OVERSIZE VEHICLE TRAVEL TIME CUT OFF RESTRICTIONS
- January, 4:00 pm
- February, 4:30 pm
- March, 5:30 pm
- April, 6:30 pm
- May, 7:00 pm
- June, 8:00 pm
- July, 8:00 pm
- August, 8:00 pm
- September, 7:00 pm
- October, 6:00 pm
- November, 4:30 pm
- December, 4:00 pm
Time restrictions apply to Turnpike travel. All overnight parking for oversized loads are prohibited on Turnpike property, to include Toll Plazas, Travel Plazas & Rest Areas.
PARKING AT THE TOLL AND TRAVEL PLAZAS
No parking is allowed in and around the West Virginia Turnpike’s toll plazas. Overnight parking for tractor trailers (with the exception of oversized vehicles) and campers is allowed at the travel plazas and the rest areas in the areas designated for large vehicles.
CELL PHONES AND TEXTING
In West Virginia all drivers, regardless of age, are banned from using hand-held cell phones.
In West Virginia, wearing your safety belt in a motor vehicle is mandatory. All drivers must wear a seat belt. All passengers in the front must wear a seat belt and all passengers in the back, under the age of 18, must wear a seat belt. Violators can be fined up to $25.
All motorcycle riders and passengers are required to wear helmets in the state of West Virginia.
If possible with regard to safety and traffic conditions, slow down and change lanes whenever possible for all law enforcement, emergency vehicles, first responders and tow trucks when they are flashing their lights.
WEST VIRGINIA 511
West Virginia launched its 511 Traveler Assistance Program in December 2012. It is available 24 hours a day. The program allows drivers to check road and driving conditions related to the weather, traffic, and accidents by:
Downloading the program’s free Android and iPhone app, 511 Drive Safe
Visiting the program’s website, www.WV511.org
Following West Virginia 511 on Twitter, @WV511