Salvage certificates for certain wrecked or damaged vehicles; fee; penalty. 
 


(a)  In the event a motor vehicle is determined to be a total loss or otherwise designated as 
"totaled" by any insurance company or insurer, and upon payment of an agreed price as 
a claim settlement to any insured or claimant owner for the purchase of the vehicle, the 
insurance company or the insurer shall receive the certificate of title and the vehicle 
except that an insured or claimant owner may choose to retain possession of a 
cosmetically damaged vehicle, as provided in subdivision (2) of this subsection. The term 
"total loss" means a motor vehicle which has sustained damages equivalent to seventy-
five percent or more of the market value as determined by a nationally accepted used car 
value guide. The insurance company or insurer shall within ten days determine if the 
vehicle is repairable, cosmetically damaged or nonrepairable and surrender the certificate 
of title and a copy of the claim settlement to the division of motor vehicles. If the 
insurance company or insurer determines that the vehicle is repairable, the division shall 
issue a "salvage certificate", on a form prescribed by the commissioner, in the name of 
the insurance company or the insurer. The certificate shall contain on the reverse thereof 
spaces for one successive assignment before a new certificate at an additional fee is 
required.   


 
(1) Upon the sale of the vehicle the insurance company or insurer shall endorse the 


assignment of ownership on the salvage certificate and deliver it to the purchaser. 
The vehicle shall not be titled or registered for operation on the streets or highways 
of this state unless there is compliance with subsection (c) of this section. The 
division shall charge a fee of fifteen dollars for each salvage title issued.   


 
(2) If the insurance company or insurer determines the damage to a totaled vehicle is 


exclusively cosmetic and no repair is necessary in order to legally and safely operate 
the motor vehicle on the roads and highways of this state, the insurance company or 
insurer shall upon payment of the claim settlement submit the certificate of title to the 
division.   


 
(A) The division shall, without further inspection, issue a title branded "cosmetic total 


loss" to the insured or claimant owner if the insured or claimant owner wishes to 
retain possession of the vehicle, in lieu of a "salvage certificate." A fee of five 
dollars shall be charged for each "cosmetic total loss" title issued. The terms 
"cosmetically damaged" and "cosmetic total loss" do not include any vehicle 
which has been damaged by flood or fire. The designation "cosmetic total loss" 
on a title cannot be changed.   


 
(B) If the insured or claimant owner elects not to take possession of the vehicle and 


the insurance company or insurer retains possession, the division shall issue a 
cosmetic total loss salvage certificate to the insurance company or insurer. The 
division shall charge a fee of fifteen dollars for each cosmetic total loss salvage 
certificate issued. The division shall, upon surrender of the cosmetic total loss 
salvage certificate issued under the provisions of this paragraph, and payment of 
the five percent privilege tax on the fair market value of the vehicle as determined 
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by the commissioner, issue a title branded "cosmetic total loss" without further 
inspection.   
 


(3) If the insurance company or insurer determines that the damage to a totaled vehicle 
renders it nonrepairable, incapable of safe operation for use on roads and highways 
and which has no resale value except as a source of parts or scrap, the insurance 
company or vehicle owner shall request that the division issue a nonrepairable motor 
vehicle certificate in lieu of a salvage certificate. The division shall issue a 
nonrepairable motor vehicle certificate without charge.   


 
(b)  Any owner, who scraps, compresses, dismantles or destroys a vehicle for which a 


certificate of title, nonrepairable motor vehicle certificate or salvage certificate has been 
issued, shall, within twenty days, surrender the certificate of title, nonrepairable motor 
vehicle certificate or salvage certificate to the division for cancellation. Any person who 
purchases or acquires a vehicle as salvage or scrap, to be dismantled, compressed or 
destroyed, shall within twenty days surrender the certificate to the division.   


 
(c)  If the motor vehicle is a "reconstructed vehicle" as defined in section one [§ 17A-1-1], 


article one of this chapter, it may not be titled or registered for operation until it has been 
inspected by an official state inspection station and by a representative of the division of 
motor vehicles who has been designated by the commissioner as an investigator. 
Following an approved inspection, an application for a new certificate of title may be 
submitted to the division; however, the applicant shall be required to retain all receipts for 
component parts, equipment and materials used in the reconstruction. The salvage 
certificate must also be surrendered to the division before a certificate of title may be 
issued.   


 
(d)  The owner or title holder of any motor vehicle titled in this state which has previously 


been branded in this state or another state as "salvage," "reconstructed," "cosmetic total 
loss," "cosmetic total loss salvage," "flood" or "fire" or an equivalent term under another 
state's laws shall, upon becoming aware of the brand, apply for and receive a title from 
the division of motor vehicles on which the brand "reconstructed," "salvage," "cosmetic 
total loss" "cosmetic total loss salvage," "flood" or "fire" is shown. A fee of five dollars will 
be charged for each title so issued.   


 
(e)  If application is made for title to a motor vehicle, the title to which has previously been 


branded "reconstructed," "salvage," "cosmetic total loss," "cosmetic total loss salvage," 
"flood" or "fire" by the division of motor vehicles under this section and said application is 
accompanied by a title from another state which does not carry the brand, the division 
shall, before issuing the title, affix the brand "reconstructed," "cosmetic total loss," 
"cosmetic total loss salvage," "flood" or "fire" to the title. The privilege tax paid on a motor 
vehicle titled as "reconstructed" "cosmetic total loss," "flood" or "fire" under the provisions 
of this section shall be based on fifty percent of the fair market value of the vehicle as 
determined by a nationally accepted used car value guide to be used by the 
commissioner.   


 
(f)  The division shall charge a fee of fifteen dollars for the issuance of each salvage 


certificate or cosmetic total loss salvage certificate but shall not require the payment of 
the five percent privilege tax. However, upon application for a certificate of title for a 
reconstructed, cosmetic total loss, flood or fire damaged vehicle, the division shall collect 
the five percent privilege tax on the fair market value of the vehicle as determined by the 
commissioner unless the applicant is otherwise exempt from the payment of such 
privilege tax. A wrecker/dismantler/rebuilder is exempt from the five percent privilege tax 
upon titling a reconstructed vehicle. The division shall collect a fee of thirty-five dollars 
per vehicle for inspections of reconstructed vehicles. These fees shall be deposited in a 
special fund created in the state treasurer's office and may be expended by the division 
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to carry out the provisions of this article. Licensed wreckers/dismantlers/rebuilders may 
charge a fee not to exceed twenty-five dollars for all vehicles owned by private rebuilders 
which are inspected at the place of business of a wrecker/dismantler/rebuilder.   


 
(a) A certificate of title issued by the division for a reconstructed vehicle shall contain 


markings in bold print on the face of the title that it is for a reconstructed, flood or fire 
damaged vehicle.  


 
Any person who violates the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor 
and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars nor more 
than one thousand dollars, or imprisoned in the county jail for not more than one year, or 
both fined and imprisoned.   
 


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 







 8 - 33 Revised 8/06 


LIENS AND ENCUMBRANCES ON VEHICLES TO BE SHOWN ON C ERTIFICATE OF TITLE; 
NOTICE TO CREDITORS AND PURCHASERS 


 
17A-4A-1. Certificate to show liens or encumbrances . 


 
The division upon receiving an application for a certificate of title to a vehicle, trailer, 
semitrailer, pole trailer, factory-built home or recreational vehicle for which a certificate of title 
is required under article three of this chapter, all of which are hereinafter in this article 
referred to as vehicles, showing liens or encumbrances upon the vehicle, shall, upon issuing 
to the owner thereof a certificate of title therefor, show upon the face of the certificate of title 
all liens or encumbrances disclosed by the application. All liens or encumbrances shall be 
shown in the order of their priority being according to the information contained in the 
application. When an application shows liens and encumbrances, the information as 
evidence of the lien in connection therewith as the division may consider necessary shall 
also be furnished. The information shall include the name and address of the lienholder, the 
nature and kind of the lien, the date thereof and the amount thereby secured. However, only 
the name and address of the lienholder will be endorsed on the title certificate. Upon issuing 
the certificate, the division shall thereupon send or deliver it by either paper or electronic 
means to the holder of the first lien.   


 
17A-4A-2. Liens and encumbrances subsequently creat ed. 


 
(a)  Liens or encumbrances placed on vehicles by the voluntary act of the owner after the 


original issue of title to be properly recorded must be shown on the certificate of title. In 
such cases, the owner or lienholder shall file application with the department on a blank 
furnished for that purpose, setting forth the lien or liens and such information and 
evidence of the lien in connection therewith as the department may deem necessary. 
Such information shall include the name and address of the lienholder, the kind of and 
nature of the lien, the date thereof, and the amount thereby secured. However, only the 
name and address of the lienholder shall be endorsed on the title certificate with the 
endorsement of the fact of such lien as hereinafter provided. The department, if satisfied 
that it is proper that the same be recorded, and upon surrender of the certificate of title 
covering the vehicle, shall thereupon issue a new certificate of title, showing the liens or 
encumbrances in the order of their filing being according to the date, hour and minute of 
receipt by the department of the application for same. For the purpose of recording a 
subsequent lien on a certificate of title, the subsequent lienholder shall make a written 
request upon the lienholder in possession of the certificate of title, accompanied by proof 
of the existence of the subsequent lien, stating his or her need to have possession of the 
certificate of title for the purpose of having his or her lien recorded thereon by the division 
of motor vehicles. Thereupon, the lienholder in possession of the certificate shall within a 
reasonable time, not to exceed ten days from the receipt of said written request, deliver 
the certificate of title to the requesting subsequent lienholder. 


 
Upon delivery of the certificate of title, the subsequent lienholder shall immediately 
forward it and the lienholder's own application to the division of motor vehicles for the 
filing of the lien and for the recording of the same on the certificate of title. Upon issuing 
the new certificate, the department shall thereupon send or deliver it to the holder of the 
first lien.   


 
(b)  The provisions of subsection (a) of this section shall not apply to: (1) Vehicles held as 


inventory for sale by a registered dealer holding title by assignment entered upon a 
certificate of title; or (2) vehicles for which certificates of title have been issued and are 
held as inventory for lease by a vehicle rental agency or similar person engaged solely in 
the business of leasing vehicles. Any lien or encumbrance placed on such vehicles by the 
voluntary act of the owner shall be created and perfected in accordance with the 
provisions of article nine [§§ 46-9-1 et seq.], chapter forty-six of this code.   
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17A-4A-2a. Electronic transfer of liens. 


 
(a)  Notwithstanding any requirement in this chapter that a lien on a motor vehicle shall be 


noted on the face of the certificate of title, if there are one or more liens or encumbrance 
on a vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, pole trailer, factory-built home or recreational vehicle, the 
division may electronically transmit the lien to the first lienholder and notify the first 
lienholder of any additional liens. Subsequent lien satisfactions may be electronically 
transmitted to the division and shall include the name and address of the person 
satisfying the lien and any other information required by the division as a condition of 
participating in the electronic lien information exchange program.   


 
(b)  The division may enter into agreements with a service provider or providers to administer 


the electronic exchange of lien information between dealers, financial institutions and the 
division. For the purposes of this section the term financial institutions shall have the 
same meaning as defined in section ten-b [§ 17A-6-10b], article six of this chapter.   


 
(c)  When electronic transmission of liens and lien satisfaction is used, a hard copy certificate 


of title need not be issued until the last lien is satisfied and a clear hard copy certificate of 
title is issued to the owner of the vehicle. When a vehicle is subject to an electronic lien, 
the certificate of title for the vehicle shall be considered to be physically held by the 
lienholder for the purpose of compliance with state and federal odometer disclosure 
requirements and for any other requirement of this code. A duly certified copy of the 
division's electronic record of the lien shall be admissible in any civil, criminal or 
administrative proceeding in this state as evidence of the existence of the lien.   


 
(d)  For the purposes of this chapter, whenever reference is made by this code to the physical 


production of a certificate of title as a paper document, or reference to the completion of 
information related to recording a lien as a paper document, the reference shall be 
understood to also include the transmission and recordation of the information in an 
electronic format.   
 


17A-4A-3. Notice of lien; noninventory lien created  by voluntary act of the owner not 
shown on certificate of title void as to subsequent  purchasers and lien 
creditors; exceptions. 


 
(a)  A certificate of title, when issued by the department showing a lien or encumbrance, shall 


be deemed from and after the filing with the department of the application therefor 
adequate notice to the state and its agencies, boards and commissions, to the United 
States government and its agencies, boards and commissions, to creditors and to 
purchasers that a lien against the vehicle exists and the recording of such reservation of 
title, lien or encumbrance in the county wherein the purchaser or debtor resides or 
elsewhere is not necessary and shall not be required or have any effect. Notwithstanding 
any other provision of this code to the contrary, and subject to the provisions of 
subsection (b) of this section and of section four of this article, any lien or encumbrance 
placed upon a vehicle by the voluntary act of the owner but not shown on such certificate 
of title shall be void as to any purchaser for value or lien creditor, who, in either case, 
without notice of such lien or encumbrance, purchases such vehicle or acquires by 
attachment, levy or otherwise a lien thereupon.   


 
(b)  The creation and perfection of a lien against: (1) A vehicle held as inventory for sale by a 


registered dealer holding title by assignment; or (2) a vehicle for which a certificate of title 
has been issued and is held as inventory for lease by a vehicle rental agency or similar 
person engaged solely in the business of leasing vehicles in accordance with the 
provisions of article nine [§§ 46-9-1 et seq.], chapter forty-six of this code shall be 
deemed adequate notice to the state and its agencies, boards and commissions, to the 
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United States government and its agencies, boards and commissions, to creditors and to 
purchasers that a lien against the vehicle exists, subject to the provisions of section three 
hundred seven [§ 46-9-307], article nine, chapter forty-six of this code, except that any 
lien or encumbrance on such a vehicle shall not be effective against the rights of any 
purchaser for value who purchases such vehicle primarily for personal, family, household 
or agricultural purposes unless such lien or encumbrance is recorded on the certificate of 
title or specified on the bill of sale.   


 
17A-4A-4. Deferred purchase money lien or encumbran ce may be filed within sixty days 


after purchase; effective date of lien; dealer to r ecord lien; fees. 
 


(a)  A deferred purchase money lien or encumbrance upon any motor vehicle may be 
perfected by recording in either electronic or paper format the name and address of the 
lienholder upon the face of the certificate of title for the motor vehicle. If an application for 
a certificate of title is filed with the division of motor vehicles within sixty days after the 
date of purchase of the motor vehicle, the effective date of the lien or encumbrance shall 
be the date the lien or encumbrance was created. If an application for a certificate of title 
is not filed within the sixty-day period, the lien shall be perfected from the date it was filed 
with the division of motor vehicles.   


 
(b)  In all transactions involving a deferred purchase money lien or encumbrance upon a 


motor vehicle, the motor vehicle dealer shall collect and remit to the division of motor 
vehicles the title, tax and registration fees required under section four [§ 17A-3-4], article 
three of this chapter and file and record with the division of motor vehicles any lien 
created as a result of the transaction: Provided, That a motor vehicle dealer may remit 
the title, tax and registration fees through any license service that is licensed by the 
division of motor vehicles.   


 
(c)  No fee may be charged by a motor vehicle dealer for its services required under this 


section except that fee authorized by section one-b [§ 17A-6-1b], article six of this 
chapter, or subdivision (6), subsection (a), section one hundred nine [§ 46A-3-109(a)(6)], 
article three, chapter forty-six-a of this code.   
 


17A-4A-5. Priority of liens shown on certificate. 
 


The liens shown upon a certificate of title issued by the department pursuant to applications 
for same shall have priority over any other liens against such vehicle, however created and 
recorded, except as otherwise provided in this article.   


 
17A-4A-6. Who to hold certificate of title subject to lien; transfer of possession upon 


satisfaction of lien; assignment of obligation by l ienholder. 
 


The certificate of title of such vehicle shall be delivered to the person, firm or corporation 
holding the first lien or encumbrance upon the vehicle and retained by him or them until the 
entire amount of his or their lien is fully paid. Thereupon the certificate of title shall be 
delivered to the next lienholder, and so on, or if none, then to the owner of the vehicle. It shall 
be the responsibility of each lienor upon the satisfaction of his lien to deliver said certificate of 
title to the lienor next entitled to the possession thereof and, if none to the owner, which acts 
of delivery may be accomplished through registered or certified mail addressed to the lienor 
or the owner entitled to such possession at his address as shown upon said certificate. In the 
event of assignment of the obligation by a lienholder who lawfully has possession of the 
certificate of title at the time of assignment, the lienholder shall deliver the certificate of title to 
his assignee who shall be entitled to hold the same until the obligation is satisfied, at which 
time the assignee shall deliver the certificate of title to the next lienholder, or if none, then to 
the owner of the vehicle. In the event of assignment of the obligation by a lienholder not 
entitled to possession of the certificate of title at the time of assignment, the lienholder shall 
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immediately upon becoming lawfully entitled to, and obtaining lawful possession of, the 
certificate of title, deliver the same to his assignee who shall be entitled to hold the same until 
the obligation is satisfied, at which time the assignee shall deliver the certificate of title to the 
next lienholder, or if none, then to the owner of the vehicle.   


 
17A-4A-7. Release of lien or encumbrance shown on c ertificate of title. 


 
An owner upon securing the release of any lien or encumbrance upon a vehicle shown upon 
the certificate of title issued therefor may exhibit the document evidencing such release, 
signed by the person or persons making the release and acknowledged before a notary 
public or someone authorized by the laws of this state to take acknowledgments of deeds, 
and this document together with the certificate of title shall be returned to the division; or the 
lienholder may release the lien by endorsing across the lien in his or her favor on the face of 
the title or closely adjacent thereto the following words or words of similar effect or purport: 
"This lien, this day fully paid, satisfied and released, this . . . . . . . day of . . . . . . . . . .," and 
duly signing and executing said endorsement and acknowledging the same before a notary 
public and having the notary public execute a certificate of the acknowledgment in the form 
required for releasing deeds of trust in this state; or when it is impossible to secure either 
such release from the beneficiary or holder of the lien, the owner may exhibit to the division 
whatever evidence may be available showing that the debt secured has been satisfied, 
together with a statement by the owner under oath that the debt has been paid and the 
certificate of title to such vehicle. The division when satisfied as to the genuineness and 
regularity thereof shall issue to the owner either a new certificate of title in proper form or an 
endorsement or rider showing the release of the lien or encumbrance which the division shall 
attach to the outstanding certificate of title. For the purposes of this article, the term release 
shall mean either an electronic or paper transaction format.   


 
 


17A-4A-8. Failure to execute release or to surrende r certificate when lien paid. 
 


It shall be unlawful and constitute a misdemeanor for a lienor who holds a certificate of title 
either electronically or in a paper format as provided in this article to refuse or fail to execute 
a release as provided for in the next preceding section, or to refuse or fail to surrender the 
certificate of title to the person legally entitled thereto within fifteen days after the lien shall 
have been paid and satisfied.   


 
 


17A-4A-9. Levy of execution, etc. 
 


A levy made by virtue of an execution, fieri facias or other proper court order, upon a vehicle 
for which application for a certificate of title has been filed with the department, shall 
constitute a recorded lien, with the effect of constructive notice thereof to all persons, 
subsequent to holders of liens or encumbrances theretofore filed with the department, only 
from and after the time when the officer making such levy files a report to and with the 
department of motor vehicles, on forms provided therefor by the department, that such levy 
has been made and that the vehicle thus levied upon has been seized by and is in the actual 
custody of such officer; and the provisions of any other article, chapter or section of this 
Code to the contrary notwithstanding, the docketing or recording of any such execution, fieri 
facias or other court order in the office of the clerk of the county court [county commission] of 
any county in this State shall not constitute constructive notice thereof as to any such 
vehicle.   
 
Such report by such officer shall show among other things the full names of the parties to the 
proceeding upon which the execution, fieri facias or court order is based; the identity of the 
court, judge or justice of the peace [magistrate] or other judicial officer from which said 
execution, fieri facias or other court order was issued; the amount required for the 
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satisfaction thereof; the date thereof; the date and hour when received by the officer; the 
date, hour and minute of the levy, attachment or other execution of said process and the 
taking into actual custody of said vehicle; the date returnable; the make, year, body style of 
the vehicle to which the lien of said execution, fieri facias or court order relates as well as the 
name of the person or persons whose interest or ownership therein is intended to be affected 
by the lien of such execution, fieri facias or court order. Such report shall also show, if 
known, the serial number of such vehicle, the current West Virginia registration card number 
and current West Virginia registered owner thereof and current West Virginia license plate 
number, and if any item in this sentence enumerated for listing on such report is unknown to 
the reporting officer the report shall state that such item is unknown to the officer. Such 
report shall be dated, signed and certified by the reporting officer and such certification shall 
constitute an official act on his part. The department shall by endorsement upon or 
attachment to its records note the officer's report and the day and hour and the minute 
received upon its record copy of the certificate of title thereby affected; should such lien be 
thereafter satisfied or should the vehicle thus levied upon and seized be thereafter released 
by such officer, he shall immediately report that fact to the department of motor vehicles and 
the department shall in a like manner note such fact. Any owner who after such levy and 
seizure by an officer and before the report thereof by the officer to the department shall 
fraudulently assign or transfer his title to or interest in such vehicle or cause the certificate of 
title thereto to be assigned or transferred or cause a lien or encumbrance to be shown upon 
such certificate of title shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction 
thereof, shall be fined not less than twenty-five nor more than five hundred dollars, or 
imprisoned in jail for not less than ten days nor more than twelve months.   
 
The actual possession of the levying or attaching officer of the law or the actual possession 
of some person, other than the judgment or attachment debtor, holding such property for the 
officer, shall constitute notice of the lien, if any, of the execution, fieri facias, or other court 
order under which he levies and seizes or otherwise takes possession.   
 
For any vehicle as to which an involuntary lien has been reported and noted by the 
department and for which there has been no report of release or satisfaction by the levying or 
seizing officer, if application be made for the transfer of title thereto or issuance of new 
certificate of title therefor to the current registered owner or to someone claiming by 
assignment of title certificate from such registered owner or if application be made pursuant 
to the provisions of this article for the endorsement upon the certificate of title to such vehicle 
of a lien or encumbrance created by the voluntary act of the owner and the issuance of a 
new certificate of title showing the same, such involuntary lien, for which the department's 
records show no report of satisfaction or release, and the information furnished in the 
officer's report thereof together with the date, hour and minute of receipt of such report shall 
be endorsed upon such new certificate of title issued pursuant to any of such applications.   


 
17A-4A-10. Fee for recording and release of lien. 


 
The division of motor vehicles is hereby authorized to charge a fee of five dollars for the recording 
of any lien either in an electronic or paper format created by the voluntary act of the owner and 
endorsing it upon the title certificate issued pursuant to this article, and the division of motor 
vehicles is hereby authorized to charge a fee of fifty cents for recordation of any release of a lien 
created by the voluntary act of the owner: Provided, That no charge shall be made for the 
endorsement and recordation of liens or releases thereof as provided under section nine of this 
article. No charge shall be made for the issuance of a title to the owner of a vehicle upon the 
receipt of an electronic release of the final lien.   


 
17A-4A-13. Article not to apply to vehicle accessor ies. 


 
The provisions of this article shall not apply to the recording of a lien or liens which are 
created only upon tires, radios, heaters, or other vehicle accessories.   
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17A-4A-14. Effect of article on liens and encumbran ces created in transactions 
consummated before vehicle brought into State and s ubject to registration and 
titling in State. 


 
As to bona fide purchasers for value or lien creditors without notice, the provisions of this 
article shall not be construed so as to invalidate or render void any lien or encumbrance 
placed upon a vehicle, by the voluntary act of the owner, in a transaction consummated 
before the vehicle is brought into this State, and before the same is subject to registration in 
the State of West Virginia, and before the application for a West Virginia certificate of title is 
required so long as such a lien or encumbrance has been properly recorded according to the 
laws of the jurisdiction in which it was created so as to be valid against bona fide purchasers 
for value or lien creditors without notice and so long as such lien or encumbrance is of such 
kind, nature and character as the law of this State would otherwise protect against such 
purchasers and lien creditors: Provided, however, That after such vehicle is brought into this 
State and after it is required to be registered and titled in this State, such lien or 
encumbrance as in this section described shall be void as to any purchaser for value or lien 
creditor, who, in either case, without notice of such lien or encumbrances, purchases such 
vehicle or acquires by attachment, levy or otherwise a lien thereupon, unless such lienholder, 
within three months after the removal of such vehicle into this State or within ten days after 
such lienholder received notice of such removal, whichever period of time is least, shall, in 
the manner set forth in section two [§ 17A-4A-2] of this article file application with the 
department in which case the department shall proceed as in section two of this article.   


 
 


17A-4A-15. Expiration of lien or encumbrance; refil ing. 
 


The filing of any lien or encumbrance and its recordation upon the face of a certificate of title 
to any vehicle as provided in this article shall be valid for a period of ten years only from the 
date of filing, unless the lien or encumbrance is refiled in the manner provided in this article 
for filing and recordation in the first instance, in which event the lien or encumbrance shall be 
valid for successive additional periods of two years from the date of each refiling: Provided, 
That in the case of a mobile home or manufactured home, the filing of any lien or 
encumbrance and its recordation upon the face of a certificate of title to the mobile home or 
manufactured home shall be valid for a period of thirty-three years from the date of filing.   
 
When the last lien or encumbrance shown on a certificate of title becomes invalid by the 
passage of time as provided in this section, the commissioner of motor vehicles shall not be 
required to maintain a lien index as to the certificate of title.   
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Supplemental Information for Chapter VIII 
 


RECREATIONAL VEHICLES:  TITLING OF BOATS, 
   TRAILERS AND ATV’S 


  
JULY 1, 2001 


 
I. MOTORBOAT REQUIREMENTS 


 
On July 1, 1989, the Division of Motor Vehicles began titling motor boats. Prior to that date, motor 


boats were only required to be registered in West Virginia. Any motorboat purchased in West 
Virginia after the above date should have a title.   


 
Motorboats manufactured 1984 and after must contain 12 characters in the hull identification 


number.   
 
 
Motorboats  means any vessel propelled by an electrical, steam, gas, diesel or other fuel 


propelled or driven motor, whether or not the motor is the principal source of propulsion, but 
does not include a vessel which has a valid marine document issued by the bureau of 
customs of the United States government or any federal agency successor thereto. 


 
And Jet Ski  steam, gas, diesel or other fuel or driven motor, whether or not such motor is the 


principal source of propulsion. 
 
Boats without any  are not required to be titled or type of motor  registered, but once any type of 


motor is (man powered)  attached, it becomes a motor boat and is 
subject to these requirements. 


 
Registration fees  None (Issued “No Fee” Decal) Below 3 horsepower or  below 25lb. thrust  


 
 
 


NEW MOTORBOAT FEES EFFECTIVE APRIL 1, 2002 
(fees based on length of motorboat) 


 
Class A - Motorboats less than sixteen (16) feet in  length 


Three year fee - $30.00 (prorated $10.00 per year) 
 


Class 1 – Motorboats sixteen (16) feet or over and less than twenty –six (26) feet in 
length 


Three year fee - $45.00 (prorated $15.00 per year) 
 


Class 2 – Motorboats twenty-six (26) feet or over and less than forty (40) feet in length 
Three year fee - $60.00 (prorated $20.00 per year) 


 
Class 3 – Motorboats forty (40) feet in length or over 


Three year fee - $75.00 (prorated $25.00 per year) 
 


There is no fee for motorboats which have a motor below 3 horsepower or below 
28 pounds thrust, regardless of length. 
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ALL BOAT REGISTRATIONS EXPIRE APRIL 1, 2002 
 
*To change from a fee registration (3 hp & above) to a no fee registration (below 3 hp), the owner 
must submit his registration  along with a letter of explanation.  To go from a no fee registration to 
a fee registration, the owner must submit his registration along with the appropriate fee (see fees 
above) and letter of explanation. The letter of explanation must include the make and the 
horsepower of the motor and a completed FORM TR-14.  Boat registration cannot be 
transferred.   *Applications where no motor information is provided-write “TITLE ONLY” on MB-6.  
Do Not Issue Decals. 
 
1. Motorboat previously titled in West Virginia (tr ansfer of ownership).  
 


a. West Virginia title properly assigned to new owner. 
 


b. Notarized bill of sale for motorboat.  If purchased as a package, then the bill of sale 
should include a description and breakdown of boat, motor and trailer. 
 


c. 5% tax on purchase price of boat and motor, $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if 
applicable) and registration fee (see chart on page 8 - 39). 
 


d. See pages 9-12 for information on boat trailers. 
 
2. Titling of a new motorboat (never been titled). 
 


a. Manufacturer’s statement of origin properly assigned by dealer.  (All new motorboats 
will have a manufacturer’s statement of origin). 


b. MB-6 (application for a certificate of title for a motorboat) with dealer certification, 
completed on bottom of form. 
 


c. Dealer invoice with breakdown of price and description of the boat and motor. If 
purchased as a package, then the invoice should include a breakdown of motor, boat 
and trailer and what was traded in (if applicable). 
 


d. 5% tax based on the price of boat and motor, $10.00 title fee, registration fee if motor 
is 3 horsepower or more (see fee chart on page 8 - 39), $5.00 lien fee (if applicable).   
No registration fee is required if less than 3 horsepower. 
  


e. See page 9-12 for information on boat trailers. 
 
3.  Titling of motorboat previously registered in W est Virginia - no title (no transfer of 


ownership, owner now wants a title).  
 


a.   MB-6 (application for a certificate of title for a motorboat) 
 


b. DMV 1-B  (hull identification certification by any law enforcement officer). 
 


c. Registration card in applicant’s name (or the Division is able to verify ownership). 
 


d. MB-13  (sole owner affidavit) 
 
e.  $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable). 


 
f.  Registration fee below 3 horsepower - none, 3 HP &  above – see 
  fee chart on Page 8 - 39.        
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g.  See pages 9-12 for information on boat trailers.                                               
          


4. Transfer of a motorboat previously registered in  West Virginia (transfer of ownership - 
no previous title). 


 
a. MB-6 (application for certificate of title to a motorboat) 
 
b. DMV 1-B  (hull identification certification by any law enforcement officer). 


 
c. Registration properly assigned from seller.  If there is no place to sign, the 


registration in the previous owner’s name is required.  If the seller cannot provide a 
registration, then a seller’s affidavit (MB-12) must be completed. The name of the 
owner on the seller’s affidavit must match the Division’s records.   
 


d. Notarized bill of sale with breakdown of price and description of boat and motor. If 
purchased as a package, then the bill of sale should include a breakdown and 
description of the boat, motor and trailer. 
 


e.  tax on price of boat and motor, $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), 
registration fee if motor is 3 horsepower or more (see chart on page 8 - 39).  No 
registration fee is required, if less than 3 horsepower.  Minimum tax value the division 
will assess is $100.00 on boats less than 16ft., $500.00 on 16ft. or larger. 
 


f. e pages 9-12 for information on boat trailers. 
 
 
5. Purchase of a previously owned motorboat.  (In s tate or out-of-state, never been titled 


or registered in any state). 
 


(*If purchased from a state that titles or registers motor boats, then a letter of clearance from 
that state must accompany the application, stating the motorboat was never registered or titled 
in that state.) 


     
a. MB-6 (application for motorboat title) 


 
b. DMV-1-B (hull identification certificate) 


 
c. Notarized bill of sale for the boat.  If purchased as a package, then the bill of sale 


should include a breakdown and description of the boat, motor and trailer. 
 


d. MB-12 (seller’s affidavit)* If you cannot provide a seller’s affidavit (MB-12 ), no 
title will be issued.  A bill of sale will not be accepted as proof of ownership for the 
transfer of a motorboat. 


 
e. privilege tax on purchase price of boat and motor- $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if 


applicable), registration fee , if motor is 3 HP or more (see chart on  page 8 - 39) 
Minimum tax value the division will assess is $100.00 on boats less than 16ft., 
$500.00 on 16ft. or larger. 
 


f. See pages 9-12 for information on boat trailers. 
 
6. Purchase of an out-of-state motorboat from a sta te that titles motorboats (transfer of 


ownership). 
 


a. Properly assigned out-of-state title. 
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b.   MB-6  (application for motorboat title). 
 


c.   Notarized bill of sale for boat.  If purchased as a package, then the bill of sale should 
include a breakdown and description for the boat, motor and trailer.  If purchased 
from a dealer, a dealer invoice is required. 
 


d. 5% tax on purchase price of boat and motor - $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if 
applicable), registration fee if motor is 3 horsepower or more (see chart on page 8 - 
39).  Minimum tax value the division will assess is $100.00 on boats less than 16ft., 
$500.00 on 16ft. or larger. 
 


e. See pages 9-12 for information on boat trailers. 
 
7. Purchase of an out-of-state motor boat from a re gistration only state (transfer of 


ownership). 
 


a. Properly assigned registration, or if no place to assign, then the registration must be 
in the name of the seller on the bill of sale.  If no registration is provided, then a letter 
of clearance from the state where the motorboat is purchased is required, reflecting 
the motorboat is registered in the seller’s name.  The seller’s name must match the 
seller’s name on the Seller’s Affidavit. 
 


b. MB-12  (seller’s affidavit) 
 


c.   MB-6  (application for motorboat title) 
 
d. DMV-1-B   (hull identification certification by any law enforcement officer). 


 
e. Notarized bill of sale for boat.  If purchased as a package, then the bill of sale should 


include a breakdown and description for the boat, motor and trailer. 
 


f. 5% tax on purchase price of boat and motor, $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if 
applicable), registration fee if motor is 3 horsepower or more (see chart on page 8 - 
39).  No registration fee if less than 3 horsepower.  Minimum tax value the division 
will assess is $100.00 on boats less than 16ft., $500.00 on 16ft. or larger. 
 


g. See pages 9-12 for information on boat trailers. 
 
8. Titling a motorboat in West Virginia from a titl ing state, no change of ownership, 


transferring into West Virginia.  
 


a. Title in applicant’s name. 
 


b. MB-6 ( application for motorboat title). 
 


c. 5% of current NADA value, $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), registration 
fee if 3 horsepower or more (see chart on page 8 - 39).  No registration fee if less 
than 3 horsepower.  Minimum tax value for assessment is $100.00 on boats less 
than 16ft., $500.00 on 16ft. or larger. 
 


d. See pages 9-12 for information on boat trailers. 
 


9. Titling a motorboat in West Virginia from a regi stration only state, no change of 
ownership, transferring into West Virginia. 
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a. Registration in applicant’s name.  If owner does not have a registration, then a letter 
of clearance from the previous state stating the last registered owner (names must 
be the same). 
 


b. MB-6 ( application for motorboat title). 
 


c. DMV-1-B  (hull identification certification by any law enforcement officer). 
 


d. MB-13 (owner’s affidavit). 
 


e. 5% tax on current NADA value, $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), 
registration fee if 3 horsepower or more (see chart on page 8 - 39).  No registration 
fee if less than 3 horsepower.  Minimum tax value for assessment is $100.00 on 
boats less than 16ft., $500.00 on 16ft. or larger. 


 
10. Titling of a motorboat which has never been tit led or registered in West Virginia (No 


transfer of ownership-owner now wants to title moto rboat). 
 


a. MB-6 (application for motorboat title). 
 
b. DMV-1-B (hull identification certification by any law enforcement officer). 
 
c. Fees required - $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee, 5% privilege tax ($100.00 minimum 


tax value) on boats less than 16ft., $500.00 on 16ft. or larger. 
 
d. MB-13 (sole owner affidavit), documents such as old property tax receipts, insurance 


papers, loan contracts, invoice, etc., can be used to support ownership.  A bill of sale 
will not  be accepted as proof of ownership. 


 
11.  Motorboats without 12 character hull numbers. 


 
a.  Title must be submitted, if boat is only registered DMV-14-TR must be submitted. 


 
b. DMV-1-B (hull identification certification by any law enforcement office). 


 
c. There is no charge for this service (with State, City, or DNR enforcement officers).  


Sheriffs may charge a fee. 
 
**Note:  The hull identification plates are issued through the main office in 
Charleston. 


 
12. Salvage motorboat (previous West Virginia title ). 
 


a. Properly assigned West Virginia motorboat title. 
 


b. SV-1 (application for salvage title completed by insurance company) 
 


c. Fee of $15.00 
 
13. Titling a salvage motorboat, previously registe red in West Virginia – no title. 
 


a. Registration properly assigned over to the insurance company.  Verification of 
owner’s name on seller’s affidavit is required if a registration does not exist (must 
match the division’s records). 
 


b. SV-1 (application for salvage title completed by insurance company)  
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c. MB-6  (application for motorboat title)                                                                              


 
d. DMV-1-B  (hull identification certification by any law enforcement officer)  


 
e. Fee of $15.00. 


 
14. Salvage motorboat, never been titled or registe red, West Virginia resident. 
 


a. MB-12 (seller’s affidavit) 
 


b. SV-1 (application for salvage title completed by insurance company) 
 


c. MB-6 (application for motorboat title completed by insurance company) 
 


d. DMV-1-B  (hull identification certification, by any law enforcement officer   
  Fee of  $15.00. 


 
* NOTE:  ALL RECONSTRUCTED BOATS FOLLOW THE SAME PROCEDURES AS 


RECONSTRUCTED MOTOR VEHICLES 
 
15. Legal Heir- Transfer of Ownership 


 
a. Title assigned to legal heir along with administrative or executor papers. If there is no 


will, then a completed legal heir affidavit (DMV-185-TR) must accompany the title. 
Registration is not transferable. There is no title fee but registration must be paid.  
See registration fee chart.  
 


 b.   Depending on whether the motorboat has been titled or registered, refer to process  
1 or 4 for additional information on how to apply.  If not titled, titling and  registration 
fees required.  $10.00 titling fee, see chart for  registration fee. 


 
16.  Prior to July 1, 1989, motorboats were only re gistered. To add or remove a name, you 


would need the following in order to title the moto rboat: 
 


a. MB–13 (Sole owner affidavit) 
 
b.  MB-6 (Application for motorboat title) 


 
c.  DMV-1-B (Hull identification certification by any law enforcement officer)   


                
d.   $10.00 title fee     


 
e. Registration card, if available or verification by DMV.                                                           


                 
 f.  Registration fee (see chart on page 8 - 39)  


 
17.  Assembled or homemade motor boats 
       


a.     MB-6   (Application for motorboat title) 
 


b. MB-11 (Affidavit of builder)   
 


c. DMV-1B (hull identification certification-completed by law enforcement officer) 
 


d. Two photographs of the completed boat, one front view and one of the side view.                      
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e. Fees required- $10.00 titling fee,  $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), and registration fee. 
(see chart on page 8 - 39) 5 % privilege tax on cost of making the boat (includes 
materials, etc.)                 
 


 18.     Regulations for all recreation vehicle dea lers.  
 


a. Motorboats, trailers and ATV’s accepted as trade-ins without a title or registration, 
must be titled in the dealer’s name prior to retail sale or have a properly completed 
dealer reassignment (TM-5) from the dealer to their customer.  If the vehicle is 
reassigned, show the invoice indicating the vehicle was traded to your dealership. 
 


b. Dealer Requirements (Dealer Title):  MB-6 for motorboats, DMV-1 for trailers and 
ATV’s, a copy of the dealer invoice showing the trade-in.  DMV-1B, serial number or 
hull identification certificate, registration and $10.00 title fee. 
 


c. No Title: Do not purchase a vehicle without a title. 
 
 
II. TITLING BOAT TRAILER REQUIREMENTS FOR IN-STATE AND OUT-OF-STATE 


DEALERS 
        


       DEFINITION – 
CLASS C  trailer with 2 or more axles with a gross weight of 2000 pounds or 


more. All class C plates are permanent plates. The fee is $51.00 and the 
plates are not transferable. Class C trailers must be inspected yearly. 


                                
 CLASS T single axles trailer with a gross weight of under 2000 pounds.  All 


class T plates expire on April 1, 2002. See Fee Chart on page 8 - 47). 
 
 1.    NEW BOAT TRAILER- NEVER TITLED                                 
 


a. Properly assigned manufacturer’s statement of origin from a dealer. 
 


                 b. DMV-1-TR – (application for certificate of title)  
 


c. Dealer invoice with breakdown of price and description of motor, boat, and trailer, 
when purchased as a complete package.  If not purchased as a complete package, 
then an invoice for the trailer should be included 


.    
d. Fees required – 5% privilege tax on purchase price of trailer, $5.00 lien fee (if 
applicable), $10.00 title fee and plate fee (see page 8 - 47).     


                           
2. Purchase of a used boat trailer previously title d in West Virginia from an 


individual or West Virginia dealer. 
 


a. Properly assigned West Virginia title. 
 


b. Notarized bill of sale with breakdown of price and description of motor, boat and 
trailer, when purchased as a complete package.  If not purchased as a complete 
package, then an invoice for the trailer should be included. Seller’s name must 
appear on the face of the West Virginia title. 


 
c. Fees required - $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), 5% privilege tax on 


purchase price of trailer, and plate fee (see page 11) 
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d. If purchased from a dealer, verification of price is required whether it is listed on 
the title or an invoice. 


 
3.  Purchase of a used boat trailer from an out-of- state dealer or individual that is a 


title state. 
 


a. Properly assigned out of state title 
 
                b. DMV-1-TR –(application for certificate of title)   
                                            


c. Dealer or seller’s invoice with breakdown of price and description of motor, boat 
and trailer, when purchased as a complete package.  If not purchased as a 
complete package, then an invoice for the trailer should be included.  


                     
d. Fees required - $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), 5% privilege tax on 


purchase price of trailer and plate fee (see  page 8 - 47) 
 


e. If the title does not contain a serial number, a completed DMV-1-B is required. 
 


4. Purchase of a used boat trailer from an out-of-s tate dealer or individual that 
  only registers boat trailers.       
   


a. Previous owner’s registration properly assigned, if no registration is provided a 
letter of clearance from the previous state showing the last registered owner, or 
dealer’s invoice showing the dealer took the trailer in on a trade from the 
previous owner.  


 
b. DMV-1-TR –(application for certificate of title) 


 
c. Dealer or seller’s invoice with breakdown of price and description of motor, boat 


and trailer, when purchased as a complete package.  If not purchased as a 
complete package, then an invoice for the trailer should be included. 


 
d. Fees required - $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), 5% privilege tax on 


purchase price of trailer and plate fee (see chart on page 8 - 47). 
 


                e. DMV-1B, (serial number certification by any law enforcement officer) 
 


 5. Purchase of a used boat trailer from an out-of- state dealer or individual that does 
not require boat trailers to be registered or title d. 


 
a. Dealer invoice or notarized bill of sale from an individual with breakdown of price 


and description for motor, boat and trailer, when purchased as a complete 
package.  If not purchased as a complete package, then an invoice for the trailer 
itself is required. 


 
                   b. DMV-1-TR –(application for certificate of title) 


 
 c. DMV- 1-B   (serial certification by any law enforcement officer) 
  
 d. MB-12 (seller’s affidavit if purchased from an individual.) IF YOU CAN NOT 


PROVIDE A SELLER’S AFFIDAVIT, THEN NO TITLE WILL BE ISSUED .   
 
 e. Fees required $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), 5% privilege tax on the 


purchase price of  Class T trailer.  Class C trailers required no tax when  a  
license is purchased at the time of titling. CLASS C PLATE  FEE $51.00. 
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BOAT TRAILER FEE CHART (CLASS T)  


 
Three year fee $27.00 prorated $9.00 per year 


 
    1. Transfer of a boat trailer from a state that  titles trailers and the title is in the 


applicant’s name. 
 


a. Out of state title (if title is being held by the lienholder, division must have a copy 
of the out of state title or a letter from the lienholder stating they are holding the 
applicant’s title). 


 
b. DMV-1-TR (application for certificate of title) 


 
c. Fees required - $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), 5% privilege tax on 


Blue Book value of the trailer and plate fee (see chart on page 8 - 47). 
 


**If the title for the trailer does not contain a serial number, a completed DMV-1-B is 
required. 


 
    2. Transfer of a boat trailer from a state that  only registers trailers and the trailer 


is currently registered in the applicant’s name. 
 


a. Out of state registration in applicant’s name. 
 
b. DMV-1-TR (application for certificate of title) 


 
c. Fees required - $10.00 title fee, $5.00 lien fee (if applicable), 5% privilege tax on 


Blue Book value of a trailer and plate fee (see chart on page 8 – 47). 
 


**If the registration for the trailer does not contain a serial number, a completed DMV-
1-B is required. 


 
III. TITLING AN ALL TERRAIN VEHICLE 
 


1. Definition– Any motor vehicle designed for off-highway use and designed for operator 
use only with no passengers, having a seat or saddle designed to be straddled by the 
operator, and handlebars for steering control. 


 
The Division of Motor Vehicles requires ATV’s to be titled, but does not register these 
vehicles.  ATV’s purchased after July 1, 1989, should have been titled by the Division. 
Check with the owner before buying. 
 


 2. Titling of new all terrain vehicles. 
 


a. Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin properly assigned to you by  
the dealer. (All new ATV’s have a manufacturer’s Statement of Origin). 


 
 b. DMV-1-TR (application for certificate of title) with dealer certification completed on 


the bottom of the form.  If the application is not completed by the dealer, a 
dealer’s invoice is required stating the purchase price. 


 
                c. Fees required - $10.00 title fee, 5% privilege tax (based on the   


  purchase price), $5.00 lien fee (if applicable) 
  
                d. No registration will be issued. 
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        3. Titling an ATV that has never been title d in West Virginia or any other state (transfer 


of ownership). 
 
a. MB-12 –(seller’s affidavit) without a seller’s affidavit no title will  
    be issued ). 


 
                   b. DMV-1 TR  (application for certificate of title) 


. 
c. Fees required - $10.00 title fee, 5% privilege tax (based on the purchase price) 


and  $5.00 lien fee (if applicable). 
 
                  d. DMV-1-B  (Serial inspection certification by any law enforcement   


                        officer) 
 
                  e. No registration will be issued. 


 
NOTE:  If purchased out-of-state, you must have a letter from that state stating that 
the ATV has never been titled or registered in that state. 


 
A bill of sale is not acceptable as proof of ownership for transfer of ownership 
of an ATV. 


 
         Without a Seller’s Affidavit, no title wil l be issued. 


 
4.  Titling of an ATV that has never been titled in West Virginia (no change of ownership)  
          


a. DMV 1-TR (application for certificate of title)   
                                                
b. MB-13 (sole owner affidavit), documents such as old property tax receipts, 


insurance papers, loan contracts, invoices, etc., can be used to support 
ownership.  A bill of sale will not  be accepted as proof of ownership. 


 
c. DMV-1-B (serial inspection certification by any law enforcement officer) 


 
d. Fees required - $10.00 title, 5% privilege tax ($100.00 minimum tax value) and 


$5.00 lien fee (if applicable). 
 


e. No registration fee. 
     


d.  Documents such as old property tax receipts, insurance papers, loan contracts, 
invoices, etc., indicating you have owned the ATV, can be used to support a title 
being issued. A bill of sale will not be accepted as proof of ownership. 
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 SECTION 


 
DESCRIPTION 


 
 1 


 
DEALER LICENSE APPLICATION 


 
 2 


 
DEALER SURETY BOND (MV-126-DS-P) 


 
 3 


 
LICENSE SERVICE SURETY BOND 


 
 4 


 
AUTOMOBILE AUCTION SURETY BOND (MV-126-DS-M) 


 
 5 


 
DEALERS LIABILITY INSURANCE CERTIFICATE  
(MV-126-DS-J) 


 
 6 


 
NOTICE IN CHANGE IN DEALERSHIP 


 
 7 


 
APPLICATION FOR ADDITIONAL DEALER PLATE 


 
 8 


 
FORMULA FOR ISSUANCE OF DEALER PLATES (DMV-99-DS) 


 
 9 


 
LICENSE CERTIFICATES FOR DEALERS, FINANCIAL  
INSTITUTIONS, LICENSE SERVICES AND AUTOMOBILE  
AUCTIONS 


 
 10 


 
APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATE  
(MC-126-F-DS) 


 
 11 


 
TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATE LOG (DMV-DS-17) 


 
 12 


 
TEMPORARY REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE (DMV-40-TR) 


 
 13 


 
BUYERS GUIDE 


 
 14 


 
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE 


 
 15 


 
WEST VIRGINIA TITLES 


 
 16 


 
REASSIGNMENT SUPPLEMENT (TM-5) 


 
 17 


 
REASSIGNMENT SUPPLEMENT LOG SHEET (DMV-TM-5A) 


 
 18 


 
ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT (DEALERS) (DMV-43) 


 
 19 


 
ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT (INDIVIDUALS) (TM-1) 


 
 20 


 
ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT (TM-1) 


 
 21 


 
OWNER'S STATEMENT OF INSURANCE 


 
 22 


 
APPLICATION TO RECORD VOLUNTARY LIEN AFTER  
ISSUANCE OF TITLE (DMV-84-A) 


 
 23 


 
RELEASE OF LIEN 


 
 24 


 
DUPLICATE TITLE APPLICATION 


 
 25 


 
VERIFICATION OF VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER  
(DMV-18) 


 
 26 


 
SECURED POWER OF ATTORNEY 
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 SECTION 


 
DESCRIPTION 


 
 27 
 
                  


28 


 
AFFIDAVIT OF REPOSSESSION OF A VEHICLE 
(DMV-129-TR) 
 
CERTIFICATION OF ONE-AND-THE-SAME PERSON 
(DMV-38-TR) 
 


29 SOLE OWNER AFFIDAVIT (MV-154-TR) 
 
 30 


 
BILL OF SALE  


 
 31 


 
LEGAL HEIR AFFIDAVIT (DMV-185-TR) 


 
 32 


 
COSMETIC TOTAL LOSS (SV-5) 


 
 33 


 
NOTIFICATION OF TRANSFER OF LICENSE PLATES(MV-52-TR ) 


 
 34 


 
PURCHASERS AFFIDAVIT FOR DUPLICATE TITLE (DMV-1D) 


 
 35 


 
APPLICATION FOR LOST APPLICATION FOR LICENSE PLATE RENEWAL (MV-44) 


 
 36 


 
APPLICATION FOR LOST REGISTRATION CARD, LICENSE  
PLATE OR RENEWAL DECAL (DMV-32-TR) 


 
 37 


 
SALVAGE CERTIFICATE APPLICATION (DMV-SV-1) 


 
 38 


 
WEST VIRGINIA SALVAGE CERTIFICATE 


 
 39 


 
RECONSTRUCTED VEHICLE EXAMINATION (DMV-SV-3) 


 
 40 


 
CERTIFICATE OF INSPECTION (DMV-202-TR) 


 
 41 


 
AFFIDAVIT FOR REGISTRATION FEE EXEMPTION FOR  
CHURCH VEHICLE (MV-158-OB) 


 
 42 


 
OFF HIGHWAY AFFIDAVIT (DMV-168-TR) 


 
 43 


 
AFFIDAVIT FOR BUILDER OF TRAILER (DMV-62-TR) 


 
 44 


 
DISABLED VETERANS EXEMPTION STATEMENT (DMV-66-TR) 


 
 45 


 
AFFIDAVIT FOR ABANDONED VEHICLE (130-TR) 


 
 46 


 
APPLICATIONS FOR ONE TRIP PERMITS 


 
 47 


 
SPECIALIZED PLATE APPLICATIONS 


 
 48 


 
APPLICATION FOR PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED PERSON 


 
 49 


 
INFORMATION REQUEST (DMV-250) 


 
 50 


 
APPLICATION TO INCREASE GROSS WEIGHT (DMV-15-TR) 


 
 51 


 
RECREATIONAL VEHICLE FORMS 


 
 52 


 
HOMEMADE OR ASSEMBLED MOTORBOATS 


 
 53 


 
WATERCRAFT NOTICE (DMV1S) 
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 54 VEHICLE LEASE TITLE APPLICATION (DMV-1-L) 
 
 55 
 
 
             56 


 
ODOMETER STATEMENT FOR USE AT LEASE TERMINATION  
(DMV-43(A)) 
 
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR RENTAL  
MOTOR VEHICLE (DMV1R-TR) 
 


PLEASE NOTE:  All forms in this manual are reprinte d in black ink only.  Some forms in 
circulation may be printed in various colors of ink  and on various colors of paper.  Please 
use the forms in this book for informational purpos es only and refrain from copying for 
your use.  Please call the DMV at 558-0521 to order  more forms.  
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		11		Notice of Consumer's Right to Cure Default (WVC 46A-2-101)		---		---		---		---

		12		Application for Temporary Registration Plate (MV-126-F-DS)		√		No		√		√

		13		Temporary Registration Plate Log (DMV-DS-17)		---		---		---		---

		14		Temporary Registration Certificate (DMV-40-TR)		---		---		---		---

		15		Buyers Guide		---		---		---		---

		16		Application for Certificate of Title (DMV-1-TR)		No		√		No		No

		17		West Virginia Titles		No		√		No		No

		18		Reassignment Supplement (TM-5)		No		√		No		No

		19		Reassignment Supplement Log Sheet (DMV-TM-5A)		No		√		√		No

		20		Odometer Disclosure Statement (Dealers)(DMV-43)		No		√		√		√

		21		Odometer Disclosure Statement (Individuals)(TM-1)		No		√		No		No

		22		- - - - - - - - - -		- - -		- - -		- - -		- - -

		23		Owners Statement of Insurance (WV-4A)		---		---		---		---

		24		Application to Record Voluntary Lien After Issuance of Title (DMV-84-A)		No		√		No		No

		25		Release of Lien		No		√		No		No

		26		Duplicate Title Application (DMV-4-TR)		No		√		No		No

		27		Verification of Vehicle Identification Number (DMV-1B)		---		---		---		---

		28		Secured Power of Attorney		No		√		No		No

		29		Affidavit of Repossession of a Vehicle (DMV-129-TR)		√		No		√		√

		30		Certification of One-And-The-Same Person (DMV-38-TR)		√		No		√		√

		31		Sole Owner Affidavit (MV-154-TR)		√		No		√		√

		32		Bill of Sale (DMV-7-TR)		---		---		---		---

		33		Legal Heir Affidavit (DMV-185-TR)		---		---		---		---

		34		Cosmetic Total Loss (SV-5)		No		√		No		No

		35		Notification of Transfer of License Plates (MV--52-TR)		No		√		No		No

		36		Buy Here - Pay Here Dealer Affidavit (DMV-86-TR)		No		√		No		No

		37		Application for Lost Application for License Plate Renewal (MV-44)		No		√		No		No

		38		Application for Lost Registration Card, License Plate or Renewal Decal (DMV-32-TR)		No		√		No		No

		39		Salvage Certificate Appllication (DMV-SV-1)		√		No		√		√

		40		Reconstructed Vehicle Examination (DMV-SV-3)		No		√		No		No

		41		Certificate of Inspection (DMV-202-TR)		√		No		√		√

		42		Affidavit for Registration Fee Exemption for Church Vehicle (MV-158-OB)		√		No		√		√

		43		Off Highway Affidavit (DMV-168-TR)		√		No		√		√

		44		Affidavit for Builder of Trailer (DMV-62-TR)		√		No		√		√

		45		Disabled Veterans Exemption Statement (DMV-66-TR)		√		No		√		√

		46		Affidavit for Abandoned Vehicle (130-TR)		√		No		√		√

		47		Applications for One Trip Permits		√		No		√		√

		48		Applications for Persoanalized Plates (DMV 42-TR)		√		No		√		√

		49		Specialized Plate Applications		---		---		---		---

				a - Amateur Radio License Plates		√		No		√		√

				b - American Legion License Plates		---		---		---		---

				c - Antique Vehicle Registration		---		---		---		---

				d - Breast Cancer; Rafting; Educator; 4H/FFA; 9/11; Wildlife		---		---		---		---

				e - Disabled American Veterans License Plate		√		No		√		√

				f - Emergency Medical Services License Plate		---		---		---		---

				g - Prisoner of War License Plate		---		---		---		---

				h - Firefighter License Plate		---		---		---		---

				I - Mobility Impaired Parking Application		---		---		---		---

				j - Application for Agency that Transports Persons with Disabilities		---		---		---		---

				k - Marine Corps League License Plate		---		---		---		---

				l - National Guard & Armed Forces Reserve License Plate		---		---		---		---

				m - Pearl Harbor Survivor License Plate		√		No		√		√

				n - Purple Heart License Plate		---		---		---		---

				0 - Application for Second Special Military Plate		---		---		---		---

				p - Special Military License Plate		---		---		---		---

				q - Special Military License Plate - Surviving Spouse		√		No		√		√

				r - Standard, Scenic, Wildlife, Patriotic, 9/11 or Motorcycle License Plate		---		---		---		---

				s - NASCAR License Plate		---		---		---		---

				t - Veterans License Plate		√		No		√		√

				u - 82nd Airbourne Division Association		√		No		√		√

				v - Wounded in the Line of Duty License Plate		---		---		---		---

		50		Application for Physically Handicapped Person (DMV 41-TR)		√		No		√		√

		51		Information Request (DMV-100)		√		No		√		√

		52		Application to Increase Gross Weight (DMV-15-TR)		No		√		No		No

		53		Appllication for a Certificate of Title for Motor Boat (MB-6)		No		√		No		No

		54		Motor boat Affidavit (MB-7)		√		No		√		√

		55		Homemade or Assembled Motorboats (MB-11-TR)		√		No		√		√

		56		Watercraft Notice (DMV-1-S)		√		No		√		√

		57		Purchaser's Affidavit for Duplicate Title (DMV-1D)		---		---		---		---

		58		Vehicle Lease Title Application (DMV-1-L)		No		√		No		No

		59		Odometer Statement for Use at Lease Termination (DMV-43(A))		No		√		No		No

		60		Application for Certificate of Title for Rental Motor Vehicle (DMV1R-TR)		No		√		No		No

		PLEASE NOTE: All forms in this manual are reprinted in black ink only. Some forms in circulation may be printed in various colors of ink and on various colors of paper. Please call DMV at 558-0521 to order more forms.
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DMV-126-A-DS
(This application must be typewritten or printed legibly in ble or black ink)

Rev. 4/92


State of West Virginia


Division of Motor Vehicles


Dealer Services Section


APPLICATION FOR NEW OR USED MOTOR VEHICLE
DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATE


Dealer License Certificate Number          
    D _______________



DUC _______________


NAME OF FIRM OR TRADE NAME UNDER WHICH THE DEALER SHIP WILL BE OPERATED


NAME _________________________________________________________________________________________


MAILING ADDRESS ______________________________________________________________________________



PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS OR LOCATION _____________________________________________________

CITY _______________________ COUNTY ______________________________ STATE ______________________


ZIP CODE _________________________________ TELEPHONE NUMBER _________________________________


If business is located in a suburban or rural area out of the city or town limits, the following information must be shown on the application:

State or Federal Highway Route number __________; Miles business is located from town or city limits ____________;


Check proper direction from city or town: __________ North, __________ South, ___________East, __________ West.


The undersigned hereby makes application for a Dealer License Certificate and ___________________ license plates.


Attached hereto is a check __________, money order ___________, in payment of the required fees as outlined below:


_One_ Plate and Dealer License Certificate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $
____250.00_


_____ Dealer Recovery Fund . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $
____150.00_


_____ Class D Plates up to Two Exempt of Formula at $5.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
___________


_____ Class DUC Plates up to Two Exempt of Formula at $5.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
___________


_____ Additional Plates Within Formula at $5.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
___________


_____ Special Demonstration Plate At $100.00 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
___________


_____ Additional Special Demonstration Plates at $50.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
___________


_____ Additional Certified Copies of Dealer License Certificate, if required, at $1.00 each . . . . . . . . . . . . 
___________



TOTAL FEES SUBMITTED WITH APPLICATION . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $
___________


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


(This Space For Department Use Only)


Checked and approved by ________________________________________
Date ____________________________


License certificate issued by _______________________________________
Date ____________________________


ALL DEALER APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSE CERTIFICATE MUST BE TYPEWRITTEN OR PRINTED LEGIBILITY. QUESTIONS AND INFORMATION REQUESTED IN THE APPLICATION MUST BE ANSWERED IN DETAIL, IF THE QUESTION APPLIES TO THE TYPE OF DEALERSHIP FOR WHICH YOU ARE MAKING APPLICATION, FAILURE TO COMPLY WILL RESULT IN THE RETURN OF YOUR APPLICATION AND WILL DELAY ISSUANCE OF LICENSE. ANY FALSE STATEMENT OF A MATERIAL FACT IN THIS APPLICATION IS SUFFICIENT REASON TO REFUSE, SUSPEND OR REVOKE A DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATE..

ALL INFORMATION SUBMITTED WITH THIS APPLICATION SHALL BE CONFIDENTIAL FOR THE USE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF MOTOR VEHICLES IN CONSIDERING THIS APPLICATION.


THE APPLICANT AS DEFINED AND USED IN THIS APPLICATION SHALL HAVE THE FOLLOWING MEANING: AN INDIVIDUAL OPERATING IN HIS OWN NAME OR UNDER A TRADE NAME: TWO OR MORE PARTNERS OPERATING UNDER A CO-PARTNERSHIP NAME OR UNDER TRADE NAME: THE OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS OF A CORPORATION UNDER THE CORPORATE NAME.


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


FULL NAME, HOME ADDRESS, AND HOME TELEPHONE NUMBER OF PERSON WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR BUSINESS MANAGEMENT OF THE LEADERSHIP:


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


______________________________________________________________ Telephone No. ____________________


1. If the application is for an individual dealer, list the full name, home address and home telephone number of the individual applicant, if the application is for a partnership, list the full name, home address and home telephone number of each partner. If the application is for a corporation, list the full name, home address and home telephone number of at least three officers in the corporation.


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


2.  List the full name, home and employment address and telephone number of at least three business references.


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


3. If you plan to do business as a new or used motor vehicle dealer in other locations in this state, give name and address of each.




Name
Address


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


4. In the proper space below, show the exact number of motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by the applicant or his predecessor, if any, during the preceding year. If no motor vehicles were sold at wholesale and retail by such applicant or his predecessor during the preceding fiscal year, the number of motor vehicles the applicant reasonably expects to sell at wholesale and retail during the ensuing fiscal year.


_____ New car dealer only – exact number of new and used motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by the applicant during preceding fiscal year.

_____ New car dealer only – exact number of new and used motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by my predecessor for the preceding fiscal year.


_____ New car dealer only – if no new and used motor vehicles were sold by the applicant or his predecessor during the preceding year, the number of vehicles the applicant reasonably expects to sell at wholesale and retail during the ensuing year.


_____ Used car dealer only – exact number of used motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by the applicant the preceding year.


_____ Used car dealer only – exact number of used motor vehicles sold at wholesale and retail by my predecessor for the preceding fiscal year.


_____ Used car dealer only – if no used motor vehicles were sold by the applicant or his predecessor during the preceding year, the number applicant reasonably expects to sell at wholesale and retail during the ensuing fiscal year.


5. If application is for a dealer in new motor vehicles, give the following information:


A. Manufacturer’s name and make of all motor vehicles you will sell at any location designated on your dealer license certificate.


_________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________


B. Do you have a franchise with the manufacturers to sell the above named motor vehicles in this state?

Yes _____   No _____


C. Is a copy of the franchise agreement attached?   Yes _____   No _____


D. Name and complete mailing address of all of the manufacturer’s branch offices or distributors that supply the above vehicles.


_________________________________________________________________________________________


_________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________


6. Has applicant or any partner, officer, director or employee, previously applied for a dealer license certificate in this or any other state?     Yes ________ No ________ If so, was the license certificate issued or refused? ________ If refused, state reason:


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


If issued, in what state? ____________________________________________________________________________


Name of dealership certificate was issued for:


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


For what period of time was certificate issued? __________________________________________________________


Was the certificate suspended or revoked?   Yes _____   No _____  (If yes, please explain why and when):


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


_______________________________________________________________________________________________


7. Has applicant or any partner, if a partnership, or any officer or director, if a corporation, been convicted of a felony?     Yes _____   No _____ If yes, please advise date, court and charge.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________________


8. Has the applicant, or any partner, if a partnership, officer or director, if a corporation, filed bankruptcy or defaulted on a financial obligation within the past five years?   Yes _____   No _____ If yes, please advise date, court and location.


_______________________________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________________



9. Section A applies only to new or used motor vehicle dealers who own or lease a building that is used to service or display vehicles. Section B applies to applicants operating exclusively as a used car dealer from a lot with no service or display building.


A. Does applicant own building on which business is located:   Yes _____   No _____   if not, do you have a written 


lease with owner of building?     Yes _____   No _____   Full name and address of owner of building:



_________________________________________________________________________________________



_________________________________________________________________________________________


Date lease expires _________________________________________________________________________



Size of building :  Frontage ____________________________ Depth _________________________________


Size of office:  Frontage ___________________________ Depth _____________________________________


Number of vehicles that can be displayed in building _______________________________________________



Number of vehicles that can be repaired and serviced in building, exclusive of inspection, wash and grease 


Lanes ___________________________________________________________________________________



Does applicant have a lot adjacent to building on which vehicles may be displayed to the public?



Yes _____   No _____



If so, specify type of surface on lot (grael, cement, blacktop, etc.) _____________________________________



Number of vehicles that can be displayed on lot ___________________________________________________


B. Is applicant operating exclusively from a lot?    Yes _____   No _____



Full name and address of the owner of lot _______________________________________________________



_________________________________________________________________________________________



_________________________________________________________________________________________



Date lease expires _________________________________________________________________________



Size of lot:  Frontage ________________________________ Depth __________________________________



Specify type of surface on lot (gravel, cement, blacktop, etc.) ________________________________________


_________________________________________________________________________________________



Number of vehicles that can be displayed on lot: __________________________________________________



Is there an office building on lot?   Yes _____   No _____  If so, size of building:



Frontage ______________________________ Depth _____________________________________________



Does applicant have facilities at another location to properly service and repair vehicles sold to public?



Yes _____    No _____ .



Location : _________________________________________________________________________________



If not, name, address and location of individuals of individual(s), company or corporation you have written



agreement or agreements with to service and repair vehicles you may have fopr sale.



_________________________________________________________________________________________


_________________________________________________________________________________________


10.  Number of years applicant has engaged in the business of buying and selling motor vehicles at this or other location

_____________________________________________________________________________________________


Briefly outline previous general business experience and history for the past ten years of applicant, if the applicant be an individual; or of each partner, if the applicant be a co-partnership; of each officer if the applicant be a corporation.


_____________________________________________________________________________________________


_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________


11. Does applicant have a liability insurance policy in effect that complies with the minimum limits as provided in chapter Seventeen D, Article 4, Section 2 of the Code?   Yes _____   No _____


Name of insurance company _____________________________________________________________________

Address of insurance company ___________________________________________________________________


Insurance policy number _________________________________________________________________________


Name, address and telephone number of local agent of the insurance company issuing policy:

_____________________________________________________________________________________________


_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________ Telephone Number ___________________


NOTE: DIVISIN OF MOTOR VEHICLES FORM NO, DMV-126-DS-J,  CERTIFICATE OF LIABILITYINSURANCE, PROPERLY EXECUTED BY YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY MUST ACCOMPANY THE APPLICATION FOR DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATE.


12. Does applicant have bond in the amount of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) that complies with the provisions of Chapter Seventeen A, Article Six, Section Four of the West Virginia Code?   Yes _____   No _____


Name of bonding company _______________________________________________________________________


Address of bonding company _____________________________________________________________________



Bond Number _________________________________________________________________________________

Name , address and telephone number of local agent of the company issuing bond.


_____________________________________________________________________________________________


_____________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________ Telephone Number ____________________


13. Will your place of business be occupied by you and used exclusively for the purpose of selling motor vehicles?   Yes _____   No _____   If not, explain:


_____________________________________________________________________________________________



_____________________________________________________________________________________________



14. List below the full names and home addresses of employees or agents in your business that are (or will be) authorized to execute assignment of titles and applications for registrations for registration plates or to otherwise transact business in the name of this dealership.


_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________



15. Will the applicant display at least one permanent sign, clearly visible from the principal street or highway, with letters at least four inches in height specifically identifying trade name and type of business to be conducted at the location?

     Yes _____   No _____


16. Is the applicant’s location completely separated from a residential area and in an area zoned for business?

Yes _____   No _____


17. Is your business being operated in conjunction with a junk or salvage yard?     Yes _____   No _____


18. Will applicant maintain a written record of the salesmen, mechanics, employees, agents, officers or other persons to whom a special dealer plate is assigned?     Yes _____   No _____


19. List the full name and home address of all salesmen, mechanics, employees, agents, officers or other persons to whom a special plate or plates would be assigned by the dealer when the license certificate is issued.


_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________


20.Will applicant keep and maintain in permanent form a record a every vehicle, vehicle body or chassis which is bought, sold, exchanged, or otherwise acquired or disposed of as required under 17A-6-16 of the Code?



Yes _____   No _____


21.Will applicant keep and maintain in permanent form a written sales instrument which contains all of the agreements between the buyer and the seller required under 17A-16-17 of the Code and legislative rules and regulations?



Yes _____   No _____


22.Will applicant keep and maintain in a permanent form a record of all temporary registration certificates issued as required under 17A-6-15 of the Code and legislative rules and regulations?



Yes _____   No _____


23. Will all records of vehicles sold and temporary registration certificates issued be available during posted office hours to authorized personnel of the Division of Motor Vehicles and all law enforcement officers?



Yes _____   No _____


24. List by day of week and hours of the day the regular business hours of applicant.


_____________________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________________



25. Attach at least one photograph (size no less than 3 X 5 inches) of the established place of business that clearly shows the office, the display lot and one permanent sign. (Application will not be considered that does not have a photograph).


26. State Tax Department Business Franchise Certificate Number:



_____________________________________________________________________________________________


27. City license number (if required) __________________________________________________________________


28. Attach a receipt showing full payment of the business personal property taxes for the calendar year which immediately precedes the calendar year of the application.


A. In the event the applicant didi not own a business the preceding year, the applicant’s individual paid receipt is to be submitted.


B. In the event the applicant was not a resident of West Virgnia the preceding year, a sworn affidavit stating as much must be submitted.


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA

COUNTY OF _______________________, TO-WIT:



 Before the undersigned authority this day personally appeared


_____________________________________________________, who being first duly sworn upon his oath, deposes and says that he is the applicant, if the applicant be an individual, or a partner, if the applicant be a copartnership, or a duly authorized officer of the applicant, if the applicant be a corporation; that he has at the principal business address or location shown above, an “established place of business,” as that term is defined in Section 1, Article 6, Chapter 17A of the Code of West Virginia, as amended; that he is familiar with Article ^, Chapter 17A of said Code; that he is familiar with the law governing the issuance of dealer special plates and the use thereof; that all statements contained in this application are true and correct to the best of his knowledge and belief; and that he understands that fraudulent or misleading statements contained herein may be considered cause for the immediate suspension or revocation of the dealer license certificate or dealer special plates issued pursuant to such application.



______________________________________ (Seal)




(Sign here if applicant is an individual)



______________________________________ (Seal)



By _________________________________________




Its ___________________________________





(Sign here if applicant is a corpopration and affix corporate seal)




________________________________ (Seal)






A partner






(Sign here if the applicant is copartnership)


Taken, subscribed and sworn to before me this _________________________ day of _______________ 20 ______


My commission expires _________________________________________________________________________




_____________________________________






Notary Public
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DMV-126-E-DS
(This application must be typewritten or printed in blue or black ink

REV. 0306
and submitted before June 1)


STATE  OF  WEST  VIRGINIA
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DEPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES


DEALER  SERVICES


Dealer License Number __________________


		NEW CAR DEALER


AND


USED CAR DEALER

		MOBILE HOME


AND


TRAILER DEALER

		MOTORCYCLE


DEALER

		AUTO AUCTION

		RECREATIONAL


DEALER

		WRECKER /


DISMANTLER


DEALER



		Recovery Fund
$150.00

		Recovery Fund

Mobile Home Dealers


Exempt
$150.00

		Recovery Fund
$150.00

		Recovery Fund

Exempt

		Recovery Fund
$150.00

		Recovery Fund

Exempt



		One Plate/


Certificate
$100.00

		Four Plates


And Certificates



$25.00

		Two Plates


And Certificates



$10.00

		One Plate


And Certificate



$100.00

		Four Plates

And Certificates



$100.00

		License Certificates


$15.00



		2 Exempt Plate


$5.00 Each


$

		

		

		

		Additional Plates


$25.00


$

		WD Plates


Towing #_________


Demo/Only One ______


$25.00 Each


$



		Plates Per Formula


$5.00 Each


$

		Additional Plates


$5.00 Each


$

		Additional Plates


$5.00 Each


$




		Additional Plates


$25.00 Each


$

		

		



		Special Demo Late


$100.00


$

		

		

		

		

		



		Additional Demo Plate


$50.00 Each


$

		Additional Location


License Certificates


$1.00 Each


$

		Additional Location


License Certificates


$1.00 Each


$

		Additional Location


License Certificates


$1.00 Each


$

		Additional Location


License Certificates


$1.00 Each


$

		Additional Location


License Certificates


$1.00 Each


$



		Additional Location


License Certificates


$1.00 Each


$

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		Total Fees


$

		Total Fees


$

		Total Fees


$

		Total Fees


$

		Total Fees


$

		Total Fees


$





DEALERSHIP NAME _______________________________________________________________


MAILING ADDRES _________________________________________________________________


PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS OR LOCATION _______________________________________



CITY _____________________ COUTNY ________________________ STATE _______________


ZIP _____________________________________ TELEPHONE NUMBER ____________________


1. Any dealership changes pursuant to 17A-6-9 since the last renewal application? Yes _____ No _____ If yes, submit form MV-126-M-DS with this application. Note: Do not send form if there was no change.


2. Indicate the number of vehicles sold at wholesale or retail. ________ Note: If licensed within the past fiscal year, estimate the number of vehicles sold at wholesale or retail. ________


3. List additional locations of operation for your dealership. Note: Attach addendum if necessary.



Name
Address


4. List business name and address of the repair facility servicing vehicles for the dealership.



Note: Write “NA” if repair facility is located at the same address.


5. List names of individuals authorized to transact business on behalf of the dealership.


6. List name, home address, and home telephone number of individual, partners, or corporation officers.



Telephone #




Telephone #




Telephone #


7. Liability Insurance Pursuant to 17A-6-4
8. Bond Pursuant to 17A-6-4. Note: Bond must be


Note: DMV Form 126-DS-J, Certification of Liability
submitted with application along with a power of


Insurance must be submitted with application.
Attorney. (If applicable)

(Name)
(Name)

Insurance Company:_____________________________Bonding Company:____________________________________

Address:______________________________________Address:____________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________________


Insurance Policy #:______________________________Bond #:_____________________________________________

Name, address, and phone number of local agent.


Name:________________________________________Name:______________________________________________

Address:______________________________________Address:____________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________________


Phone #________________________________________Phone #___________________________________________

NOTE: A personal property tax receipt for the dealership for the prior calendar year must be included with this application.



If no taxes were owed, an affidavit from the county assessor stating no taxes were owed must be submitted..


9. Has applicant or any partner, if a partnership, officer or director, if a corporation, filed bankruptcy or defaulted on a financial obligation within the last year?  Yes _____ No _____ If yes, please advise date, court and location.


10. Has a the applicant, or any partner, if a partnership, officer or director, if a corpopration, filed bankruptcy or defaulted on a financial obligation within the last year?  Yes _____ No _____  If yes, please advise date, court and location.

11. List the names of salespersons authorized to sell vehicles for the dealership. Note: Attach addendum iif necessary.


I hereby state and certify the statements made within this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law 17A-6-6


____________________        __________________________________________



Date
Signature of Owner, Partner, or Corporation



DMV-SL-1

04/2006


Salesperson List

West Virginia Legislative Rule 91CSR6 section 2.1.E. states that applicant’s shall complete and submit with the application a list of all persons who are authorized to buy and sell vehicles on behalf of the dealership.
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		30.

		






MV-126-DS-P
Bond No. _______________

Rev. 2-2005


SURETY BOND

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS:



That ________________________________________________________________________ of


(Name of Dealership as it appears on Dealer License)


The City of _________________________, County of _______________, West Virginia, as PRINCIPAL


and the ______________________________________________________________________________


(Name of Insurance / Bonding Company)


a corporation, authorized to do business in the State of West Virginia, as SURETY, are held and firmly


bound, effective the _________ day of _______________________, __________, unto the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in the penal sum of Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) for payment to the West Virginia DMV, we bind ourselves, our successors and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.



THE CONDITION OF THIS BOND IS SUCH THAT, if the Principal practices any fraud or makes any fraudulent representation which causes a financial loss to a purchaser, seller, financial institutions or agency, or the State of West Virginia, then the Surety is obligated to pay the penalty sum of Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) to the West Virginia DMV.



The Surety shall notify the West Virginia DMV by certified mail, within thirty days of cancellation of the bond by the Surety or the Principal. If the Surety fails to notify the West Virginia DMV within the thirty days, then the bond will be deemed to be in full force and effect until such cancellation notice is received by the West Virginia DMV. This bond is required of all dealers licensed pursuant to Article 6, Chapter 17A of the West Virginia Code. All pertinent sections of that statute and all pertinent rules and regulations of the West Virginia DMV are hereby expressly made part of this bond.


IN WITNESS WHEREOF the said Principal has hereunder set his or its hand, and the said Surety has caused its corporate name to be signed hereto by its duly authorized official or agent and executed this instrument the __________ day of ____________________________, ______________.



This bond covers acts and omissions by the Principal that occur during the license year July1, __________, to June 30, __________, as of the effective date the Principal is issued or renewed license by the West Virginia DMV.



_________________________________________________



Name of Dealership



_________________________________________________



Signature of Individual, Partner, or Corporate Officer



_________________________________________________



Name Surety / Bonding Company



_________________________________________________



Address Surety / Bonding Company



_________________________________________________



Authorized Company Representative



_________________________________________________



Signature of Authorized Company Representative



MV-126-DS-LS
Bond No. _______________

Rev. 1-2006

SURETY BOND

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS:



That ________________________________________________________________________ of


(Name of License Service as it appears on Dealer License)


The City of _________________________, County of _______________, West Virginia, as PRINCIPAL


and the ______________________________________________________________________________


(Name of Insurance / Bonding Company)


a corporation, authorized to do business in the State of West Virginia, as SURETY, are held and firmly


bound, effective the _________ day of _______________________, __________, unto the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in the penal sum of Twenty-Five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) for payment to the West Virginia DMV, we bind ourselves, our successors and assigns, jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.



THE CONDITION OF THIS BOND IS SUCH THAT, if the Principal practices any fraud or makes any fraudulent representation which causes a financial loss to a purchaser, seller, financial institutions or agency, or the State of West Virginia, then the Surety is obligated to pay the penalty sum of Twenty-Five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) to the West Virginia DMV.



The Surety shall notify the West Virginia DMV by certified mail, within thirty days of cancellation of the bond by the Surety or the Principal. If the Surety fails to notify the West Virginia DMV within the thirty days, then the bond will be deemed to be in full force and effect until such cancellation notice is received by the West Virginia DMV. This bond is required of all License Services licensed pursuant to Article 6B, Chapter 17A of the West Virginia Code. All pertinent sections of that statute and all pertinent rules and regulations of the West Virginia DMV are hereby expressly made part of this bond.


IN WITNESS WHEREOF the said Principal has hereunder set his or its hand, and the said Surety has caused its corporate name to be signed hereto by its duly authorized official or agent and executed this instrument the __________ day of ____________________________, ______________.



This bond covers acts and omissions by the Principal that occur during the license year July1, __________, to June 30, __________, as of the effective date the Principal is issued or renewed license by the West Virginia DMV.



_________________________________________________



Name of License Service


_________________________________________________



Signature of Individual, Partner, or Corporate Officer



_________________________________________________



Name Surety / Bonding Company



_________________________________________________



Address Surety / Bonding Company



_________________________________________________



Authorized Company Representative



_________________________________________________



Signature of Authorized Company Representative



MV-126-DS-M

Rev. 3/01


SURETY  BOND


KNOW ALL MEN BE THESE PRESENTS:



That we, _________________________________________________________________________________________ of


_________________________________________________________________________________________, as principal, and


______________________________________________________________________________, a corporation authorized to do business in the State of West Virginia, as surety are held and firmly bound unto the Commissioner of the Division of Motor Vehicles of the State of West Virginia, and the successors in office of said commissioner in the penal sum of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00), to the payment whereof well and truly to be made, we do hereby jointly and severally bind ourselves, our heirs, legal representatives successors and assigns, firmly by these presents:


The condition of this obligation is such that:

1. The aforementioned principal has made application to the oblige, Commissioner of the Division of Motor Vehicles of the State of West Virginia, for a certificate to engage in the Automobile Auction business in West Virginia, under the provisions of West Virginia Code 17A-6C—1, et seq.


2. Pursuant to §17A-6C-2, a bond in the penal sum of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000.00) is hereby executed by the Principal and a corporate surety licensed to do business in West Virginia, such bind being given to ensure that the Principal will not, in the conduct of their business, make any fraudulent representation which shall cause a financial loss to any purchaser, seller, financial institution, agency or the State of West Virginia.


NOW, THEREFORE, if the above-named Principal shall fully comply with the obligations and conditions set forth in West Virginia Code 17A-6C-1, et seq., and further refrains from injuring or damaging any person by any act in conduct of his or her business as set forth in said code section, then this obligation shall be null and void, other wise to remain in full force and effect.



The effective date of this bond shall be _____________________, 20____, in support of a license issued for the term ending June 30, 20____, and may be continued by certificate each year in support of any license issued for any subsequent year.

wv1450
OVER



Provided, However, That the aggregate liability of the surety hereunder shall be no event, in any one (1) year exceed the sum of the bond.


Provided, Further, the surety shall have the right to terminate its liability hereunder by written notice of its election so to do, by United States registered mail upon the oblige, and thereupon the surety shall be discharged from any liability hereunder for any default of the Principal, after the expiration of thirty days from and after service of such notice.



Witness our hands and official seal this ______ day of _________________, 20_____.




_____________________________________________________


Name of Automobile Auction




_____________________________________________________




Signature of Principal




_____________________________________________________




Name of Surety




_____________________________________________________




Address of Surety




_____________________________________________________




Name of Surety Agent




_____________________________________________________




Signature of Surety Agent




_____________________________________________________




Address of Surety Agent


APPROVED


____________________________, Commissioner


Division of Motor Vehicles


By ____________________________________


MV-126-DS-J

Rev 04-06


West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles


Dealer Vehicle Liability and Property Damage Certificate of Insurance


Trade Name of Dealership:
____________________________________



Address of Dealership:
____________________________________



Policy Number:
____________________________________



Effective Dates – From:
_________________ To: ________________



Name of Insurer:
____________________________________



Home Office of Address Insurer:
____________________________________




____________________________________


A policy of bodily injury liability and property damage liability insuring said dealership (or any other person, as insured, operating any vehicle owned by said dealership with the express or implied permission of said dealership) against loss from liability imposed by law damages arising from the ownership, operation, maintenance or use of such vehicle (subject to minimum limits, exclusive of interest and cost) with respect to such vehicle as follows:


Twenty thousand dollars because of bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident (subject to said limit for one person), forty thousand dollars because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any accident, and ten thousand dollars because of injury to or property damage sustained by others in any one accident.


Note: Dealers not subject to liability policy requirements due to the terminology “vehicle” must have a general liability policy in the amount of fifty thousand dollars from damages arising from the ownership of the dealership named herein.


If the policy described has been cancelled by either the insurer or the insured, the insurer shall immediately notify the West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles of such cancellation in writing at its Charleston office.


I hereby state, under penalty of false swearing and penalties outlined in the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws Chapter 17 that there is in effect a liability policy on the described business in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws.




Signature of Authorized Company Representative



_________________________________________


MV-126-M-DS

Rev. 7/01
STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


DEALER SERVICES SECTION



NOTICE OF CHANGE IN DEALERSHIP


The Business Name and Address information requested below should be same as shown on your current Dealer License Certificate.


NAME ____________________________________________________________________


MAILING ADDRESS _________________________________________________________


PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS OR LOCATION ________________________________


CITY ____________________________ COUNTY ______________ STATE ____________


ZIP CODE NUMBER ___________________________ TELEPHONE __________________


DEALER LICENSE CERTIFICATION NUMBER ____________________________________


(The Section Below Outlining The Change In Dealership Must Be Completed)


1. If business is moved to new location give complete new mailing address and new location of business. Attach to this notice photograph of new location.


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


2. If a change in trade name is made, give the complete new trade name that the business will operate under.


__________________________________________________________________________


3. If change is due to death of licensee or any partner, give name of such licensee or partner and relationship to licensee.


__________________________________________________________________________


4. A change in any partners, officers, or directors of the board. List names and titles below:


NAME
TITLE

__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


5. If a change in ownership is made, give name and address of new owner.


__________________________________________________________________________


6. Appointment of trustee in brankruptcy, trustee under assignment for benefit of creditors, master or receiver, give name and address of such trustee, master or receiver.


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


Page 2


7. If change in personnel authorized to make assignment of titles and to transact business with the Division of Motor Vehicles, list names of all personnel so authorized.



NAME
SIGNATURES


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


8. If additional places of business have been established at other locations with the State since your original application was filed with the Division of Motor Vehicles, give name and address of each location.



NAME
ADDRESS


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


__________________________________________________________________________


STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


COUNTY OF ____________________________, to wit



Before the undersigned authority this day personally appeared

____________________________________, who, after being first duly sworn deposes and says that he is the applicant (or if firm or corporation, that he is an authorized member of the firm or proper officer of said corporation): That the business herein named is a legitimate dealership at the address and location shown herein and applicant further states that the changes outlined in this Notice are true and correct statements.



_________________________________ (Seal)



(Sign here if applicant is an individual)



_________________________________ (Seal)




By _______________________


(CORPORATE SEAL)

Its ________________________



(Sign here if the applicant is a corporation and affix corporate seal)



_________________________________ (Seal)




A partner




(Sign here if the applicant is copartnership)


Taken, subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________ day of __________________________, 20____


My Commission expires ______________________________________________________________________



__________________________________________




Notary Public



DMV-99-DS

Rev. 8/92


State of West Virginia


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


FORMULA FOR ISSUANCE OF DEALER PLATES


		Formula to determine the maximum number of Class D and DUC plates that can be issued to a new or used motor vehicle dealer for a fee of $5.00 per plate.






		Number of New and Used Vehicles Sold at Reatil and Wholesale Previous Year

		Plates That


Can Be Issued

		

		Number of Used Vehicles Sold at Retail and Wholesale Previous Year

		Plates That


Can Be Issued



		Exempt of Formula

		3

		

		Exempt of Formula

		3



		20

		4

		

		20

		4



		40

		5

		

		40

		5



		60

		6

		

		60

		6



		80

		7

		

		80

		7



		100

		8

		

		100

		8



		120

		9

		

		120

		9



		140

		10

		

		140

		10



		160

		11

		

		160

		11



		180

		12

		

		180

		12



		200

		13

		

		200

		13



		220

		14

		

		220

		14



		240

		15

		

		240

		15



		260

		16

		

		260

		16



		280

		17

		

		280

		17



		300

		18

		

		300

		18



		320

		19

		

		320

		19



		340

		20

		

		340

		20



		360

		21

		

		360

		21



		380

		22

		

		380

		22



		400

		23

		

		400

		23



		420

		24

		

		420

		24



		440

		25

		

		440

		25



		460

		26

		

		460

		26



		480

		27

		

		480

		27



		500

		28

		

		500

		28



		520

		29

		

		520

		29



		540

		30

		

		540

		30



		560

		31

		

		560

		31



		580

		32

		

		580

		32



		600

		33

		

		600

		33



		620

		34

		

		620

		34



		640

		35

		

		640

		35



		660

		36

		

		660

		36



		680

		37

		

		680

		37



		700

		38

		

		700

		38



		720

		39

		

		720

		39



		740

		40

		

		740

		40



		760

		41

		

		760

		41



		780

		42

		

		780

		42



		800

		43

		

		800

		43



		Etc.

		

		

		Etc.

		



		

		

		

		

		






MV-126-F-DS

Rev 7/93


STATE  OF  WEST   VIRGINIA


[image: image1.jpg]





DEPPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES


DEALER  SERVICES\


APPLICATION  FOR  TEMPORARY  REGISTRATION  PLATES


CHECK CLASS OF DEALER
CLASS D  ∏
CLASS DUC  ∏
CLASS F  ∏
CLASS TR  ∏

AUTOMOBILE AUCTION  ∏
CLASS DRV  ∏
CLASS W/D/R  ∏
LICENSE SERVICE  ∏

LICENSE CERTIFICATION NUMBER _________________________


NAME ______________________________________________________________________


MAILING ADDRESS ___________________________________________________________

PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS OR LOCATION __________________________________

CITY ________________________________ COUNTY __________________ STATE ______


ZIP CODE NUMBER _______________________ TELEPHONE NUMBER ________________



I (we) hereby make application for ______________ temporary registration plates and attach hereto


Number

Check  ∏
Money Order  ∏
in the amount of ________________ in payment of the required fee of 


Dollars

$3.00 per temporary registration plate.



Chapter Seventeen A, article Six, Section Fifteen of the Code requires each dealer to fuly account for all temporary registration plates last delivered to such dealer. No application for temporary registration plates will be honored by the Department unless the applicant has submitted to the Department copies of the temporary registration certificates issued and a listing of all temporary plates on hand.



Total Number Temporary Registration Plates last ordered . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
______________



Numbers of Temporary Plates received on last order



From ___________________________
To ___________________________


Number of Temporary Registration Plates issued . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
_______________



Number of Temporary Registration Plates on hand . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
_______________


BALANCE OF THIS APPLICATION ON REVERSE SIDE


(This Space For Department Use Only)


Checked and Approved By ____________________________________________
Date ___________________

Numbers of Temporary Plates issued on the application


From ___________________________
To ___________________________


WV-1446


LIST BELOW NUBERS OF ALL TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATES ON HAND


_______________
_______________
_______________
_______________


_______________
_______________
_______________
_______________

_______________
_______________
_______________
_______________

_______________
_______________
_______________
_______________

_______________
_______________
_______________
_______________

_______________
_______________
_______________
_______________

___________________________________ (SEAL)


   (Sign here if applicant is an individual)


___________________________________ (SEAL)


By _______________________________________


It’s _______________________________________




(Sign here if the applicant is a corporation)






(Affix corporate seal)


___________________________________ (SEAL)






A partner



(Sign here if the applicant is a copartnership)


PICKED UP BY _____________________________


DATE _____________________________________


		DMV-!-TR


REV. 12/04

		STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION



		FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY


CLASS ________________________


NUMBER ______________________


EXP.


DATE _________________________




		DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


CHARLESTON 25317


Application for a Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle


TYPE OR PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK


MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES





The owner(s) of the following vehicle make application for a certificate of title for that vehicle and for that purpose statte the following:


NAME ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


(Name of purchaser to be written plainly and exactly as it is to appear on the Certificate of Title)


ADDRESS __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



Number
Street
City or Town
County
State
Zip Code


VEHICLE  DESCRIPTION


MAKE ____________________________ YEAR _______________ V.I.N. _______________________________________________________________________________________



STYLE OF BODY
WEIGHT



Passenger vehicle only
TRUCKS (Requested GVW)


Odometer Reading
Title Brands: 
□ SALVAGE
□ RECONSTRUCTED



(No Tenths)
      □ OTHER: _______________________________________________________






(EXPLAIN)


Purchase Price $ _________________________ Trade-in $ _____________________________ Net Cost $ ____________________________ 5% Tax _________________________


(Credit allowed only on vehicles registered in West Virginia and the tax paid thereon by applicant)


TRADE  IN  DESCRIPTION


1) ____________________   _______________   ________________________________________   __________________________________________________________________


MAKE

YEAR

SERIAL NO.

WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER


2) ____________________   _______________   ________________________________________   __________________________________________________________________



MAKE

YEAR

SERIAL NO.

WEST VIRGINIA TITLE NUMBER


Registration Plate Transferred from: (Send copy of registration card both sides)


___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



Make of Vehicle
Weight
Serial Number
Title Number
License Number


LIENS  AND  ENCUMBRANCES

		Name __________________________________________________________________________________________ Amount ______________________



Name of Lienholder



		Address ___________________________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien ________________ Date ___________


Street
City
State
Zip Code
C/S/C  D/T  S/A





1

		Name __________________________________________________________________________________________ Amount ______________________




Name of Lienholder



		Address ___________________________________________________________________________ Kind of Lien ________________ Date ___________



Street
City
State
Zip Code
C/S/C  D/T  S/A





2

I hereby state that there is a motor vehicle liability policy in effect on the described vehicle in accordance with the provisions of the West Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws and certify that the statements made are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief under penalty of false swearing. West Virginia Motor Vehicle Law §17A-9-1; Fraudulent Applications.


Effective date of insurance Policy: From __________________ To __________________    
TITLE APPLICATION MUST BE SIIGNED BY OWNER

Name of Insurance Company ________________________________________________
If Title reads “AND” Both Signatures of Owners must appear


Name of Insurance Agent ___________________________________________________
(x) ________________________________________________








OWNER’S SIGNATURE

Insurance Policy Number ____________________________________________________
(x) ________________________________________________








OWNER’S SIGNATURE

INSURANCE  MUST  BE  IN  EFFECT  WHEN  APPLICATION  IS  RECEIVED.


DEALER  CERTIFICATION


This is to certify that the above described vehicle was acquired from _____________________________________________________________________________________________

Month ______________ day ____ year _______ and sold to the above named purchaser on month ________________ day ____ year _______. The undersigned dealer further Certifies that the sale price, trade-in, and net cost are true and correct and that the Federeal Odometer Regulation has been satisfied. Federal Regulations Require You to State the Odometer Mileage Upon Transfer of Ownership.

I certify to the best of my knowledge that the odometer reading is___________________ and reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle unless one of the following statements is checked:




□   1. The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits.




□   2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage – WARNING – ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.

Dealer Name _________________________________________________________________________________________


Address _____________________________________________________________________________________________


Signature (X) _________________________________________________________________________________________


Dealer Number ________________________________________________________________________________________

INFORMATION


Print in ink or type.


Mail check or money order.

Make Payable to DMV.


Any check which is not honored for payment will result in a $10.00 service charge.


Be certain you have completed the application, including your signature.


If the vehicle is titled in another state the title must accompany this application.


All titles with liens are mailed directly to the lienholder.


Be sure to include your Zip Code and Zip Code of lienholder.


Statement of insurance must be submitted with each application for Motor Vehicle Registration. There is a $.50 insurance Recording Fee.


FEES


$10.00 for title
$ ____________________


$5.00 for lien
   _____________________


$5.50 transfer of license (includes insurance fees)
   _____________________


5% Privilege Tax


       New Vehicle Tax based on purchase price
   _____________________


REGISTRATION FEES*
   _____________________


Cars (Class A): ---------$30.00 (includes litter and insurance fees.)
   _____________________


Trucks (Class A):


Below 8001 lbs. Gross vehicle weight ------ $30.00 (includes litter and insurance fees.)
   _____________________


All other registration fees must also include $1.00 litter fee and the $.50 insurance fee when applicable
   ___________________________

TOTAL
$ ______________________


· Credit on trade-in allowed only for vehicles registered in West Virginia and the taxes paid thereon by applicant.


For additional information call 558-3900 or toll-free 1-800-642-9066



Mail to:



Department of Transportation



Diivision of Motor Vehicles



1800 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Building 3



Charleston, West Virginia 25317


DMV-TM-5A

5/92

REASSIGNMENT SUPPLEMENT LOG SHEET


		DATE

		TM-5 No.

		NAME

		ADDRESS

		MODEL/YR

		SERIAL NUMBER



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		



		

		

		

		

		

		






________________________________     ______________


CUSTOMER’S NAME
STOCK NO.



Federal law (and State law, if applicable) requires that you state the mileage upon transfer of ownership. Failure to complete or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment.

I, __________________________________________________ (Transferor’s name, print) state that the odometer now reads ___________ (no tenths) miles and to the best of my knowledge that it reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle described below, unless one of the following statements is checked.


∏ (1) I hereby certify that to the best of my knowledge the odometer reading reflects the amount of mileage in excess of its mechanical limits.


∏ (2) I hereby certify that the odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage.


WARNING
ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.


[image: image1]

X_______________________________________________________________________


   TRANSFEROR’S SIGNATURE


________________________________________________________________________


   PRINTED NAME


________________________________________________________________________


   TRANSFEROR’S ADDRRESS (STREET)


________________________________________________________________________


   CITY
STATE
ZIP CODE


________________________________________________________________________


   DATE OF STATEMENT


X_______________________________________________________________________


   TRANSFEREE’S SIGNATURE

________________________________________________________________________


   PRINTED NAME


________________________________________________________________________


   TRANSFEREE’S NAME

________________________________________________________________________


   TRANSFEREE’S ADDRESS (STREET)


________________________________________________________________________


   CITY
STATE
ZIP CODE


DMV-43 (rev. 1/91

MAKE                                      MODEL                              BODY TYPE







VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER                           YEAR







ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT












NEW  ODOMETER  CERTIFICATION  LAW

If you sell a vehicle to another individual, you will need to complete the odometer disclosure statement below. The statement certifies the odometer reading at the time of sale. The buyer will also be required to acknowledge the odometer reading you certified. An odometer disclosure statement is not required if the vehicle is:


· A vehicle that is 10 years old or older


· Non-motorized, or


· More than 16,000 pounds (gross vehicle weight rating)


If the West Virginia title was issued after January 1, 1991, the odometer disclosure is required to be completed on the back of the title rather than on a separate disclosure statement. However, the odometer disclosure is not required to be completed for the above mentioned vehicles.

If you purchase a vehicle from another individual, be sure the seller provides you with a separate odometer disclosure statement. You will need to submit a copy of the statement to the Division of Motor Vehicles when applying for your title.


ODOMETER  DISCLOOSURE  STATEMENT


Federal and State law require that you state the odometer mileage upon transfer of ownership. Failure to complete or providing a false statement may result in fines and/or imprisonment.

I, _______________________________________________ , state that the odometer now reads



(Seller’s name – TYPE OR PRINT)


_________________ (no tenths) miles and to the best of my knowledge reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle described below, unless one of the following statements is checked:


∏  1. The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits.


∏  2. The odometer reading is NOT the actual mileage. WARNING




           – ODOMETER DISCREPANCY.


		Year




		Make

		Body Type

		Model



		Vehicle Identification Number








Seller’s Signature (X) _____________________________________________________________________

Printed Name ___________________________________________________________________________


Seller’s Address
_________________________________________________________________________



Street



_________________________________________________________________________



City
State
Zip code

Seller’s Certification Date _____________________________________________________________________________


TO  BE  COMPLETED  BY  THE  BUYER


Buyer’s Signature (X) _____________________________________________________________________

Print Name ____________________________________________________________________________


Buyer’s Address
_______________________________________________________________________



Street
State
Zip Code


TM-1



DMV-12-A-TR


Rev. 6/00




STATE  OF  WEST  VIRGINIA


DEPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES


1800 KANAWHA  BOULEVARD EAST, BUILDING 3


CHARLESTON, WV 25317


RELEASE  OF  LIEN


(BY Corporation)


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , a corporation,


(Name of Corporation Holding Lien)


Hereby releases a . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


(Conditional Sale Contract, Reservation of Title, Chattel Mortgage, Deed of Trust, or other Character of Lien)


to . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . to secure payment of the


(Holder of Lien)


sum of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Dollars ($. . . . . . . .),


dated the . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . day of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ., 20 . . . . . . . . . .,recorded on 



(Date)
(Month)
(Year)


West Virginia Certificate of Title No. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 



(Number of Vehicle Owner’s Certiificate of Title)


issued by said Department under date of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 



(Month)
(Date)
(Year)


to . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


(Name of Registered Owner)


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 


(Address of Registered Owner)


as the registered owner of the motor vehicle in said Certificate of Title described, being one . . . . . . 



(Make)


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 



(Year)
(Serial Number)


     In Witness whereof said . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 




(Name of Corporation)


has caused its corporate name to be signed hereto by its . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 




(Title of Officer)


duly authorized this . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . day of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ., 20 . . . . .




 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ., a corporation




(Type or Print Name of Corporation)




By . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 




(Signature of Officer)
(Title of Officer)


     Acknowledged before the subscriber, by . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 




(Name of Officer)


who signed the name of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , a corporation, thereto


this . . . . . . . . . . day of . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , 20 . . . . .




. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 




(Notary Public)


My Commission expires:


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . , 20 . . . . .

INSTRUCTIONS




Forward this Release, together with the Certificate of Title to which it refers, to the DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES, Charleston, West Virginia 25317, with fees as follows:


Issuance of new certificate of title omitting the released lien . . . . $10.00





DMV-129-TR

REV. 1/00
State of West Virginia



Department of Transportation – Division of Motor Vehicles



AFFIDAVIT FOR REPOSSESSION OF A VEHICLE



This affidavit to be used by repossessing lien holder for securing a repossessed title in the name of the lien holder if sold under the terms of a conditional sales contract; or a repossessed certificate of title in the name of the purchaser if sold at public or private auction under the terms of a deed of trust, chattel mortgage or security agreement.

I/we, the undersigned certify that the motor vehicle described herein has been repossessed due to the failure of the reg-istered owner, named herein, to meet his obligation in the settlement of the lien shown on the face of this affidavit. The lien contract covering this vehicle was executed in accordance with the applicable provisions of the laws of the state in which the lien originated.


I/we further certify that the default terms of this lien contract have been complied with fully regarding the giving of due notice and authority to dispose of the vehicle at public or private sale. There are no recorded liens which are superior to the lien stated in this affidavit and no legal suit is now pending in any court concerning this repossession.


I/we also warrant title to the described vehicle to be free from all indebtedness and agree to defend it against all claims.


		

		






Name of Defaulting Owner
Address of Defaulting Owner

Description of Repossessed Vehicle


		Year Model




		Mfgs. Make

		Serial Number

		Title Number

		State





Lien Covering Repossessed Vehicle


		Amount of Lien

		Date of Lien

		Kind of Lien





Lien in Favor of _______________________________________________________________________


Address of Lien Holder _________________________________________________________________


		

		






Name of Purchaser at Sale
Purchase Price of Vehicle

_________________________________________
By: _____________________________________


Name of Lien Holder
Authorized Official


State of __________________________________   County ____________________________________


Taken, subscribed and sworn to before me this __________ day of _________________ 20_____

My commission expires this ______________ day of ________________________ 20_____

Notary Public ________________________________

(See instructions on Reverse Side)


PROCEDURE TO SECURE A


REPOSSESSION CERTIFICATE OF TITLE




To secure a certificate of the title for a repossessed vehicle sold under the terms of a conditional sales contract. Form DMV-1-TR, application for a certificate of title must be executed and submitted with the Lien Holders Affidavit for Repossession of a Vehicle, Form DMV-129-TR. The certificate of title issued to the registered owner that the vehicle is repossessed from must also accompany the application for certificate of title. Title for a vehicle sold under the terms of a conditional sales contract can only be issued in the name of the lien holder.

To secure a certificate of title for a repossessed vehicle sold under the terms of a chattel mortgage, deed of trust, or security agreement, it is necessary for the purchaser to execute Form DMV-1-TR, Application for Certificate of Title to a vehicle, and submit with the lien Holders Affidavit for Repossession of a Vehicle, Form DMV-129-TR, and the certificate of title that was issued to the owner of the vehicle that is being sold under the terms of the agreement, Certificate of title for a vehicle sold under the terms of a chattel mortgage, deed of trust, or security agreement can only be issued in the name of the purchaser.

Form DMV-129-TR, Affidavit for Repossession of a vehicle, must be completed in every detail. An incomplete affidavit will be returned.


In the event the lien holder does not have possession of the certificate of title, which should be in the custody of the lien holder, than an affidavit stating that the lien holder does not have custody of the certificate of title, that the lien holder did not receive a certificate of title from the Division of Motor Vehicles; or if the title was received, complete details as to the disposition of the title must be a part of the affidavit. The affidavit must show a complete description of the vehicle being repossessed including the manufacturer’s name, the year model and the serial number of the vehicle. The affidavit must be signed by the lien holder and acknowledged by a Notary Public.


To secure a repossessed certificate of title for a vehicle titled in other states, the application must be accompanied by the out-of-state title; or if from a non-title state, the certificate of registration of the former owner must accompany the application. Verification by the out-of-state Department of Motor Vehicles will be acceptable.


The required fees for the transaction must accompany the application for certificate of title.


DMV-38-TR

Rev. 120/03
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WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


1900 Kanawha Boulevard East • State Capitol Building Three

Charleston, West Virginia 25317-0010

CERTIFICATION OF ONE-AND-THE SAME PERSON

STATE OF ____________________________________________________________________


COUNTY OF __________________________________________________________________


ADDRESS ____________________________________________________________________


______________________________________________ ZIP ____________________________


This is to certify that ____________________________________________________________

And __________________________________________________ are one and the same person.


This certification is prepared for the use of the Division of Motor Vehicles.

I (above named) certify, under penalty of false swearing, that the statements made herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.



SIGNATURE __________________________________


Dated this _________ day ________________, 20 _____

** This affidavit must be completed and signed by the individual asserting to be one-


and-the same.



MV-154-TR
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STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA


DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES


Building 3, Capitol Complex


Charleston, WV 25317


AFFIDAVIT



DATE ________________________________


STATE OF _________________________


COUNTY OF _______________________


I, ________________________________________________, DO HEREBY CERTIFY THAT I (AM) (WAS) THE SOLE OWNER OF _____________________________________________, AND THE CHANGE OF NAME REQUESTED WILL REFLECT NO CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP.


THIS AFFIDAVIT IS PREPARED FOR THE USE OF THE WEST VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES.



SIGNATURE __________________________________

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME _____________________________________


MY COMMISSION EXPIRES ____________________________________________________



______________________________________




NOTARY PUBLIC


SV-5

6/00
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WEST  VIRGINIA  DEPARTMENT  OF  TRANSPORTATION


DIVISION  OF  MOTOR  VEHICLES


1800 Kanawha Boulevard East ● Building Three


Charleston, West Virginia 25317-0010


COSMETIC TOTAL LOSS CERTIFICATION

(This application must be submitted with the owner’s title)


Cosmetic Total Loss Title Fee $10.00


NAME OF VEHICLE OWNER: _________________________________________________


ADDRESS: ___________________________________________________________________



Street
City
State
Zip
County


VEHICLE DESCRIPTION


MAKE: __________ YEAR: ___________ V.I.N.: ___________________________________


STYLE OF BODY: _________________________


The above vehicle has been declared to be a total loss and the damage is exclusively cosmetic and no repair is necessary in order to legally and safely operate the motor vehicle on the roads and highways of this state.


I hereby certify under penalty of fines and/or imprisonment, that the statements made herein are correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.


NAME OF INSURANCE COMPANY: ____________________________________________


SIGNATURE: _____________________________________ DATE: ____________________


This form must be signed (Original Signature)


Indicate Damage:


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


ANY ERASURES OR ALTERATIONS WILL VOID THIS DOCUMENT.


304-558-3900 * TDD 1-800-742-6991 * 1-800-642-9066


An Equal Opportunity Affirmative Action Employer




